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AAM-01-96-00001-E indicates the following:
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01 -the State Register issue number
96 -the year
00001 -the Department of State number, assigned upon
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E -Emergency Rule Making—permanent action
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for Adoption; P for Proposed Rule Making; RP
for Revised Rule Making; EP for a combined
Emergency and Proposed Rule Making; EA for
an Emergency Rule Making that is permanent
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Italics contained in text denote new material. Brackets
indicate material to be deleted.

Department of Correctional
Services

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Clinton Correctional Facility
I.D. No. COR-52-08-00002-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: This is a consensus rule making to repeal section
100.15(d) of Title 7 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Correction Law, section 70
Subject: Clinton Correctional Facility.

Purpose: To remove the reference to the Unit for Condemned Persons
(death row) from the directive in accordance with recent litigation.

Text of proposed rule: The Department of Correctional Services repeals
and reserves section 100.15(d) of 7 NYCRR.

(c) Clinton Correctional Facility shall be classified as a maximum secu-
rity correctional facility, to be used for the following functions:

(1) general confinement facility;

(2) reception center for males who are between 16 and 21 years of
age, at the time of sentencing;

(3) reception center for males 21 years of age or older;

(4) detention center;

(5) diagnostic and treatment center.

[(d) Clinton Correctional Facility shall be used to house male inmates
sentenced to death in the Unit for Condemned Persons (death row) until
such inmates are transferred to Green Haven Correctional Facility for exe-
cution of such sentences of death within the Capital Punishment Unit
(death house).]

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Anthony J. Annucci, Executive Deputy Commissioner,
New York State Department of Correctional Services, 1220 Washington
Avenue, Building 2 State Campus, Albany, NY 122206-2050, (518) 457-
4951, email: AJAnnucci@Docs.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Consensus Rule Making Determination

In accordance with Correction Law section 70, the Commissioner of the
Department of Correctional Services has the authority to designate and
classify state correctional facilities. The ruling made by the New York
State Court of Appeals in People v. Taylor, 9 N.Y.3d 129 (2007),
determined that the New York State death penalty sentencing statute
enacted in 1995 violates the New York State Constitution on its face and it
is not within the power of the judiciary to save the statute. Therefore, the
Department has determined that no person is likely to object to the adop-
tion of this proposed rulemaking because it merely repeals regulatory pro-
visions which are no longer applicable to any person (SAPA 102(11)(a)).
Job Impact Statement

A job impact statement is not submitted because this proposed rule will
have no adverse impact on jobs or employment opportunities.

Education Department

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Administration of Immunization Agents by Certified
Pharmacists

L.D. No. EDU-47-08-00007-E
Filing No. 1231

Filing Date: 2008-12-03
Effective Date: 2008-12-03

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of section 63.9 to Title § NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 207 (not subdivided), 6504
(not subdivided), 6507(2)(a), 6527(7), 6801(1), (2), (3), 6802(22),
6828(1), (2) and 6909(7)

Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of public health
and general welfare.

Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The proposed
amendment implements the requirements of Chapter 563 of the Laws of
2008, which authorizes licensed pharmacists with a certification of
administration issued by the Department to administer immunizations for
influenza and pneumococcal disease and medications for the emergency
treatment of anaphylaxis to adults. The statute becomes effective on
December 3, 2008.

We estimate that there are approximately 20,000 licensed pharmacists
employed in New York State which will require certification by the
Department if such pharmacists choose to administer immunizations pur-
suant to Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008. The proposed amendment is
needed to expand access to immunizations, which is expected to reduce
morbidity and mortality caused by influenza and pneumococcal disease
and any related complications.
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The recommended action is proposed as an emergency measure because
such action is necessary to preserve the public health and general welfare,
by timely implementing Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008 to ensure that
standards and procedures are in place to certify pharmacists by December
3, 2009, the effective date of Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008, thereby
providing additional opportunities for adults to be immunized against
influenza during the current flu season.

It is anticipated that the proposed amendment will be presented to the
Board of Regents for adoption as a permanent rule at its February 2008
Meeting.

Subject: Administration of immunization agents by certified pharmacists.

Purpose: Establish criteria for the certification of licensed pharmacists
and to establish requirements relating to execution of orders.

Substance of emergency rule: The Board of Regents proposes to amend
the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education by adding a new sec-
tion 63.9, effective December 3, 2008. Section 63.9 of the Regulations of
the Commissioner of Education is added to establish requirements relating
to the administration of immunizations for the prevention of influenza and
pneumococcal disease and medications for the emergency treatment of
anaphylaxis by certified pharmacists.

Section 63.9(a) defines the applicability of the provision, authorizing
certified pharmacists to administer certain immunization agents and medi-
cations for the emergency treatment of anaphylaxis only to the extent that
the applicable provisions in Education Law sections 6527, 6801, 6802,
6828 and 6909 have not expired or been repealed.

Sections 63.9(b)(1) and (b)(2) provide that a pharmacist with a certifi-
cate of administration issued by the Department is authorized to administer
immunization agents to prevent influenza or pneumoccoccal disease to
patients over the age of 18, pursuant to either a patient specific order or
non-patient specific order and protocol ordered by a licensed physician or
certified nurse practitioner with a practice site in the county in which the
immunization is administered. If the immunization is administered in a
county with a population of 75,000 or less, the immunization shall be
prescribed or ordered by a licensed physician or certified nurse practitioner
with a practice site in the county in which the immunization is administered
or in an adjoining county.

Section 63.9(b)(3) establishes the requirements that a licensed pharma-
cist must meet in order to obtain a certificate to administer immunizations
from the Department. The licensed pharmacist shall submit an application
with the required fee and present satisfactory evidence of completion of
one of the following: (1) a training course in the administration of im-
munizations acceptable to the Commissioner and the Commissioner of
Health; (2) a training course associated with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree;
or (3) possession of a current certificate of administration issued by an-
other jurisdiction and continuous practice in the administration of im-
munizing agents since the pharmacist received such training or comple-
tion of a retraining program in the administration of immunization agents.

Section 63.9(b)(4) establishes the standards, procedures and reporting
requirements for the administration of immunizing agents.

Section 63.9(b)(5)(i) provides that certified pharmacists shall maintain
or ensure the maintenance of a copy of the patient specific order or the
non-patient specific order and protocol prescribed by a licensed physician
or a certified nurse practitioner which authorizes the certified pharmacist
to administer immunization agents. This section prescribes the informa-
tion required to be included in patient specific orders and non-patient
specific orders and protocol. Such orders and protocol shall be considered
a record of the patient. The pharmacist shall maintain a record of the
patient in either: (a) a patient medication profile, or (b) in instances where
a patient medication profile is not required, on a separate form that is
retained by the pharmacist who administered the immunization.

Section 63.9(b)(5)(ii) establishes the contents of patient specific orders
and non-patient specific orders.

Section 63.9(b)(5)(iii) specifies additional provisions required to be
included in non-patient specific orders, including the incorporation of a
protocol.

Section 63.9(b)(5)(iv) requires the protocol, incorporated into the non-
patient specific order, to include the standards, procedures and reporting
requirements set forth in section 63.9(b)(4).

Section 63.9(c)(1) authorizes certified pharmacists to administer medi-
cations for the emergency treatment of anaphylaxis.

Section 63.9(c)(2) establishes the standards, procedures and reporting
requirements for the administration of anaphylaxis treatment agents by
certified pharmacists.

Section 63.9(c)(3)(i) requires a certified pharmacist to maintain or
ensure the maintenance of a copy of the non-patient specific order and
protocol prescribed by a licensed physician or a certified nurse practitioner
that authorizes such pharmacist to administer medications for the emer-
gency treatment of anaphylaxis. This section requires a record of each
patient to be maintained in either a patient medication profile, or in in-
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stances where a patient medication profile does not exist, on a separate
form that is retained by the pharmacist who has administered the
immunization.

Section 63.9(c)(3)(ii) provides that the non-patient specific order shall
authorize one or more named pharmacists, or certified pharmacists who
are not individually named but are identified as employed or under contract
with an entity that is legally authorized to employ or contract with
pharmacists to provide pharmaceutical services, to administer specified
anaphylaxis treatment agents in specified circumstances for a prescribed
period of time. This subparagraph also prescribes the content for such
non-patient specific orders.

Section 63.9(c)(3)(iii) requires that the protocol to be incorporated into

the non-patient specific order include the requirements set forth in section
63.9(c)(2).
This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt the provisions of this emergency rule as a
permanent rule, having previously submitted to the Department of State a
notice of proposed rule making, [.D. No. EDU-47-08-00007-P, Issue of
November 19, 2008. The emergency rule will expire March 2, 2009.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Lisa Struffolino, Office of Counsel, New York State Education
Department, Counsel’s Office, Room 148, 89 Washington Avenue,
Albany, New York 12234, (518) 473-4921, email: stahoe@mail.nysed.gov

Regulatory Impact Statement

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Section 207 of the Education Law grants general rule-making authority
to the Board of Regents to carry into effect the laws and policies of the
State relating to education.

Section 6504 of the Education Law authorizes the Board of Regents to
supervise the admission to and regulation of the practice of the professions.

Subparagraph (a) of subdivision (2) of section 6507 of the Education
Law authorizes the Commissioner to promulgate regulations in administer-
ing the admission to the practice of the professions.

Subdivision (1) of section 6508 of the Education Law provides that
state boards for the professions shall assist the Board of Regents and
Department on matters of professional licensing.

Subdivision 7 of section 6527 of the Education Law authorizes physi-
cians to order non-patient specific regimens for the administration of im-
munizing agents by pharmacists.

Section 6801 of the Education Law authorizes certified pharmacists to
administer immunizing agents and authorizes the Commissioner of Educa-
tion to promulgate regulations regarding training and reporting
requirements.

Subdivision 7 of section 6909 of the Education Law authorizes nurse
practitioners to order non-patient specific regimens for the administration
of immunizing agents by pharmacists.

Section 6828 of the Education Law authorizes the Commissioner to
promulgate regulations relating to the issuance of a certificate of adminis-
tration to a qualifying pharmacist.

2. LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:

The proposed amendment carries out the intent of the aforementioned
statutes by expanding access to immunizations to residents of the State of
New York. The proposed amendment establishes procedures for the
Department to certify licensed pharmacists to administer immunizing
agents and anaphylactic treatments; prescribes standards, procedures,
reporting and record keeping requirements for the administration of im-
munizations and anaphylactic treatments and sets forth the requirements
for orders and protocols for the administration of immunizations and
anaphylactic treatments.

3. NEEDS AND BENEFITS:

Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008, effective December 3, 2008, autho-
rizes licensed pharmacists that are certified by the State Education Depart-
ment to administer immunizations to prevent influenza or pneumococcal
disease and medications required for emergency treatment of anaphylaxis.
Section 6801(2) of the Education Law, as added by Chapter 563 of the
Laws of 2008, directs the Commissioner of Education to promulgate
regulations concerning a licensed pharmacist’s execution of non-patient
specific orders prescribed or ordered by a licensed physician or certified
nurse practitioner. Section 6801(3) prohibits a pharmacist from administer-
ing immunizing agents without receiving training satisfactory to the Com-
missioner and the Commissioner of Health.

In order to timely implement the requirements of Chapter 563 of the
Laws of 2008, the proposed amendment establishes procedures for the
certification of licensed pharmacists to administer immunizations. Specifi-
cally, the proposed amendment requires a licensed pharmacist to submit
an application, with the required fee, to the Department and present satis-
factory evidence of one of the following: (1) completion of a training
course in the administration of immunizations acceptable to the Commis-
sioner and the Commissioner of Health, within the three years immediately
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preceding application for a certificate of administration; (2) a Doctor in
Pharmacy Degree and completion of training in the administration of im-
munization agents received as part of his/her pharmacy degree that is sat-
isfactory to the Department; or (3) possession of a current certificate of
administration issued by another jurisdiction and continuous practice in
the administration of immunizing agents since the pharmacist received
such training or completion of a retraining program in the administration
of immunization agents.

The proposed amendment also establishes uniform requirements for
certified pharmacists to meet when executing orders to administer im-
munizations and medications for the emergency treatment of anaphylaxis.
For instance, the proposed amendment defines what information should
be included in the non-patient specific order and the requirements that
must be set forth in the protocol, for a certified pharmacist to follow when
administering immunizations through a non-patient specific order. The
proposed amendment also establishes uniform reporting requirements.
Specifically, the proposed amendment requires a certified pharmacist (1)
to inform the recipient, in writing, of potential side effects and adverse
reactions prior to the administration of an immunization; (2) to provide
written instructions to the recipient regarding the appropriate course of ac-
tion in the event of contraindications or adverse reactions; and (3) to
provide a signed certificate of immunization to the recipient containing
certain prescribed information.

With the enactment of Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008, New York
State joins 48 other states and the District of Columbia in authorizing
pharmacists to administer immunizations. The proposed amendment is
needed to expand access to immunizations, which is expected to reduce
morbidity and mortality caused by influenza and pneumococcal disease
and any related complications. At the present time, there are approximately
20,000 pharmacists licensed to practice in New York State. Consequently,
a significant number of individuals will be affected by the proposed
amendment.

The proposed amendment is not expected to cause regulated parties to
have to hire additional professional services in order to comply.

4. COSTS:

(a) There are no additional costs to state government beyond those
imposed by statute.

(b) There are no additional costs to local government beyond those
imposed by statute.

(c) Cost to private regulated parties: The amendment is likely to result
in only nominal costs to entities that employ certified pharmacists to exe-
cute the non-patient specific orders to administer immunizations. These
entities will likely have to bear a small additional cost to provide
prescribed written information and issue a certificate of immunization to
each recipient who requests such a certificate. The State Education Depart-
ment estimates that the nominal cost of providing this information and is-
suing the certificate will be approximately $.75 per recipient. The other
paperwork requirements relate to maintenance of patient records, which
are already subject to the requirements of section 29.2(a)(3) of the Regents
Rules, and consequently will not result in additional costs.

(d) Cost to the regulatory agency. As stated above in ‘‘Costs to State
Government’’, the proposed amendment does not impose additional costs
on the State Education Department.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:

The proposed amendment does not impose any program, service, duty,
or responsibility upon local governments.

6. PAPERWORK:

The proposed amendment defines what information should be included
in the orders and the requirements that must be set forth in the protocol,
for a certified pharmacist to follow when administering immunizations
through a non-patient specific order. The proposed amendment also
establishes uniform reporting requirements. Specifically, the proposed
amendment requires a certified pharmacist (1) to inform the recipient, in
writing, of potential side effects and adverse reactions to prior to
administration of the immunization; (2) to provide written instructions to
the recipient regarding the appropriate course of action in the event of
contraindications or adverse reactions; and (3) to provide a signed certifi-
cate of immunization to the recipient containing certain prescribed
information.

7. DUPLICATION:

The proposed amendment does not duplicate other existing state or
federal requirements.

8. ALTERNATIVES:

There are no viable alternatives to the proposed amendment and none
were considered because of the nature of the amendment, which imple-
ments statutory requirements.

9. FEDERAL STANDARDS:

There are no Federal standards that establish requirements that certified
professional nurses must meet to administer immunizations, pursuant to
non-patient specific orders and protocol.

10. COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:

The proposed amendment implements and clarifies statutory
requirements. Regulated parties must comply with the proposed amend-
ment on its stated effective date. No additional period of time is necessary
to enable regulated parties to comply.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

In order to implement the requirements of Chapter 563 of the Laws
of 2008, the proposed amendment establishes requirements for the
certification of pharmacists to administer immunizations to prevent
influenza or pneumococcal disease and medications required for emer-
gency treatment of anaphylaxis. The proposed amendment also
establishes requirements relating to the execution of patient specific
and non-patient specific orders prescribed by licensed physicians or
certified nurse practitioners for the administration of such
immunizations. The proposed amendment does not regulate small
businesses or local governments. Accordingly, a regulatory flexibility
analysis is not required and one has not been prepared.

Because it is evident from the nature of the proposed amendment
that it does not affect small businesses or local governments, no affir-
mative steps were needed to ascertain that fact and none were taken.
Accordingly, a regulatory flexibility analysis for small businesses and
local governments is not required and one has not been prepared.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:

The proposed amendment applies to the 44 rural counties with less than
200,000 inhabitants and the 71 towns in urban counties with a population
density of 150 per square mile or less. At the present time, there are ap-
proximately 20,303 licensed pharmacists that will be subject to the require-
ments of the proposed amendment. Of these licensed pharmacists, ap-
proximately 2,613 licensed pharmacists report their permanent address of
record in a rural county of New York State.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008, effective December 3, 2008, autho-
rizes licensed pharmacists that are certified by the State Education Depart-
ment to administer immunizations to prevent influenza or pneumococcal
disease and medications required for emergency treatment of anaphylaxis.
Section 6801(2) of the Education Law, as added by Chapter 563 of the
Laws of 2008, directs the Commissioner of Education to promulgate
regulations concerning a licensed pharmacist’s execution of non-patient
specific orders prescribed or ordered by a licensed physician or certified
nurse practitioner. Section 6801(3) prohibits a pharmacist from administer-
ing immunizing agents without receiving training satisfactory to the Com-
missioner and the Commissioner of Health.

In order to timely implement the requirements of Chapter 563 of the
Laws of 2008, the proposed amendment establishes procedures for the
certification of licensed pharmacists to administer immunizations. Specifi-
cally, the proposed amendment requires a licensed pharmacist to submit
an application, with the required fee, to the Department and present satis-
factory evidence of one of the following: (1) completion of a training
course in the administration of immunizations acceptable to the Commis-
sioner and the Commissioner of Health, within the three years immediately
preceding application for a certificate of administration; (2) a Doctor in
Pharmacy Degree and completion of training in the administration of im-
munization agents received as part of his/her pharmacy degree that is sat-
isfactory to the Department; or (3) possession of a current certificate of
administration issued by another jurisdiction and continuous practice in
the administration of immunizing agents since the pharmacist received
such training or completion of a retraining program in the administration
of immunizing agents.

The proposed amendment also establishes uniform requirements for
certified pharmacists to meet when executing orders to administer im-
munizations and medications for the emergency treatment of anaphylaxis.
For instance, the proposed amendment defines what information should
be included in the non-patient specific order and the requirements that
must be set forth in the protocol, for a certified pharmacist to follow when
administering immunizations through a non-patient specific order. The
proposed amendment also establishes uniform reporting requirements.
Specifically, the proposed amendment requires a certified pharmacist: (1)
to inform the recipient, in writing, of potential side effects and adverse
reactions prior to the administration of an immunization; (2) to provide
written instructions to the recipient regarding the appropriate course of ac-
tion in the event of contraindications or adverse reactions; and (3) to
provide a signed certificate of immunization to the recipient containing
certain prescribed information.

With the enactment of Chapter 563 of the Laws of 2008, New York
State joins 48 other states and the District of Columbia in authorizing
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pharmacists to administer immunizations. The proposed amendment is
needed to expand access to immunizations, which is expected to reduce
morbidity and mortality caused by influenza and pneumococcal disease
and any related complications. At the present time, there are approximately
20,000 pharmacists licensed to practice in New York State. Consequently,
a significant number of individuals will be affected by the proposed
amendment.

The proposed amendment is not expected to cause regulated parties to
have to hire additional professional services in order to comply.

3. COSTS:

The proposed amendment is likely to result in only nominal costs to
entities that employ certified pharmacists to execute orders to administer
immunizations, including those that are located in rural areas of the State.
These entities will likely have to bear a small additional cost to provide
prescribed written information and issue a certificate of immunization to
each recipient. The State Education Department estimates that the nomi-
nal cost of providing this information and issuing the certificate will be
approximately $.75 per recipient. The other paperwork requirements relate
to maintenance of patient records, that are already subject to the require-
ments of section 29.2(a)(3) of the Regents Rules, and consequently will
not result in additional costs.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE EFFECT:

The proposed amendment implements statutory directives to establish
requirements for certified pharmacists to execute orders prescribed by
licensed physicians or certified nurse practitioners for the administration
of immunizations and makes no exception for licensed registered profes-
sional nurses who live or work in rural areas. In any event, consistent
practice requirements should apply no matter the geographic origin of the
licensee to ensure a uniform high standard of competency across the State
and that the administration of immunizations is performed safely in all ar-
eas of the State. Because of the nature of the proposed amendment,
establishing different standards for licensed registered professional nurses
in rural areas of New York State is inappropriate.

5. RURAL AREA PARTICIPATION:

Comments on the proposed rule were solicited from statewide organiza-
tions representing all parties having an interest in promoting expanded ac-
cess to important immunizations. Included in this group were members of
the State Board of Pharmacy; educational institutions which currently of-
fer professional pharmacy programs; professional associations represent-
ing the pharmacy profession, such as the Pharmacists Society of the State
of New York, the New York State Council of Health System Pharmacists
and the New York State Chain Drug Association; the State Board for Nurs-
ing; the New York State Department of Health; the New York City Depart-
ment of Health and Mental Hygiene; and many other interested parties.
These groups, which have representation in rural areas, have been
provided notice of the proposed rule making and an opportunity to com-
ment on the proposed amendment.

Job Impact Statement

In order to implement the requirements of Chapter 563 of the Laws of
2008, the proposed amendment establishes requirements for the certifica-
tion of pharmacists to administer immunizations to prevent influenza or
pneumococcal disease and medications required for emergency treatment
of anaphylaxis. The proposed amendment also establishes requirements
relating to the execution of patient specific and non-patient specific orders
prescribed by licensed physicians or certified nurse practitioners for the
administration of such immunizations. The amendment will not have a
substantial adverse impact on jobs and employment opportunities, beyond
those imposed by statute. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not
required, and one has not been prepared.

State Board of Elections

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Minimum Number of Voting Machines Required Per Polling
Place and Maximum Number of Voters Per Machine

I.D. No. SBE-52-08-00003-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: Amendment of Part 6210 of Title 9 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Election Law, sections 3-100, 7-201, 7-203(2) and
7-206
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Subject: Minimum number of voting machines required per polling place
and maximum number of voters per machine.

Purpose: Comply with Section 703(2) and provide for accurate elections
in New York State.

Text of proposed rule: Subtitle V of Title 9 of the Official Compilation of
Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York is hereby amended
by adding thereto a new Part, to be Part 6210.19, to read as follows:

Section 6210.19 Minimum Number of Voting Machines

A. The purpose of these determinations is to establish the minimum
number of required voting machines and privacy booths needed for each
polling place based upon the type of voting system and the number of
registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status) assigned to use that
specific voting device in accordance with NYS Election Law sections 7-200
and 7-203.

B. Determinations by Type of Voting System

1) Direct Recording Electronic Voting Systems

a) There shall be at least one direct recording electronic voting
device for every 550 registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status)
at the polling place.

2) Precinct Based Optical Scan Voting Systems

A. There shall be at least one scanning device for every 4000
registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status) at the polling place.
B. Privacy Booths:

(i) There shall be at least one privacy booth for every 300
registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status), except that in a
general election for governor, or at elections at which electors for Presi-
dent of the United States are selected there shall be at least one privacy
booth for every 250 registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status).

(ii) At polling places that accommodate more than 6000
registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status), there shall be one
privacy booth for every 350 registered voters (excluding voters in inactive
status) in a general election for governor, or at elections at which electors
for President of the United States shall be selected,; and one privacy booth
for every 400 active voters in all other elections.

(iii) A sufficient number of the privacy booths must be acces-
sible to voters with disabilities.

C. Obligations of the County Boards of Elections

1) County boards shall deploy sufficient voting equipment, election
workers and other resources so that voter waiting time at a poll site does
not exceed thirty minutes. Each county board of elections may increase in
a non-discriminatory manner, the number of voting devices used in any
specific polling place.

2) The inspectors in each election district shall record the number of
persons using audio, tactile or pneumatic switch ballot devices. The county
board of elections shall furnish additional voting machines equipped with
audio, tactile or pneumatic switch ballot devices when it appears that the
number of persons historically using such devices warrant additional
devices.

D. The State Board of Elections may authorize a reduction in the
number of voting devices provided in these regulations upon application
of a county board of elections which demonstrates that such a reduction
will not create excessive waiting time by voters.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Kimberly A. Galvin, NYS Board of Elections, 40 Steuben
Street,  Albany, NY 12207, (518)  474-6367, email:
kgalvin@elections.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Summary of Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory Authority: New York State Election Law § 3-100 creates the
State Board of Elections (State Board) and § 3-102 grants commissioners
“‘the power and duty to issue instructions and promulgate rules and regula-
tions relating to the administration of the election process’’. In addition,
under § 7-203(2) of the Election Law ‘‘the State Board of Elections shall
establish...for each election, the minimum number of voting machines
required in each polling place and the maximum number of voters that can
vote on one machine. The State Board is currently seeking to adopt
NYCRR § 6210.19 in order to establish the minimum number of voting
machines required in each polling place and the maximum number of vot-
ers that can vote on one machine pursuant to statute. The regulation also
establishes obligations of the county boards of elections and directs them
to ‘‘deploy sufficient voting equipment, election workers and other re-
sources so that voter waiting time at the poll site does not exceed thirty
minutes’” § 6210.19(c)(1).

Legislative Objectives: After the 2000 election, the voting process
across the country was marred by allegations of corruption and fraud. It
was alleged that voting machines had been tampered with and voters were
subjected to long lines and delays at the polls. Public confidence and trust
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in the voting process was at an all time low. As a result, Congress enacted
the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) in 2002, to assist all states to
purchase new machines and voting equipment. The legislative intent of
the bill was to ensure that all Americans could participate in an efficient
and accurate election process and, in doing so, restore voter confidence.

Under New York’s Election Reform and Modernization Act New York
State’s traditional lever machines are required to be phased out and
replaced.

The New York Legislature established, in accordance with Election
Law sections § 3-100, § 3-102 and § 7-203, that in an effort to maintain
efficient elections, the State Board shall establish the minimum required
voting machines and voting systems needed for each polling place. This
number is based upon the type of voting system and the number of
registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status) assigned to use that
specific voting device.

Needs and Benefits: By enacting § 6210.19 and defining the minimum
number of voting machines and requiring that voter waiting time at a poll
site does not exceed thirty minutes, the State Board will ensure that
uniform standards prevail for all elections and in all polling places
throughout New York.

In setting the minimum required voting machines and privacy booths
needed for each polling place based upon the type of voting system and
the number of registered voters assigned to use that specific voting device,
county boards will ensure that there is a sufficient number of machines for
voters. The thirty minute wait provision of the rule will ensure that voters
do not wait more than 30 minutes to cast their votes. The benefit of these
provisions will be most strongly recognized in Presidential elections when
voter turnout tends to be the greatest. Since this type of regulation has
never been enacted in the state of New York before, the combined effects
of this rule will benefit voters in all elections and in all polling places
throughout New York State and should help maintain public confidence in
the election process.

Costs: The proposed Regulations may impose additional costs on local
government. Under the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) county boards
were given federal funding toward the purchase and maintenance of new
voting machines.

However, once machines have been purchased, it is incumbent upon
counties to continue to maintain their voting machines and additional vot-
ing equipment. Under the proposed § 6210.19(b)(1)(a), which establishes
guidelines for Direct Recording Electronic voting systems, ‘there shall be
at least one direct recording electronic voting device for every 550
registered voters (excluding voters in inactive status) at the polling place’’.

Under § 6210.19(2)(a), which establishes the guidelines for precinct
based Optical Scan voting systems, ‘‘there shall be at least one scanning
device for every 4000 registered voters (excluding voters in inactive
status) at the polling place’’. While this machine is considered less techni-
cally intricate and can service thousands of voters versus hundreds, the
cost to these machines will come in the form of printing a sufficient
number of paper ballots for each election. However, the cost of ballots is
dependent upon a competitive bid process.

Furthermore, § 6210.19(c)(1) requires county boards to ‘‘deploy suf-
ficient voting equipment, election workers and other resources so that
voter waiting time at the poll site does not exceed thirty minutes’’. Under
this regulation counties may be required to hire additional staff to ensure
shorter lines, which may require additional money and election support
staff.

Local Government Mandates: This regulation would establish the mini-
mum number of voting machines required in each polling place and the
maximum number of voters that can vote on one machine pursuant to
statute.

The regulation also establishes obligations of the local county boards of
elections and directs them to ‘‘deploy sufficient voting equipment, elec-
tion workers and other resources so that voter waiting time at the poll site
does not exceed thirty minutes”’

Most of the mandated costs will be absorbed by federal funding, but
there may be initial and ongoing costs that will be borne by the counties.

Paperwork: Counties must keep track of statistics produced on the
number of voters using accessible voting devices.

Duplication: The subject regulation does not duplicate other existing
Federal or State requirements.

Alternatives: Under § 7-203(2) the State Board is required to establish
the minimum number of voting machines required in each polling place
and the maximum number of voters that can vote on one machine.

In order to arrive at the minimum number of voting machines and the
maximum number of voters that can vote on one machine, the State Board
has conducted studies, solicited surveys and collaborated with other states,
as well as reaching out to government advocacy organizations such as The
League of Women Voters, NYPIRG, Common Cause and New Yorkers
for Verified Voting.

In September 2006, the State Board contracted with the American

Institute for Research (AIR) in order to determine the Maximum Daily
Rate (MDR) for voters for each voting system that was being considered
for use in New York state elections.

The primary goal of the study was to provide data on the MDR in order
to determine the minimum number of voting machines required per the
number of registered voters in an election district. For the study, the MDR
was defined as the maximum number of voters a given voting system can
accommodate in a 15-hour voting period.

Testing of over 800 reported registered voters occurred in Rochester,
New York City and Albany. The tests were based on the use of twelve dif-
ferent machines from Avante, Diebold, ES&S, Liberty and Sequoia, as
well as the lever machine.

Taking into account several variables, including location and partici-
pants, the MDR was based on the mean, the trimmed mean and median of
voters voting within a 15 hour day. Using the mean time, numbers ranged
from a low of 207 voters on the Sequoia DRE to a high of 1931 voters on
the ES&S Optical Scan. Using the trimmed mean, the Diebold Optical
Scan system showed the high MDR at 2,348 voters per machine. Finally,
using the median number, both ES&S and Diebold Optical Scan systems
had the highest MDR at 2571 people. The full text and scope of the AIR
study can also be found on the NYSBOE web-site.

In addition to the AIR study, surveys were sent to other states in order
to solicit answers to questions on the voting machines they used. The in-
formation they provided was used in conjunction with the AIR study to ar-
rive at the numbers proposed in § 6210.19. Twenty-six states responded to
the Board’s survey.

After reviewing the states answers, NYSBOE has determined that of
the participating states:

« Few states established the maximum number of votes. However, Vir-
ginia stated ‘“No precinct may have more than 5,000 voters per DRE’’;
South Carolina uses 250 per DRE; North Carolina uses 250 per; Louisiana
uses 600 for AVC Advantage machines; and Florida estimates 120 per
DRE, but no state has any statute which mandates the maximum number
to be used.

« Of the states that use Op Scans, no state has established mandatory
maximum numbers for the Op Scan. However, California uses between
5000 and 6000 registered voters per machine (1 scanner, 1 automark);
Connecticut uses 1296 per machine; Florida estimates 3000 per machine;
Michigan uses 2999 per precinct and Virginia states that ‘“No precinct
may have more than 5000 voters per Op Scan’’.

« Eight states used VVPATs.

o No uniform number of privacy booths was established. The range
varies from 1 for every 75 voters in Illinois to 1 for every 350 voters in
Idaho.

« No state has a None of the Above option for undervotes.

« Only two states (Wisconsin and South Dakota) have established voter
wait time.

Lastly, the draft proposed text was sent to various government advocacy
organizations and has been posted on the New York State Board of Elec-
tions web-site, which can be found at www.elections.state.ny.us.

The State Board has received numerous comments from the public on
the AIR study, which was used to ascertain maximum numbers of voters
for the machines. Comments supported both higher and lower numbers of
voting machines. After performing due diligence in determining the mini-
mum number of voting machines required in each polling place and the
maximum number of voters that can vote on one machine as per § 7-
203(2), this new regulation § 6210.19, will allow county boards of elec-
tions to adequately plan for elections when new machines have been
certified.

In addition to establishing the minimum number of machines, § 6210.19
also requires that voting line wait times may not exceed thirty minutes.

In order to arrive at this number versus a shorter or longer time period,
several State Board of Elections staff reviewed voter turnout issues from
several county boards through out the state, both urban and rural. In their
review, they analyzed the various voting machines available and the
number of voters that could vote on those machines. Also, follow up calls
were placed to several election inspectors to inquire if voters were
concerned about wait times or if the inspectors observed undue wait times.

Other methods used to determine the 30 minute wait time included com-
ments from government advocacy groups. Some of the comments offered
were from voting oversight organizations, disability organizations, and
several people who offered actual queuing schemes for suggested wait
times.

Lastly, Board staff had a conference call with a company called Segata
that worked in Ohio to scientifically determine appropriate wait times.
The call was considered more of a brain storming session since the Board
did not actually purchase the software offered by the company.

The Board considered all of the above factors prior to establishing the
30 minute wait period. By consensus, it was determined that some wait
time was inevitable and was to be expected during an election day. As a

5



Rule Making Activities

NYS Register/December 24, 2008

result, a 15 minute wait time seemed unrealistic for larger counties, such
as NYC, in a Presidential election and 1 hour was too long, therefore the
maximum wait time agreed upon was 30 minutes.

Federal Standards: There are no Federal standards for establishing the
maximum number of voters that can vote on a machine in order to
guarantee fair and reliable access to voting machines for all voters during
average and peak hours or election days.

Compliance Schedule: The Regulation will be effective for the first
election after machines have been certified in New York State and the
regulation is adopted.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Effect of the rule

This rule applies solely to local governments and does not apply to
small businesses. All 62 county boards of elections will have to comply
with this rule.

Compliance requirements

Under the Help America Vote Act, New York State’s traditional lever
machines were required to be phased out and replaced with either Direct
Recording Electronic Voting Systems or Precinct Based Optical Scan
Voting Systems.

The State Board is currently seeking to adopt NYCRR § 6210.19 in or-
der to establish the minimum number of voting machines required in each
polling place and the maximum number of voters that can vote on one
machine pursuant to statute. The regulation also establishes obligations of
the local county boards of elections and directs them to *‘deploy sufficient
voting equipment, election workers and other resources so that voter wait-
ing time at the poll site does not exceed thirty minutes’’.

Professional services

No professional services are needed other than Board of Elections staff.

Costs

The proposed regulation will undoubtedly impose additional costs on
local government. However, under the Help America Vote Act (HAVA)
county boards were given federal funding toward the purchase and main-
tenance of new voting machines. Most of the mandated initial costs will
be absorbed by federal funding, but there may be ongoing costs that will
need to be absorbed by the counties.

The ongoing costs from Direct Recording Electronic (DRE’s) voting
systems and from Optical Scan machines will come in the form of printing
a sufficient number of paper ballots for each election. The exact cost of
ballots is dependent upon the technology chosen and the State’s competi-
tive bid process.

Furthermore, under this regulation counties may be required to hire ad-
ditional staff to ensure shorter lines, so that voters do not exceed the 30
minuet wait-time provision. This may require additional money and elec-
tion support staff.

Since there are currently no voting systems, which have been certified,
it is difficult to determine exact additional costs for the operation of the
machines or for running an election.

Economic and technological feasibility

New machines will have to be purchased by counties in order to replace
the lever machine. The new machines will be more technologically
advanced than lever machines and have computerized components.

Enacting this rule will not obligate local county boards to go beyond the
requirements of the law.

Minimizing adverse impacts

Because this rule requires changing over from lever machines to
electronic machines, there will likely be an initial adverse impact on
voters. Lever machines have been used for over 100 years and new
technology will undoubtedly cause some uneasiness amongst voters. In
order to remedy this problem, New York State has appropriated ten mil-
lion dollars, which was dispersed to local county boards for voter outreach
and education purposes.

Participation

In order to arrive at the minimum number of voting machines and the
maximum number of voters that can vote on one machine, the State Board
has conducted a study by the American Institute of Research, solicited
surveys and collaborated with other states, as well as reaching out to
government advocacy organizations such as The League of Women Vot-
ers, NYPIRG, Common Cause and New Yorkers for Verified Voting.

Throughout the process, local County Boards’ of Elections have been
kept apprised of on going surveys and outreach by the State Board. Their
opinions and input has consistently been solicited.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

Effect of the rule

This rule applies to local county Boards of Elections throughout New
York State. It will, therefore, have an impact on every rural area in the
state.

Compliance requirements

Under the Help America Vote Act (HAVA), New York State’s tradi-

tional lever machines were required to be phased out and replaced with ei-
ther Direct Recording Electronic Voting Systems or Precinct Based Opti-
cal Scan Voting Systems.

The State Board is currently seeking to adopt NYCRR § 6210.19 in or-
der to establish the minimum number of voting machines required in each
polling place and the maximum number of voters that can vote on one
machine pursuant to statute. The regulation also establishes obligations of
the local county boards of elections and directs them to “‘deploy sufficient
voting equipment, election workers and other resources so that voter wait-
ing time at the poll site does not exceed thirty minutes’’. The State Board
of Elections took into consideration rural areas and concluded that this
regulation may impose an adverse impact in rural areas. As a result,
because the process will be new to New York State it may require ad-
ditional, reporting, record keeping or other compliance requirements.

Professional services
No professional services are needed other than Board of Elections staff.
Costs

The proposed regulation will undoubtedly impose additional costs on
county boards in rural areas. However, under HAVA county boards were
given federal funding toward the purchase and maintenance of new voting
machines. Most of the mandated initial costs will be absorbed by federal
funding, but there may be ongoing costs that will need to be absorbed by
the counties, including those with rural areas.

The ongoing costs from Direct Recording Electronic (DRE’s) voting
systems and from Optical Scan machines will come in the form of printing
a sufficient number of paper ballots for each election. The exact cost of
ballots is dependent upon the technology chosen and the State’s competi-
tive bid process.

Furthermore, under this regulation rural counties may be required to
hire additional staff to ensure shorter lines, so that voters do not exceed
the 30 minuet wait-time provision. This may require additional money and
election support staff.

Since there are currently no voting systems, which have been certified,
it is difficult to determine exact additional costs for the operation of the
machines or for running an election.

Economic and technological feasibility

New machines will have to be purchased by all rural counties in order
to replace the lever machine. The new machines will be more technologi-
cally advanced than lever machines and have computerized components.

Enacting this rule will not obligate counties in rural areas to go beyond
the requirements of the law.

Minimizing adverse impacts

Because this rule requires changing over from lever machines to
electronic machines, there will likely be an initial adverse impact on vot-
ers in rural areas. Lever machines have been used for over 100 years and
new technology will undoubtedly cause some uneasiness amongst rural
voters. In order to remedy this problem, New York State has appropriated
ten million dollars, which was dispersed to counties for voter outreach and
education purposes.

Participation

In order to arrive at the minimum number of voting machines and the
maximum number of voters that can vote on one machine, the State Board
has conducted a study by the American Institute of Research, solicited
surveys and collaborated with other states, as well as reaching out to
government advocacy organizations such as The League of Women Vot-
ers, NYPIRG, Common Cause and New Yorkers for Verified Voting.

Throughout the process, local County Boards’ of Elections, including
those in rural areas have been kept apprised of on going surveys and
outreach by the State Board. Their opinions and input has consistently
been solicited.

Job Impact Statement
These regulations will have neither an adverse nor a positive impact on
employment opportunities in New York State.
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Department of Environmental
Conservation

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Firewood Restrictions to Protect Forests from Invasive Species

L.D. No. ENV-52-08-00005-E
Filing No. 1263

Filing Date: 2008-12-05
Effective Date: 2008-12-05

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of section 192.5 to Title 6 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Environmental Conservation Law, sections
1-0101(3)(b), (d), 3-0301(1)(b), (d) (2)(m), 9-0105(1), (3) and 9-1303
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of public health,
public safety and general welfare.

Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: Protecting New
York State’s forest from invasive insects and diseases carried on firewood
and introduced into non-infested forests and urban communities killing
millions of trees, degrading water quality and ecosystems, and endanger-
ing public safety from diseased and hazardous trees that are weakened and
liable to fall down.

Subject: Firewood restrictions to protect forests from invasive species.

Purpose: Prohibit the importation of untreated firewood into New York
State and restrict the transport of untreated firewood within New York
State.

Text of emergency rule: A new section 192.5 is added to 6 NYCRR Part
192 to read as follows:
§ 192.5 Firewood Restrictions to Protect Forests from Invasive Species.
(a) Definitions. For the purposes of this section, these terms shall be
defined as follows:

(1) “‘Department’’ shall mean the New York State Department of
Environmental Conservation.

(2) “‘Dealer’’ shall mean any person or business, other than a
firewood producer, that sells firewood.

(3) “‘Firewood’’ shall mean any kindling, logs, chunkwood, boards,
timbers or other wood of any tree species cut and split, or not split, into a
form and size appropriate for use as fuel.

(4) “‘Firewood producer’’ shall mean any person or business who
processes kindling, logs, chunkwood, boards, timbers or other wood of
any tree species into firewood for sale.

(5) “‘New York-Approved Treated Firewood / Pest-Free’’ shall mean
a labeling standard for firewood that may be used by a firewood producer
who complies with the provisions of subdivision (d) of this section.

(6) “‘New York-Sourced Firewood’’ shall mean a labeling standard
for firewood used by a New York firewood producer who complies with
the provisions of subdivision (e) of this section.

(7) “‘Person’’ shall mean an individual, organization, corporation or
partnership, other than the department, public authority, county, town,
village, city, municipal agency or public corporation.

(8) “‘Phytosanitary certificate’’ or ‘‘plant health certificate’’ shall
mean an official document issued by a state or country from which
firewood is being exported which certifies that the firewood meets the
phytosanitary regulations of New York State.

(9) “‘Self-issued Certificate of Source’’ shall mean certification, on a
form prescribed by the department, that is signed by a person who desires
to move firewood, for personal use, from one location to another, within
New York in compliance with the provisions of subdivision (f) of this
section.

(10) “*Source’’ shall mean the village, town or city, which the
firewood producer declares as the source of the firewood. All trees or logs
that are processed into firewood that is declared to be from the named
source shall have been grown within 50 miles of the named source, prior
to being obtained by the firewood producer.

(11) “‘Untreated Firewood’’ shall mean any firewood that has not
been treated in accordance with the provisions of subdivision (d) of this
section.

(12) **50 miles’’ shall mean a 50 mile linear distance determined by

using the scale-bar on a New York State road map, atlas or gazetteer,
from the point identified as the stated source of the firewood in question.

(b) Prohibition on Transport of Untreated Firewood into New York
State.

No person shall transport, by any means, Untreated Firewood into New
York State, for sale or use within the State from any location outside the
State.

(c) Restrictions on Transport, Sale and/or Possession of Untreated
Firewood within New York State.

(1) No person shall transport, sell or possess Untreated Firewood
within the State unless its source is identified according to the criteria set
forth in either subdivision (e) or (f) of this section.

(2) No person shall move Untreated Firewood produced, from trees
that are grown in New York State, more than 50 miles from the source of
the firewood.

(3) Dealers of New York-Sourced Firewood shall provide copies of
the firewood source documentation, provided by the firewood producer, to
all purchasers.

(4) Firewood producers shall maintain records of log or wood
purchases or procurement to verify the sources of their firewood. Such re-
cords shall be made available for inspection by the department upon
request.

(d) Standards for Treatment and Labeling.

(1) Firewood may be labeled ‘‘New York-Approved Treated Fire-
wood / Pest Free’’ if accompanied by a Firewood producer’s certification
that it was heat treated to achieve a minimum wood core temperature of
71°C for a minimum of 75 minutes. Such treatment may employ kiln-drying
or other treatments approved by the department that achieve this
specification through use of steam, hot water, dry heat or other methods.

(2) A Firewood producer’s certification shall indicate the producer’s
name, legal address and the village, town or city of the business on a
label, bill of sale or lading, purchase receipt or invoice accompanying
such firewood.

(3) Producers of ‘‘New York-Approved Treated Firewood / Pest-
Free’ firewood shall maintain, for at least one year from the date of treat-
ment, records that document the treatment method and the volume of
firewood treated, and shall also allow department officials to inspect such
records and the facilities used to treat firewood upon request.

(4) Phytosanitary certificates from an out-of-state firewood produc-
er’s State Department of Agriculture or the United States Department of
Agriculture Animal Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA APHIS) may
be used to verify the treatment method and volumes of treated firewood
that is produced out-of-state.

(e) “‘New York-Sourced Firewood’’ requirements.

(1) The “‘New York-Sourced Firewood’’ designation may be applied
only to Untreated Firewood that has its source wholly within New York
State, and is transported not more than 50 miles from the firewood
producer’s declared source of the firewood.

(2) Dealers of ‘‘New York-Sourced Firewood’’ shall provide to
customers the name of the producer of the firewood, the producer’s legal
address and the source of the firewood, as provided by the firewood pro-
ducer, on a label, bill of sale or lading, purchase receipt or invoice, at-
tached to or accompanying such firewood they sell.

(f) Self-issued Certificate of Source.

(1) Persons who cut and transport Untreated Firewood for personal
use must complete and possess a Self-Issued Certificate of Source from the
department in accordance with this section.

(2) A Self-Issued Certificate of Source must specify the source of the
firewood being cut and transported.

(3) Self-Issued Certificate of Source forms shall be available on the
department’s website, www.dec.ny.gov, and at the department’s regional
offices.

(4) No person who cuts and/or transports firewood for personal use
shall move such firewood more than 50 miles from its source unless it is
treated in accordance with subdivision (d) of this section.

(5) Persons who cut firewood on their own property, for their own
use on that same property, are exempt from the requirements of this
subdivision.

This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt this emergency rule as a permanent rule and
will publish a notice of proposed rule making in the State Register at some
future date. The emergency rule will expire March 4, 2009.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Bruce Williamson, DEC, 625 Broadway, Albany, NY 12233-4253,
(518) 402-9425, email: firewood@gw.dec.state.ny.us

Summary of Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory authority:

Environmental Conservation Law (ECL) section 1-0101 (3) (b) directs
the Department of Environmental Conservation (‘‘Department’’) to
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guarantee ‘‘that the widest range of beneficial uses of the environment is
attained without risk to health or safety, unnecessary degradation or other
undesirable or unintentional consequences.”” ECL section 1-0101 (3) (d)
directs the Department to preserve the unique qualities of the Adirondack
Forest Preserve. ECL section 3-0301 (1) (b) gives the Department the
responsibility to ‘‘promote and coordinate management of... land re-
sources to assure their protection... in promulgating any rule or
regulation.”” ECL section 3-0301 (1) (d) authorizes the Department to
“‘provide for the care, custody and control’’ of forest preserve lands; ECL
section 9-0105(1) authorizes the Department to ‘‘exercise care, custody
and control of the several preserves, parks and other state lands described”’
in ECL Article 9; ECL section 3-0301 (2) (m) authorizes the Department
to adopt rules and regulations ‘‘as may be necessary, convenient or desir-
able to effectuate the purposes of the ECL’” and ECL section 9-0105 (3)
authorizes DEC to ‘‘make necessary rules and regulations to secure proper
enforcement of ECL Article 9.”

ECL section 9-1303 grants the following authority for the purpose of
control and preventing the spread of forest insects and forest tree diseases:
to conduct necessary investigations to discover better methods of control
or prevention of the spread of forest insects and forest tree diseases; to
enter upon any lands for the purpose of determining if such property is
infested with forest insects or forest tree diseases; to establish quarantine
districts in the State; to prohibit the movement of materials which may be
harboring forest insects or forest tree diseases in any of their different
forms; to poison forest areas in or near sections infested by insect pests or
forest tree diseases; to establish zones for preventing the spread of forest
insect and disease pests; and to make rules and regulations to prevent the
spread of or to control forest insects and forest tree diseases, their pupae,
eggs and caterpillars, and plants or trees infested by them.

Legislative objectives:

The proposal directly supports the legislative intent underlying the
Department’s authority to protect forests, by regulating the importation
and movement of a wood product that has been demonstrated to be a pri-
mary carrier for numerous destructive, invasive, and exotic forest pests.
The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Animal and Plant
Health Inspection Service (APHIS) and State agencies have identified a
connection between the movement of infested firewood with new infesta-
tions and expansions of infested areas for Emerald ash borer in Michigan,
Illinois, Indiana, and West Virginia. In the absence of a confirmed, specific
pest infestation, the federal government does not have the authority to
prevent the movement of potentially-infested wood materials. This is akin
to closing the barn door after the horses have left. The New York State
Legislature clearly intended the Department to be pro-active in protecting
our forest resources, which is the intent of this regulation.

Needs and benefits:

Firewood has the potential to spread many destructive, invasive, exotic
pests, both known and, as yet, unknown. Confirmed threats to New York
State include: Emerald ash borer, Sirex noctilio (European wood wasp),
Asian long-horned beetle, European gypsy moth, Asian gypsy moth, and a
number of other wood boring or defoliating insects, plus decay and wood-
stain fungi as well as the pathogens that cause Dutch elm disease, oak wilt,
and sudden oak death. Firewood product is often stored and unused for
long periods of time, and is handled by persons generally not trained to
identify signs of invasive pests. Once established in new areas, invasive
forest pests can quickly kill trees in forests, parks, communities and
campgrounds. For example, USDA APHIS estimates that over 30 million
ash trees have already been killed by the Emerald ash borer in Michigan
with additional millions of trees dead or dying in the Indiana, Illinois,
Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia and Ontario, Canada. In
urban settings, this presents liability concerns and may require significant
expenditures (in the millions of dollars) for removal of dead trees. For
example, it will cost the City of Ann Arbor, Michigan (population 99,000)
over $4.3 million dollars to remove over 10,000 dead and dying ash trees
(7,500 street trees alone) that pose safety hazards to residents and prop-
erty, and expose the city to potential liability costs.

Ecological costs could include the loss of entire tree species. There are
an estimated 750 million ash trees in New York State (excluding the
Adirondack and Catskill Forest Preserves) and ash constitutes 7% of all
trees in our forests.

Similarly, the Asian longhorned beetle, an invasive insect has already
been found in New York City and on Long Island, and could wreak havoc
across upstate New York forests and communities because most maple
species are among its preferred hosts.

The proposed rule is needed to reduce the risk of introduction and
spread of invasive insects and diseases of trees by preventing untreated
firewood from entering New York State and restricting the movement,
sale and possession, within the State, of untreated firewood that originates
in New York State.

The Department intends to hold a series of public meetings around the
State to inform interested and affected stakeholders of the need for
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firewood regulations. These meetings will include information about how
producers, dealers and consumers of firewood will be affected, along with
the actions necessary for their compliance with these regulations. Depart-
ment staff has and will continue to discuss this regulation with individual
stakeholders. In addition, the development of this regulation has been
based in part on firewood surveys last summer at DEC and private
campgrounds. Also, the Department and the Office of Parks, Recreation
and Historic Preservation (OPRHP) have developed ‘‘Don’t Move
Firewood”’ information on their public websites. As part of its outreach
strategy, the Department developed communication materials (bookmarks,
fact sheets, and signs) that were distributed statewide to numerous outlets
such as the New York State Thruway rest stops, the New York State Fair,
county fairs, and private campground associations.

Costs:

The proposed regulation will impose additional costs to out-of-state
producers, or large scale, in-state producers shipping firewood farther than
50 miles. The cost to comply with treatment requirements for firewood
may be passed on to consumers. Equipment investment of up to $250,000
may be required for a business to acquire all the necessary equipment
from scratch, although most already have much of the necessary equip-
ment, or could acquire second-hand equipment. Other compliance require-
ments that would increase costs for producers include increased documen-
tation and record-keeping on firewood, monitoring equipment and
personnel time to comply with the product labeling standard. Labeling, if
not already done, could be a positive investment, as it would increase
marketability of the product to consumers.

The regulation may also increase markets and demand for treated or lo-
cal, ““New York-Sourced’’ firewood. Ultimately, the Department antici-
pates no change in the overall amount of firewood consumed, but a re-
distribution of the firewood supply.

The proposed regulation would increase costs and demands on Depart-
ment staff due to the following:

- increasing public outreach;

- increasing communication with campers and other firewood users;

- increasing outreach to firewood producers and vendors;

- supplying firewood at campgrounds;

- enforcing this regulation; and

- disposal of confiscated material.

Many of these same costs would also be incurred by OPRHP, and to a
lesser extent, New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets
(NYSDAM).

Local government mandates:

The proposed regulation does not impose any programs, services, duties
or responsibilities upon any county, city, town, village, school district or
other special district.

Paperwork:

Producers would be required to document treatment of firewood, or
document sources of firewood or logs converted to firewood. Firewood
dealers, both wholesale and retail, would be required to provide documen-
tation of treatment or local source of firewood to customers, which could
be accomplished by labeling or on an invoice or receipt.

Duplication:

Some firewood producers may also receive certification from USDA
APHIS to move firewood into or out of federally quarantined areas for
certain forest pests. APHIS certification may require heat treatment of the
product consistent with the proposed State regulation and would be ac-
cepted as meeting the State’s requirements.

Alternatives:

The Department could continue its public awareness campaign without
implementing regulations. This alternative would prevent enforcement
against inappropriate firewood movement, and compromise the Depart-
ment’s ability to responsibly manage State owned lands.

Or the Department could prohibit out-of-state firewood, or ‘‘non-local
wood”’” from being brought into State campgrounds, or onto public lands.
Some other States, localities, or federal agency units (certain National
Forests, managed by the U.S. Forest Service, or National Parks, managed
by the National Park Service) have taken this limited approach. However,
this approach does not adequately protect all of the State’s forests, since
our State campgrounds and lands only comprise a partial percentage of the
State forests.

Another alternative could utilize voluntary agreements between the
Department and the firewood producer/vendor for ‘‘“New York-Sourced
wood’’, and focus on the point of sale. This differs from the proposed
regulation because it fails to address the subsequent movement or posses-
sion of firewood by the buyer. If the subsequent movement and possession
of untreated firewood is not regulated, there would be no protection of our
forest resources from the unintentional and unknowing human-assisted
movement of forest pests within the State. Also, it would not address the
significant risk presented by the movement of wood into New York State
from other States. The Department is equally concerned about the move-
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ment of pests harbouref on firewood from Long Island to the Catskills or
Buffalo to the Adirondacks.

Federal standards:

USDA APHIS’ authority to impose quarantine restrictions concerning
treatment and movement of firewood (a commodity) are only imposed in
direct conjunction with a specific pest species regulatory action. The
Department is being proactive and recognizes that a wide variety of
invasive, exotic forest pests and diseases may be transported to new areas
on many different species of wood used as firewood.

The heat treating standard the Department is requiring for imported
firewood is consistent with USDA APHIS Emerald ash borer quarantine
standards and international trade standards for firewood and solid wood
packaging materials.

Compliance schedule:

Regulated parties can comply immediately with the regulation by alter-
ing their distribution patterns for firewood. To be in compliance, in state
producers, dealers and consumers of firewood only need to restrict their
sourcing, distribution and movement of firewood to refocus on readily
available local markets. In most cases, this will not entail any change in
current practices, since most firewood is already obtained, processed and
sold locally. Firewood is a low value product, and the high and increasing
cost of gas and diesel fuel make long distance commercial movement of
this product uneconomical.

Many out-of-state producers already heat-treat their firewood as a
marketing strategy, and have most of the necessary facilities and equip-
ment to meet New York State’s import requirements. Minimal time would
be required for them to comply with the additional monitoring require-
ments, and time and temperature requirement for the treating process. The
Department is not proposing to recall existing dealer stocks of firewood
from the marketplace and anticipate that there will be a period of time
(perhaps 1-2 months, or more) when some firewood will continue to be
sold that does not meet the new labeling and treating standards. Our inten-
tion is to focus on awareness and education during this initial period, rather
than strict enforcement.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Effect of rule: The proposed regulation will impose additional costs
to out-of-state producers, who would be required to heat-treat firewood
which they plan to export to New York State, and those in-state firewood
producers who choose to distribute their firewood beyond 50 miles and
must therefore heat-treat it. Equipment investment of up to $250,000 may
be required for a business looking to acquire new heat-treatment equip-
ment, although many large producers already own much of the necessary
equipment (kilns, controls, racks, etc.) or could acquire used equipment.
Other compliance requirements that would increase costs to heat-treated
wood producers that may be passed on to consumers include increased
documentation and record-keeping on firewood, monitoring equipment
and personnel time to maintain records and compliance with the product
labeling standard, although compliance with labeling requirements would
be minimal if compliance information is added to an existing label or
invoice. Source labeling could be an added expense for all firewood pro-
ducers, in-state and out-of-state, if not already being done. Labeling,
however, could be a positive investment, as it could increase marketability
of the product to consumers and serve as advertising.

Regulation may also increase markets and demand for treated or ““New
York-Sourced Firewood’’, as users change their behavior patterns in
firewood use in response to the Department’s increased outreach educa-
tion promoting the new regulations and the ‘‘don’t move firewood’” and
“‘use local firewood’’ messages. Ultimately, the Department anticipates
no changes in overall amount of firewood use, but, rather, a re-distribution
or change in the pattern of consumption. The Department expects that as a
result of the rulemaking, firewood produced in a given area, will be
bought, sold and used within that area. Long distance movement of
untreated firewood will be discontinued. Due to the ready availability of
firewood in most parts of the state where firewood is used, this should
have minimal impact on the consumers or producers.

Many firewood dealers are ‘‘small businesses.”” This rule does not make
special provisions for ‘‘small businesses,”” because pest infestations are
unrelated to business size. However, this rule should have little impact on
their sales because most of their firewood is sold locally and locally sold
firewood need not be treated before sale.

2. Compliance requirements: This rule will impact long distance opera-
tors the most. These operators will be required to undertake a wide rang-
ing number of acts to gain producer certification in order to comply with
the proposed regulation. These acts will require new reporting and
recordkeeping activities (where none or very little is currently required),
as well as building new infrastructure and the purchasing of new
equipment. In addition, this segment of the industry will be required to
comply and coordinate with state regulators on a regular basis where no
such contact previously existed.

Local operators will be required to initiate new, but relatively minor

recordkeeping activities that include product origin-labeling or other types
of documentation that indicate firewood is ‘‘New York’’-sourced.

3. Professional services: Long distance operators will likely require
professional services in order to build new infrastructure and to purchase
and install a heat source (e.g. boiler, direct heat) and temperature/time
monitoring equipment.

4. Compliance costs: Long distance operators will face substantial
initial capital costs in order to continue transporting firewood over 50
miles. Start-up costs if new equipment must be purchased would ap-
proximate 250,000 dollars. In addition, other costs will likely be incurred
initially due to a change in normal business activities.

It is not possible for the Department to fairly and accurately estimate
the annual cost of continuing compliance for long distance operators since
little information is available regarding time and energy consumption
needs for treating firewood according to the time/temperature requirement
stated in the rule. Annual costs will vary for long distance operators
depending on many factors, including scale of operation and type of fuel
available for producing process heat.

Both initial and continuing compliance costs will likely vary between
long distance operators since some operators will have some of the
infrastructure required for heat-treatment already in place. Others will
have the capacity to install required equipment for less cost than the
estimate due to their ability to fabricate certain types of equipment *‘in-
house’’ rather than purchasing from an outside vendor, or the purchase of
used equipment.

Finally, it is anticipated that some long distance operators would be
able to recoup an unknown portion of additional annual operating costs by
raising prices to the consumer.

Local operators will face little up front capital cost and negligible costs
in order to maintain compliance on an annual basis. Costs to maintain
compliance will be mostly in the form of additional administrative and
record keeping time to the operator.

5. Economic and technological feasibility: Compliance is technologi-
cally feasible for both long distance and local operators, however, it is less
likely that long distance operators will be willing or able to comply with
the regulation due to both their relatively small scale of business and eco-
nomic constraints of compliance costs noted above. Although one long
distance operator currently sells firewood that meets the proposed compli-
ance requirement, and two sell ‘‘kiln-dried’” firewood (partially meeting
the compliance requirement), these operations are unique in that they sell
“‘retail’” firewood on a large scale basis and command a premium price
since it is sold in bagged or wrapped units of one cubic foot or less. These
operations contrast with most long distance operators who generally
deliver unwrapped green firewood “‘in bulk”” (between 40 and 1,000 cubic
feet).

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule will have a net negative
impact on the overall level of firewood trade in New York. However, it is
anticipated that it will have the effect of shifting the firewood trade be-
tween the existing pool of long distance operators so that more firewood is
sold locally.

6. Minimizing adverse impact: The proposed compliance requirement
minimizes adverse impact to the potentially affected segments of the
firewood industry. The heat-treatment requirements proposed for long
distance operators and the labeling requirement proposed for local opera-
tors are the only feasible methods known to prevent the accidental human-
caused spread of invasive forest pests. The only other option for prevent-
ing the spread of invasives by firewood would be banning the sale of
firewood, which would be far more onerous on the firewood industry.

7. Small business and local government participation: Department staff
have had numerous conversations with firewood related businesses and
individuals related to the proposed regulation. These conversations
included some long distance operators that either currently heat-treat
firewood to the required standard as stated in the proposal or to a lesser
standard. No alternative methods have been discovered that would be less
adverse to small businesses and at the same time meet the objective of the
proposal. In addition, the Department plans to hold a series of public in-
formation meetings at various locations around the state. An announce-
ment will appear in the New York Timber Producers Association Quarterly
Newsletter as well as in local newspapers, and on the Department’s
website, regarding a schedule for these meetings.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. Types and estimated numbers of rural areas:

The proposal is applicable Statewide and covers all rural and non-rural
areas equally.

2. Reporting, recordkeeping and other compliance requirements; and
professional services:

Producers of firewood across the state would be required to document
treatment of firewood or document sources of firewood or logs converted
to firewood. The firewood producer would need to maintain and make
available for inspection documentation of the treatment method and
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sources of firewood upon request of an inspecting official, but would not
be required to file any documentation with the Department of Environmen-
tal Conservation.

Wholesale and retail firewood dealers would be required to provide to
their customers documentation regarding treatment or local source(s) of
firewood, which can be accomplished by labeling the firewood or by
providing this information on an invoice or receipt.

No professional services are anticipated to be necessary for any
ﬁrgwgod producer or dealer to comply with the regulation.

. Costs:

The proposed regulation will impose additional costs to out-of-state
producers who export firewood to New York State because firewood
would have to be heat treated. In state producers who choose to distribute
their firewood beyond 50 miles would also incur additional costs due to
the heat-treat requirement. This cost will likely be passed on to consumers.
Equipment investment of up to $250,000 may be required for a business
acquiring new heat-treatment equipment, although many large producers
already have much of the necessary equipment (e.g., kilns, controls, and
racks) or could acquire used equipment. Other compliance requirements
that would increase costs to heat-treated wood producers that may be
passed on to consumers include increased documentation and record keep-
ing on firewood, monitoring equipment and personnel time to maintain re-
cords that comply with the product labeling standard. Compliance with
the product labeling standard would be minimal if the compliance infor-
mation is added to an existing label or invoice. Source labeling could be
an added expense for all firewood producers, in state and out-of-state, if it
is not already being done. Labeling, however, could be a positive invest-
ment, as it could increase marketability of the product to consumers and
serve as advertising.

The regulation may increase markets and demand for treated or ‘‘“New
York-Sourced Firewood’’. Users change their behavior patterns relating
to firewood use in response to the Department’s outreach education
promoting the new regulations and ‘‘don’t move firewood’’ and ‘‘use lo-
cal firewood’’ messages. Ultimately, the Department anticipates no
changes in the overall amount of firewood use, but, rather, a re-distribution,
or change in the pattern of consumption. It is expected that long distance
movement of firewood will be dramatically reduced, and firewood
produced in a given area will be bought, sold and used primarily within
that area. Due to the ready availability of firewood in most parts of the
state where significant quantities of firewood are used, this should have
minimal impact on the availability of firewood for consumers or the busi-
nesses of producers.

The regulation would increase costs and demands on Department staff
due to the following:

- Increased public outreach,

- Increased communication with campers and other firewood users,

- Increased outreach to firewood producers and vendors,

- Enforcement of the regulation, and

- Disposal of confiscated material.

Many of these costs would also be incurred by the Office of Parks, Rec-
reation and Historic Preservation and, to a lesser extent, the New York
State Department of Agriculture and Markets.

4. Minimizing adverse impact:

The Department has minimized unnecessary adverse impacts on New
York State jobs by creating a mechanism for the continued production and
sale of firewood in the State. In some areas of the State, including rural ar-
eas, this may increase employment or economic opportunities because
there will be agreatere demand from consumers for locally-sourced
firewood. Restricting the importation of untreated firewood into the state
may also increase demand for locally-sourced firewood and the market
opportunities for New York State based producers and retailers of this
commodity.

5. Rural area participation:

The Department intends to hold a series of public information meetings
around the State to inform the public of the proposed regulations, the need
for them, how they will affect producers, dealers and consumers of
firewood, and how all can comply with the regulation.

Job Impact Statement

1. Nature of impact:

The regulation is not expected to have any significant impact on job
numbers. Most people involved in producing and selling firewood do so
as a sideline or part-time endeavor, or as a secondary aspect of another
business (e.g., an arborist whose crew cuts logs and limbs from tree care
work into firewood for later sale). Much of the firewood business and
“‘employment’” is typically ‘‘underground’’, and not documented in Labor
statistic or with IRS. The regulations should prompt only a shift in the dis-
tribution, sales and use patterns of firewood, encouraging local use by
discouraging the long-distance movement of wood. The total count of
firewood produced and used should not be affected. For larger business
that choose to heat-treat firewood for broader distribution, there may be an
increase in jobs related to the heat-treating requirements.
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2. Categories and numbers affected:

The jobs affected would primarily be laborer types, requiring minimal
skills and training, related to cutting and splitting log length wood into
firewood pieces and handling, treating, packaging and delivering the
product. No data is available on the number of people employed in pro-
ducing firewood, as this is not a well-documented workforce. It is highly
seasonal, and intermittent in nature. The ‘‘workforce’” may, at times,
include arborists, tree care and landscape contractors, nurseries and garden
centers, loggers, farmers, and possibly anyone who owns a chainsaw and
pick-up truck. Due to the nature of the product and market, there are few
large-scale producers and dealers.

3. Regions of adverse impact:

The regulation applies equally across the State. There are no regions
where the rule would have a disproportionate adverse impact on jobs or
employment opportunities.

4. Minimizing adverse impact:

The Agency has minimized unnecessary adverse impacts on New York
jobs by creating a mechanism for the continued local production and sale
of firewood. In some areas of the State, this may increase job or economic
opportunities since there will be a greater demand from consumers for
locally-sourced firewood. Restricting the importation of untreated
firewood into the state may also increase demand for locally-sourced
firewood and the market opportunities for producers and retailers of this
commodity.

5. Self-employment opportunities:

Much of the firewood market is supplied through self-employment (and
much of it is undocumented). As previously stated, it is anticipated there
will be more opportunities for individuals to enter the firewood business,
both as producers and dealers, in their local areas as customers seek to
find more local sources of firewood supply.

Department of Health

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Payment for FQHC Psychotherapy and Offsite Services

L.D. No. HLT-45-08-00018-E
Filing No. 1266

Filing Date: 2008-12-08
Effective Date: 2008-12-08

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 86-4.9 of Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 201.1(v)

Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of general welfare.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The amendment to
10 NYCRR 86-4.9 will permit Medicaid billing for individual psycho-
therapy services provided by certified social workers in Article 28 Feder-
ally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs). In conjunction with this change,
DOH is also amending regulations to prohibit Article 28 clinics from bill-
ing for group visits and to prohibit such services from being provided by
part-time clinics.

Based upon the Department’s interpretation of 10 NYCRR 86-4.9(c),
social work services have not been considered billable threshold visits in
Article 28 clinic settings despite the fact that certified social workers have
been an integral part of the mental health delivery system in community
health centers. New federal statute and regulation require States to provide
and pay for each FQHC’s baseline costs, which include costs which are
reasonable and related to the cost of furnishing such services. Reimburse-
ment for individual psychotherapy services provided by certified social
workers in the FQHC setting is specifically mandated by federal law. Fail-
ure to comply with these mandates could lead to federal sanctions and the
loss of federal dollars. Additionally, allowing Medicaid reimbursement
for clinical social worker services is expected to increase access to needed
mental health services.

Subject: Payment for FQHC Psychotherapy and Offsite Services.
Purpose: Permit psychotherapy by certified social workers as a billable
service under certain circumstances.
Text of emergency rule:

Section 86-4.9 is amended to read as follows:
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86-4.9 Units of service. (a) The unit of service used to establish rates of
payment shall be the threshold visit, except for dialysis, abortion, steriliza-
tion services and free-standing ambulatory surgery, for which rates of
payment shall be established for each procedure. For methadone mainte-
nance treatment services, the rate of payment shall be established on a
fixed weekly basis per recipient.

(b) A threshold visit, including all part-time clinic visits, shall occur
each time a patient crosses the threshold of a facility to receive medical
care without regard to the number of services provided during that visit.
Only one threshold visit per patient per day shall be allowable for
reimbursement purposes, except for transfusion services to hemophiliacs,
in which case each transfusion visit shall constitute an allowable threshold
visit.

(c) Offsite services and group services, (except in relation to Federally
Qualified Health Center (FQHC) clinics, as defined in subdivision (h) of
this section), visits related to the provision of offsite services, visits for
ordered ambulatory services, and patient visits solely for the purpose of
the following services shall not constitute threshold visits: pharmacy,
nutrition, medical social services with the exception of clinical social ser-
vices in FQHC clinics as defined in subdivision (g) of this section, respira-
tory therapy, recreation therapy. Offsite services are medical services
provided by a facility’s clinic staff at locations other than those operated
by and under the licensure of the facility.

(d) A procedure shall include the total service, including the initial visit,
preparatory visits, the actual procedure and follow-up visits related to the
procedure. All visits related to a procedure, regardless of number, shall be
part of one procedure and shall not be reported as a threshold visit.

(e) Rates for separate components of a procedure may be established
when patients are unable to utilize all of the services covered by a proce-
dure rate. No separate component rates shall be established unless the fa-
cility includes in its annual financial and statistical reports the statistical
and cost apportionments necessary to determine the component rates.

(f) Ordered ambulatory services may be covered and reimbursed on a
fee for service basis in accordance with the State medical fee schedule.
Ordered ambulatory services are specific services provided to nonregis-
tered clinic patients at the facility, upon the order and referral of a physi-
cian, physician’s assistant, dentist or podiatrist who is not employed by or
under contract with the clinic, to test, diagnose or treat the patient. Ordered
ambulatory services include laboratory services, diagnostic radiology ser-
vices, pharmacy services, ultrasound services, rehabilitation therapy,
diagnostic services and psychological evaluation services.

(g) For purposes of this section clinical social services are defined as
individual psychotherapy services provided in a Federally Qualified
Health Center, by a licensed clinical social worker or by a licensed master
social worker who is working in a clinic under qualifying supervision in
pursuit of licensed clinical social worker status by the New York State
Education Department.

(h) Clinical group psychotherapy services provided in a Federally
Qualified Health Center, are defined as services performed by a clinician
qualified as in subdivision (g) of this section, or by a licensed psychiatrist
or psychologist to groups of patients ranging in size from two to eight
patients. Clinical group psychotherapy shall not include case manage-
ment services. Reimbursement for these services shall be made on the
basis of a FOHC group rate which will be calculated by the Department
for this specific purpose, payable for each individual up to the limits set
forth herein, using elements of the Relative Based Relative Value System
(RBRVS) promulgated by the Centers For Medicare And Medicaid Ser-
vices (CMS), and approved by the State Division of Budget. Psycho-
therapy, including clinical social services and clinical group psycho-
therapy services, may not exceed 15 percent of a clinic’s total annual
threshold visits.

(i) Federally Qualified Health Centers will be reimbursed for the provi-
sion of offsite primary care services to existing FOHC patients in need of
professional services available at the FOQHC, but, due to the individual’s
medical condition, is unable to receive the services on the premises of the
center.

(1) FOHC offsite services must:

(i) consist of services normally rendered at the FOQHC site.

(ii) be rendered to an FQHC patient with a pre-existing relation-
ship with the FOHC (i.e., the patient was previously registered as a patient
with the FQHC) in order to allow the FQHC to render continuous care
when their patient is too ill to receive on-site services, and only to patients
expected to recover and return to become an on-site patient again. Off-
site services may not be billed for patients whose health status is expected
to permanently preclude return to on-site status.

(iii) be rendered only for the duration of the limiting illness, with
the intent that the patient return to regular treatment as an on-site patient
as soon as their medical condition allows.

(iv) be an individual medical service rendered to an FQHC patient
by a physician, physician assistant, midwife or nurse practitioner.

(v) not be rendered in a nursing facility or long term care facility,
t(} any patient expected to remain a patient in that facility or at that level
of care.

(vi) not be billed in conjunction with any other professional fee for
that service, or on the same day as a threshold visit.

(2) Reimbursement for these services shall be made on the basis of
an FQHC offsite professional rate, which will be calculated by the Depart-
ment using elements of the Relative Based Relative Value System (RBRVS)
promulgated by the Centers For Medicare And Medicaid Services (CMS)
and approved by the State Division of Budget.

This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt the provisions of this emergency rule as a
permanent rule, having previously submitted to the Department of State a
notice of proposed rule making, I.D. No. HLT-45-08-00018-P, Issue of
November 5, 2008. The emergency rule will expire February 5, 2009.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained

from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Regulatory
Affairs Unit, Room 2438, ESP, Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518)
473-7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory Authority:

The authority for the promulgation of these regulations is contained in
section 2803(2)(a) of the Public Health Law which authorizes the State
Hospital Review and Planning Council to adopt and amend rules and
regulations, subject to the approval of the Commissioner. Section 702 of
the Medicare, Medicaid, and SCHIP Benefits Improvement and Protection
Act (BIPA) of 2000 made changes to the Social Security Act affecting
how prices are set for Federally Qualified Health Centers and rural health
centers. Section 1902(a)(10) of the federal Social Security Act (42 USC
1396a(a)(10)) and 1905(a)(2) of the Social Security Act (42 USC
1396d(a)(2)) require the State to cover the services of Federally Qualified
Health Centers. Additionally, section 1861(aa) of the Social Security Act
(42 USC 1395x(aa)) defines the services that a Federally Qualified Health
Center provides, including the services of a clinical social worker.

Legislative Objective:

The regulatory objective of this authority is to bring the State into
compliance with Federal Law regarding payments to Federally Qualified
Health Centers (FQHCs). Based on the Federal Medicare, Medicaid, and
SCHIP Benefits Improvement and Protection Act (BIPA) of 2000 we will
allow payments for group psychotherapy provided by social workers and
limited off-site services at special rates developed for these services. Indi-
vidual psychotherapy remains allowed at the threshold visit rate.

This amendment will allow individual psychotherapy by licensed clini-
cal social workers (LCSWs) as a billable visit in FQHCs under the follow-
ing circumstances:

« Services are provided by a licensed clinical social worker or by a
licensed master social worker who is working in a clinic under qualifying
supervision in pursuit of licensed clinical social worker status.

« Psychotherapy services only will be permitted, not case management
and related services.

Group psychotherapy as a clinical social service will be allowed in
FQHC:s in accordance with the following:

« Services are provided to a group of patients by a licensed clinical
social worker, or by a licensed master social worker who is working in a
clinic under qualifying supervision in pursuit of licensed clinical social
worker status or a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist.

« Payment will be made on the basis of a FQHC group rate.

« Payment will only be made for services that occur in FQHCs.

Payment for individual or group psychotherapy will not be allowed for
services rendered off-site.

Both individual and group psychotherapy in FQHCs is limited to a total
of 15 percent of all billings.

Off-site primary care services by FQHCs will be reimbursable under
the following provisions:

o Individuals given care must be existing FQHC patients who are
temporarily unable to receive services on-site due to their medical condi-
tion but are expected to return to the FQHC as an on-site patient.

o Services must be rendered by a physician, physician assistant,
midwife or nurse practitioner and reimbursed at the FQHC offsite profes-
sional rate.

« Services are not billable with any other professional fee for that ser-
vice or on the same day as a threshold visit.

Needs and Benefits:

Recent Federal changes related to Medicaid reimbursement for FQHCs
mandate that group psychotherapy services provided by a social worker
and off-site primary care services be considered a billable service.

This approach will ensure access to social work services in the most
underserved areas and increase consistency with the policies of other state
agencies.
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COSTS:

Costs for the Implementation of, and Continuing Compliance with this
Regulation to Regulated Entity:

We estimate this change will increase Medicaid costs by about 7.4 mil-
lion dollars gross, annually. Of this amount, about 1.2 million dollars is at-
tributable to allowing FQHCs to bill for limited off-site visits. 6.2 million
dollars is attributable to allowing FQHCs to bill for group therapy services.
These changes are being made in order to comply with Federal
requirements.

Pricing & Volume Data Cost Estimates

Downstate ~ Upstate Statewide
Average
Offsite Visits Offsite Visits
Subsequent $62.73 $55.19 $58.96  $1,117,212
Hospital Care
Psychotherapy Ser- Group
vices Therapy
Group $34.86 $30.81 $32.84  $6,222,733
Psychotherapy
2004 FQHC Visit 1,894,864
Volume
Total

Volume Increase Assumptions $7,339,945

Group Therapy Increase = 10% Increase

2004 FQHC Volume
Off-site Visit Increase = 1% Increase
Over 2004 FQHC Volume

Cost to the Department of Health:

This represents a permanent filing of regulations already in effect. There
will be no additional costs to the Department.

Local Government Mandates:

This amendment will not impose any program service, duty or responsi-
bility upon any county, city, town, village school district, fire district or
other special district.

Paperwork:

This amendment will increase the paperwork for providers only to the
extent that providers will bill for social work services.

Duplication:

This regulation does not duplicate, overlap or conflict with any other
state or federal law or regulations.

Alternatives:

Recent changes to federal law make it clear that states must reimburse
FQHCs under Medicaid for off-site primary care services and the services
of certified social workers for both individual and group psychotherapy.
In light of this federal requirement, no alternatives were considered.

Federal Standards:

This amendment does not exceed any minimum standards of the federal
government for the same or similar subject areas.

Compliance Schedule:

The proposed amendment will become effective upon filing with the
Secretary of State.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Effect on Small Businesses and Local Governments:

No impact on small businesses or local governments is expected.

Compliance Requirements:

This amendment does not impose new reporting, record keeping or
other compliance requirements on small businesses or local governments.

Professional Services:

No new professional services are required as a result of this proposed
action. These changes will bring our regulations into compliance with the
State Education Department’s (SED) new standards for social worker
licensure.

Compliance Costs:

This amendment does not impose new reporting, recordkeeping or other
compliance requirements on small businesses or local governments.

Economic & Technological Feasibility:

DOH staff has had conversations with the National Association of
Social Workers (NASW), UCP, and CHCANYS concerning the interpre-
tation of the current regulation as well as proposed changes to the existing
regulation. Although some systems changes will be necessary to ensure
that payment is made only to FQHCs, the proposed regulation will not
change the way providers bill for services, and thus there should be no
concern about technical difficulties associated with compliance.
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Minimizing Adverse Impact:

There is no adverse impact.

Opportunity for Small Business Participation:

Participation is open to any FQHC that is certified under Article 28 of
the Public Health Law, regardless of size, to provide individual psycho-
therapy services by certified social workers. Any FQHC, regardless of
size, may participate in providing off-site primary care services as well as
on-site group psychotherapy services by certified social workers, a
licensed psychiatrist or psychologist.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

Types and Estimated Number of Rural Areas:

This rule will apply to all Article 28 clinic sites in New York that have
been designated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS) as Federally Qualified Health Centers. These businesses are lo-
cated in rural, as well as suburban and metropolitan areas of the State.

Reporting, Recordkeeping and Other Compliance Requirements and
Professional Services:

No new reporting, recordkeeping or other compliance requirements and
professional are needed in a rural area to comply with the proposed rule.

Compliance Costs:

There are no direct costs associated with compliance.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:

There is no adverse impact.

Opportunity for Rural Area Participation:

The Department has had conversations with the National Association of
Social Workers Association (NASW), UCP, and CHCANYS to discuss
Medicaid reimbursement for social work services and the impact of this
new rule on their constituents. These groups and associations represent
social workers and clinic providers from across the State, including rural
areas.

Job Impact Statement

Nature of Impact:

It is not anticipated that there will be any impact of this rule on jobs or
employment opportunities.

Categories and Numbers Affected:

There are almost 1000 Article 28 clinics of which approximately 58 are
FQHCs, FQHC look-alikes, and rural health clinics.

Regions of Adverse Impact:

This rule will affect all regions within the State and businesses out of
New York State that are enrolled in the Medicaid Program as an Article 28
clinic and that has been designated by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) as a Federally Qualified Health Center.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:

The Department is required by federal rules to reimburse FQHCs for
the provision of primary care services, including clinical social work ser-
vices, based upon the Center’s reasonable costs for delivering covered
services.

Self-Employment Opportunities:

The rule is expected to have no impact on self-employment opportuni-
ties since the change affects only services provided in a clinic setting.

Insurance Department

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Guidelines for the Processing of Coordination of Benefit (COB)
Claims

L.D. No. INS-52-08-00006-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: Amendment of Parts 52 and 217 of Title 11 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Insurance Law, sections 201, 301, 1109, 2403, 3216,
3221, 3224-a, 3224-b, 4304 and 4305
Subject: Guidelines for the processing of Coordination of Benefit (COB)
claims.
Purpose: To establish guidelines for the processing of healthcare claims
for persons covered by more than one health insurance policy.
Text of proposed rule: Section 52.23(r) is amended to read as follows:

(r) Right of recovery. Subject to the provisions of Section 217-2.2(c) of
this Title (Regulation No. 178)

(1) If the amount of the payments made by an insurer is more than it
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should have paid under its COB provision, it may recover the excess from
one or more of:

(1) the persons it has paid or for whom it has paid;

(i1) insurance companies; or

(ii1) other organizations.

(2) A secondary plan that provides benefits in the form of services
may recover the reasonable cash value of providing the services from the
primary plan, to the extent that benefits for the services are covered by the
primary plan and have not already been paid or provided by the primary
plan. Nothing in this subdivision shall be interpreted to require a plan to
reimburse a covered person in cash for the value of services provided by a
plan that provides benefits in the form of services.

Part 217 is hereby retitled: ‘‘Processing Of Health Insurance Claims.”’

Part 217 (Regulation No. 178) is hereby renumbered Subpart 217-1, in
sequence. Subpart 217-1 shall be entitled: ‘‘Prompt Payment of Health In-
surance Claims.”’

New section 217-1.1 is amended to read as follows:

Section 217-1.1 Definitions and applicability.

(a) For the purposes of this [Part] Subpart:

(b) This [Part] Subpart shall apply to all health care claims submitted
under contracts or agreements issued or entered into pursuant to Articles
32,42 or 43 of the Insurance Law or Article 44 of the Public Health Law.

New section 217-1.2(d) is amended to read as follows:

(d) Nothing in this [Part] Subpart shall prohibit a payer from electing to
accept some or all claims with less information than that specified in the
lists set forth in subdivisions (b) and (c) of this section.

A new Subpart 217-2, entitled ‘‘Coordination of Benefit Claims,’” is
added to read as follows:

Section 217-2.1 Definitions and Applicability.

(a) For purposes of this Subpart:

(1) Coordination of benefits or COB means a procedure that is
intended to avoid claims payment delays and duplication of benefits when
a person is covered by two or more health insurers providing benefits or
services for medical, dental or other care or treatment by: establishing an
order in which plans pay their claims, providing the authority for the
orderly transfer of information needed to pay claims properly and permit-
ting a reduction of the benefits of a health insurer when, by the rules
established by Section 52.23 of this Title (Regulation No. 62), it does not
have to pay its benefits first.

(2) Health care claim means a request for payment for services
rendered to an insured pursuant to the benefits provided in a health insur-
ance policy.

(3) Health care provider means an entity licensed or certified pursu-
ant to Article 28, 36 or 40 of the Public Health Law; a facility licensed
pursuant to Article 19, 23 or 31 of the Mental Hygiene Law, a health care
professional licensed, registered or certified pursuant to Title 8 of the
Education Law; or a health care provider comparably licensed, registered
or certified by another state; or a dispenser or provider of pharmaceutical
products, services or durable medical equipment.

(4) Health insurance policy means a contract that provides benefits
or services for medical, dental or other health care or treatment.

(5) Health insurer means an insurer that issues a health insurance
policy.

(6) Remittance advice means a form on which a health insurer
indicates to a health care provider the details of the health insurer’s
processing of a particular claim.

(7) Primary health insurer means a health insurer whose benefits for
a person’s health care coverage must be determined without taking the ex-
istence of coverage issued by any other health insurer into consideration,
pursuant to the COB rules in Section 52.23 of this Title and the provisions
of the health insurer’s policy or contract.

(8) Secondary health insurer means a health insurer that is not a pri-
mary health insurer that may take into consideration the benefits of the
primary health insurer or insurers and the benefits of any other accident
and health coverage.

(b) This Subpart shall apply to a health insurer authorized to write ac-
cident and health insurance pursuant to Article 42 of the New York Insur-
ance Law, a corporation licensed pursuant to Article 43 of the Insurance
Law, or an entity certified pursuant to Article 44 of the Public Health
Law, with respect to a health care claim submitted under a health insur-
ance policy.. This Subpart shall not apply to coordination of benefits
involving no-fault auto insurance policies, workers compensation polices
or the Medicare program.

(c) The requirements of this section shall apply when an individual is
covered, or where there is a reasonable basis supported by specific infor-
mation to believe that the individual is covered, under more than one
health insurance policy that provides benefits or services for medical,
dental or other care or treatment.

Section 217-2.2 Coordination of benefit requirements.

(a) When a health care provider submits a claim to a health insurer,

that submission shall suspend the time period for submission of the claim
to a second health insurer until such time as the provider has received a
remittance advice or other evidence of a benefit determination, including
an appeal determination, from the first health insurer. After the health
care provider receives a remittance advice, appeal determination, or other
evidence of a benefit determination from the first health insurer, the health
care provider shall have at least 60 days from receipt of the remittance,
appeal determination or other evidence of a benefit determination to bill
any other health insurer that has a potential payment obligation. A claim
submitted to the second health insurer after the 60-day period shall be
subject to the claims submission rules of the second health insurer. Unless
the health care provider is otherwise able to demonstrate, it shall be
presumed that the remittance advice, appeal determination, or other evi-
dence of a benefit determination was received within eight calendar days
of the date on the document.

(b)(1) If a health care provider submits a claim to a secondary health
insurer prior to submitting the claim to the primary health insurer, the
secondary health insurer shall deny the claim, notify the health care
provider that it is secondary and notify the health care provider of the
identity of the primary health insurer, or, if the identity of the primary
health insurer is not known, provide whatever information was used to
make the determination that it is a secondary health insurer. The second-
ary health insurer may provide the information by referring the health
care provider to the specific page of the secondary health insurer’s website
and shall include a toll free telephone number through which the informa-
tion will be provided. The health care provider’s submission of the claim
to the primary health insurer shall suspend the time period for resubmis-
sion of such claim to the secondary health insurer as set forth above in
subdivision (a) of this section.

(2) If the information provided by the secondary health insurer is not
sufficient to determine the identity of the primary health insurer, the health
care provider shall have 60 days from the notice that other coverage may
exist to make a reasonable effort to confirm if other coverage does exist. A
“reasonable effort’’ shall include at least an attempt by the health care
provider to contact the patient.

(3) If the health care provider is unable to confirm other coverage
within 60 days as provided in paragraph (2) of this subdivision, the sec-
ondary health insurer shall process the claim in accordance with the pro-
visions in the health insurance policy, provided that the health care
provider resubmits the claim to the secondary health insurer, with copies
of the documents to support the health care provider’s efforts to confirm
other coverage, within 30 days of the determination that other coverage
could not be confirmed despite reasonable efforts.

(c)(1) If a secondary health insurer makes a payment to a health care
provider prior to determining the secondary health insurer’s actual
obligation to pay the claim, the secondary health insurer shall delay any
action to recover the payment, pending a determination by the primary
health insurer as to the primary health insurer’s obligation and a determi-
nation by the secondary health insurer of its actual obligation to pay the
claim. Subject to all provisions of this subdivision, the secondary health
insurer may recover the payment if the health care provider does not
submit a remittance advice, appeal determination, or other evidence of a
benefit determination from the primary health insurer to the secondary
health insurer within 120 days of the secondary health insurer’s notifica-
tion that other coverage exists. Nothing herein shall prevent the second-
ary health insurer from allowing more than 120 days to submit the
documents.

(2) If the information provided by the secondary health insurer is not
sufficient to determine the identity of the primary health insurer, the health
care provider shall have 60 days from the notice that other coverage may
exist to make a reasonable effort to confirm if other coverage does exist. A
“‘reasonable effort’’ shall include at least an attempt by the health care
provider to contact the patient.

(3) If the health care provider is unable to confirm other coverage
within 60 days as provided in paragraph (2) of this subdivision, the sec-
ondary health insurer shall process the claim in accordance with the pro-
visions in the member’s health insurance policy, provided that the health
care provider notifies the secondary health insurer and forwards copies of
the documents to support the health care provider’s efforts to confirm
other coverage, within 30 days of the determination that other coverage
could not be confirmed despite reasonable efforts.

(d) If a health care provider receives approval from a health insurer to
provide services to the health insurer’s insured, prior to the rendering of
those services to the insured, a second health insurer shall not subse-
quently deny a claim for the services on the basis that no prior approval

from that health insurer was received. The fact that one health insurer has

given a health care provider prior approval does not, however, preclude
another health insurer from determining that the services that were
provided were not medically necessary or otherwise not covered under the

policy.
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(e) Every determination of the primary health insurer and secondary
health insurer shall comply with Section 3224-a of the Insurance Law.

Section 217-2.3 Effective Date.

This Subpart shall apply to all claims initially submitted on or after
January 1, 2008.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Andrew Mais, NYS Insurance Department, 25 Beaver
Street, New York, NY 10004, (212) 480-2285, email:
Amais@ins.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Laura Dillon, Consumer
Services Bureau, NYS Insurance Department, One Commerce Plaza,
Albany, NY 12257, (518) 486-9105, email: Ldillon@ins.state.ny.us

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Consolidated Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory authority: Sections 201 and 301 authorize the Superinten-
dent to effectuate any power granted to the Superintendent under the In-
surance Law, and to prescribe forms or otherwise make regulations.

Section 1109 authorizes the Superintendent to promulgate regulations
affecting health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and effectuating the
purposes and provisions of the Insurance Law and Article 44 of the Public
Health Law.

Section 2403 prohibits unfair and deceptive acts or practices.

Section 3216 describes the policy provisions required for individual ac-
cident and health insurance forms.

Section 3221 describes the policy provisions required for group ac-
cident and health insurance forms.

Section 3224-a requires insurers, HMOs and prepaid health services
plans (PHSPs) to process claims within specified time frames, except in
those instances where the obligation of the insurer is not reasonably clear.

Section 3224-b establishes rules relating to the processing of health
claims and overpayments to physicians.

Section 4304 describes the policy provisions required for individual
contracts issued by non-profit medical and dental indemnity or health and
hospital services corporations.

Section 4305 describes the policy provisions required for group
contracts issued by non-profit medical and dental indemnity or health and
hospital services corporations.

2. Legislative objectives: The rulemaking is intended to facilitate the
timely processing and payment of health insurance claims in those cir-
cumstances where the patient is covered by more than one policy issued
by different insurers. Insurers, HMOs, and PHSPs do not always provide
all available information, such as the name of the other insurer, to the
health care provider when it is determined that other coverage exists. If
the claim has already been paid, many times the insurer, HMO or PHSP
will recoup the payment from current claims, leaving the provider with an
unpaid claim and insufficient information to seek payment from the other
carrier. This recoupment is done through accounting transactions on the
remittance advice in which the insurer or HMO makes a payment for
patient ‘“A’’ and then deducts a payment for patient ‘‘B’’ that was
originally paid on a previous remittance advice. This results in the appear-
ance of an underpayment by the insurer or HMO for patient A. This
practice is permitted if the agreement between the provider and insurer or
HMO contains language that allows for the recovery of overpayments in
this manner. In addition, if the name of the other insurer is known and the
claim is submitted for payment, many times the claim will be denied for
late filing, again leaving the provider with an unpaid claim after services
had been rendered.

3. Needs and benefits: 11 NYCRR 53.23 (Regulation 62) currently
requires insurers, HMOs, and PHSPs to coordinate benefits when a
member is covered by more than one accident and health policy. The
proposed Subpart 217-2 to Regulation 178 would establish procedures
that an insurer, HMO or PHSP must follow when it is determined that
other coverage may exist. In addition, the proposed Subpart establishes
requirements for the provider if the provider wishes to seek payment from
the other insurer, and the time in which the provider must act. These
procedures include guidelines for those cases when the claim has already
been paid before the existence of other coverage is established, as well as
when the existence of other coverage is established before any claim pay-
ment is made. The guidelines also change the timely filing requirements
for those cases where other coverage exists. The time begins to run from
the date of notification of other coverage, not from the date of service.
Ultimately, these procedures prevent providers from being stuck with
unpaid claims when an insurer recoups payment and the other plan denies
the claim for late filing. The amendment to Regulation 62 cross-references
the two regulations.

4. Costs: This rule imposes no compliance costs on state or local
governments. The Insurance Department does not anticipate any additional
costs to this Department.
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The costs to regulated parties would be negligible once the process is
implemented. The only initial costs are the time and expense required for
the insurer, HMO or PHSP to reprogram their internal processing
procedures to conform to the new regulation. These regulations are the
results of many meetings with representatives of health care providers
(Medical Society of the State of New York, Greater New York Hospital
Association and Healthcare Association of New York), insurers, HMOs
and PHSPs (Health Plan Association and Conference of the Blue Cross
Blue Shield) and the New York State Departments of Health and Insurance.
These discussions took place over several years from 2004 until a
consensus on the Regulation was reached in 2007. Therefore the industry
was included in the negotiations of this regulation and is in agreement
with the new procedures.

The costs to health care providers include the cost of producing corre-
spondence to their patients regarding additional coverage, the postage to
mail such correspondence and the administrative cost of producing the
letter. However these negligible costs are offset by the income retained by
the provider when the insurer or HMO does not recoup the payment on
these claims.

5. Local government mandates: This rule does not impose any program,
service, duty or responsibility upon a city, town, village, school district or
fire district.

6. Paperwork: There is no additional paperwork required as a result of
this amendment.

7. Duplication: This amendment will not duplicate any existing state or
federal rule for insurers that write accident and health insurance.

8. Alternatives: No viable alternatives. This amendment was the result
of many meetings with representatives of health care providers (Medical
Society of the State of New York, Greater New York Hospital Association
and Healthcare Association of New York), insurers, HMOs and PHSPs
(Health Plan Association and Conference of the Blue Cross Blue Shield)
and the New York State Departments of Health and Insurance. These
discussions took place over several years from 2004 until consensus was
reached in 2007. During these discussions various other options were
discussed, such as not making any changes to the current process and also
extending or reducing the time frames in this Regulation.

Taking no action was not an option for the healthcare providers who
were looking for a way to retain payment for the services they had
provided. Reducing the timeframes in this Regulation did not permit the
healthcare providers enough time to appeal timely filing denials that will
undoubtedly result from the automatic claim processing systems. The
health insurance industry was not agreeable to extending the time frames
because they want to ensure that the process is concluded in a reasonable
amount of time.

After much discussion the proposal as submitted was agreed upon since
it provides time for the healthcare providers to investigate whether or not
other coverage exists while holding them to a reasonable timeframe, thus
permitting the insurers or HMOs to ultimately close their books. The
healthcare providers have incentive to work within the timeframes if they
wish to preserve the income.

9. Federal standards: There are no minimum federal standards for the
processing of claims involving the coordination of benefits. The regula-
tion is not inconsistent with any federal standards or requirements.

10. Compliance schedule: The guidelines shall take effect 90 days after
the notice of adoption is published in the State Register and shall apply to
all claims initially submitted on or after that date.

Consolidated Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Effect of rule: These regulations will affect insurers paying claims
under contracts written pursuant to Articles 32, 42 and 43 of the Insurance
Law and health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and prepaid health
service plans (PHSPs) authorized pursuant to Article 44 of the Public
Health Law. The Insurance Department has reviewed the filed Reports on
Examination and Annual Statements of insurers authorized to do business
in New York and HMOs, and has concluded that the insurers and HMOs
do not fall within the definition of small business found in Section 102(8)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act, because there are none which
are both independently owned and have under 100 employees.

There are less than 20 PHSPs in New York, some of which are small
businesses. PHSPs are entities certified pursuant to Article 44 of the Pub-
lic Health Law that provide Medicaid services in a managed care
environment. However, they will not be negatively impacted by this
regulation. These regulations establish minimum requirements for the
processing of Coordination of Benefit (COB) claims. These minimum
guidelines will assist insurers, including PHSPs, by defining the require-
ments for processing these claims.

These regulations will also affect health care providers, many of which
are small businesses. These regulations set forth guidelines for the process-
ing of these claims, and reduce the administrative burden on the providers
by requiring that insurers provide the name of the other insurer when a
patient is covered by more than one health insurance policy. In addition,
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the guidelines prohibit the automatic recoupment of claims already paid
while giving the provider time to seek payment from the other insurer.

These regulations would affect health care facilities that are owned or
operated by state or local governments as they would any other healthcare
provider. While there will be a small administrative burden to determine if
other coverage existed, the income preserved would offset any negative
impact. For state and local governments that do not own or operate health
care facilities, the regulations do not impose any impacts, including any
adverse impacts, or reporting, recordkeeping, or other compliance
requirements.

These regulations are the result of meetings with representatives of
health care providers, insurers, HMOs and PHSPs, and represent a
consensus between the Department and various interested parties as to the
appropriate handling of claims.

2. Compliance requirements: Coordination of benefits is already
required by 11 NYCRR 52.23 (Regulation 62). Insurers, HMOs and
PHSPs are already required to coordinate payments with the benefits of
other insurers. There are no compliance requirements for local govern-
ments unless they own or operate a healthcare facility. In that case the
compliance requirements would be the same as other healthcare providers
who, if they choose to take advantage of the process in this regulation, will
be required to attempt to verify the existence of other coverage if the name
of the primary carrier is not provided by the secondary health plan. In
those cases the provider would have 60 days from the notice of other
potential coverage to verify whether or not the coverage existed. If the
coverage is verified the healthcare provider must submit the claim to the
primary carrier. If other coverage is not confirmed the healthcare provider
must notify the secondary carrier and provide documents to support their
efforts to confirm the existence of other coverage. There are no compli-
ance requirements for small businesses except for health care providers
and they are not negatively impacted since the ability to retain the income
for services already provided far exceeds the cost of attempting to verify
other coverage. These regulations were negotiated with the purpose of
helping health care providers by leveling the playing field with regard to
COB claims.

3. Professional services: Insurers, HMOs and PHSPs should not need to
obtain professional services to comply with these regulations. Health care
providers do not need to obtain professional services as a result of this
regulation.

4. Compliance costs: Insurers, HMOs and PSHPs are already subject to
the COB requirements in Regulation 62. Regulation 62 permits insurers
and HMOs to coordinate coverage and establishes uniformity in the
processing of health care claims when consumers are covered by more
than one health plan. This new regulation has been requested by interested
parties in order to establish the framework for handling COB claims, both
pre-payment and post-payment. The costs to regulated parties would be
negligible once the process is implemented. The only initial costs are the
time and expense required for the insurer, HMO or PHSP to reprogram
their internal processing procedures to conform to the new regulation.
However, the industry (The Health Plan Association and Conference of
Blue Cross Blue Shield) was included in the negotiations of this regulation
and is in agreement on the new procedures.

Costs to health care providers are difficult to measure. In most cases it
is anticipated that the secondary insurer will identify the name of the other
insurer, in which case the health care provider must simply submit the
claim to the other insurer or HMO. If the claim is denied for timely filing
by the primary carrier, the healthcare provider will need to appeal the
denial and provide a copy of the notice from the secondary carrier. This is
an administrative procedure and the costs associated with it involve the
generation of correspondence, postage and labor costs. The total cost can-
not be estimated because it is not known how many providers will actually
take advantage of this process. That being said, the income retained
through this process will far outweigh any administrative cost incurred by
the health care provider.

5. Economic and technological feasibility: Compliance with these
regulations should be economically and technologically feasible for small
businesses since the purpose of the regulations is to streamline the process-
ing of COB claims. Adherence on the part of the health care provider will
result in less administrative cost because insurers’ responsibilities are
more clearly defined.

6. Minimizing adverse impact: These regulations are intended to help
health care providers, many of which are small businesses, by leveling the
playing field. They prevent insurers from recouping money before provid-
ers have an opportunity to seek payment from another carrier. If the other
coverage cannot be verified, the insurer that paid the claim is prohibited
from recouping the payment. Thus, providers will retain the income for
the services they have provided.

Other options were discussed at the Healthcare Roundtable including
making no changes to the current process, increasing or decreasing the
time frames in this regulation and permitting the secondary insurer to

recoup the money even if the primary insurer could not be identified. The
health insurance industry acknowledged the current process was unfair to
health care providers and agreed to accept the liability for the services if
the other insurer could not be identified. At the same time the industry
asked that the providers be required to make an effort to determine if there
was other coverage and also requested time frames in which the provider
must act.

7. Small business and local government participation: Notification of
the Department’s intent to propose the regulations was included in the
Department’s regulatory agenda for June, 2008 and was accessible to small
businesses and local governments. Interested parties representing insurers,
HMOs, PHSPs, (The Health Plan Association and the Conference of Blue
Cross Blue Shield) and healthcare providers (Medical Society of the State
of New York, Greater New York Hospital Association and the Healthcare
Association of New York) developed the regulation with representatives
of New York State Departments of Health and Insurance during numerous
meetings convened by the Department of Insurance. As a result the
interested parties had an opportunity to participate in the rule-making
process. During these meetings which occurred over several years, the
various affected parties discussed many options and alternatives. These
include making no changes to the current process, increasing or decreas-
ing the time frames in this regulation and permitting the secondary insurer
to recoup the money if the primary insurer could not be identified. The
industry recognized that the healthcare providers had served their members
in good faith and should be paid for their services. After much discussion
we agreed to a regulation that was acceptable to all parties.

Consolidated Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. Types and estimated number of rural areas: Insurers to which these
regulations are applicable, health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and
prepaid health service plans (PHSPs), do business in every county of the
state, including rural areas as defined under Section 102(13) of the State
Administrative Procedure Act. Health care providers in New York State
are comprised of mostly physicians, but include other health care provid-
ers in individual practices or small groups throughout the state, including
rural areas.

2. Reporting, recordkeeping and other compliance requirements; and
professional services: In addition to the requirements currently in
contained in 11 NYCRR 52 (Regulation 62), this Regulation will require
insurers, HMOs and PHSPs to provide the name of the primary insurer, if
known. These regulations will also require health care providers to docu-
ment their efforts to verify other coverage. If the primary insurer initially
denies the claim for late filing the health care providers may also have to
appeal the denial and provide a copy of the notice of other coverage from
the secondary insurer. These requirements are ministerial in nature and the
benefit of retaining the payment for services provided far outweighs the
costs.

3. Costs: The costs to regulated parties will be negligible once the pro-
cess is implemented. The only initial costs are the time and expense
required for the insurer, HMO or PHSP to reprogram their internal
processing procedures to conform to the new regulations. Any other costs
associated with processing COB claims have already been incurred by
insurers, HMOs and PHSPs with the implementation of Regulation 62.
These proposed regulations do not require insurers, HMOs or PHSPs to
provide additional or new benefits, but simply establish the procedures to
follow when processing a Coordination of Benefits (COB) claim. The
health insurance industry was included in the negotiations of this regula-
tion and is in agreement about the new procedures and thus have accepted
the costs associated with this regulation.

Health care providers will also incur ministerial costs associated with
documenting their reasonable effort to identify other coverage, the cost of
filing an appeal, related postage and labor costs. However, the benefits of
retaining the income for services provided outweigh these costs. In addi-
tion, similar costs are currently incurred by health care providers who ap-
peal the recoupments under the current process. This regulation will allow
health care providers to retain their income for services provided that
otherwise would have been recovered by insurers and HMOs.

4. Minimizing adverse impact: The regulations have the potential to
decrease expenses to insurers, HMOs and PHSPs in rural areas by reduc-
ing the number of claims that need to be reprocessed. The regulations also
will maximize the accounts receivable of health care providers, because
insurers will be unable to recoup the payment on a COB claim without
first giving the healthcare provider the opportunity to verify other cover-
age and seek payment from the other insurer. If other coverage cannot be
verified and the healthcare provider notifies the secondary insurer in a
timely manner the payment cannot be recovered. This should assist in
keeping local providers in family practice in their respective communities,
and foster consumers’ continued access to rurally located providers.

5. Rural area participation: Notification of the Department’s intent to
propose these regulations were included in the Department’s Regulatory
Agenda for June, 2008. In addition, interested parties representing insur-
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ers, HMOs, PHSPs and providers, including those actually or potentially
located in rural areas, discussed the regulation during numerous meetings
convened by the Department, and therefore had an opportunity to partici-
pate in the rule-making process. The proposed regulation also provides
flexibility for providers located in rural areas. First, the healthcare provider
has an option to obtain the name of the other insurer either by calling a
toll-free telephone number or use of the internet. There is also flexibility
in how healthcare providers attempt to verify the existence of other
coverage. For instance, there are no requirements that attempts be made
via notarized documents or certified mail, thus permitting healthcare
providers in rural areas the flexibility to handle these functions in a man-
ner that best meets their abilities.

Consolidated Job Impact Statement

These regulations will not adversely affect jobs or employment op-
portunities in New York State. The regulations are intended to improve
the relationship between payers and providers, ultimately assisting provid-
ers in collecting payment for services provided, and keeping providers in
their communities. As result of these regulations, providers will spend less
time tracking down other coverage and attempting to collect on claims
where payment has been made and then recouped by the payers.

There is no anticipated adverse impact on job opportunities in this state.

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Credit for Reinsurance from Unauthorized Insurers
L.D. No. INS-52-08-00008-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: Amendment of Part 125 (Regulation 20) of Title 11
NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Insurance Law, sections 201, 301, 307(a), 308,
1301(a)(14), 1301(c) and 1308

Subject: Credit for Reinsurance from Unauthorized Insurers.

Purpose: Reinsurance companies that are not authorized or accredited
will now post collateral based on their credit ratings.

Substance of proposed rule (Full text is posted at the following State
website:http://www. ins.state.ny.us): Sections 125.1, 125.2 and 125.3 are
repealed to delete redundant and dated insolvency clause requirements
and a new Section 125.1 is proposed to apply principle-based credit risk
management standards to all licensed ceded insurers.

Section 125.4 is renumbered Section 125.2 and amended to include a
new Section 125.2(h) to provide alternative credit for cessions to unautho-
rized reinsurers. This alternative credit to unauthorized reinsurers adjusts
the credit that the ceding insurer may take in its financial statement based
upon the financial strength of the unauthorized assuming reinsurer. In or-
der to qualify for the reduced credit, the unauthorized assuming reinsurer
in the transaction must:

« maintain a minimum net worth of $250 million;

o be authorized and meet the standards of solvency and capital ade-
quacy in its domiciliary jurisdiction; and

« have a credit rating from at least two rating agencies.

Moreover, to qualify for the reduced credit with respect to cessions to
an unauthorized non-U.S. assuming insurer, the superintendent and the
domiciliary regulator of the unauthorized non-U.S. assuming reinsurer
must have in place an executed memorandum of understanding pursuant
to this part. Further, the domiciliary jurisdiction of an unauthorized non-
U.S. assuming reinsurer shall allow U.S. reinsurers access to the market of
that jurisdiction on terms and conditions that are at least as favorable as
those provided in New York laws and regulations for unauthorized non-
U.S. assuming insurers.

Ceding insurers seeking alternative credit for cessions to unauthorized
reinsurers must maintain audited financial statements for the unauthorized
assuming reinsurers for the last three years, and maintain satisfactory evi-
dence that an unauthorized reinsurer meets the requirements mentioned
above.

The reinsurance contract itself must contain an insolvency clause, a
designation of a person in New York or the ceding insurer’s domestic state
for service of process, a requirement that any disputes will be subject to
United States courts and laws, and a requirement that the unauthorized as-
suming reinsurer will notify the ceding insurer of any changes in its license
status or any change in its rating from a credit rating agency.

While this alternative credit for cessions to unauthorized reinsurers will
reduce the collateral requirement in a manner that corresponds to the
financial strength of the reinsurer, where an order of rehabilitation, liquida-
tion or conservation is entered against the ceding insurer, the unauthorized
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assuming reinsurer must, as a general matter, post full collateral for all
outstanding liabilities owed to the ceding insurer.

Section 125.5 is renumbered Section 125.3 and various references to
other sections are corrected.

Section 125.6 is renumbered Section 125.4 and various references to
other sections are corrected.

Section 125.7 is renumbered Section 125.5 and a reference to another
section is corrected.

Section 125.8 is renumbered Section 125.6.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Andrew Mais, New York Insurance Department, 25 Bea-
ver Street, New York, NY 10004, (212) 480-2285, email:
amais@ins.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: James Davis, New York
Insurance Department, 25 Beaver Street, New York, NY 10004, (212)
480-5124, email: jdavis@ins.state.ny.us

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Summary of Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory authority: Sections 110,201, 301, 307(a), 308, 1301(a)(14),
1301(c) and 1308 of the Insurance Law.

These sections establish the Superintendent’s authority to promulgate
regulations governing when an authorized ceding insurer (i.e., an insurer
authorized or licensed to do business in New York) may take credit on its
balance sheet for a reinsurance recoverable from an assuming insurer not
authorized in this state.

Section 110 authorizes the Superintendent to share documents, materi-
als and other information with other state, federal and international regula-
tory agencies and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
(NAIC).

Sections 201 and 301 of the Insurance Law authorize the Superinten-
dent to effectuate any power accorded to him by the Insurance Law, and
prescribe regulations interpreting the Insurance Law.

Section 307(a) requires insurers doing business in the state to file an an-
nual statement, in a form and containing such matters as shall be prescribed
by the Superintendent, in the office of the Superintendent.

Section 308 vests the Superintendent with the authority to require au-
thorized insurers to file reports relating to the insurer’s transactions,
financial condition or any matter connected therewith.

Sections 1301(a)(14) and (c) and 1308 give the Superintendent the
authority to prescribe, by regulation, the conditions under which an autho-
rized ceding insurer may be allowed credit, as an asset or a deduction from
loss and unearned premium reserves, for a reinsurance recoverable from
an assuming insurer not authorized to do an insurance business in this
state.

2. Legislative objectives: Article 13 of the Insurance Law establishes
minimum standards for the assets of insurers, including when an autho-
rized ceding insurer may take credit on its balance sheet for reinsurance
recoverable from an assuming insurer not authorized to do an insurance
business in this state.

3. Needs and benefits: Reinsurance is insurance for insurance
companies. It is a means of redistributing risk throughout the global insur-
ance industry. Often, an insurance company will transfer (or ‘‘cede’’) part
or all of that risk to another party (the assuming insurer or reinsurer). The
reinsurer then is ultimately responsible for paying its part of those ceded
claims. The primary insurer, or ‘‘cedent’’, is given credit on its balance
sheet for the business ceded to a reinsurer recognized by New York. This
allows the cedent to reduce its reserves and increase the number of poli-
cies it can write. However, the ability to take a credit for ceded claims
only applies on a very limited basis when the reinsurer, irrespective of its
financial strength, is not authorized to do business in New York.

Under the current regulation, the cedent generally may take credit on its
balance sheet only if the reinsurer posts collateral equal to 100 percent of
the transferred policyholder claims. There is a seldom utilized section of
the regulation that allows the cedent to take credit of up to 85% on its bal-
ance sheet for cessions to unauthorized companies, provided the cedent
maintains documentation demonstrating that the unauthorized insurer
meets financial requirements similar to those of New York authorized
insurers.

Non-U.S. reinsurers posted an estimated $120 billion in collateral in the
U.S. in 2005, the latest year for which there is available data, on which
they pay about $500 million a year in transaction costs. The Insurance
Department has seen no negative fiscal impacts on US ceding insurers in
instances where the collateral levels have been reduced. It therefore makes
sense, with appropriate safeguards in place, to build on this precedent and
allow the most highly rated non-US reinsurers to reduce their collateral
postings further.

Adoption of this amended regulation will reduce this transactional cost
and increase reinsurance capacity. It also will bring New York in line with
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global insurance markets and worldwide accounting standards governing
reinsurance contracts. Most jurisdictions outside the U.S. do not require
non-domestic reinsurers to post collateral in order for authorized ceding
insurers to take credit. Under the amendment, the most financially healthy
reinsurers need not post collateral, or at least not 100% collateral. The
amendment will level the playing field among reinsurers by predicating
credit for reinsurance principally on financial strength, not geography.
Reinsurers with strong credit ratings will, under the amendment, post less
collateral then those with weak ratings.

In addition, this amendment imposes principles-based credit risk
management on the authorized ceding insurers, by putting the onus on
cedents to ensure that the reinsurers with whom they do business have the
financial wherewithal to meet their obligations. Principles-based regula-
tion aims to reduce unnecessary regulatory and administrative burdens,
ensure that regulation and its enforcement are proportionate, accountable,
consistent, transparent and targeted, and provide benefits for consumers
from more efficient markets, more effective protection, and better
responsiveness to consumers’ needs.

Indeed, this amendment extends the Department’s efforts to keep New
York competitive while bringing the U.S. into the 21st century of financial
services regulation. Insurance companies ceding risk to reinsurers will be
responsible for vetting their reinsurers and developing risk management
plans for their reinsurance placements. The amendment thus represents a
move to let the market decide whether the posting of collateral is appropri-
ate by eliminating the across-the-board regulatory mandate that requires
even the strongest reinsurance companies to post collateral. Nevertheless,
under the amendment, nothing prevents authorized ceding insurance
companies from negotiating their own collateral requirements with
reinsurers or from choosing to do business with reinsurers that are willing
to post collateral, should the authorized ceding insurance company so
insist. The rule amends the existing collateral requirements on a prospec-
tive basis. This will prevent any disruption to the existing reinsurance
market, while giving the Department the opportunity to assess the ef-
fectiveness of the rule.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Rein-
surance Task Force has been developing a Model Law on Reinsurance
Collateral Requirements. The Department has been a participant in the
task force. It is the Department’s intent to make the rule consistent with
the Model Law, to the extent it is consistent with the needs of the New
York insurance market.

4. Costs: This rule imposes no compliance costs on state or local
governments. Nor is it expected that either the Insurance Department or
regulated entities will directly incur additional costs. Nevertheless, with
the adoption of the amendment, it will be incumbent on authorized ceding
insurers to vet the financial wherewithal of their reinsurers and develop
appropriate risk management plans for reinsurance placements. However,
even under the current regulation, authorized ceding insurers should be
performing these functions as a matter of prudent risk management.

5. Local government mandates: This rule does not impose any program,
service, duty or responsibility upon a city, town or village, or school or
fire district.

6. Paperwork: The only new requirements established by this rule are
set forth in Section 125.1(b): An authorized ceding insurer shall notify the
superintendent within 30 days after a reinsurance recoverable from any
single assuming insurer, or group of affiliated assuming insurers, exceeds
50% of the authorized ceding insurer’s last reported surplus to policyhold-
ers, or after it is determined that a reinsurance recoverable from any single
assuming insurer, or group of affiliated assuming insurers, is likely to
exceed this limit. The notification shall demonstrate that the exposure is
safely managed by the authorized ceding insurer. In addition, an autho-
rized ceding insurer shall notify the superintendent within 30 days after
ceding to any single assuming insurer, or group of affiliated assuming
insurers, more than 20% of the ceding insurer’s gross written premium in
the prior calendar year, or after it has determined that the reinsurance
ceded to any single assuming insurer, or group of affiliated assuming
insurers, is likely to exceed this limit. The notification shall demonstrate
that the exposure is safely managed by the authorized ceding insurer.

7. Duplication: This amendment will not duplicate any existing state or
federal rule. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners
(NAIC) Reinsurance Task Force has been developing a Model Law on
Reinsurance Collateral Requirements. The Department has been a partici-
pant in the task force. It is the Department’s intent to make the rule consis-
tent with the Model Law, to the extent it is consistent with the needs of the
New York insurance market.

8. Alternatives: The Department conducted extensive outreach to enti-
ties representing authorized ceding insurers, and to reinsurers both autho-
rized and unauthorized to do business in New York. The Department
received comments from nine entities. A complete discussion of the com-
ments submitted can be found at the Department’s website (http://
www.ins.state.ny.us).

9. Federal standards: There are no minimum standards of the federal
government for the same or similar subject areas.

10. Compliance schedule: Once the amended regulation is adopted,
regulated parties will be able to comply immediately.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The Insurance Department finds that this rule would not impose report-
ing, recordkeeping or other requirements on small businesses. This rule
applies to insurers and reinsurers authorized to do business in New York
State, as well as unauthorized reinsurers. The rule establishes certain
requirements for ceding insurers and reinsurers that enable ceding insurers
to take credit on their balance sheets for risks ceded to reinsurers.

The Insurance Department has reviewed the filed Reports on Examina-
tion and Annual Statements of authorized insurers and the trusteed surplus
of alien insurers subject to this amendment, and believes that none of them
comes within the definition of ‘‘small business’’ set forth in section 102(8)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act, because there are none which
are both independently owned and have under 100 employees.

This rule also is not expected to have any adverse economic impact on
local governments, and does not impose reporting, recordkeeping or other
compliance requirements on local governments. The basis for this finding
is that this rule is directed at ceding insurers and reinsurers, none of which
is a local government.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. Types and estimated numbers of rural areas: This amendment applies
to insurers authorized to do business in New York State and addresses
whether a ceding insurer may take credit on its balance sheet, as an asset
or deduction from reserves, for reinsurance recoverable from an unautho-
rized assuming insurer. The amendment establishes certain requirements
for ceding insurers and reinsurers, and puts the onus on ceding insurers to
prudently manage their risk. The ceding insurers and reinsurers do busi-
ness in every county in this state, including rural areas as defined under
State Administrative Procedure Act Section 102(13).

2. Reporting, recordkeeping and other compliance requirements, and
professional services: The only new reporting requirements established by
this rule are found in Section 125.1(b). A ceding insurer shall notify the
superintendent within 30 days after a reinsurance recoverable from any
single assuming insurer, or group of affiliated assuming insurers, exceeds
50% of the ceding insurer’s last reported surplus to policyholders, or after
it is determined that a reinsurance recoverable from any single assuming
insurer, or group of affiliated assuming insurers, is likely to exceed this
limit. The notification shall demonstrate that the exposure is safely man-
aged by the domestic ceding insurer. In addition, a domestic ceding insurer
shall notify the superintendent within 30 days after ceding to any single
assuming insurer, or group of affiliated assuming insurers, more than 20%
of the ceding insurer’s gross written premium in the prior calendar year, or
after it has determined that the reinsurance ceded to any single assuming
insurer, or group of affiliated assuming insurers, is likely to exceed this
limit. The notification shall demonstrate that the exposure is safely man-
aged by the ceding insurer. There are no other additional paperwork
requirements for ceding insurers and reinsurers that are based in rural
areas.

3. Costs: This rule imposes no additional costs for ceding insurers and
reinsurers, including those based in rural areas. Of course, the rule requires
ceding insurers to vet the financial wherewithal of the reinsurers with
whom they do business, but even under current regulation, ceding insurers
should be performing these functions as a matter of prudent risk
management.

4. Minimizing adverse impact: The current regulation requires a
strongly capitalized non-New York (unauthorized) reinsurer to tie up
capital by posting collateral while not imposing a similar burden on a New
York (authorized) reinsurer. The proposed rule requires ceding insurers to
assume full responsibility for credit risk management and compliance in
entering into reinsurance arrangements.

This rule applies uniformly to regulated parties that do business in both
rural and nonrural areas of New York State. This rule levels the playing
field for all reinsurers, mitigates the risk that may exist under the present
regulatory structure, and continues the Department’s efforts to keep New
York competitive while bringing the state into the 21st century of financial
services regulation.

5. Rural area participation: In developing this rule, the Department
conducted extensive outreach by contacting insurers, trade groups, other
regulators, and other interested parties, including those located or
domiciled in rural areas. The comments from these parties are discussed in
the “‘Alternatives’’ section of the Regulatory Impact Statement.

Job Impact Statement

The proposed amendment should have no negative impact on jobs or
economic opportunities in New York State. The amendment applies to re-
insurance contracts, and establishes a framework by which a ceding insurer
may take credit on its balance sheet, as an asset or deduction from reserves,
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for a reinsurance recoverable from any unauthorized assuming insurer that
maintains, on a stand-alone basis separate from its parent or any affiliated
entities, an interactive financial strength rating from at least two rating
agencies. In addition, the regulation imposes principles-based credit risk
management on the ceding insurers, by putting the onus on cedents to
ensure that the reinsurers with whom they do business have the financial
wherewithal to meet their obligations. Moreover, private parties may, as a
matter of contract, require a reinsurer to post collateral. This amendment
simply does not require the posting of collateral in every instance involv-
ing risk ceded to an unauthorized insurer by an authorized cedent.

While ceding insurers may change their choice of reinsurers to ensure
that they receive credit as an asset or deduction from reserves for such re-
insurance, the amendment will not change the fact that licensed companies
need to obtain such reinsurance. Thus, there should be no negative impact
on jobs or economic opportunities in New York State.

Office of Mental Health

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Waiver Authority

I.D. No. OMH-18-08-00003-A
Filing No. 1267

Filing Date: 2008-12-08
Effective Date: 2008-12-24

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of Part 501 to Title 14 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Mental Hygiene Law, sections 7.09, 31.01 and 31.04
Subject: Waiver authority.

Purpose: To establish waiver authority for the Commissioner of Mental
Health under certain circumstances.

Text or summary was published in the April 30, 2008 issue of the Regis-
ter, I.D. No. OMH-18-08-00003-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Revised rule making(s) were previously published in the State Register
on October 22, 2008.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained

from: Joyce Donohue, NYS Office of Mental Health, 44 Holland Avenue,
8th  Floor, Albany, NY 12229, (518) 474-1331, email:
cocbjdd@omh.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment

Issue: The agency received a request to include a step in the waiver pro-
cess requiring the applicant to provide a specific statement from the af-
fected local governmental unit or units as to how the proposed program
might impact the local planning process. The suggestion further requested
language be included which specifically states that the program created by
the waiver will not adversely impact the local planning process.

Response: The agency believes that this issue has been sufficiently
handled by the requirements in the regulation, specifically Section
501.3(a)(4) and (6). Those sections state that requests for waivers and
waiver renewals include specific evidence of prior consultation with the
appropriate local governmental unit(s). In addition, the agency will consult
with the Conference of Local Mental Hygiene Directors in the develop-
ment of the waiver application form.

Issue: Section 501.3(a)(2)(iv) is vague in stating that the waiver may be
granted for ‘‘other purposes deemed appropriate by the Commissioner’’.

Response: The requirements set forth in paragraph (2) of Section
501.3(a) clearly articulate the criteria for waiver consideration, and the
agency believes this sufficiently addresses this issue.

Issue: The proposed grounds for a waiver (providing additional flex-
ibility to better meet local service needs) should not be grounds for a case-
by-case waiver. Instead, the regulation at issue should be changed.

Response: The waiver requests will provide the agency with the ability
to assess its current regulations and see where there may be deficiencies or
need for revision. If it is determined that a regulation in effect does not
serve the public interest or has outlived its usefulness, then a formal No-
tice of Proposed Rulemaking will be filed with the Department of State,
pursuant to the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Issue: The regulation should provide that the determination by the Com-
missioner of a waiver request clearly state the grounds under which the
waiver was granted.
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Response: The agency believes that issue has been resolved in paragraph
(7) of Section 501.3(a). That paragraph states that ‘“The Office shall
provide public notice of applications for waivers by posting such informa-
tion in its internet site. The Office shall review and consider any public
comments which are received regarding the application for a waiver. The
Office shall supplement its internet posting with the Commissioner’s de-
termination with respect to each application, when such determination is
made.”’

Department of Motor Vehicles

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Display of Registration Numbers on Snowmobiles

L.D. No. MTV-40-08-00003-A
Filing No. 1284

Filing Date: 2008-12-09
Effective Date: 2008-12-24

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 107.11 of Title 15 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Vehicle and Traffic Law, sections 215(a) and 2223
Subject: Display of registration numbers on snowmobiles.

Purpose: To establish the manner in which snowmobile registration stick-
ers are displayed.

Text or summary was published in the October 1, 2008 issue of the Reg-
ister, I.D. No. MTV-40-08-00003-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Carrie L. Stone, Department of Motor Vehicles, Empire State Plaza,
Room 526, Albany, NY 12228, (518) 474-0871.

Assessment of Public Comment

The agency received no public comment.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

International Registration Plan

LD. No. MTV-42-08-00010-A
Filing No. 1285

Filing Date: 2008-12-09
Effective Date: 2008-12-24

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 28.5 of Title 15 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Vehicle and Traffic Law, sections 215(a) and 405-i
Subject: International Registration Plan.

Purpose: Provide for suspensions of vehicle fleets in the International
Registration Plan.

Text of final rule: Paragraph (5) of subdivision (b) of section 28.5 is
amended to read as follows:

(5) The registrant to whom the TA has been issued must submit all
required documents and fees indicated on the invoice to the International
Registration Bureau of the department within 30 days from the date the
TA was processed. Upon receipt of proper documentation and fees, the
transaction processing will be completed and the appropriate IRP docu-
ments will be produced by the department and mailed to the registrant.
Failure of the registrant to submit required documentation and fees within
that 30 day period will result in suspension of the registration of all
vehicles [in the] for any fleet registered in its name, [for which the TA
was requested] and may result in the inability of that registrant to obtain
TAs in the future for any [fleet] vehicle registered in its name.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: Nonsubstantive changes
were made in sections 28.5(5)(b).
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained

from: Carrie L. Stone, Department of Motor Vehicles, Counsel’s Office,
Room 526, 6 Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12228, (518) 474-0871.
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Revised Job Impact Statement
A revised Job Impact Statement is not submitted because the minor change
to the proposed rule does not necessitate any revision.

Assessment of Public Comment
The agency received no public comment.

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Electronic Tags Used to Identify a Vehicle for Parking or
Security Purposes

L.D. No. MTV-52-08-00001-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: This is a consensus rule making to amend section 174.5
of Title 15 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Vehicle and Traffic Law, sections 215(a) and 375(1)

Subject: Electronic tags used to identify a vehicle for parking or security
purposes.

Purpose: To display electronic tags on inside of the windshield in the
lower left hand corner without prior approval of Commissioner.

Text of proposed rule: Part 174 is amended by amending section 174.5 to
read as follows:

174.5. Parking or Security Stickers.

(a) Subject to the limitations of this section, stickers identifying a vehi-
cle for parking or security purposes may be placed on the inside of the
windshield in the lower right hand without prior approval of the
Commissioner. Electronic tags identifying a vehicle for parking or secu-
rity purposes may be placed on the inside of the windshield in the lower
left hand corner without prior approval of the Commissioner.

(b) Stickers or electronic tags may not be of a size that would interfere
with visibility. The front surface of the sticker must be gummed so that it
may be attached to the inside of the windshield.

(c) No vehicle may display more than two parking or security stickers
or electronic tags, or combination thereof.

(d) This section shall not apply to military installations (but see Section
174.8)

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Heidi A. Bazicki, Department of Motor Vehicles, 6 Empire
State Plaza, Rm. 526, Albany, NY 12228, (518) 474-0871, email:
heidi.bazicki@dmv.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Everett Mayhew, Assis-
tant Counsel, Department of Motor Vehicles, 6 Empire State Plaza, Rm.
526, Albany, NY 12228, (518) 474-0871

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Consensus Rule Making Determination

Display of windshield stickers of any kind is controlled by 15 NYCRR
Part 174. Currently only the registration sticker (174.2) and inspection
sticker (174.3) are allowed to be placed on the lower left corner of the
windshield. Placement of parking (or security) stickers is controlled by
174.5(a) which says: “‘Subject to the limitations of this section, stickers
identifying a vehicle for parking or security purposes may be placed on
the inside of the windshield in the lower right hand corner without prior
approval of the Commissioner.”’

Due to the structural design of certain parking garages, the electronic
tag is only effective if it is placed in the lower left hand corner. This regula-
tion accommodates this need by permitting the placement of such tags in
the lower left hand corner.

This is submitted as a consensus rule because it is a minor rule that ad-
dresses the changing needs of the parking industry.

Job Impact Statement
A Job Impact Statement is not submitted with this proposed rule because it
will have no adverse impact on job development in New York State.

Commission on Public Integrity

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Adjudicatory Proceedings and Appeals Procedure

L.D. No. CPI-41-08-00015-E
Filing No. 1233

Filing Date: 2008-12-03
Effective Date: 2008-12-03

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of Part 941 of Title 19 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Executive Law, section 94(9) and (13)
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of general welfare.

Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: In order that the
regulations governing adjudicatory proceedings and appeals procedure
comport with changes effectuated by the recently- enacted governing stat-
ute, the Public Employee Ethics Reform Act of 2007.

Subject: Adjudicatory proceedings and appeals procedure.

Purpose: To afford all parties due process protection and the fair and just
resolution of all matters that may come before the commission.

Text of emergency rule: The rules governing adjudicatory proceedings
and appeals procedures are amended to comport with the Public Employee
Ethics Reform Act of 2007 (“PEERA”). Therefore, these amendments
provide that the adjudicatory proceeding rules apply to violations of all
laws within the jurisdiction of the Commission on Public Integrity, specifi-
cally, sections 73, 73-a and 74 of the Public Officers Law, section 107 of
the Civil Service Law and Article 1-A of the Legislative Law. As PEERA
repealed the Public Advisory Council, these amendments also set forth the
amended appeals procedure for applications for deletion and exemption
from Financial Disclosure Statements pursuant to section 73-a of the Pub-
lic Officers Law. These amendments also provide the amended list of
documents that are publicly available from the Commission on Public
Integrity.

This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt this emergency rule as a permanent rule and
will publish a notice of proposed rule making in the State Register at some
future date. The emergency rule will expire January 31, 2009.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Shari Calnero, Associate Counsel, Commission on Public Integrity,
540 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207, (518) 408-3976, email:
scalnero@nyintegrity.org

Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory authority: Executive Law Section 94 (9)(c) generally directs
the Commission on Public Integrity (‘‘CPI’”) to adopt, amend, and rescind
rules and regulations to govern the procedures of the CPI; Executive Law
Section 94(9)(f) authorizes CPI to review financial disclosure statements
and to delegate all or part of this review function to CPI’s executive direc-
tor; Executive Law Section 94(9)(g) authorizes CPI to receive complaints
and referrals alleging violations of Public Officers Law Sections 73, 73-a
and 74, Legislative Law Article one-A and Civil Service Law Section
107; Executive Law Section 94 (9)(h) authorizes CPI to grant or deny
requests from subject individuals for deletion of certain information from
Financial Disclosure Statements and to provide an appeal process from
such denials; Executive Law Section 94(9)(i) authorizes CPI to grant or
deny requests from subject individuals for exemption from the require-
ment to provide certain information in Financial Disclosure Statements
and to provide an appeal process from such denials; and Executive Law
Section 94 (13) specifically directs CPI to adopt rules governing the
conduct of adjudicatory hearings for violations of Public Officers Law
Sections 73, 73-a and 74, Legislative Law Article one-A and Civil Service
Law Section 107, as well as to adopt rules governing appeals taken pursu-
ant to denials of requests for certain deletions and exemptions from
Financial Disclosure Statements pursuant to section 73-a of the Public Of-
ficers Law.

2. Legislative objectives: The Public Employee Ethics Reform Act of
2007 (APEERA@) established the CPI, thus merging the former New
York State Ethics Commission (‘‘Ethics Commission’’) and the former
New York Temporary State Commission on Lobbying (‘‘Lobbying
Commission’’). PEERA intended that the CPI’s consolidated jurisdiction
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would strengthen integrity, public trust and confidence in New York State
government. PEERA authorizes the CPI to conduct adjudicatory proceed-
ings to enforce the laws within its jurisdiction and to ensure that all parties
receive due process protection and a fair and just resolution of applicable
enforcement actions and of the aforementioned appeals.

3. Needs and benefits: The proposed rule-making is necessary to fulfill
the statutory mandate of the CPI. PEERA became law on March 26, 2007.
Pursuant to PEERA, effective September 22, 2007, all powers, duties and
functions conferred upon the former Ethics Commission and the former
Lobbying Commission were transferred to and assumed by the CPI. Pur-
suant to Resolution CPI 07-03, the CPI adopted the rules codified at Title
19 NYCRR Part 941, which were previously adopted by the former Ethics
Commission, to govern the conduct of adjudicatory proceedings for viola-
tions of all laws within the CPI’s jurisdiction, specifically violations of
sections 73, 73-a and 74 of the Public Officers Law, section 107 of the
Civil Service Law and Article 1-A of the Legislative Law.

However, the existing text of Title 19 NYCRR Part 941 does not
comport with PEERA and Resolution CPI 07-03. In addition to having
adopted these amendments as an emergency measure, the CPI seeks to
permanently amend these rules through a proposed rulemaking.

For example, pursuant to PEERA, the CPI’s jurisdiction is expanded in
that it may now adjudicate Public Officers Law section 74 violations. The
existing text of Title 19 Part 941 does not state that these rules apply to
such violations. By adopting this rule, Title 19 NYCRR Part 941 will be
amended to reflect that these rules also apply to Public Officers Law sec-
tion 74 violations, thus providing the general public and those who would
be affected by this change in the law, including statewide elected officials
and state officers and employees, with adequate notice, comment and due
process of law.

PEERA also repealed the Public Advisory Council, which previously
served as the body authorized to review requests for deletions and exemp-
tions of certain information from Financial Disclosure Statements, as
provided in paragraphs (h) and (i) of subdivision 9 of section 94 of the Ex-
ecutive Law. While PEERA retains an appeal process for these requests
for deletion and exemption, the existing text of the applicable section Part
941.19 is obsolete, as it describes the now-dissolved Public Advisory
Council’s role in the appeal process. By adopting this rule, section 941.19
will be amended to reflect that the Public Advisory Council no longer ex-
ists, and to also set forth the statutorily-authorized appeal process, thus
providing statewide elected officials and state officers and employees who
are required to submit Financial Disclosure Statements with adequate no-
tice should they seek deletions or exemptions or appeal such denials.

In addition, PEERA authorized the CPI to enforce and adjudicate viola-
tions of section 107 of the Civil Service Law, commonly referred to as the
“‘Little Hatch Act.@ The existing text of Title 19 NYCRR Part 941 does
not state that the rules apply to such violations. By adopting this rule, Title
19 NYCRR Part 941 will be amended to reflect that these rules also apply
to Civil Service Law section 107 violations, thus providing the general
public and those who would be affected by this change in the law, includ-
ing statewide elected officials and state officers and employees, with ade-
quate notice, comment and due process of law.

Furthermore, PEERA authorized the CPI to enforce and adjudicate
violations of Article 1-A of the Legislative Law, which was within the ju-
risdiction of the former Lobbying Commission prior to September 22,
2007. The former Lobbying Commission’s adjudicatory proceeding rules
codified at Title 21 NYCRR Part 250 are obsolete and do not comport
with PEERA. Pursuant to Resolution CPI 07-03, the CPI duly rescinded
Title 21 NYCRR Part 250 and adopted the rules set forth in Title 19
NYCRR Part 941 to also cover violations of Article 1-A of the Legislative
Law, subject to PEERA’s requirement that adjudicatory proceedings for
such violations shall be open to the public in accordance with Article 7 of
the Public Officers Law. While the rules codified at Title 19 NYCRR Part
941 now govern violations of Article 1-A of the Legislative Law, the exist-
ing text of Title 19 NYCRR Part 941 does not state that the rules also ap-
ply to violations of Article 1-A of the Legislative Law. By adopting this
rule, Title 19 NYCRR Part 941 will be amended to reflect that these rules
also apply to violations of Article 1-A of the Legislative Law, thus provid-
ing the general public and those affected by this change in the law, includ-
ing registered lobbyists and clients in New York State, with adequate no-
tice, comment and due process of law.

4. Costs:

a. costs to regulated parties for implementation and compliance: None

b. costs to the agency, state and local government: None

c. cost information is based on the fact that there are no costs associated
with these amendments to the rules.

d. not applicable

5. Local government mandate: None

6. Paperwork: This amendment will not require the preparation of any
additional forms or paperwork.

7. Duplication: None
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8. Alternatives: On December 11, 2007, the CPI approved Resolution
CPI 07-03, which adopted the rules codified at Title 19 NYCRR Part 941
to govern adjudicatory proceedings for all laws within its jurisdiction.
While this resolution provides the requisite authority to adopt such rules,
the text of the existing rules remains inaccurate and misleading to the gen-
eral public and those directly affected by the changes in the law effectu-
ated by PEERA. Therefore, the CPI seeks to publish notice of such amend-
ment in the State Register and the revised text of the rules in the Official
Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York in
order to afford the public with the most notice and due process practicable.

9. Federal standards: The proposed rule-making pertains to adjudica-
tory proceedings and appeals taken from denials for exemption or deletion
from Financial Disclosure Statements pursuant to PEERA. These amend-
ments do not exceed any federal minimum standard with regard to a simi-
lar subject area.

10. Compliance schedule: Compliance is required on the part of the CPI
only and will take effect upon adoption.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

A Regulatory Flexibility Analysis for Small Businesses and Local Govern-
ments is not submitted with this Notice of Adoption since the proposed
rule will not impose any adverse economic impact on small businesses or
local governments, nor will it require or impose any reporting, record-
keeping or other affirmative acts on the part of these entities for compli-
ance purposes. The Commission notes that while it is authorized by the
Public Employee Ethics Reform Act of 2007 (“2007”) to enforce the
reporting requirements of the Article 1-A of the Legislative Law, which
requires those public corporations that conduct lobbying activity to regis-
ter and report expenses in accordance with the law, these amendments to
the adjudicatory proceeding and appeal procedure rules does not impose
any adverse economic impact on those public corporations for compliance
purposes. The New York State Commission on Public Integrity makes
these findings based on the fact that the adjudicatory proceedings and ap-
peals procedure affect only certain State officers and employees and lob-
byists and their clients, including certain public corporations registered for
lobbying activity in New York State. Small businesses and local govern-
ments are not affected in any way by these amendments.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

A Rural Area Flexibility Analysis is not submitted with this Notice of
Adoption since the proposed rule-making will not impose any adverse
economic impact on rural areas, nor will compliance require or impose
any reporting, record-keeping or other affirmative acts on the part of rural
areas. The Commission on Public Integrity makes these findings based on
the fact that the adjudicatory proceedings and appeals procedure affect
only certain State officers and employees and registered lobbyists and
clients in New York State. Rural areas are not affected in any way.

Job Impact Statement

Job Impact Statement is not submitted with this Notice of Emergency
Adoption since the proposed rule-making will have no impact on jobs or
employment opportunities. The Commission on Public Integrity makes
this finding based on the fact that the proposed rule-making is technical in
nature and applies to certain State officers and employees subject to the
provisions of Public Officers Law sections 73, 73-a and 74 and Civil Ser-
vice Law section 107 and lobbyists and clients subject to Article one-A of
the Legislative law. This regulation does not apply, nor relate to small
businesses, economic development or employment opportunities.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Adjudicatory Proceedings and Appeals Procedure

L.D. No. CPI-41-08-00015-A
Filing No. 1232

Filing Date: 2008-12-03
Effective Date: 2008-12-24

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: Amendment of Part 941 of Title 19 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Executive Law, section 94(9) and (13)
Subject: Adjudicatory proceedings and appeals procedure.
Purpose: To afford all parties due process protection and the fair and just
resolution of all matters that may come before the commission.
Text of final rule: Section 941.1 Intent and purpose.

Executive Law, section 94 subdivision (13) authorizes the [State Ethics
Commission] Commission on Public Integrity to adopt rules governing the
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conduct of adjudicatory proceedings and appeals relating to the assess-
ment of the civil penalties; rules relating to appeals taken pursuant to [pub-
lic advisory council] denials of requests [for certain deletions or exemp-
tions to be made from] to delete or exempt certain information from a
financial disclosure statement authorized in paragraph (h) or paragraph (i)
of subdivision (9) of section 94 of the Executive Law; and rules relating to
appeals taken from hearing officer final decisions. In adjudicatory
proceedings and appeals undertaken pursuant to the Ethics in Government
Act, section 107 of the Civil Service Law and article one-A of the Legisla-
tive Law, as amended by the Public Employee Ethics Reform Act of 2007
(Chapter 14, Laws of 2007), it is the intention and purpose of the [State
Ethics Commission] Commission on Public Integrity to afford all parties
due process protection and fair and just resolution of all matters. The
purpose of the [Ethics in Government Act] Public Employee Ethics Reform
Act of 2007 is to [restore] strengthen the public’s trust and confidence in
government. Through effective enforcement, including adjudication, this
purpose can be accomplished.

Section 941.2 is amended to read as follows:

Section 941.2 Definitions.

(a) Appellant shall mean the recipient of [an adverse determination] a
denial by the [Public Advisory Council] executive director for deletion or
exemption of certain information from a financial disclosure statement
who wishes to appeal or has appealed that [adverse decision] denial to the
members of the commission.

(b) Commission shall mean New York State [Ethics Commission] Com-
mission on Public Integrity [created by] established pursuant to section 94
of the Executive Law, which may delegate the authority to act as provided
in these rules and regulations to its executive director.

[(c) Ethics in Government Act shall mean Chapter 13 of the Laws of
1987, as amended.]

(c[d]) Executive director shall mean executive director of the [State
Ethics Commission] Commission on Public Integrity as appointed pursu-
ant to section 94(9)(a) of the Executive Law.

(d[e]) Financial disclosure statement shall mean annual statement of
financial disclosure which is required to be filed pursuant to section 73-a
of the Public Officers Law.

(e[f]) Hearing officer shall mean the presiding officer in adjudicatory
hearings conducted pursuant to this Part.

(flg]) Hearing shall mean any adjudicatory proceeding held by the com-
mission to determine whether a violation of sections 73, [or] 73-a or 74 of
the Public Officers Law, section 107 of the Civil Service Law or article
one-A of the Legislative Law has occurred.

(g[h]) Respondent shall mean any State officer or employee covered by
the provisions of sections 73, [or] 73-a or 74 of the Public Officers Law or
section 107 of the Civil Service Law, or any lobbyist or client, as such
terms are defined in article one-A of the Legislative Law, who is the
subject of a hearing held by the commission.

Section 941.3 is amended to read as follows:

Section 941.3 Notice of reasonable cause.

(a) If the commission, subsequent to an investigation of a possible viola-
tion of sections 73, 73-a or 74 of the Public Officers Law, section 107 of
the Civil Service Law or article one-A of the Legislative Law, determines
that there is reasonable cause to believe that a violation has occurred, it
shall send a notice of reasonable cause:

(1) to the person who is the object of the investigation;

(2) to the complainant, if any;

(3) in the case of a statewide elected official, to the Temporary Presi-
dent of the Senate and the Speaker of the Assembly; and

(4) in the case of a State officer or employee, to the appointing author-
ity for such person.

Subdivision (a) of section 941.4 is amended to read as follows:

Section 941.4 Notice of hearing (form).

(a) Where the commission elects to go forward with a hearing to
determine whether a civil penalty should be assessed for a violation of
sections 73, [or] 73-a or 74 of the Public Officers Law, section 107 of the
Civil Service Law or article one-A of the Legislative Law, it shall serve a
written notice, by certified mail or other appropriate method of service au-
thorized under the Civil Practice Law and Rules, to the parties and their
representatives of record at least 20 calendar days prior to the date of any
hearing under these rules. The notice of hearing shall contain the
following:

(1) a statement of the time and place of the hearing;

(2) a statement of the nature of the hearing;

(3) reference to particular statutes and rules relevant to the hearing;

(4) a short, plain language statement of the violations asserted; and

(5) a statement for hearing impaired parties and participants concern-
ing the provision of deaf interpretation without charge.

Subdivision (b) of section 941.4 is amended to read as follows:

(b) A plain language summary of these rules shall accompany each no-
tice of hearing which is sent to a party cited for a violation of sections 73,

[or] 73-a or 74 of the Public Officers Law[.], section 107 of the Civil Ser-
vice Law or article one-A of the Legislative Law.

Section 941.6 is amended to read as follows:

Section 941.6 Evidence and proof.

(a) The formal rules of evidence do not apply with respect to any hear-
ings under the commission’s jurisdiction. [under the Ethics in Govern-
ment Act.] Objections to evidentiary offers may be made and shall be a
part of the record. Subject to these rules, any party may, for the purpose of
expediting the hearing, and when the interests of the parties will not be
substantially prejudiced thereby, submit all or part of the evidence in writ-
ten form.

Section 941.18 is amended to read as follows:

Section 941.18 Privacy/confidentiality.

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of article [7] 6 of the Public Officers
Law, the only records of the commission that shall be available for public
inspection and copying are:

(1) the information set forth in the annual statement of financial
disclosure filed pursuant to section 73-a of the Public Officers Law, except
the categories of value or amount, [which shall remain confidential, and]
any other item of information deleted or exempted pursuant to paragraph
(h) or (i) of subdivision 9 of section 94 of the Executive Law[;] and all in-
formation that is the subject or part of a request or appeal seeking dele-
tion or exemption pursuant to section 941.19 of this Part, which shall
remain confidential;

(2) notices of delinquency sent under subdivision 11 of section 94 of
the Executive Law;

(3) notices of reasonable cause sent under paragraph (b) of subdivi-
sion 12 of section 94 of the Executive Law; [and]

(4) notices of civil assessment imposed under [this] section[.] 94 of
the Executive Law which shall include a description of the nature of the
alleged wrongdoing, the procedural history of the complaint, the findings
and determinations made by the commission, and any sanction imposed,

(5) the terms of any settlement or compromise of a complaint or refer-
ral which includes a fine, penalty or other remedy; and

(6) those required to be held or maintained publicly available pursu-
ant to article one -A of the Legislative Law.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of article 7 of the Public Officers
Law, no meeting or proceeding of the commission, including any proceed-
ing contemplated under paragraph (h) or (i) of subdivision 9 of section 94
of the Executive Law, shall be open to the public, except as expressly
provided otherwise by the commission[.] or as is required by article one-A
of the Legislative Law.

(c) Information which would reveal confidential material protected by
Federal or State statute, shall be deleted from any final decision, order, de-
termination or declaration issued by the commission.

Section 941.19 is amended to read as follows:

Section 941.19 Appeals from [public advisory council decisions] exec-
utive director’s denials to delete or exempt certain information from
financial disclosure statements.

(a) Grounds for appeal of [a decision of the public advisory council]
the executive director’s denial to delete or exempt certain information
from the financial disclosure statement.

(1) Any person required to file a financial disclosure statement whose
written request for deletion of one or more items of information as
provided in Executive Law section 94(9)(h) has been denied in writing by
the [public advisory council] executive director, may file a written appeal
of such denial, called a notice of appeal, within 15 calendar days of receipt
of such denial, with the [executive director] members of the commission
pursuant to these rules.

(2) Any person required to file a financial disclosure statement whose
written request [to the public advisory council] for exemption from any
requirement to report one or more items of information [which] that
pertain to such person’s spouse or unemancipated children as provided in
Executive Law section 94(9)(i) has been denied in writing by the [public
advisory council] executive director, may file a written appeal of the denial
within 15 days of receipt of such denial, with the [executive director]
members of the commission pursuant to these rules.

(b) Confidentiality of information related to [public advisory council
decisions] the executive director’s denials to grant deletion or exemption
requests.

(1) [Following the filing of a notice of appeal pursuant to these rules,
the commission shall keep all information which is the subject or a part of
the appeal confidential. The reporting individual may request, within five
calendar days of receipt of an adverse decision, and upon such request the
commission shall provide, that any information which is a part of the ap-
peal remain confidential for a period of 30 days following notice of such
determination. In the event that the reporting individual resigns from of-
fice and holds no other office subject to the jurisdiction of the commis-
sion, the information which is part of the appeal shall be made public and
shall be expunged in its entirety.] Pending any application for deletion or
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exemption to the executive director or notice of appeal filed with the
members of the commission, all information which is the subject or a part
of the application or appeal shall remain confidential. Upon an adverse
determination by the members of the commission, the reporting individual
may request, within five calendar days of receipt of an adverse determina-
tion, and upon such request the commission shall provide, that any infor-
mation which is the subject or part of the application remain confidential
for a period of thirty days following notice of such determination. In the
event that the reporting individual resigns from office and holds no other
office subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, the information shall
not be made public and shall be expunged in its entirety.

(¢) Notice and procedure for appeal from [an adverse public advisory
council decision] the executive director’s denial to grant a deletion or
exemption request.

(1) A notice of appeal must be filed with the [executive director]
members of the commission within 15 calendar days of receipt by the ap-
pellant of [an unfavorable determination] a denial by the [public advisory
council] executive director. The notice of appeal must be in writing, must
provide a clear statement of the reasons for appeal, and shall be addressed
to the [executive director] chairman of the commission at the address
provided on a document accompanying the [determination] denial by the
[public advisory council] executive director which shall include such in-
formation and the procedure for appeals.

(2) Upon receipt of the notice of appeal by the [executive director]
chairman of the commission, the [executive director] chairman, or his/her
designee, shall issue a notice of docketing which sets forth a time and date
for submission only of written arguments and documentary evidence in
support of the appellant’s position. This time and date shall be no sooner
than 15 days after receipt of the notice of appeal and no later than 30 days
thereafter.

(d) Record on appeal.

(1) The [executive director] members of the commission shall
consider the record provided by the [public advisory council] executive
director and the written submissions of the appellant in making a determi-
nation on the appeal of [an adverse determination] the executive director’s
denial. The [executive director] members of the commission may request
the appellant to file additional information.

(2) The formal rules of evidence shall not apply in the appeals
process.

(3) The burden is on the appellant to show that the [public advisory
council] executive director made an erroneous determination in deciding
not to grant appellant’s deletion or exemption request.

(e) Decision on appeal from [public advisory council decisions] execu-
tive director’s denials.

(1) The [executive director] members of the commission shall review
the written appeal filed pursuant to these rules, and shall render a decision
by a majority vote of a quorum being present. Such decision shall be based
upon the entire record submitted to the [public advisory council] executive
director and the written submission of the appellant.

(2) The written decision of the [executive director] members of the
commission shall affirm, reverse, remand and/or dismiss the decision of
the [public advisory council] executive director and, as appropriate, shall
set forth a concise statement of the reasons for the [executive director’s]
commission members’ decision and shall be issued within 60 days of the
receipt of the written notice of appeal filed with the commission members
pursuant to these rules, or as soon thereafter as possible.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: Nonsubstantive changes
were made in section 941.1.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
Sfrom: Shari Calnero, Associate Counsel, Commission on Public Integrity,
540 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207, (518) 408-3976, email:
scalnero@nyintegrity.org

Regulatory Impact Statement

The changes made to the last published rule, that is, the agency’s name
was changed to comport with the new agency name provided in the
recently- enacted Public Employee Ethics Reform Act of 2007, do not
necessitate revision to the previously published RIS because the change
was nonsubstantive.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

A Regulatory Flexibility Analysis for Small Businesses and Local Govern-
ments is not submitted with this Notice of Adoption since the proposed
rule will not impose any adverse economic impact on small businesses or
local governments, nor will it require or impose any reporting, record-
keeping or other affirmative acts on the part of these entities for compli-
ance purposes. The Commission notes that while it is authorized by the
Public Employee Ethics Reform Act of 2007 (“2007”) to enforce the
reporting requirements of the Article 1-A of the Legislative Law, which
requires those public corporations that conduct lobbying activity to regis-
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ter and report expenses in accordance with the law, these amendments to
the adjudicatory proceeding and appeal procedure rules does not impose
any adverse economic impact on those public corporations for compliance
purposes. The New York State Commission on Public Integrity makes
these findings based on the fact that the adjudicatory proceedings and ap-
peals procedure affect only certain State officers and employees and lob-
byists and their clients, including certain public corporations registered for
lobbying activity in New York State. Small businesses and local govern-
ments are not affected in any way by these amendments.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

A Rural Area Flexibility Analysis is not submitted with this Notice of
Adoption since the proposed rule-making will not impose any adverse
economic impact on rural areas, nor will compliance require or impose
any reporting, record-keeping or other affirmative acts on the part of rural
areas. The Commission on Public Integrity makes these findings based on
the fact that the adjudicatory proceedings and appeals procedure affect
only certain State officers and employees and registered lobbyists and
clients in New York State. Rural areas are not affected in any way.

Job Impact Statement

Job Impact Statement is not submitted with this Notice of Adoption since
the proposed rule-making will have no impact on jobs or employment
opportunities. The Commission on Public Integrity makes this finding
based on the fact that the proposed rule-making is technical in nature and
applies to internal adjudicatory proceedings and appeal procedures only.
In addition, the regulation applies to certain State officers and employees
subject to the provisions of Public Officers Law sections 73, 73-a and 74
and Civil Service Law section 107 and lobbyists and clients subject to
Article one-A of the Legislative law. This regulation does not apply, nor
relate to small businesses, economic development or employment
opportunities.

Assessment of Public Comment
The agency received no public comment.

Public Service Commission

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Transfer of Water Plant Assets

L.D. No. PSC-19-08-00015-A
Filing Date: 2008-12-04
Effective Date: 2008-12-04

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: On November 12, 2008, the PSC adopted an order approv-
ing the petition of Davenport Water Company to transfer its water plant
assets to the Town of Davenport.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(1)(f), 89-c(1),
(10) and 89(f)

Subject: Transfer of water plant assets.

Purpose: To approve the petition of Davenport Water Company to transfer
its water plant assets to the Town of Davenport.

Substance of final rule: The Commission, on November 12, 2008,
adopted an order approving the petition of Davenport Water Company to
transfer its water plant assets to the Town of Davenport, subject to the
terms and conditions set forth in the order.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule may be obtained from: Leann Ayer, Public Service Commis-
sion, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2655, email: leann__ayer@dps.state.ny.us An IRS employer ID no. or
social security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents
per page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in
requests.

Assessment of Public Comment

An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

(08-W-0317SA1)
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PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Creation of an SBC Funding Category and Modifications to the
Schedule of Collections And/or Transfers

L.D. No. PSC-52-08-00010-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: The Commission is considering whether to adopt,
moditfy, or reject, in whole or in part, potential modifications to the System
Benefits Charge (SBC) program to create and fund a new Major Program
Category for Statewide Evaluation Protocol Development.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(2), 66(1) and (2)
Subject: Creation of an SBC funding category and modifications to the
schedule of collections and/or transfers.

Purpose: To develop statewide energy efficiency evaluation, measure-
ment and verification protocols.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
adopt, modity, or reject, in whole or in part, potential modifications to the
System Benefits Charge (SBC) program to create a new Major Program
Category entitled “‘Statewide Evaluation Protocol Development’” with an
annual budget level of $750,000. The Commission is considering whether
to use such funds to join and facilitate participation in the Evaluation,
Measurement and Verification (EM&V) Forum, a project of the Northeast
Energy Efficiency Partnerships (NEEP). The project is designed to facili-
tate the development of common EM&V protocols to estimate, track, and
report the impacts of energy efficiency demand-side resources (including
energy and demand savings) and environmental benefits. NEEP is a
regional nonprofit organization that promotes the efficient use of energy
in homes, buildings and industry, primarily in the Northeast United States.
The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority
(NYSERDA) as administrator of the SBC program would administer the
funds allocated to the Statewide Protocol Development category. An
operating plan for the category would be developed by NYSERDA,
subject to the approval of the New York State Department of Public Ser-
vice, Director of the Office of Energy Efficiency and the Environment af-
ter consultation with the Energy Efficiency Portfolio Standard (EEPS)
Evaluation Advisory Group. The Commission is also considering whether
any such changes will require modification to the schedule of collections
of SBC funds from ratepayers or the schedule of transfer of such funds
from the utilities that collect the funds to NYSERDA.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.state.ny.us/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Leann Ayer, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2655, email:
leann__ayer@dps.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Jaclyn A. Brilling, Secre-
tary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email:
jaclyn__brilling@dps.state.ny.us

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(05-M-0090SA4)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Market Supply Charge and Monthly Adjustment Clause
Mechanisms

L.D. No. PSC-52-08-00011-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering a proposed filing by
Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc. to recover through the
Market Supply Charge and the Monthly Adjustment Clause Mechanisms,
costs related to the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(12)

Subject: Market Supply Charge and Monthly Adjustment Clause
Mechanisms.

Purpose: To recover costs related to the Regional Greenhouse Gas
Initiative.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, a proposed filing by
Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc. (Con Edison) to recover
through the Market Supply Charge and the Monthly Adjustment Clause
Mechanisms, costs related to the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative
(RGGI), of company-owned generating facilities. Con Edison is not seek-
ing reimbursement for any RGGl-related costs associated with generation
from non-utility generators with which is has contracts, as that issue is be-
ing addressed in Case 08-E-0539.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.state.ny.us/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Leann Ayer, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2655, email:
leann__ayer@dps.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Jaclyn A. Brilling, Secre-
tary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email:
jaclyn__brilling@dps.state.ny.us

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(08-E-1408SA1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Water Rates and Charges
L.D. No. PSC-52-08-00012-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering the filing of The
Chaffee Water Works Company (Chaffee Water) filed on December 8,
2008, requesting authority to increase its annual revenues by approxi-
mately $17,754 or 105%.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(1)(f), 89-c(1),
and (10)

Subject: Water rates and charges.

Purpose: For approval to increase The Chaffee Water Works Company’s
annual revenues by about $17,754 or 105%.

Substance of proposed rule: On December 8, 2008, The Chaffee Water
Works Company (Chaffee or the company) filed, in Case 08-W-1407, to
become effective on April 1, 2009, a tariff amendment (Leaf No. 12, Revi-
sion 1) to its electronic tariff schedule P.S.C. No. 2—Water containing
new customer metered rates designed to produce additional annual
revenues of about $17,754 or 105%. Chaffee provides water service on a
flat rate basis to 77 customers in the Hamlet of Chaffee in the Township of
Sardenia, Erie County. The company is currently undergoing system
upgrades of its infrastructure through a $555,438 Environmental Facilities
Corporation (EFC) financing approved by the Commission in Case 07-W-
0928. As part of the system upgrades related to this EFC financing, the
company has installed customer meters and is now seeking Commission
approval to go from its present quarterly flat rate of $20 to a new metered
rate structure that will produce the $17,754 mentioned above. The
company’s proposed metered rate structure will consist of a $59.43 per
quarter minimum charge for the first 3,000 gallons along with a quarterly
usage rate of $3.30 per 1,000 gallons after 3,000 gallons. The company’s
tariff, along with its proposed changes, will be available on the Commis-
sion’s Home Page on the World Wide Web (www.dps.state.ny.us) located
under Access to Commission Documents—Tariffs). The Commission may
approve or reject, in whole or in part, or modify the company’s request.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.state.ny.us/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Leann Ayer, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
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New York 12223-1350, (518)
leann__ayer@dps.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Jaclyn A. Brilling, Secre-
tary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email:
jaclyn__brilling@dps.state.ny.us

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(08-W-1407SA1)

486-2655, email:

Racing and Wagering Board

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Allowing Audible Alert on Electronic Bingo Aids When a
Winning Pattern Has Been Obtained

L.D. No. RWB-52-08-00013-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: Amendment of section 5823.2 of Title 9 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Executive Law, section 435(1)(a)

Subject: Allowing audible alert on electronic bingo aids when a winning
pattern has been obtained.

Purpose: To amend the Board’s bingo rules to allow audible alerts on
electric bingo aids and to correct a typographical error.

Text of proposed rule: 5823.2 Electronic Bingo Aids

No licensed bingo supplier may offer for sale, lease or otherwise furnish
any electronic bingo aid unless the Racing and Wagering Board has ap-
proved such electronic bingo aid in writing. All electronic bingo aids sold,
leased or used in the State of New York shall comply with the following
requirements:

(a) Each device or software program shall identify the name and license
number of the licensed bingo supplier.

(b) A sales record shall be recorded and retained for a period of not less
than 12 months.

(c) A receipt shall be provided to the player at the time of each sale,
which shall reflect the amount paid by the player, the number of face cards
to be played, date and time of sale, the name of the licensed authorized or-
ganization, and the registration identification number of the licensed au-
thorized organization.

(d) No electronic bingo aid shall emit any sound while in use by a player
other than an audible alert unobtrusively notifying the user that a winning
bingo pattern has been obtained on one or more of that player’s bingo
cards.

(e) The Board or its designee may approve any other written requests
for an electronic bingo aid change which ensures that the games are fairly
and properly conducted and which enable individuals with disabilities to
play the game independently.

(f) Each player shall be required to manually enter the letter or number
of the object or ball announced by the bingo caller into the electronic
bingo aid, by means of pressing a button or touch-screen image. Automatic
daubing features that mark the numbers called for the player, or permit the
player to automatically ‘‘catch-up’’ with numbers previously announced
by the caller are prohibited.

(2) No electronic bingo aid shall resemble a slot machine or other game
of chance, or be capable of accepting or electing anything of value, includ-
ing but not limited to, currency, coin, token, credit card, or debit card.

(h) Every model of electronic bingo aid shall be certified in writing by
an independent testing laboratory or a regulatory agency of another state
approved by the Board, at the manufacturers’ expense, that the electronic
bingo aid meets the standards herein and that the erasable programmable
read only memory modules (EPRO(N)M) or other game program media
logic storage or retrieval components cannot be altered, tampered with,
replaced or otherwise programmed by anyone other than by the manufac-
turer without rendering the electronic bingo aid inoperable.
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Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Gail Pronti, Racing and Wagering Board, One Broadway
Center, Suite 600, Schenectady, NY 12305, (518) 395-5400, email:
info@racing.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory authority: Section 435(1)a of the Executive Law grants
the Board the power and makes it a duty to adopt, amend and repeal
rules and regulations governing the issuance and amendment of licen-
ses for bingo, thereunder, and the conduct of games of bingo, to be
fairly and properly conducted in the manner prescribed in the Bingo
Licensing Law. Section 296 (2)(c)(ii) and (d) of the New York State
Executive Law states that it is unlawful discriminatory practice to re-
fuse an accommodation that would ensure that no person with a dis-
ability is excluded from a public amusement because of the absence of
auxiliary aids unless the accommodation would fundamentally alter
the nature of the public amusement or that the accommodation would
be an undue burden and can be carried out without much difficulty
and expense.

2. Legislative objectives: Section 435(1)(a) of the Executive Law
states that ‘‘said games shall be fairly and properly conducted for the
purposes and in the manner in the said bingo licensing law
prescribed’’. Everyone must be given an equal opportunity to win.
The new audible alert feature insures visually impaired individuals an
equal opportunity to win by alerting them when a winning bingo pat-
tern has been obtained on one of their cards. The Americans With Dis-
abilities Act states that ‘‘Disability is a natural part of human experi-
ence and in no way diminishes the right of individuals to: A. live
independently, B. enjoy self-determination, C. make choices, D. con-
tribute to society, E. pursue meaningful careers, and F. enjoy full
inclusion and integration in the economic, political. social, cultural,
and educational mainstream of American society.”” Adding the
audible alert would certainly contribute to the full inclusion of blind
individuals in the cultural mainstream, by allowing them to participate
in bingo without other assistance. Section 296(2)(c)(ii) and (d) of the
New York State Executive Law provides that accommodations must
be made, and it is unlawful discriminatory practice not to make ac-
commodations, so that disabled individuals can take part in all aspects
of daily life, unless such accommodations would result in an undue
burden, or the modification would fundamentally alter the nature of
the facility.

3. Needs and benefits: The Board was approached by an individual
citizen of New York State who is totally blind and who plays bingo
daily throughout the state. This individual asked that we review the
current rule. She states that she believes that she is often cheated at
bingo because she now has to rely on other players to inform her when
she has a bingo. She also states that when she talks with friends about
what recreational options are available to totally blind individuals,
that the options are quite limited. She believes that many blind people
would enjoy the opportunity to play bingo in the community if the
audible alert feature were added. This rule amendment is necessary to
allow organizations to turn on the audible alert feature on electronic
bingo aids. This feature assures that visually impaired individuals will
be notified when they have a winning pattern on one of their bingo
cards, thus giving them an equal opportunity to win and allowing them
to be fully included in a community event. In the past, no sound was
allowed by electronic bingo aids. The Board has tried to maintain a
traditional approach to bingo and to avoid turning the game into more
of a slot machine experience with the addition of electronic bingo aids
that give off a number of sounds, creating a casino type atmosphere.
The Board elected not to have an audible alert when a player was one
square away from a bingo to limit the noise factor.

4. Costs

(a) Costs to regulated parties for the implementation of and continu-
ing compliance with the rule: There are no added costs to regulated
parties for the implementation and continuing compliance with the
rule. Organizations that choose to add the audible alert feature will
have the feature enabled by the supplier or manufacturer of the
machines. Most machines have the audible alert feature presently, but
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it is currently disabled, as previously, electronic bingo aids were not
allowed to emit any sound in New York State.

(b) Costs to the agency, the state and local governments for the
implementation and continuation of the rule: None. The New York
State Racing and Wagering Board will have the same oversight re-
sponsibilities as it previously had for bingo games, and local govern-
ments will continue to have the same licensing and oversight respon-
sibilities as they previously had for bingo games.

(c) The information, including the source(s) of such information
and the methodology upon which the cost analysis is based: Cost anal-
ysis is based upon a review by the Office of Counsel of the New York
State Racing and Wagering Board. The methodology is based upon a
review of Section 190-a of the General Municipal Law and the practi-
cal impact of the law on licensing and reporting.

5. Local government mandates: None.
6. Paperwork: None.
7. Duplication: None.

8. Alternatives: The Racing and Wagering Board considered a no
action alternative, but chose to pursue this rule in order to allow
organizations to enable audible alerts on electronic bingo aids and
thus assist visually impaired people in their enjoyment of bingo and
give them the same opportunity to win as all other players.

9. Federal standards: None.

10. Compliance schedule: Once adopted, the rule can be imple-
mented immediately upon publication in the State Register.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural Area Flexibility Analysis and Job
Impact Statement
This proposal does not require a Regulatory Flexibility Statement, Rural
Area Flexibility Statement or Job Impact Statement as is apparent from
the nature of the amendment, which authorizes electronic bingo aids to
emit sounds audibly alerting a player when a designated winning bingo
pattern has been obtained on one or more cards during bingo sessions held
by licensed authorized charitable organizations. This proposed amend-
ment does not impact upon State Administrative Procedure Act Section
102(8), nor does it affect employment. It will not impose an adverse eco-
nomic impact on reporting, recordkeeping or other compliance require-
ments on small businesses in rural or urban areas nor on employment
opportunities. These rules apply to charities and other not-for-profit
organizations that conduct bingo. Bingo may only be conducted by
volunteers and General Municipal Law sections 481(1)a and 479(8) pro-
hibit any person from receiving remuneration for participating in the
management or operations of bingo, therefore, there will be no significant
impact on jobs.

Office of Real Property
Services

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Residential Assessment Ratios
LI.D. No. RPS-52-08-00007-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: This is a consensus rule making to repeal sections 191-
3.2 and 191-3.1(d) of Title 9 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Real Property Tax Law, section 202(1)(1)
Subject: Residential Assessment Ratios.

Purpose: To repeal sections 191-3.1(d) and 191-3.2 which have become
obsolete.

Text of proposed rule: The State Board of Real Property Services hereby
amends Part 191-3 of Title 9 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules
and Regulations of the State of New York as follows:

Section one. Subdivision d of Section 191-3.1 is repealed.
Section 2. Section 191-3.2 is repealed.

Section 3. This amendment shall take effect immediately.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Hung Kay Lo, Senior Attorney, New York State Office of
Real Property Services, 16 Sheridan Ave, Albany, New York 12210-2714,
(518) 474-8821, email: internet.legal@orps.state.ny.us
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
This action was not under consideration at the time this agency’s regula-
tory agenda was submitted.
Consensus Rule Making Determination
Section 738 of the Real Property Tax Law has been amended to repeal the
current methodology and to mandate a new methodology for the determi-
nation of the Residential Assessment Ratio. Under this new law, certain
sections of Subpart 191-3 are inapplicable and obsolete. Specifically, Sec-
tions 191-3.1(d) and 191-3.2 are obsolete and are to be repealed. This
rulemaking is intended to conform the State Board’s rules to statutory
changes. Therefore, no person is likely to object to the rule as written.
Job Impact Statement
This proposed amendment would repeal Sections 191-3.1(d) & 191-3.2 of
Part 191 of the Title 9 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and
Regulations of the State of New York, concerning residential assessment
ratios. The proposed repeal should have no effect, positive or negative, on
job opportunities.

Department of State

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Document Destruction Contractors

L.D. No. DOS-52-08-00009-E
Filing No. 1283

Filing Date: 2008-12-09
Effective Date: 2008-12-09

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of Part 199 to Title 19 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: General Business Law, article 39-G, section §99-
bbb(12)(a)

Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of public safety
and general welfare.

Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The legislature
enacted statutory authority, with effective date of October 1, 2008, for a
new licensing category regarding contractors engaged in the business of
document destruction. The new law requires businesses that offer docu-
ment destruction services to register with the Department of State, and
enables the Secretary of State to promulgate such rules and regulations as
are deemed necessary to effectuate the purposes of the article. This new
law is necessary for the protection of the public to prevent the unlawful
taking of personal identification information from documents disposed of
by the public. The bill would limit the amount of documents containing
sensitive personal information subject to misappropriation by ensuring the
availability of qualified and reputable document destruction contractors.
The law will work in concert with recently implemented federal disposal
rules (16 CPR Part 682), and New York’s newly adopted Disposal Law
(Chapter 65 of the Laws of 2006), which require businesses to take ap-
propriate steps when disposing of personal information. In order to comply
with these mandates, many businesses hire contractors that specialize in
the destruction of records containing personal information. The new
licensing category enacted by the NYS Legislature will ensure that infor-
mation required to be destroyed under the federal Disposal Rule and New
York’s Disposal Law pursuant to a document destructions contract is
disposed of properly by a contractor registered with the State of New York.

Subject: Document destruction contractors.

Purpose: To provide guidance regarding the process of applying for, and
registering as, a document destruction contractor.

Text of emergency rule: Part 199 is added to 19 NYCRR to be entitled
and read as follows:
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19 NYCRR PART 199 Document Destruction Contractors

Section 199.1 Fingerprinting: principals and officers

(a) Applicants for registration as document destruction contractors
must be fingerprinted, and the fingerprints must be taken by one of the
following:

(1) an employee of the Department of State, Division of Licensing
Services at designated locations and at appointed times, or at such other
location designated by the Division of Licensing Services;

(2) a local police officer, a State police officer, a sheriff or deputy
sheriff;

JZS) a principal or officer of a document destruction contractor busi-
ness; or

(4) a previously fingerprinted employee of security guard training
school approved by the Division of Criminal Justice Services [Division].

(b) Each fingerprint card shall be signed and authenticated by the indi-
vidual who took the fingerprints and shall state the individual’s name
along with his/her title of office or employment status.

(c) All fingerprints shall be taken on a form and in a manner approved
by the Division of Criminal Justice Services.

Section 199.2 Investigation

Within five business days after receipt of an application, the Depart-
ment of State [Department] shall transmit to the Division two sets of
fingerprints and the fees required pursuant to subdivision eight-a of sec-
tion eight hundred thirty-seven of the executive law, and amendments
thereto, for the cost of the Division’s full search and retain procedures.
The results will be used to ascertain whether or not the applicant has been
charged with or convicted of a serious offense and may cause to be
conducted an investigation to verify the information contained in the ap-
plication; provided, however, that the Department shall cause such
investigation to be conducted for applicants whose application has not
been submitted and verified pursuant to section eight hundred ninety-
nine-bbb of General Business Law article 39-G. The Department, in
consultation with the Division, may waive such background checks,
investigations and fees if in its opinion, the applicant has been subject to
previous background checks and investigation requirements which meet
or exceed the requirements of this section. The Department, in consulta-
tion with the Division, may not be required to conduct background checks
or investigations for applicants who are also employed as security guards
or peace officers.

Section 199.3 Supervisory responsibility

A registrant/licensee has an affirmative duty to provide supervision of
all employees and for all business activities. Such supervision shall consist
of regular, frequent and consistent personal guidance, instruction,
oversight and superintendence by the qualifying registration/license
holder with respect to the general business conducted by the firm and all
matters relating thereto.

Section 199.4 Business and employee records

(a) Each business licensed under this Part shall keep and maintain for
a period of three years records of all transactions performed by the
business.

(b) All records must be retained for longer periods, in the event there is
any litigation pending concerning such records and/or employee. Litiga-
tion shall include investigation or administrative action by the Depart-
ment of State, initiated by complaint from the general public or by the
department.

(c) A business which is registered to conduct activities as a document
destruction contractor must maintain employee and business records at a
central location within New York State. This is applicable to all company
and personnel records pertaining exclusively to the conduct of business in
this State.

(d) Each registrant/licensee shall prepare and retain a statement of ser-
vices and charges which has been agreed upon between the registrant/
licensee and the consumer, a copy of which must be presented to the
consumer. The consumer must be presented with a copy of any document
signed by the registrant/licensee and consumer. Any agreement signed by
a representative of the registrant/licensee and the consumer for services
to be performed must be retained by the registrant/licensee in the business
records of the firm.

(e) In comjunction with any transaction, each registrant/licensee shall
identify any and all employees who conduct activities constituting docu-
ment destruction services.

Section 199.5 Employee and employer responsibility

(a) Any person who is or has been an employee of a registered docu-
ment destruction contractor shall not divulge to anyone other than his
employer, except as may be required by law, any information acquired by
him/her during such employment in respect to any of the work to which he/
she shall have been assigned by such employer.

(b) 1t is the duty and obligation of an employer of any individual
believed to have violated this section to divulge all known facts and cir-
cumstances to the Secretary of State or such person in the Department of
State who may be designated.
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Section 199.6 License revocation and suspension

Any person, firm, company, partnership, corporation or organization
licensed under Article 39-G of the General Business Law which has its
registration/license revoked or suspended by the Department of State shall
be ineligible to employ other persons in any capacity to conduct document
destruction services for the period of the revocation or suspension.

Section 199.7 Criminal convictions

Any applicant, principal or qualifier convicted of any felony or misde-
meanor may be denied licensure or subjected to license revocation and
suspension. Department of State discretion shall be exercised pursuant to
the standards articulated in Article 23-A of the Correction Law.

Section 199.8 Notice of criminal conviction

Any registrant/licensee who is convicted of a crime as defined in the
Penal Law in this State or an offense which would constitute a crime if
committed in New York in any other state or Federal or foreign jurisdic-
tion, shall give notice of such conviction to the Department of State, Divi-
sion of Licensing Services, at its Albany Olffice, by certified mail, return
receipt requested, within 10 days from date of conviction. Such notice
shall be given notwithstanding pendency of appeal.

Section 199.9 Advertising

All advertising placed by an individual or a business registered/licensed
under this article must contain the following statement: *‘registered with
the N.Y.S. Department of State.”’

Section 199.10 Statement of licensure

All documents or receipts issued by an individual or business licensed
pursuant to this article must contain the unique identification number is-
sued to such individual or business and the phrase ‘‘registered with the
N.Y.S. Department of State.”’

Section 199.11 Contracts and agreements.

(a) Consumers conducting business with an individual or firm licensed
under this article shall receive a copy of any signed contract and/or
agreement.

(b) All contracts and agreements used by an individual or firm licensed
under this article shall include the following statement under the name of
the business: ‘‘This business is registered with the New York Department
of State, Division of Licensing Services.”’

Section 199.12 Enforcement.

All principals, qualifiers and/or employees of the registered document
destruction contractor shall be subject to the enforcement provisions
contained in Article 39-G of the General Business Law. Service of process
pursuant to said article, including but not limited to service of a notice of
hearing to be conducted pursuant to the provisions of said article, shall be
by certified mail sent to the last known registered or business address of
the applicant or registered document destruction contractor.

This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt this emergency rule as a permanent rule and
will publish a notice of proposed rule making in the State Register at some
future date. The emergency rule will expire March 8, 2009.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained

from: Linda D. Cleary, Department of State, Division of Licensing Ser-
vices, P.O. Box 22001, Albany NY 122231-0001, (518) 473-2728, email:
linda.cleary@dos.state.ny.us

Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory authority:

General Business Law Article 39-G, section 899-bbb (12)(a) authorizes
the Secretary of State to promulgate such rules and regulations as are
deemed necessary to effectuate the purposes of the article, which article
contains new licensing/registration requirements for the discipline entitled
““‘document destruction contractors’’.

2. Legislative objectives:

General Business Law, Article 39-G, requires the Department of State
to license and regulate document destruction contractors. The statute
requires registrants/licensees to meet certain requirements in order to
qualify and maintain registration as a document destruction contractor.
The statutory intent behind Article 39-G is consumer protection.

3. Needs and benefits:

The proposed rule making will protect consumers and meet the legisla-
tive intent in enacting Article 39-G. By setting forth specific regulations
clarifying the procedures to be followed in obtaining approval from the
Department of State to register and maintain registration as a document
destruction contractor, registrants/licensees and prospective employees, as
well as the public will be protected by ensuring that licensed document de-
struction contractors conduct their business in accordance with the
principles set forth in General Business Law Article 39-G.

4. Costs:

a. Costs to regulated parties:

The rule making will not impose any new costs on document destruc-
tion contractors, beyond those imposed with their compliance with the
statutory requirements of General Business Law Article 39-G. It is
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believed that there will be costs to the regulated public associated with
obtaining the requisite NYS background check, estimated to be $75.
Regarding costs for fingerprints of principals, officers, or employees of
the document destruction contractor, these are estimated to be ap-
proximately $12 to $30 for each set of fingerprints prepared and obtained
pursuant to these rules and the statute. The regulated public will likely
incur costs associated with record retention for those licensees who do not
possess sufficient on-site storage for records. The cost of storage facilities
varies depending on various factors such as location and size. It is
estimated that the starting price for an off-site storage unit is approximately
$40.00 per month. It is not anticipated that the regulated public will incur
any other costs.

b. Costs to the Department of State:

The Department of State does not anticipate any additional costs to the
agency to implement and continue to administer the rules’ requirements.
The Department of State currently licenses and regulates in excess of
twenty-eight different occupations. The Department did not hire additional
staff to assist with the implementation and administration of the new doc-
ument destruction contractor licensing requirements. As a result, existing
staff will absorb the functions necessary to support the program and the
regulations established by this rulemaking.

5. Local government mandates:

The rules do not impose any program, service, duty or responsibility
upon any county, city, town, village, school district or other special
district.

6. Paperwork:

The rules clarifies the already mandated statutory requirement that all
applications for licensure be accompanied by two sets of fingerprint cards
for all principals and officers; prospective registrants/licensees are already
required to satisfactorily complete applications for registration, with ac-
companying documentation. The rule delineates and specifies the
paperwork and record keeping requirements imposed on licensees by Gen-
eral Business Law Article 39-G. The statute mandates, in part, that docu-
ment destruction contractors be subject to investigation and to supply
documentation upon request, and this rule clarifies the requirements for
document retention. The rule also requires that advertisements and certain
business records contain the license number and/or a statement that the li-
censee is licensed by the Department of State.

7. Duplication:

This rule does not duplicate, overlap or conflict with any other state or
federal requirement.

8. Alternatives:

The Department of State considered not proposing any regulations;
however, since subpart12 of § 899-bbb requires that the Secretary of State
shall promulgate such rules and regulations as are deemed necessary to ef-
fectuate the purposes of the legislation, it was deemed appropriate and
necessary that the Department of State propose regulations to clarify the
legislation. It was decided that not having any regulations would disad-
vantage both the regulated public and the Department of State insofar as
certain vague statutory provisions would remain undefined and result in
confusion and difficulties with enforcement. As a result, the Department
of State is only proposing those regulations deemed necessary at this point
in time, and has determined to hold in abeyance the possible need to file
additional regulations to clarify and/or define other statutory issues.

9. Federal standards:

There are no federal standards regulating the registration of document
destruction contractors, although there are federal standards regulating the
disposal of personal information implemented in a federal Disposal Rule
(16 CPF Part 682), and New York has a Disposal Law (Chapter 65 of the
Laws of 2006), which comports with the federal requirements. The
proposed rulemaking does not exceed any existing federal standard.

10. Compliance schedule:

The rule making will be effective as of the date of adoption. Prospec-
tive registrants/licensees are already required to register pursuant to the
statutory provisions of Article 39-G on or before October 1, 2008, are on
notice of the Secretary’s power to enact regulations in concert therewith,
and will therefore be able to comply with this rule as of its effective date.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Effect of rule:

The proposed rulemaking create a framework for the successful process
of businesses registering for approval to act as document destruction
contractors, and to employ qualified workers to conduct services related
thereto, as well as to allow for the continued qualifications for renewal of
same, and the responsibilities of the companies for document preparation
and retention, for ensuring the qualifications of workers, and for the stan-
dards by which such businesses shall operate.

The rule does not apply to local governments.

2. Compliance requirements:

The business of document destruction is now being regulated under the
auspices of the Department of State (DOS), and any companies or persons

meeting the criteria for registration must do so. The proposed rules are
intended to amplify the legislation, and to clarify specifics as to the
requirements for registration. Further, pursuant to the statute, the Depart-
ment is required to publish and makes available a list of registered docu-
ment destruction contractors who have properly qualified and registered
with the Department. By statute, the list of registered document destruc-
tion contractors is to be made available to any interested parties by way of
online viewing on the Department’s website, and also by permitting an
interested party to obtain a copy thereof, at a cost to be determined by the
Department, which the rules now clarify to be a minimal amount. The
proposed rules provide the mechanism for compliance.

3. Professional services:

Small businesses will not need professional services in order to comply
with this rule.

4. Compliance costs:

Registrant licensees will not incur any significant compliance costs as-
sociated with these rules, although there will be compliance costs associ-
ated with obtaining the requisite fingerprints of the principals, officers
and/or qualifers for the registrant contractors, and for producing the proper
identification cards. The rules do not mandate that any businesses will
incur significant expense beyond the expenses made necessary in order to
comply with the statutory requirements.

5. Economic and technological feasibility:

Small businesses will not incur any additional costs or require technical
expertise as a result of the implementation of these rules, beyond the
requirements already placed upon small businesses which are required to
comply with the statute.

6. Minimizing adverse economic impact:

DOS did not identify any alternatives which would provide relief for
registrant contractors, and, at the same time, be less restrictive and less
burdensome on them in terms of compliance.

7. Small business and local government participation:

No comment has been received to the enacted legislation, and no com-
ment has yet been received from the anticipated registrant pool or the
public. Simultaneously with the adopting of the rulemaking as an emer-
gency adoption, the proposed rulemaking has been posted on the Depart-
ment’s website, in an attempt to alert any interested parties and to seek
public comment.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

These rules do not impose any adverse impact on rural areas. The rules
complement the statutory adoption of the new licensing category of docu-
ment destruction contractors, such that the procedures for obtaining and
renewing registration in this area of business employment will be clear
and readily apparent to the public. The Department of State has not
received any objection to these procedures from approved providers.

Job Impact Statement

The proposed rule will not have a substantial adverse affect on jobs and
employment opportunities for licensed document destruction contractors
insofar as Article 39-G of the General Business Law already requires that
such qualifying companies register with the Secretary of State. This rule
making merely codifies the procedure to obtain Department of State ap-
proval to offer and provide services as a registered document destruction
contractor.

Department of Taxation and
Finance

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Definition of Resident for Personal Income Tax

L.D. No. TAF-42-08-00016-A
Filing No. 1286

Filing Date: 2008-12-10
Effective Date: 2008-12-24

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 105.20(e)(1) of Title 20 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Tax Law, sections 171, subd. First; 697(a) and
605(b)(1)
Subject: Definition of resident for personal income tax.
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Purpose: To eliminate provisions regarding temporary stays.

Text or summary was published in the October 15, 2008 issue of the Reg-
ister, [.D. No. TAF-42-08-00016-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: John W. Bartlett, Tax Regulations Specialist 4, Department of Tax-
ation and Finance, Taxpayer Guidance Division, Building 9, W. A. Harri-
man Campus, Albany, NY 12227, (518) 457-2254, email:
tax__regulations@tax.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment

Written comments were received regarding proposal TAF-42-08-
00016-P from the New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants
(“NYSSCPA”), the Business Council of New York State, Inc. (“Business
Council”), the New York State Bar Association Tax Section (“Tax Sec-
tion”), and a New York State resident attending law school in Florida.

The NYSSCPA states that there has been “a vast amount of litigation,
the subject of which centered on what constitutes a ‘temporary stay’ in
New York” and that “[w]hat constitutes a ‘temporary stay’ as compared to
a permanent stay is the cause of the longstanding controversy.” The
NYSSCPA indicates that the “determination requires a detailed and often
onerous examination of the intent of both the employer and the employee.
This examination results, at best, in a protracted audit and litigation and, at
worst, in inconsistent results among similarly situated taxpayers.” Never-
theless, the NYSSCPA recommends that the rule to eliminate the tempo-
rary stay provisions not be adopted. The NYSSCPA asserts that eliminat-
ing the rule would put New York businesses at a competitive disadvantage
and subject taxpayers to tax on certain income in both their state of domi-
cile and in New York as their state of statutory residence. This effect on
taxpayers is also noted by the Tax Section. The NYSSCPA indicates that
the rule would effect a major change in Department interpretation of the
Tax Law provision.

The Business Council also asserts that the rule, by subjecting more
individuals to tax as residents, would negatively impact business. The
Business Council indicates that a number of its members bring non-
domiciliaries into New York for temporary work assignments and that
they find the temporary stay provisions to be “fairly straightforward” and
not “particularly confusing”.

It is noted first that the fact that a taxpayer may be subject to tax as a
domiciliary of another state and a statutory resident of New York is a
function of the statutory structure of the personal income tax. This fact
does not argue against what the Department believes is a fairer interpreta-
tion of the statutory provisions, even though more taxpayers will be treated
as residents. As noted in the Regulatory Impact Statement, “[t]he proposed
rule levels the playing field among non-domiciliary taxpayers, providing
equal treatment for all taxpayers who maintain a permanent place of abode
within the state for more than eleven months, and spend more than 183
days within the state, irrespective of their purpose for doing so.” The
Department acknowledges that the rule would change longstanding
practice and interpretation, but believes it is moving toward a better inter-
pretation of the Tax Law.

With respect to the Business Council’s comment that its members
routinely bring individuals in for temporary work assignments and that it
finds the temporary stay rule fairly straightforward, we note that being in
New York for a temporary assignment was not sufficient to qualify under
the temporary stay rule. In order for the place of abode to not be considered
permanent under the rule, it would have to be maintained for a fixed and
limited period for the accomplishment of a “particular purpose.” The
Department has found this rule to be difficult to administer and that is
confirmed by the above-noted statements by the NYSSCPA. The Tax Sec-
tion also observes that “[t]here is no question that the temporary stay
exception has been the source of considerable confusion.”

Noting that section 605(b) defines a statutory resident as one who
maintains a permanent place of abode in the state and spends more than
183 days of the taxable year in the state, the Business Council argues that
a temporary stay rule is already embodied in the statute’s definition of res-
ident, and that taxpayers should therefore be permitted to avoid taxation as
residents on the basis of a claimed temporary stay regardless of the
proposed rule. The Tax section also suggests that a taxpayer could assert
that he or she is not “maintaining a permanent place of abode in New
York... because his or her apartment is not being maintained on a perma-
nent basis”. The Business Council and the Tax Section conflate the per-
manency requirement relating to the place of abode with the temporal
requirement relating to the taxpayer. In order to be considered a resident
for tax purposes, an individual must maintain a permanent place of abode
in the state, and spend more than 183 days in the state. While recognizing
its longstanding interpretation, the Department believes that a better inter-
pretation of “permanent place of abode” focuses on the nature of the place
of abode. Thus, section 105.20(e)(1) of the Regulations defines ‘‘perma-
nent place of abode,’” recognizing the distinction between these criteria by
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indicating that a mere camp or cottage, suitable and used only for vaca-
tions, or an abode not equipped with facilities normally found in a dwell-
ing, such as facilities for cooking or bathing, will not be considered a per-
manent place of abode.

Moreover, the regulations provide that the place of abode must be
maintained for substantially all of the taxable year, and the Department
has construed this to mean more than eleven months. The temporary stay
provisions unnecessarily extend this eleven month period of ‘‘nonresi-
dency’’ based on the individual’s purpose for being in the state and the
anticipated duration of his or her stay. The proposed rule recognizes the
fairness of defining residency status for tax purposes based on the benefits
and services received from the state, without regard to the taxpayer’s
subjective purpose for being in the state. The Department has determined
that a better interpretation of the Tax Law rests the residency analysis on
objective criteria, using easily applied rules.

The Business Council also raises the possibility that taxpayers planning
on claiming temporary stay for the 2008 tax year may not have paid suf-
ficient tax - estimated or withheld - to cover the potential increase in their
tax liability and may therefore be subject to penalty and interest. Under
section 685(c) of the Tax Law, taxpayers generally will not be subject to
the addition to tax for failure to pay estimated tax if the tax paid is equal to
ninety percent of the tax shown on the taxpayer’s return for the taxable
year or one hundred percent (one hundred ten percent for taxpayers whose
income for the preceding year exceeds one hundred fifty thousand dollars)
of the tax shown on the taxpayer’s return for the preceding year. The addi-
tion to tax is the amount of the underpayment, multiplied by the rate of
interest prescribed under section 697(j), for the period of the underpay-
ment, meaning that the addition essentially reflects the time value of
money, rather than a punitive exaction. Additionally, section 685(d)
provides certain exceptions to the addition to tax for failure to pay
estimated income tax, including instances where the underpayment is less
than $300, where there was no tax liability for the preceding year, and
where the Department determines that such addition would be against
equity and good conscience, due to casualty, disaster, or other unusual
circumstances.

The Tax Section recommends that the temporary stay exception be
retained, but that it be modified to: (1) be limited to a three-year period;
(2) allow the Department to rebut a taxpayer claim that the taxpayer is in
New York or intends to be in New York for three years or less; (3) state
that coming to New York to work for a particular employer for a limited
period of time is a sufficiently limited purpose; and (4) address how the
temporary stay exception would apply to non-work purposes, such as col-
lege or medical emergencies. As discussed, the Department believes that
elimination of the temporary stay rule results in a better and fairer inter-
pretation of the statute. We note specifically that the Tax Section’s recom-
mendation to effectively eliminate the particular purpose aspect of the rule
in focusing only on the limited period of time would, in the Department’s
view, result in an unwarranted expansion of the taxpayers that would
qualify.

The Tax Section recommends, if the rule is adopted, that its effect be
postponed to tax years beginning after 2008. As discussed in the Regula-
tory Impact Statement, the elimination of the temporary stay rule would
provide more equitable treatment among non-domiciliary taxpayers. The
Department does not believe that a delay is in order.

With regard to the comments submitted by the New York State resident
attending law school in Florida, the writer expressed approval of the
proposed rule as a more equitable treatment of residency status for tax
purposes that will result in increased revenue. Noting that the proposed
rule is effective for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, the
writer suggests that the temporary stay provisions should be “phased out”
gradually for taxpayers who may have relied on the temporary stay
exception. The Department acknowledges this concern, but prefers to
implement what it feels is the best interpretation of section 605(b)(1) as
soon as possible. First, it is difficult to determine how a phase-out could
be administered for these taxpayers. A taxpayer is either a resident or a
nonresident under the Tax Law. Second, as discussed above and pointed
out by the writer, the elimination of the temporary stay rule would provide
more equitable treatment among non-domiciliary taxpayers. The Depart-
ment does not believe that a delay is in order.

No changes were made to the rule as a result of these comments.
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Worker’s Compensation Board

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Dental Fee Schedule
I.D. No. WCB-52-08-00004-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: Addition of Part 444 to Title 12 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Workers’ Compensation Law, sections 13 and 117
Subject: Dental fee schedule.

Purpose: To adopt a fee schedule for dental treatment and care provided
to injured workers.

Text of proposed rule: The title to Subchapter M of Chapter V of Title 12
NYCRR is amended to read as follows:

M. Pharmacy, [and] Durable Medical Goods, and Dental Fee Schedules
and Appendices

Subchapter M of Chapter V. of Title 12 NYCRR is amended to add a
new Part 444 to read as follows:

Part 444. Dental Fee Schedule

Section 444.1 Applicability

This dental fee schedule is applicable to dental treatment and proce-
dures performed on or after, March 1, 2009, for the necessary care and
treatment of an injured employee regardless of the date of accident or
date of disablement. The date of service for dental treatment or for a dental
procedure shall be the applicable date for reimbursement in accordance
with this fee schedule. Dental treatment or procedures performed prior to
March 1, 2009, shall be reimbursed at the usual and customary rate in the
location where the claimant resides.

Section 444.2. Fee Schedule

(1) The dental fee schedule for all dental services shall be the Official
New York Workers’ Compensation Dental Fee Schedule, First Edition,
March 1, 2009, prepared by the Chair and published by the Board, which
is hereby incorporated by reference, except that the maximum reimburse-
ment for dental services in cases in which the insurance carrier files or
has filed a notice of controversey pursuant to Workers’ Compensation
Law section 25(2)(a) or (b) shall be twenty-five percent more than the fees
set forth in the Official New York Workers’ Compensation Dental Fee
Schedule.

(2) The Official New York Workers’ Compensation Dental Fee Sched-
ule incorporated by reference herein may be examined at the office of the
Department of State, 99 Washington Avenue, Suite 650, Albany, New York
12231, the Legislative Library, the libraires of the New York State
Supreme Court, and the district offices of the Board in Albany, Bingham-
ton, Brooklyn, Buffalo, Hauppauge, Hempstead, Manhattan, Peekskill,
Queens, Rochester and Syracuse. Copies may be obtained from the Board
by writing to New York Workers’ Compensation Dental Fee Schedule,
Bureau of Health Management, New York State Workers’ Compensation
Board, 100 Broadway - Menands, Albany, New York 12241 or by telephone
at 1-800-7812362 or by email at general__information@wcb.state.ny.us.

(3) The dental fee schedule shall be updated by the Chair as he or she
deems warranted by changes in market rates. The dental fee schedule
consists of a list of Current Dental Terminology (CDT) codes and descrip-
tions of treatment services and procedures as published by the American
Dental Association with a corresponding maximum fee to be charged by
dental providers. Nothing shall prohibit a provider from charging a fee
that is less than the fee schedule.

(4) Any treatment or procedure provided in connection with a work re-
lated injury not specifically contained in the dental fee schedule should be
billed using CDT code D9999 *‘Unspecified Adjunctive Procedure By
Report’” (BR). The provider should establish a fee consistent in relativity
with the other fees listed in the dental fee schedule. Any bill submitted by a
dental provider which lists CDT Code D9999 shall be accompanied by a
report providing the reasons why such procedure is necessary to treat the
injured employee.

444.3 Payment of Bills and Reimbursement Requests.

(1) Bills submitted by a dental provider to the carrier or self-insured
employer for payment or reimbursement shall be paid according to the fee
schedule adopted under Workers” Compensation Law Section 13(a) within
forty-five calendar days of receipt of the bill or reimbursement request.

(2) Where the liability of the self-insured employer or carrier for the
claim has not been established or the treatment or procedure is not for a

causally related condition, the self-insured employer or carrier shall pay
any undisputed amount of the bill or reimbursement request and notify the
Board, claimant and dental provider in writing using the form prescribed
by the Chair for this purpose within forty-five calendar days of receipt of
the claim or reimbursement request: a) that the claim is not being paid
and the reason for non-payment of the claim; or b) to request additional
information needed to reasonably determine the self-insured employer’s
or carrier’s liability for the claim or whether the dental treatment or pro-
cedure is causally related to the injury. Upon receipt of the information
reasonably requested, the self-insured employer or carrier shall have
thirty days to pay the bill or reimbursement request or provide written no-
tice to the Board, claimant and dental provider using the form prescribed
by the Chair for this purpose explaining why the bill is not being paid with
copies of the additional information requested attached to the form to sup-
port the determination.

(3) Where the self-insured employer or carrier has failed to pay a bill
or reimbursement request or make reasonable request for additional in-

formation within forty-five calendar days, the self-insured employer or

carrier is deemed to have waived any objection to liability for the bill or
reimbursement request and shall pay the bill or reimbursement request.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Cheryl M. Wood, Special Counsel to the Chair, New York
State Workers” Compensation Board, 20 Park Street, Room 400, Albany,
New York 12207, (518) 408-0469, email: regulations@wcb.state.ny.us

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

This action was not under consideration at the time this agency’s regula-
tory agenda was submitted.

Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory Authority: Workers” Compensation Law (WCL) § 117
authorizes the Chair of the Workers’ Compensation Board (Board) to
adopt reasonable rules consistent with the provisions of the WCL. WCL
§ 13(a) requires the Chair to prepare and establish a fee schedule for the
state for dental care and treatment.

2. Legislative Objectives: Chapter 6 of the Laws of 2007 amended WCL
§ 13 to specifically require the Chair to propose and adopt a dental fee
schedule. The proposed regulation incorporates the Official New York
Workers’ Compensation Dental Fee Schedule to govern the cost of dental
procedures to eliminate disputes over the proper amount of payment and
ensure timely payment to dentists who provide services to injured workers.
By eliminating or reducing disputes about the proper amount of payment
for dental services, the costs associated with resolving such disputes are
also eliminated or reduced, thereby reducing the cost of workers’
compensation insurance. Eliminating or reducing delays in payment for
dental services should result in dentists being more willing to treat injured
workers.

3. Needs and Benefits: This rule, which incorporates the Official New
York Workers’ Compensation Dental Fee Schedule, is needed because the
law was amended to require the Chair to adopt a dental fee schedule. In
addition to the statutory mandate for a dental fee schedule, there are other
reasons why this rule is needed. First, there currently is no fee schedule for
dental care and treatment for injured workers. Prior to the legislative
change in 2007, WCL § 13(a) limited dentists to such charges as prevail in
the claimant’s community for similar treatment of injured individuals of a
like standard of living. Payers of workers’ compensation benefits, such as
insurance carriers, State Insurance Fund and private and public self-
insured employers, were required to pay such charges and object to any
portion in excess of this amount. Unfortunately it was not always clear
what the charges are that prevail in a claimant’s community.

Second, to assess the charges submitted by dental providers, payers
would use the New York State No-Fault Fee Schedule (NFFS) for dental
treatment as a guide to determine the proper reimbursement amount. This
was problematic because: 1) neither the law nor regulations authorized the
application of the NFFS to dental services provided to injured workers;
and 2) the fees charged and the codes reflecting the services provided have
remained the same since 1994, so the NFFS does not cover the latest dental
procedures. When the NFFS is applied, the reimbursement amounts do not
reflect current charges or do not list the treatment provided, which results
in dental providers refusing to treat injured workers because the reimburse-
ment is inadequate or there are disputes over the proper reimbursement.

Third, if a payer objects to a charge or adjustment, notice is sent to the
dental provider but not always to the Board. Without this notice the Board
cannot act to resolve disputes. This is problematic because dental provid-
ers have no standing to request any adjudicatory action by the Board to
resolve disputes over the proper reimbursement.

Disputes regarding the proper fee for a particular dental procedure must
be decided by a Workers’ Compensation Law Judge (WCLJ) or
conciliator. If a hearing is required to resolve such disputes, it is very
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costly and time consuming. The time a WCLJ spends deciding the correct
payment to a dentist is time not spent adjudicating whether a claimant is
entitled to any benefits.

There are a number of benefits of adopting a fee schedule. First, the
Chair will be in compliance with the statute. Second, the fee schedule will
use the most up-to-date Current Dental Terminology (CDT) codes so cur-
rent dental procedures are covered. Third, the reimbursement amounts
will be in line with the charges in the dental community. Fourth, dental
providers and payers will know what the proper reimbursement amount is
so disputes over the proper payment for dental care should be eliminated
or reduced. This will eliminate or reduce the costs involved in resolving
such disputes. Fifth, dental providers will know upfront the fee for the ser-
vice and, as it is in line with current charges, they should be willing to
provide the treatment to injured workers.

The rule also provides a process for the timely payment or objection to
bills for dental services. Currently, there is no statute or regulation which
provides such a process. However, WCL § 13(a) requires employers to
“‘promptly provide’’ dental treatment for an injured worker. Part of
promptly providing treatment is paying the provider of such treatment.
The term “‘promptly’” is not specifically defined in the WCL, but § 13-g
provides that bills for medical care must be paid or the payer must notify
the provider that the bill is not being paid and why within 45 days. While
dental treatment is not medical care covered by WCL § 13-g, this section
supports the position that 45 days is considered prompt. This rule requires
payers to pay dental bills according to the fee schedule or notify the Board,
claimant and provider why payment is not being made within 45 days of
receipt of the bill.

The benefit of this provision is that it defines what is meant by promptly.
Without this provision, dental providers could wait indefinitely for pay-
ment or notice that payment is not being made. Dentists need to be paid
for the services they provide within a reasonable time period. If there is no
time period within which to pay them, they will not be willing to treat
injured workers. Further, a 45 day time period is provided for medical care
and pharmacy bills, so it is only logical to apply it to dental bills.

The rule will benefit payers by providing a uniform standard for pricing
which will reduce the litigation which arises when there is a difference be-
tween the price a payer will pay and the actual costs charged by a dentist.
The rule will benefit injured workers by increasing the participation rate
of dentists in the workers’ compensation system. Dentists will be more
likely to treat workers’ compensation claimants if they know that they will
be paid a reasonable fee, faster and with little or no litigation.

The rule will also benefit the Board as it is anticipated that there will be
a reduction in the number of hearings held to determine the proper amount
of fees charged for dental treatment. The rule is also a benefit to payers
and dentists because it uses the American Dental Association (ADA) CDT
codes that are already utilized in dental practice software systems and in-
surance carrier billing systems.

4. Costs: The adoption of the fee schedule does not impose any new
costs on payers, as they have always been liable for dental services up to
the charges that prevail in the claimant’s community for such treatment.
The adoption of the fee schedule actually eliminates the uncertainty over
what is the amount of the charges that prevail. Payers may incur some new
costs if they fail to pay or object to a dental bill within 45 days. The rule
provides that if the payer does not timely pay or object to a dental bill it is
liable for such bill regardless of the legitimacy of any defense, which is
new. Some payers will be liable for bills they previously would not be
because they fail to act timely. However, this provision is necessary to
ensure that payers promptly provide dental services by paying for them
and will not apply if they respond in a timely fashion as provided by the
rule. The 45 day time period to pay a dental bill in this rule is the same
time period for paying a medical bill (WCL § 13-g) or a pharmacy bill
(WCL § 13-i). By setting a 45 day time period, the payment of dental bills
easily fits into any processes or systems to pay medical or pharmacy bills.
Therefore, payers should have little or no difficulty in meeting the 45 day
limit. Further, the rule is similar to the rule for paying pharmacy bills.
Therefore, carriers will not have to train staff on a new process but can
transfer the knowledge from pharmacy bills to dental bills.

The fee schedule will reduce in some instances the amount that a dentist
can charge for dental treatment. However, fees set by the schedule are rea-
sonable and were developed using the fees dentists currently charge. Even
with reduced fees in some instances, dentists should actually see greater
reimbursement. With a set fee schedule disputes regarding the proper
reimbursement amount will be greatly reduced, this will speed reimburse-
ment payments to dentists and reduce their administrative expenses from
trying to litigate and collect the proper reimbursement. Dentists and pay-
ers will not be charged for the fee schedule.

The use of a uniform price standard will reduce the number of hearings
necessary to determine the amounts due and owing to a dentist or claimant
thus reducing the costs necessary for legal representation at the hearing. It
is anticipated that costs will be reduced for claimants due to lower charges
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for dental treatment through use of the dental fee schedule as opposed to
paying usual and customary charges and then seeking reimbursement from
the carrier.

5. Local Government Mandates: A municipality or governmental
agency that is self-insured is required to comply with the rules for
reimbursement for dental treatment. They will be required to pay accord-
ing to the fee schedule and pay or object within 45 days. However, as they
are required to process medical and pharmacy bills within 45 days this
should fit easily within their claims processing.

6. Paperwork: If a payer objects to a bill or requests additional informa-
tion, it must notify the Board, the claimant and the dentist using a
prescribed form within 45 days from receipt of the bill; otherwise the
payer is deemed to have waived any objection. However, there should be
few disputed bills as the fee amount will be set in the schedule. The objec-
tions or requests for additional information must go to the Board, claimant
and dentist so the Board can take any needed action and the claimant and
dentist know the status of payment. The use of a prescribed form is
important so all required information is provided and the action taken by
the payer is clear. The Board will not be charging for the fee schedule and
it will be available for dentists and carriers in a secure area of the Board’s
website. Once the rule is adopted, the Board will post instructions on how
to access the dental fee schedule on its website.

7. Duplication: There is no duplication.

8. Alternatives: Initially, the Chair considered using the New York State
Medicaid dental fee schedule. However, after comparing it with the exist-
ing NFFS and consultation with the New York State Dental Association
(NYSDA), it was determined that many of the reimbursement rates were
too low. The NYSDA distributed a survey to its membership requesting
fees for all CDT codes. A comparison of the NYS Medicaid fee schedule
with the results of the NYSDA survey showed that the Medicaid rates
were extremely low.

Using the NYSDA data, the Chair prepared an initial draft of the fee
schedule to use to obtain feed back on the reasonableness of the amounts.
A Subject Number was issued on October 9, 2007, asking anyone who
was interested in providing comments on the dental fee schedule to request
a copy of the draft fee. The comment period extended through November
12, 2007. The Chair received comments about the level of reimbursement
from both payers and payees from across the state. In addition the initial
draft was compared with the draft Washington State Dental Fee Schedule
as it provided the most comprehensive listing of dental procedures and
utilized a survey of dental fees based on zip codes. Discussions about the
content of the regulations were held with the NYSDA who provided com-
ments and suggestions to be considered in the regulations.

When the Chair requested comments, suggested fees were sought for
all CDT codes. However, suggested fees for all codes were not received.
Possible options for CDT codes without fees were to: 1) simply leave
those codes off the schedule; 2) assign a value to those codes; or 3) provide
that any service not covered by a specific code would be covered by code
D9999 and the provider would set the fee. The Chair decided to require
the use of code D9999 so that all services would be covered by the fee
schedule. A few carriers noted that some services covered by CDT codes
are the same as Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes in the medi-
cal fee schedule but the values for the CDT codes provided in the draft
were higher than the CPT codes. The Chair had to decide whether to: 1)
not include the CDT codes that were the same as the CPT codes; 2) include
the CDT codes but have the value equal the value for the CPT codes; or 3)
include the CDT codes with values based upon the reasonable fee in the
dental community. The Chair decided to include the CDT codes with the
values based upon the reasonable fee in the dental community in order to
prevent illogical and inequitable results. Specifically, so a dental treatment
covered by a CPT code would not have a lesser value than a simpler pro-
cedure covered by a CDT code.

The Chair considered not including procedures for objecting to dental
bills. However to standardize the process and ensure timely resolution of
such issues, he decided to a similar process as is required for pharmacy
bills. Originally, the procedures required notification of any objections or
requests for information to be sent by certified mail, but this was removed
as unnecessary. Also, the rule originally did not require the notification to
be sent to the Board. This was changed so the Board would have the
knowledge to act.

9. Federal Standard: There are no applicable Federal Standards.

10. Compliance Schedule: The proposed regulation is mandatory and it
is expected that all affected entities will be able to comply with the fee
schedule and procedures beginning on March 1, 2009.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Effect of rule:

Insurance carriers, State Insurance Fund and individual self-insured
employers are not small employers. Approximately 2511 political
subdivisions currently participate as municipal employers in self-
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insured programs for workers’ compensation coverage in New York
State. As part of the overall rule, these self-insured local governments
will be required to file objections to dental bills if they object to any
such bills. This rule affects members of self-insured trusts, some of
which are small businesses. Typically a self-insured trust utilizes a
third party administrator or group administrator to process workers’
compensation claims, many of whom are small businesses. A third
party administrator or group administrator is an entity which must
comply with the new rule. These entities will be subject to the new
rule in the same manner as any other carrier or self-insured employer
subject to the rule. Under the rule, objections to a dental bill must be
filed within 45 days of the date of receipt of the bill or the objection is
deemed waived and the carrier, third party administrator, or self-
insured employer is responsible for payment of the bill. Finally, many
dentists are small businesses. The new rule will provide savings to
small business and local government by reducing litigation costs as-
sociated with reimbursement rates for dental care and treatment. In
addition, it will set a fair uniform reimbursement rate for dental care
and treatment through the fee schedule it adopts, that eliminates the
use of usual and customary rates that vary dentist by dentist and the
use of inappropriate fee schedules by carriers that are low and/or out
of date.

2. Compliance requirements:

Workers’” Compensation Law (WCL) § 13 was amended by Chapter
6 of the Laws of 2007, to specifically require employers to provide
dental treatment to injured workers for damage caused by a work re-
lated accident or exposure. The amendments also require the Chair to
adopt a dental fee schedule setting the reimbursement rate when such
dental treatment is provided. Prior to these changes, dental treatment
was provided to injured workers, based upon an interpretation of the
statute, and the reimbursement amount was the charges that prevail in
the claimant’s community. The proposed rule adopts a dental fee
schedule as required by the statute. Small business/local government
payers, such as third party administrators, group self-insured trusts,
and self-insured local governments, will be required to reimburse
dental providers according to the fee schedule adopted. Private insur-
ance carriers, the State Insurance Fund and individually self-insured
employers will also have to reimburse dental providers according to
the dental fee schedule. Dental providers who are small businesses
will be required to accept the fees set forth in the Dental Fee Schedule
as payment in full for dental treatment provided to injured workers.
Neither payment pursuant to the fee schedule nor acceptance of such
payment amounts should be a hardship for small businesses and local
governments. The fee schedule is in line with current reimbursement
levels. While the Board does not have an exact number of claimants
who need dental treatment, experience indicates that it is a very small
number.

The fee schedule provides a set reimbursement rate for services ac-
cording to the American Dental Association (ADA) Current Dental
Terminology (CDT) codes. These codes are commonly used for dental
billing purposes and are widely known and understood. The fee sched-
ule was developed after consulting with the New York State Dental
Association and an opportunity for dentists and payers to comment on
the amount of reimbursement. In addition, the Board reviewed the
draft of the State of Washington’s workers’ compensation dental fee
schedule as a point of comparison while drafting the proposed fee
schedule. The Board will provide the fee schedule in paper format free
of charge and will make it available on the Board’s website in accor-
dance to the terms of the licensing agreement with the ADA.

The proposed regulation will require small businesses/local govern-
ment payers to pay or file written objections to dental bills within a 45
day time period. This same requirement is also imposed on private in-
surance carriers, the State Insurance Fund and individually self-
insured employers. If a carrier or self insured-employer fails to object
within 45 days, it will be liable for payment of the bill. The new
requirement is the same as the requirements for pharmacy bills [WCL
§ 13(i)] and medical bills [WCL § 13-g]. The purpose of this require-
ment is to set a reasonable period of time within which the provider of
dental services can expect to be paid and to expedite processing of
dental treatment bills.

A payer which objects to a dental bill or seeks additional informa-

tion will be required to notify the Board, claimant and dentist using a
prescribed form. Currently, if a payer objects to a dental bill it provides
notice to the dentist in writing, and sometimes to the Board. It is
important that the Board and the claimant also are notified of any
objections or requests for additional information, so the Board can
take action to resolve any disputes and monitor whether payers are
acting timely. The use of a prescribed form assists payers in ensuring
all required information is provided, makes it easier for dental provid-
ers to identify an objection or request for information and enables the
Board to track the payers’ actions.

3. Professional services:

It is believed that no professional services will be needed to comply
with this rule.

4. Compliance costs:

This proposal will impose minimal compliance costs on small busi-
nesses, such as dental providers, third party administrators and group
self-insured trusts, and self-insured local governments. These same
costs will be imposed on private insurance carriers, the State Insur-
ance Fund and individually self-insured employers. First there may be
some cost involved in incorporating the fee schedule into the practices
of the businesses. Dentists will need to incorporate the fee schedule
into its billing practices and small business/local government payers
will need to incorporate the fee schedule into their bill review and
objection procedures. It must be noted that small business/local
government payers currently have bill review and objection procedures
as they current receive dental bills for payment. There will be no cost
to dental providers and payers for the fee schedule as it will be
provided in hard copy and on the Board’s website for free in accor-
dance with the ADA licensing agreement.

In addition to the minimal costs from incorporating the fee schedule
into their processes, small business/local government payers may ex-
perience minimal costs in complying with the bill payment process.
Upon receiving a dental bill, small business payers, must pay, request
additional information or object to a dental bill within 45 days. If the
payer objects or requests additional information, it must notify the
Board, claimant and dentist on a prescribed form. The requirements to
notify the Board and claimant and to use a Board prescribed form are
new. These requirements should impose minimal new costs as the
notification must already be in writing and it already must be sent to
the dentist. Further, if the payer does not act within 45 days it is liable
for the bill regardless of any defenses. Payers who fail to respond
timely will face additional expense. However, without this provision
dentists, which are also small business, will not be promptly paid as
there will be no repercussion for failing to comply.

It is expected that these costs will offset by the savings from having
set time periods for payment and a fee schedule. The mandatory fee
schedule and set time periods for payment should eliminate or reduce
disputes about the proper charge for dental treatment and payment,
which will eliminate or reduce the number hearings necessary. As
hearings are very costly, a reduction in the number necessary results
in a reduction in the cost of workers’ compensation coverage. As the
Board does not know how many hearings are held just for dental
disputes or the exact cost of a hearing, the exact savings cannot be
calculated. The cost of a hearing would vary by location due to costs
such as rent, electric and the pay differential for downstate employees.
Small employers must purchase workers’ compensation coverage, so
any cost would be due to an increase in the cost of such coverage.
However, it is expected that the savings produced by this rule will
outweigh the costs.

In short, the fee schedule and payment requirements will reduce
costs by reducing the need for Board intervention and delays in
payment. Any costs are also offset by the benefit to claimants who
will be able to obtain dental services for work related injuries because
dentists will know the applicable fee and those they are to be paid
within 45 days.

5. Economic and technological feasibility:

There are no additional implementation or technology costs to
comply with this rule. Most small businesses involved in workers’
compensation, such as third party administrators, group self-insured
trusts and self-insured local governments, have computers and internet
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access in order to take advantage of the ability to review claim files
from their offices. The Board will provide secure access to the fee
schedule through its website. No other additional equipment or
software is needed for access to the fee schedule other than an existing
web browser and a computer with internet access. Access to the
website will require a secure login which is required as part of the
license agreement with the ADA to use the CDT codes it publishes.

6. Minimizing adverse impact:

This proposed rule is designed to minimize adverse impacts on all
insurance carriers, employers, self-insured employers and claimants,
including those that are small businesses or local governments. The
Chair is required to set a dental fee schedule by statute. As part of the
development, dental fees from dentists were reviewed to create a state
wide fee schedule that would be fair across the state. The Chair was
conscious of the need to draft a fee schedule which would not limit ac-
cess to dental services by injured workers, a situation that already
exists. As the fee schedule is based, in part, on data directly received
from dentists in response to a survey conducted by the New York
State Dental Association (NYSDA), dental practices which are small
businesses should receive adequate and appropriate compensation for
dental services provided to injured workers. Small businesses and lo-
cal governments should benefit from this rule, as it sets a fair
reimbursement level that will ensure that dentists are willing to
provide the services without increasing costs. Further, having a fee
schedule and a process for the payment of bills will reduce disputes
about the payment of dental bills which reduces costs for everyone.
The Board could not set a different fee schedule or different process
depending on whether the employer is a self-insured local government
or a member of a group self-insured trust as this is information that the
dentist would likely not have at the time of treatment, so he would not
know what fee to use or process applied and it could result in dispar-
ate treatment of injured workers depending whether their employer
was a self-insured local government or member of a group trust.

7. Small business and local government participation:

The NYSDA conducted a survey of its membership, which consists
of dentists across the state, many of whom are small businesses,
requesting information on the fees charged for each CDT code. The
raw data was provided to the Board, which reviewed it when develop-
ing the fee schedule which is incorporated by reference into the rule.
Further, the Board sought comments from all dentists and payers
across the state regarding a draft fee schedule it prepared. Comments
were received from dentists and payers across the state. The Board
then consulted with the NYSDA again before finalizing the fee
schedule. The rule was shared with the Business Council of New York
State and the AFL-CIO for comment.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis
1. Types and estimated numbers of rural areas:

This rule applies to all carriers, employers, self-insured employers,
third party administrators and dentists in all areas of the state, which
includes all rural areas.

2. Reporting, recordkeeping and other compliance requirements:

Workers” Compensation Law (WCL) § 13 was amended by Chapter
6 of the Laws of 2007, to specifically require employers to provide
dental treatment to injured workers for damage caused by a work re-
lated accident or exposure. The amendments also require the Chair to
adopt a dental fee schedule setting the reimbursement rate when such
dental treatment is provided. Prior to these changes, dental treatment
was provided to injured workers, based upon an interpretation of the
statute, and the reimbursement amount was the charges that prevail in
the claimant’s community. The proposed rule adopts a dental fee
schedule as required by the statute. All entities that pay workers’
compensation benefits will be required to reimburse dental providers
according to the fee schedule adopted. The fee schedule is the same
regardless of where in the state the treatment is provided. Dental
providers who are small businesses will be required to accept the fees
set forth in the Dental Fee Schedule as payment in full for dental treat-
ment provided to injured workers. The fee schedule is in line with cur-
rent charges by dentists and reasonable for the entire state. While the
Board does not have an exact number of claimants who need dental
treatment, experience indicates that it is a very small number.
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The fee schedule provides a set reimbursement rate for services ac-
cording to the American Dental Association (ADA) Current Dental
Terminology (CDT) codes. These codes are commonly used for dental
billing purposes and are widely known and understood. The fee sched-
ule was developed after consulting with the New York State Dental
Association and an opportunity for dentists and payers to comment on
the amount of reimbursement. In addition, the Board reviewed the
draft of the State of Washington’s workers’ compensation dental fee
schedule as a point of comparison while drafting the proposed fee
schedule. The Board will provide the fee schedule in paper format free
of charge and will make it available on the Board’s website in accor-
dance to the terms of the licensing agreement with the ADA.

The proposed regulation will require all payers of workers’ compen-
sation benefits (carriers, State Insurance Fund, private and public self-
insured employers, group self-insured trusts and third party adminis-
trators), where ever located in the state, to pay or file written objections
to dental bills within a 45 day time period. If a carrier or self insured-
employer fails to object within 45 days, it will be liable for payment of
the bill. The new requirement is the same as the requirement for
pharmacy bills [WCL § 13(i)] and medical bills [WCL § 13-g]. The
purpose of this requirement is to set a reasonable period of time within
which the provider of dental services can expect to be paid and to
expedite processing of dental treatment bills.

A payer which objects to a dental bill or seeks additional informa-
tion will be required to notify the Board, claimant and dentist using a
prescribed form. Currently, if a payer objects to a dental bill it provides
notice to the dentist in writing, and sometimes to the Board. It is
important that the Board and the claimant also are notified of any
objections or requests for additional information, so the Board can
take action to resolve any disputes and monitor whether payers are
acting timely. The use of a prescribed form assists payers in ensuring
all required information is provided, makes it easier for dental provid-
ers to identify an objection or request for information and enables the
Board to track the payers’ actions.

3. Costs:

This proposal will impose minimal compliance costs on carriers,
self-insured employers and dental providers across the state, including
those in rural areas. First there may be some cost involved in incorpo-
rating the fee schedule into the practices of the businesses. Dentists
will need to incorporate the fee schedule into its billing practices and
payers will need to incorporate the fee schedule into its bill review
and objection procedures. It must be noted that payers currently have
bill review and objection procedures as they current receive dental
bills for payment. There will be no cost to dental providers and payers
for the fee schedule as it will be provided in hard copy and on the
Board’s website for free in accordance with the ADA licensing
agreement.

In addition to the minimal costs from incorporating the fee schedule
into their processes, payers may experience minimal costs in comply-
ing with the bill payment process. Upon receiving a dental bill, payers
must pay, request additional information or object to a dental bill
within 45 days. If the payer objects or requests additional information,
it must notify the Board, claimant and dentist on a prescribed form.
The requirements to notify the Board and claimant and to use a Board
prescribed form are new. These requirements should impose minimal
new costs as the notification must already be in writing and it is al-
ready must be sent to the dentist. Further, if the payer does not act
within 45 days it is liable for the bill regardless of any defenses. Pay-
ers who fail to respond timely will face additional expense. However,
without this provision dentists, including those located in rural areas,
will not be promptly paid as there will be no repercussion for failing
to comply.

It is expected that these costs will offset by the savings from having
set time periods for payment and a fee schedule. The mandatory fee
schedule and set time periods for payment should eliminate or reduce
disputes about the proper charge for dental treatment and payment,
which will eliminate or reduce the number hearings necessary. As
hearings are very costly, a reduction in the number necessary results
in a reduction in the cost of workers’ compensation coverage. As the
Board does not know how many hearings are held just for dental
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disputes or the exact cost of a hearing, the exact savings cannot be
calculated. The cost of a hearing would vary by location due to costs
such as rent, electric and the pay differential for downstate employees.

In short, the fee schedule should decrease costs as it will set a fair,
uniform reimbursement rate for dental care and treatment that
eliminates the use of usual and customary rates that vary dentist by
dentist and the use of inappropriate fee schedules by carriers that are
low and/or out of date. The fee schedule and payment requirements
will reduce costs by reducing the need for Board intervention and
delays in payment. Any costs are also offset by the benefit to claim-
ants who will be able to obtain dental services for work related injuries
because dentists will know the applicable fee and those they are to be
paid within 45 days.

4. Minimizing adverse impact:

This proposed rule is designed to minimize adverse impacts on all
insurance carriers, employers, self-insured employers and claimants,
including those in rural areas. The Chair is required to set a dental fee
schedule by statute. As part of the development, dental fees from
dentists were reviewed to create a state wide fee schedule that would
be fair across the state. The Chair was conscious of the need to draft a
fee schedule which would not limit access to dental services by injured
workers, a situation that already exists. As the fee schedule is based,
in part, on data directly received from dentists in response to a survey
conducted by the New York State Dental Association (NYSDA),
dental practices in rural areas should receive adequate and appropriate
compensation for dental services provided to injured workers. All
businesses and claimants in rural areas should benefit from this rule,
as it sets a fair reimbursement level that will ensure that dentists are
willing to provide the services without increasing costs. Further, hav-
ing a fee schedule and a process for the payment of bills will reduce
disputes about the payment of dental bills which reduces costs for
everyone. The Board could have created a fee schedule that varied
depending on whether the dentist was located in an urban or rural
area. However, this was rejected because determining the boundaries
of urban areas can be difficult and result in dental practices only miles
apart receiving different reimbursement levels. Also, while overhead
costs in urban areas may be higher than in some rural areas, there may
be a shortage of dentists in rural areas which raises costs. It was
determined that the best course of action was a fee schedule with a
single fee for each CDT that was reasonable for the entire state.

5. Rural area participation:

The NYSDA conducted a survey of its membership, which consists
of dentists across the state, many of whom are in rural areas, request-
ing information on the fees charged for each CDT code. The raw data
was provided to the Board, which reviewed it when developing the
proposed fee schedule. Further, the Board sought comments from all
dentists and payers across the state regarding a draft fee schedule it
prepared. Comments were received from dentists and payers across
the state. The Board then consulted with the NYSDA again before
finalizing the fee schedule. The rule was shared with the Business
Council of New York State and the AFL-CIO for comment.

Job Impact Statement

The proposed amendment will not have an adverse impact on jobs. This
amendment is intended to provide a standard for reimbursement of dental
care and treatment bills.
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