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Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Master Social
Workers and Licensed Clinical Social Workers

L.D. No. EDU-07-14-00002-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: Addition of section 74.10 to Title 8 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 207 (not subdivided),
212(3), 6504 (not subdivided), 6507(2)(a), 7710(1), (2), (3); and L. 2013,
ch. 443

Subject: Continuing education requirements for Licensed Master Social
Workers and Licensed Clinical Social Workers.

Purpose: To require licensed master social workers and licensed clinical
social workers to complete 36 hours of mandatory continuing education
when registering to practice in New York State, effective January 1, 2015.

Substance of proposed rule (Full text is posted at the following State
website: http://www.regents.nysed.gov/meetings/
2014/January2014/114ppcdl.pdf): The Commissioner of Education
proposes to add a new section 74.10 to the Regulations of the Commis-
sioner of Education, relating to mandatory continuing education for
licensed master social workers (“LMSW?”) and licensed clinical social
workers (“LCSW?”). The following is a summary of the substance of the
proposed regulation:

A new section 74.10 is added to the regulations of the Commissioner of
Education establishing continuing education requirements for LMSWs
and LCSWs.

Subdivision (a) of section 74.10 defines the terms acceptable accredit-
ing agency, higher education institution, and psychotherapy institute.

Subdivision (b) of section 74.10 establishes the applicability of the
continuing education requirements and exemptions from, and adjustments
to, the requirements.

Paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of section 74.10 states that each LMSW
or LCSW, who is required to register with the New York State Education
Department (“Department”) to practice in New York State (“State”), must
comply with the mandatory continuing education requirements prescribed
in subdivision (c).

Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of section 74.10
provides an exemption from the requirement for a licensee who is in the
triennial registration period during which he or she is first licensed to
practice in the State; or a licensee who is not engaged in social work
practice, as evidenced by not being registered to practice in the State,
except as otherwise prescribed in subdivision (e) of section 74.10.

Subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of section 74.10
allows the Department to adjust the requirement for the licensee who docu-
ments good cause that prevents compliance, such as poor health or a
specific physical or mental disability, or extended active duty with the
Armed Forces of the United States, or other good cause beyond the licen-
see’s control, in the judgment of the Department.

Subdivision (c) of section 74.10 establishes the mandatory continuing
education requirement. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (1) of subdivision
(c) of section 74.10 requires at least 36 hours of continuing education ac-
ceptable to the Department for each triennial registration period. Any li-
censee whose first registration following January 1, 2015, is less than
three years from that date will be required to complete one hour of accept-
able continuing education per month beginning January 1, 2015 up to the
first registration date thereafter. Such continuing education must be
completed during the period beginning January 1, 2015 and ending before
the first day of the new registration period.

Subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10
sets the continuing education requirement during each registration period
of less than three years as one hour for each month in the registration
period. Subparagraph (iii) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of section
74.10 states that an LCSW who is also registered to practice as an LMSW
during the same registration period will not be required to take more than
36 hours in the triennial registration period or one hour per month for
periods other than 36 months.

Paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10 defines continuing
education that is acceptable to the Department. Such continuing education
must be in the subjects prescribed in subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of
subdivision (c) of section 74.10 and be the types of learning activities
prescribed in subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of sec-
tion 74.10 and subject to the prohibitions contained in subparagraph (iii)
of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10.

Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10
defines acceptable continuing education subjects as contributing to profes-
sional social work practice. Such acceptable continuing education must
have as its focus one or more of the subjects prescribed in clauses (a)
through (j) of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of sec-
tion 74.10. Subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section
74.10 defines the types of learning activities. Clause (a) of subparagraph
(ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10 requires that ac-
ceptable courses of learning and other education activities must be taken
from a provider who has been approved by the Department, on the basis of
an application and fee pursuant to subdivision (i) of section 74.10. Formal
courses of learning include, but are not limited to, university and college
credit and non-credit courses, and professional development programs and
technical sessions related to the practice of social work. Clause (b) of
subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10
defines other acceptable education activities. Clause (c) of subparagraph
(ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10 allows the Depart-
ment, in its discretion and as needed to contribute to the health and welfare
of the public, to require the completion of continuing education courses in
specific subjects to fulfill this mandatory continuing education
requirement.
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Subparagraph (iii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 74.10
states that any continuing education designed for the sole purpose of
personal development, marketing, business practices, and maximizing
profits for the social work practice of an LMSW or LCSW will not be
considered by the Department as acceptable continuing education.

Subdivision (d) of section 74.10 provides that at each re-registration,
the LMSW and LCSW must certify to the Department his or her compli-
ance with the continuing education requirements or that he or she is subject
to an exemption or adjustment of the requirements. Paragraph (1) of
subdivision (d) of section 74.10 prohibits a licensee who has not satisfied
the continuing education requirement from practicing until the require-
ments have been met and a registration certificate issued by the Depart-
ment, except where a licensee has been issued a conditional registration,
as provided in subdivision (f) of section 74.10. Paragraph (2) of subdivi-
sion (d) of section 74.10 prohibits the transfer of continuing education
hours completed during one registration period to the subsequent registra-
tion period.

Subdivision (e) of section 74.10 prescribes the requirements for a li-
censee returning to practice as an LMSW or LCSW after a lapse in
practice, as evidenced by not being registered to practice in New York
State. A licensee whose first registration date after a lapse in practice oc-
curs less than three years from January 1, 2015 will be required to meet
the requirements in paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) of section 74.10.
Except as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) of section 74.10, a li-
censee returning to practice, who has not practiced lawfully in another ju-
risdiction throughout the lapse period must complete the requirements in
paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of section 74.10. Except as defined in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) of section 74.10 a licensee returning to
practice, who has practiced lawfully in another jurisdiction throughout the
lapse period must complete the requirements in paragraph (3) of subdivi-
sion (e) of section 74.10.

Paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) of section 74.10 authorizes the Depart-
ment to issue a conditional registration to an LMSW or LCSW who attests
to or admits to noncompliance with the continuing education requirement,
provided that the licensee meets the requirements of the paragraph.
Paragraph (2) of subdivision (f) of section 74.10 states the duration of a
conditional registration will not exceed one year and will not be renewed
or extended.

Subdivision (g) of section 74.10 requires the LMSW or LCSW to
maintain or ensure access by the Department to records of completed
continuing education as specified in that subdivision.

Subdivision (h) of section 74.10 provides for the measurement of
continuing education study, specifically, that a minimum of 50 minutes of
study will equal one hour of continuing education credit and that continu-
ing education credit for other educational activities will be awarded as
prescribed by the Department.

Subdivision (i) of section 74.10 establishes the requirements for Depart-
ment approval of continuing education providers.

Paragraph (1) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10 states that an entity
seeking Department approval as a provider of continuing education to
LMSWs and LCSWs must submit the fee prescribed in subdivision (j) of
section 74.10 and meet the requirements of paragraphs (2) and (3) of
subdivision (i) of section 74.10.

Paragraph (2) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10 identifies an entity
eligible to apply to be a provider of continuing education to include, but
not be limited to: (1) a higher education institution that offers programs
that are registered pursuant to Part 52 of the Regulations of the Commis-
sioner of Education as leading to licensure as an LMSW or LCSW or a
higher education institution that is accredited by an acceptable accrediting
agency and that offers graduate coursework that is directly related to the
enhancement of social work practice, skills and knowledge; (2) a psycho-
therapy institute, as defined in paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of section
74.10 that offers coursework that is directly related to the enhancement of
social work practice, skills and knowledge; (3) a national social work or-
ganization or other professional organization; (4) a New York State social
work organization; (5) a national organization of jurisdictional boards of
social work; (6) an entity operated under an operating certificate ap-
propriately issued in accordance with articles sixteen, thirty-one or thirty-
two of the Mental Hygiene Law; or (7) an entity, hospital or health facility
as defined in section 2801 of the Public Health Law.

Paragraph (3) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10 establishes the stan-
dards for the Department review of applications from prospective continu-
ing education providers. Prospective continuing education providers must:
(1) offer coursework in one or more of the subjects prescribed as accept-
able continuing education; (2) be organized, as defined in paragraph (2) of
subdivision (i) of section 74.10, or be another entity that employs LMSWs
or LCSWs and that meets the requirements of subdivision (i) of section
74.10; (3) provide instructors who are qualified to teach the courses; (4)
have a method to assess the learning of participants; (5) maintain records
for at least six years from the date of completion of coursework, which
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includes the information listed in paragraph (3) of subdivision (i) of sec-
tion 74.10.

Subparagraph (iii) of paragraph (3) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10
states that providers that meet the requirements of paragraph (3) of
subdivision (i) of section 74.10 will be approved for a three-year term.
Subparagraph (iv) of paragraph (3) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10 al-
lows the Department to conduct site visits or request information from an
approved provider to ensure compliance. Subparagraph (v) of paragraph
(3) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10 states that a determination by the
Department that an approved provider is not meeting the requirements
will result in the denial or termination of the provider’s approved status.
Subparagraph (vi) of paragraph (3) of subdivision (i) of section 74.10
requires an instructor who engages in the practice of licensed master social
work and licensed clinical social work to be appropriately licensed or au-
thorized under the Education Law, when the instruction occurs in the State.

Subdivision (j) of section 74.10 establishes fees authorized by the

statute. Paragraph (1) of subdivision (j) of section 74.10 establishes a $45
mandatory continuing education fee to be paid by each licensee, in addi-
tion to the registration fees required by sections 6507-a and 7704 of the
Education Law. Paragraph (2) of subdivision (j) of section 74.10 estab-
lishes a fee to be paid by a licensee applying for a conditional registration,
pursuant to subdivision (f) of section 74.10, that is the same as and in ad-
dition to any applicable fee for the triennial registration, in addition to the
$45 mandatory continuing education fee. Paragraph (3) of subdivision (j)
of section 74.10 establishes an application fee of $900 to be paid by an or-
ganization requesting the issuance of a permit from the Department to
become an approved provider of a formal continuing education program.
A fee of $900 must accompany an application for a three-year renewal of
this permit.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Mary Gammon, State Education Department, Office of
Counsel, State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave.,
Albany, NY 12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@mail.nysed.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Office of the Professions,
Office of the Deputy Commissioner, State Education Department, 89
Washington Avenue, 2M, Albany, NY 12234, (518) 486-1765, email:
opdepcom(@mail.nysed.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Section 207 of the Education Law grants general rule-making authority
to the Board of Regents to carry into effect the laws and policies of the
State relating to education.

Subdivision (3) of section 212 of the Education Law authorizes the
State Education Department (“Department”) to determine and set fees for
certifications and permits.

Section 6504 of the Education Law authorizes the Board of Regents to
supervise the admission to and regulation of the practice of the professions.

Paragraph (a) of subdivision (2) of section 6507 of the Education Law
authorizes the Commissioner of Education to promulgate regulations in
administering the admission to and the practice of the professions.

Paragraph (a) of subdivision (1) of section 7710 of the Education Law,
as added by Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013, requires licensed master
social workers and licensed clinical social workers to complete mandatory
continuing education as a condition for registration to practice in New
York State and provides an exception to this requirement for licensees
with conditional registration certificates.

Paragraph (b) of subdivision (1) of section 7710 of the Education Law
allows licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social workers
to be exempt from the mandatory continuing education requirement for
the triennial registration period during which they are first licensed. It also
authorizes the Department to adjust the requirement in certain cases.

Paragraph (c) of subdivision (1) of section 7710 of the Education Law
provides an exemption from the continuing education requirement for
licensees not engaged in the practice of licensed master social work and
licensed clinical social work and directs the Department to establish
continuing education requirements for licensees reentering the profession.

Paragraph (d) of subdivision (1) of section 7710 of the Education Law
provides that a licensed clinical social worker who is also licensed and
registered to practice as a licensed master social worker in the same trien-
nial registration period, shall not be required to complete more than 36
hours of continuing education in the triennial registration period or one
hour per month for a registration period other than 36 months.

Subdivision (2) of section 7710 of the Education Law provides that a
licensed master social worker or licensed clinical social worker must
complete the mandatory continuing education requirements to be regis-
tered to practice in New York State, and establishes the continuing educa-
tion hour requirement and a prorated formula for licensees whose first
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registration date follows the January 1, 2015 effective date and occurs less
than three years from such effective date.

Paragraph (a) of subdivision (3) of section 7710 of the Education Law
authorizes the Department to issue conditional registrations for licensed
master social workers or licensed clinical social workers who do not meet
the regular continuing education requirements, to establish requirements
for such licensees under conditional registration, and to charge a fee for
such conditional registration in addition to the fee for triennial registration.

Paragraph (b) of subdivision (3) of section 7710 of the Education Law
defines acceptable continuing education as formal courses of learning and
educational activities which contribute to professional practice in licensed
master social work and licensed clinical social work and which meet the
standards prescribed in the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education.

Paragraph (b) of subdivision (3) of section 7710 of the Education Law
also requires that continuing education courses must be taken from a
provider who has been approved by the Department, based upon an ap-
plication and fee, pursuant to Regulations of the Commissioner of
Education. This subdivision also authorizes the Department to require the
completion of continuing education courses in specific subjects to fulfill
the continuing education requirement, as needed to contribute to the health
and welfare of the public.

Paragraph (b) of subdivision (3) of section 7710 of the Education Law
also requires licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social
workers to maintain adequate documentation of compliance with the
continuing education requirements and provide such documentation at the
request of the Department.

Paragraph (c) of subdivision (3) of section 7710 of the Education Law
authorizes the Department to charge licensed master social workers and
licensed clinical social workers a mandatory continuing education fee.

Section 2 of Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013 authorizes the Depart-
ment to add, amend, and/or repeal any rule or regulation necessary to
timely implement the new law requiring the completion of continuing
education by licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social
workers.

2. LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:

The proposed rule carries out the intent of Chapter 443 of the Laws of
2013 that amended Article 154 of the Education Law by adding a new sec-
tion 7710, which requires the completion of continuing education by
licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social workers and
establishes standards for such continuing education. Specifically, the
proposed rule establishes appropriate standards for what constitutes ac-
ceptable continuing education, continuing education requirements when
there is a lapse in practice, requirements for licensees under conditional
registration, recordkeeping requirements applicable to licensees, and stan-
dards for the approval of continuing education providers for licensed
master social workers and licensed clinical social workers and recordkeep-
ing requirements applicable to said approved providers.

3. NEEDS AND BENEFITS:

The purpose of the proposed rule is to ensure continued competency by
practicing licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social
workers by establishing continuing education requirements that must be
completed in order to be registered to practice in New York State and to
establish requirements for the approval of providers of such continuing
education. The proposed rule is necessary to conform Regulations of the
Commissioner of Education to Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013.

As required by statute, the proposed rule is also needed to establish
continuing education requirements when there is a lapse in practice, and
requirements for licensees under conditional registration. In addition, the
proposed rule is needed to establish fees for both the mandatory continu-
ing education for each licensed master social worker and licensed clinical
social worker and the Department’s review of providers of courses of
learning or educational activities in order to defray the cost of such review.

4. COSTS:

(a) Costs to State government. The proposed rule implements statutory
requirements and establishes standards as directed by statute. The rule will
not impose any additional cost on State government, over and above the
cost imposed by the statutory requirements.

(b) Costs to local government. There are no additional costs to local
governments.

(c) Cost to private regulated parties. As authorized by Education Law
section 7710(3)(c), the proposed rule includes a mandatory continuing
education fee for licensed master social workers and licensed clinical
social workers at each triennial registration; this mandatory continuing
education fee is set at $45. Statutory provisions also require that licensed
master social workers and licensed clinical social workers complete a
prescribed number of hours of acceptable continuing education. The
proposed rule establishes a $900 fee for the Department’s review of pro-
spective continuing education providers for approval to offer continuing
education in the form of courses of learning or educational activities for a
three-year term.

(d) Cost to the regulatory agency. The proposed rule does not impose
additional costs on the Department beyond those imposed by statute.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:

The proposed rule implements the requirements of section 7710 of the
Education Law relating to mandatory continuing education requirements
for licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social workers. It
does not impose any program, service, duty, or responsibility upon local
governments.

6. PAPERWORK:

The proposed rule requires each licensee to maintain, or ensure access
by the Department to, a record of completed continuing education for six
years, which includes: the type of educational activity if an educational
activity, the title of the course if a course, the subject of the continuing
education, the number of hours completed, the provider’s name and any
identifying number (if applicable), attendance verification if a course,
participation verification 1f another educational activity, a copy of any
article or book for which continuing education credit is claimed with proof
of publication, and the date and location of the continuing education. In
addition, the proposed rule requires providers of continuing education, ap-
proved by the Department, to maintain records for at least six years which
includes: the name and curriculum vitae of the faculty, a record of atten-
dance of licensed master social workers or licensed clinical social workers
in the course, if a course, a record of participation of licensed master social
workers or licensed clinical social workers in the self-instructional course,
if a self-instructional course, an outline of the course, date and location of
the course, and the number of hours for completion of the course.

7. DUPLICATION:

There are no other State or Federal requirements on the subject matter
of this amendment. Therefore, the proposed rule does not duplicate other
existing State or Federal requirements and is necessary to implement
Chapter 443 of 2013.

8. ALTERNATIVES:

The proposed rule is necessary to conform the regulations of the Com-
missioner of Education to Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013. There are no
significant alternatives to the proposed rule and none were considered.

9. FEDERAL STANDARDS:

Since, there are no applicable federal standards for the continuing
education of licensed master social workers or licensed clinical social
workers, the proposed rule does not exceed any minimum federal stan-
dards for the same or similar subject areas.

10. COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:

The proposed rule is necessary to conform the regulations of the Com-
missioner of Education to Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013. Licensed
master social workers and licensed clinical social workers must comply
with the continuing education requirements on the effective date of the
authorizing statute, January 1, 2015. The statute and proposed rule estab-
lish a phase-in period during which the licensee will be required to
complete less than the full 36 hours of continuing education based upon a
proration formula. It is anticipated that licensees will be able to comply
with the proposed rule by the effective date so that no additional period of
time will be necessary to enable regulated parties to comply.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

(a) Small Businesses:

1. EFFECT OF RULE:

The purpose of the proposed rule is to implement Chapter 443 of the
Laws of 2013 which establishes mandatory continuing education require-
ments for licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social work-
ers registered to practice in New York State. This continuing education
will be offered by providers approved by the State Education Department
(“Department”), some of which may be small businesses. The Department
does not know the exact number of providers that will be small businesses,
but estimates that number based on its experience with similar require-
ments in the profession of public accountancy as set forth in the methodol-
ogy below.

Individuals licensed in public accountancy have been subject to manda-
tory continuing education requirements since 1985, and providers of such
continuing education must be approved by the Department, after a Depart-
ment review. In accounting, about 800 providers of continuing education
are approved by the Department. There is an approximately equal number
of licensed social workers (53,754) (combination of 27,085 licensed
master social workers and 26,669 licensed clinical social workers) as there
are individuals licensed in public accountancy (53,567) in this State. Us-
ing these numbers, the Department calculates that there will be a need for
about 800 providers of continuing education for licensed master social
workers and licensed clinical social workers. Of these, based upon a survey
of the providers in accounting, the Department estimates that about 75
percent or 600 will be small businesses.

The proposed rule does not distinguish Department review of small
business entities that seek to provide continuing education to licensed
master social workers and licensed social workers, and Department review
of any other entity that seeks to offer such coursework and/or programs.
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2. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS:

There are compliance requirements for providers seeking approval to
offer continuing education to licensed master social workers and licensed
clinical social workers. An entity must submit an application for advance
approval as a provider at least 90 days prior to the date of commencement
of the continuing education coursework and/or program for review by the
Department. The applicant must document in the application: curricular
areas of offerings; its organizational status as an educational entity or
expertise in the professional area; the qualifications of course instructors;
methods for assessing the learning of participants; and recordkeeping
procedures. Approved applicants will be permitted to offer continuing
education to licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social
workers for a three-year term and must apply for a permit every three
years.

3. PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

No professional services are expected to be required by small busi-
nesses to comply with the proposed rule. The regular staff of small busi-
nesses will be able to complete the application needed for the review by
the Department.

4. COMPLIANCE COSTS:

An organization seeking approval as a provider of continuing education
to licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social workers
through a Department review would be required to pay the Department a
fee of $900 to defray the cost of its review. Such fee would be paid once
every three years, upon submission of the organization’s application.
Therefore, the annualized cost is $300.

The Department estimates that it would require a staff member to spend
about eight hours to complete the application. Based on an hourly rate of
$37 per hour (including fringe benefits), the Department estimates that the
cost of completing the application to be $296. An application would have
to be completed once every three years. Therefore, the annualized cost of
completing the application is estimated to be $98.

An approved provider of continuing education to licensed master social
workers and licensed clinical social workers would charge fees to those
licensees who participate in its approved learning activities which would
generate revenue for the provider. Although the fees would vary based on
the type and form of the approved learning activities, in a majority of, if
not all, cases, the compliance costs would be more than offset by fees paid
to an approved provider by those licensees who participate in its approved
learning activities.

5. ECONOMIC AND TECHNOLOGICAL FEASIBILITY:

The proposed rule will not impose any technological requirements on
regulated parties. See above “Compliance Costs” for the economic impact
of the regulation.

6. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:

The Department believes that the standards for provider review by the
Department are reasonable, and that uniform standards should apply,
regardless of the size of the sponsoring organization, in order to ensure the
quality of the continuing education.

7. SMALL BUSINESS PARTICIPATION:

Members of the State Board for Social Work, many of whom have ex-
perience in a small business environment, provided input in the develop-
ment of the proposed rule. In addition, staff of the Department worked
with the statewide and national professional associations and councils that
represent licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social work-
ers by disseminating information concerning the proposed regulation to
these organizations and seeking their input. These organizations include
members who own and operate small businesses.

(b) Local Governments:

The proposed rule establishes continuing education requirements for
licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social workers and
standards for providers of such continuing education. It will not impose
any reporting, recordkeeping, or other compliance requirements, or have
any adverse economic impact on local governments. Because it is evident
from the nature of the proposed rule that it will not adversely affect local
governments, no affirmative steps were needed to ascertain that fact and
none were taken. Accordingly, a regulatory flexibility analysis for local
governments is not required and one has not been prepared.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:

The proposed rule will apply to all licensed master social workers and
licensed clinical social workers in New York State. The proposed rule
implements the provisions of section 7710 of the Education Law, as added
by Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013 that, effective January 1, 2015, require
each licensed master social worker and licensed clinical social worker to
complete 36 hours of continuing education during each three-year registra-
tion period. It also establishes standards for both acceptable continuing
education to meet this statutory requirement and the State Education
Department’s (“Department”) approval of continuing education providers.
The proposed rule will apply to licensed master social workers and
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licensed clinical social workers located in the 44 rural counties with less
than 200,000 inhabitants and the 71 towns in urban counties with a popula-
tion density of 150 per square mile or less. All 27,085 licensed master
social workers and 26,669 licensed clinical social workers who are
registered by the State Education Department to practice in New York
State will be subject to the requirements of the proposed rule. Of these,
2,671 licensed master social workers (9.75%) and 2,901 licensed clinical
social workers (10.88%) report that their permanent address of record is in
a rural county of the State.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

As required by section 7710 of the Education Law, the proposed rule
will require licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social
workers, including those that reside or work in rural areas, to complete 36
hours of acceptable continuing education to be registered to practice in
New York State. The proposed rule defines acceptable continuing educa-
tion subjects and other types of educational activities that the Department
will accept to satisfy the statutorily mandated continuing education
requirements. The proposed rule requires licensees to certify that they
have met the requirements upon applying for renewal of registration to
practice in New York State. The proposed rule requires each licensee to
maintain prescribed information concerning completed acceptable
continuing education for six years from the date of completion of said
education.

The proposed rule also establishes standards for the Department’s ap-
proval of prospective continuing education providers desiring to offer ac-
ceptable continuing education in the form of courses of learning and/or
self-study programs, including providers, who may be located in rural
areas. The proposed rule requires such approved providers to maintain
specified records related to the offering of the courses of learning and self-
study programs for a six-year period from the date of completion of the
coursework and/or programs.

The proposed rule does not impose any professional services require-
ments on entities in rural areas.

3. COSTS:

The proposed rule implements provisions in the statute that authorize
the Department to establish a continuing education fee on each licensed
master social worker and licensed clinical social workers and a fee for the
Department review and approval of entities seeking to become an ap-
proved provider of continuing education for a three-year term. These fees
are set at $45 and $900 respectively, consistent with the fees charged in
other professions.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:

The proposed rule implements and clarifies the continuing education
requirements for licensed master social workers and licensed clinical
social workers found in section 7710 of the Education Law. The statutory
requirements do not make exceptions for individuals who live or work in
rural areas. Thus, the Department has determined that the proposed rule’s
requirements should apply to all licensed master social workers and
licensed clinical social workers, regardless of their geographic location, to
help ensure a uniform standard of continuing competency across the State.
The Department has also determined that uniform standards for the
Department’s review of providers are necessary to ensure quality offer-
ings in all parts of the State. Because of the nature of the proposed rule,
alternative approaches for rural areas were not considered.

5. RURAL AREAS PARTICIPATION:

Comments on the proposed rule were solicited from statewide organiza-
tions representing all parties having an interest in the practice of licensed
master social work and licensed clinical social work. Included in this group
was the State Board for Social Work and professional associations
representing the social work profession. These groups have members who
live or work in rural areas.

6. INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):

Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the
State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed amendment is necessary to imple-
ment statutory requirements in Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013 and
therefore the substantive provisions of the proposed amendment cannot be
repealed or modified unless there is a further statutory change. Accord-
ingly, there is no need for a shorter review period. The State Education
Department invites public comment on the proposed five year review pe-
riod for this rule. Comments should be sent to the agency contact listed in
item 10 of the Notice of Proposed Rule Making published herewith, and
must be received within 45 days of the State Register publication date of
the Notice.

Job Impact Statement
Section 7710 of the Education Law, as added by Chapter 443 of the
Laws of 2013, establishes mandatory continuing education requirements
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for licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social workers
registered to practice in New York State. The proposed rule implements
the requirement of Chapter 443 of the Laws of 2013 that each licensed
master social worker and licensed clinical social worker complete 36 hours
of continuing education during each three-year registration period and
establishes standards for both acceptable continuing education to meet this
statutory requirement and the Department’s approval of continuing educa-
tion providers.

Because, the proposed regulation implements specific statutory require-
ments and directives, any impact on jobs and employment opportunities
created by establishing a continuing education requirement for licensed
master social workers and licensed clinical social workers is attributable
to the statutory requirement, not the proposed rule, which simply
establishes standards that conform with the requirements of the statute. In
any event, similar statutory continuing education requirements were
established for individuals licensed as physical therapists in 2009 and
licensed massage therapists in 2012, and the Department is not aware that
those requirements significantly affected jobs or employment opportuni-
ties in those professions. In addition, the statutory continuing education
requirement for licensed master social workers and licensed clinical social
workers may increase job and employment opportunities for prospective
approved continuing education providers and their current and potential
employees.

Therefore, the proposed rule will not have a substantial adverse impact
on jobs and employment opportunities. Because it is evident from the
nature of the proposed rule that it will not affect job and employment op-
portunities, no affirmative steps were needed to ascertain that fact and
none were taken. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not required and
one was not prepared.

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Reciprocity Requirements for Classroom Teachers
L.D. No. EDU-07-14-00003-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: Amendment of Part 80 of Title 8 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 207 (not subdivided),
305(1), (2), 3001(2), 3004(1), 3006(1)(b), 3007(1), (2) and 3009(1)

Subject: Reciprocity requirements for classroom teachers.

Purpose: To establish a standardized reciprocity process for the review of
teaching candidates from other jurisdictions.

Text of proposed rule:

1. Paragraph (39) of subdivision (b) of section 80-1.1 of the Regula-
tions of the Commissioner of Education shall be amended, effective May
14, 2014, to read as follows:

(39) Teacher means the holder of a valid teacher’s certificate issued
by the Commissioner of Education [or a valid regional credential].

2. Section 80-1.4 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education
shall be amended, effective May 14, 2014, to read as follows:

Section 80-1.4 Required study in child abuse identification and report-
ing, and school violence prevention and intervention.

All candidates for a certificate or license valid for administrative or
supervisory service, classroom teaching service or school service shall
have completed at least two clock hours of coursework or training regard-
ing the identification and reporting of suspected child abuse or maltreat-
ment in accordance with the requirements of sections 3003(4) and 3004 of
the Education Law. In addition, all candidates for a certificate or license
valid for administrative or supervisory service, classroom teaching service
or school service, who apply for a certificate or license on or after Febru-
ary 2, 2001, shall have completed at least two clock hours of coursework
or training in school violence prevention and intervention, as required by
section 3004 of the Education Law, which is provided by a registered
program leading to certification pursuant to section 52.21 of this Title or
other approved provider pursuant to Subpart 57-2 of this Title. [An indi-
vidual making application for a provisional or an initial certificate pursu-
ant to section 3030 of the Education Law and/or section 80-2.2(e) of this
Part shall satisfy the requirements of this section upon application for the
permanent or professional certificate.]

3. Paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of section 80-2.9 of the Regulations
of the Commissioner of Education is repealed and paragraphs (3) through
(6) are renumbered as paragraphs (2) through (5) of subdivision (a) of sec-
tion 80-2.9 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education, effec-
tive May 14, 2014.

4. Paragraph (3) of subdivision (d) of section 80-3.2 of the Regulations

of the Commissioner of Education is amended, effective May 14, 2014, to
read as follows:

(3) The certificate, license or credential forms for supplemental
school personnel, teaching in nonregistered evening schools[, regional
credential,] and internship certificate shall be those prescribed in Subpart
80-5 of this Part.

5. Paragraph (3) of subdivision (e) of section 80-3.2 of the Regulations
of the Commissioner of Education is amended, effective May 14, 2014, to
read as follows:

(3) The certificate, license or credential titles for supplemental school
personnel, teachers of adult, community and continuing education,
[regional credential,] and internship certificate shall be those prescribed in
Subpart 80-5 of this Part.

6. Paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of section 80-3.3 of the Regulations
of the Commissioner of Education is repealed and a new paragraph (1) is
added to subdivision (b) of section 80-3.3 of the Regulations of the Com-
missioner of Education, effective May 1, 2014, to read as follows:

(1) Education. The candidate shall meet the education requirement
by holding a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institu-
tion of higher education or a higher education institution that the commis-
sioner deems substantially equivalent or from an institution authorized by
the Regents to confer degrees and whose programs are registered by the
department, and shall satisfactorily complete a program registered pursu-
ant to section 52.21 of this Title, which leads to the certificate sought, or
its equivalent.

7. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of section 80-3.3
of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is repealed and a
new subparagraph (i) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of section 80-3.3
of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is added, effective
May 14, 2014, to read as follows:

(i) Education. The candidate shall meet the education requirement
by satisfactorily completing an associate degree program registered pur-
suant to section 52.21(b)(3)(xiii) of this Title as leading to an initial certif-
icate under option A, or its equivalent.

8. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 80-3.3
of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is repealed and a
new subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (c) of section 80-3.3
of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is added, effective
May 14, 2014, to read as follows:

(i) Education. The candidate shall meet the education requirement
by satisfactorily completing an program registered pursuant to section
52.21(b)(3)(xiii) of this Title as leading to an initial certificate under op-
tion B, or its equivalent.

9. Subclause (2) of clause (a) of subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) of section 80-3.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner
of Education is repealed and subclause (3) is renumbered as subclause (2)
of clause (a) of subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of
section 80-3.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education, ef-
fective May 14, 2014.

10. Section 80-5.8 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Educa-
tion is repealed and a new section 80-5.8 is added, effective May 14, 2014,
to read as follows:

Section 80-5.8 Endorsement of certificates for service as a teacher in
the classroom teaching service and recognition of substantially equivalent
out-of-state teacher education programs for service as a teacher in the
classroom teaching service in New York State.

(a) Endorsement of certificates for service as a teacher in the classroom
teaching service.

(1) The commissioner may endorse the certificate or an equivalent
authorization to practice from another state or territory of the United
States or the District of Columbia for service as a teacher in the classroom
teaching service, provided that the candidate meets the following
requirements:

(i) The candidate shall hold a valid certificate or equivalent autho-
rization to practice from another state or territory of the United States or
the District of Columbia that is equivalent to the title and type of the cer-
tificate sought.

(ii) The candidate shall meet the general requirements for certifi-
cates prescribed in Subpart 80-1 of this Part, including but not limited to
the requirements of section 80-1.3 relating to citizenship, section 80-1.4
relating to study in child abuse identification and reporting, and school
violence prevention and intervention; section 80-1.13 relating to course-
work or training in harassment, bullying and discrimination prevention
and intervention; and section 80-1.1 relating to a criminal history check.

(iii) The candidate shall either:

(a) have completed a teacher education program from a region-
ally accredited institution of higher education or a higher education
institution that the Commissioner deems substantially equivalent, provided
that such program leads to an initial certificate, or a similar certificate
title and type, in the jurisdiction in which the higher education institution
is located; or
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(b) have at least three years of satisfactory experience in a pub-
lic school (grades birth-12) in another state or territory of the United
States or the District of Columbia in a position that would have required
the equivalent of an initial or professional certificate in the certificate title
sought as a teacher in the classroom teaching service for employment in
New York State and while under a certificate issued by such other state
authorizing such service, such experience must have been completed
within 5 years immediately preceding the application for endorsement of
the out-of-state certificate; or the candidate shall have equivalent experi-
ence as determined by the Commissioner.

(iv) Degree. The candidate shall hold a baccalaureate or higher
degree from a regionally accredited institution or a higher education
institution that the commissioner deems substantially equivalent. Candi-
dates shall have achieved a 2.5 cumulative grade point average, or its
equivalent, in the program leading to the degree.

(v) Examination. The candidate shall meet the examination
requirements for the title and type of certificate sought in this State.

(2) Such candidate who meets the endorsement requirements in
paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be issued an initial certificate as a
teacher in the classroom teaching service pursuant to the requirements of
this Part.

(3) If a candidate meets all of the requirements for endorsement set
forth in paragraph (1) of this subdivision, except the teacher performance
assessment, if required for the certificate type and title sought, the
candidate shall be issued a one-year nonrenewable conditional initial cer-
tificate, provided that the candidate meets the requirements of section 80-
5.17 of this Subpart.

(b) Recognition of substantially equivalent teacher education programs
for service as a teacher in the classroom teaching service.

(1) The Commissioner may recognize and issue an initial certificate
to an out-of-state candidate who completes a teacher education program
at a regionally accredited institution of higher education or a higher
education institution that the commissioner deems substantially equiva-
lent from another state or territory of the United States or the District of
Columbia that leads to certification in the title and type of certificate
sought in the jurisdiction where the higher education institution is located
if the candidate also meets the following requirements:

(i) General Requirements. The candidate shall meet the general
requirements for certificates prescribed in Subpart 80-1 of this Part,
including but not limited to the requirements of section 80-1.3 relating to
citizenship, section 80-1.4 relating to study in child abuse identification
and reporting, and school violence prevention and intervention; section
80-1.13 relating to coursework or training in harassment, bullying and
discrimination prevention and intervention; and section 80-1.1 relating to
a criminal history check.

(ii) Degree. The candidate holds a baccalaureate or higher degree
from a regionally accredited institution or a higher education institution
that the commissioner deems substantially equivalent. Candidates shall
have achieved a 2.5 cumulative grade point average, or its equivalent, in
the program leading to the degree.

(iii) Examination. The candidate shall receive a satisfactory pass-
ing score on all examinations required for the title and type of certificate
sought in this State.

(2) A candidate who meets the requirements for recognition of an
out-of-state teacher education program in paragraph (1) of this subdivi-
sion shall be issued an initial certificate as a teacher in the classroom
teaching service pursuant to the requirements of this Part.

11. Section 80-5.11 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Educa-
tion is amended, effective May 14, 2014, to read as follows:

Section 80-5.11. Certificate of qualification.

The commissioner shall not issue certificates of qualification with issu-
ance dates on or after September 2, 1998. Holders of certificates of quali-
fication with issuance dates prior to September 2, 1998 may retain the cer-
tificate as evidence that the holder is eligible for a provisional certificate.
At the commencement of regular employment in any public school in the
State, during the period of validity of the certificate of qualification, the
holder shall deliver such certificate to the chief school officer of the district
offering employment, who shall forward such certificate to the commis-
sioner for the issuance of a provisional certificate. The certificate of quali-
fication is evidence that the holder is eligible for employment as a
substitute teacher. Permanent certification will be issued upon completion
of the requirements for permanent certification in effect at the time of is-
suance of the certificate of qualification [or regional certificate].

12. Section 80-5.17 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Educa-
tion is repealed a new section 80-5.17 of the Regulations of the Commis-
sioner of Education shall be amended, effective May 14, 2014, to read as
follows:

Section 80-5.17 Conditional initial certificate.

(a) Conditional initial certificate in the classroom teaching service.

(1) For out-of-state candidates applying for initial certification on or

after May 1, 2014 and prior to May 1, 2017 in a certificate title in the
classroom teaching service for which this Part requires completion of a
teacher performance assessment, the commissioner may issue to a
candidate who has received a satisfactory passing score on all other
required examination requirements, as required for the title and type of
certificate sought in this State, a one-year nonrenewable conditional
initial certificate, notwithstanding that the candidate has not received a
satisfactory passing score on the teacher performance assessment, and
deem that all other requirements for the initial certificate in the certificate
title sought have been met, provided that the candidate holds a valid regu-
lar teacher’s certificate or an authorization to practice that the commis-
sioner deems equivalent in the same or an equivalent title by another state
or territory of the United States and otherwise meets the requirements for
endorsement as set forth in subdivision (a) of section 80-5.8 of this Title,
except the teacher performance assessment, if required, and the candidate
has not already taken and received an unsatisfactory score on the teacher
performance assessment.

(b) Conditional initial certificate in the title school building leader. The
commissioner may issue a two-year nonrenewable conditional initial cer-
tificate in the title school building leader to a candidate who applies for the
certificate after September 1, 2006 and meets the following requirements:
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(2) the candidate holds a valid regular certificate or an authorization
to practice that the commissioner deems equivalent in an equivalent title
to the title school building leader issued by [a state which has contracted
with the State of New York pursuant to section 3030 of the Education
Law, the interstate agreement on qualifications of educational personnel,
or] another state or country provided that the commissioner determines
that the certificate issued by the other state or country evidences knowl-
edge, skills and abilities comparable to those required for certification in
New York State.

(©)...
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Mary Gammon, NYS Education Department, Office of
Counsel, Room 148, Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234, (518) 474-
6400, email: mgammon@mail.nysed.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Peg Rivers, NYS Educa-
tion Department, Office of Higher Education, Room 979, Washington Av-
enue, Albany, NY 12234, (518) 486-3633, email: privers@mail.nysed.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Education Law section 207 grants general rule-making authority to the
Regents to carry into effect State educational laws and policies.

Subdivision (1) of section 305 of the Education Law empowers the
Commissioner of Education to be the chief executive officer of the state
system of education and authorizes the Commissioner to execute educa-
tional policies determined by the Regents.

Subdivision (2) of section 3001 of the Education Law establishes certi-
fication by the State Education Department as a qualification to teach in
the State’s public schools.

Paragraph (1) of section 3004 of the Education Law authorizes the Com-
missioner to prescribe, subject to approval by the Board of Regents,
regulations governing the examination and certification of teachers
employed in the public schools of this State.

Paragraph (b) of subdivision (1) of section 3006 of the Education Law
provides that the Commissioner of Education may issue such teacher cer-
tificates as the Regents Rules prescribe.

Paragraphs (1) and (2) of section 3007 of the Education Law authorizes
the Commissioner to endorse the diploma issued by a normal school or
teachers college of another state or a certificate issued by the chief
educational officer or state board of another state.

Subdivision (1) of section 3009 of the Education Law provides that no
part of the school moneys apportioned to a district shall be applied to the
payment of the salary of an unqualified teacher, nor shall his salary or part
thereof, be collected by a district tax except as provided in the Education
Law.

2. LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:

The amendment carries out the legislative objectives of the above-
referenced statutes by establishing requirements for the reciprocity of
candidates holding out-of-state certificates and the recognition of out-of-
state teacher education preparation programs and amending the require-
ments for a conditional initial certificate for these candidates.

3. NEEDS AND BENEFITS:

Interstate Agreement

Pursuant to Section 3030 of the Education Law, New York State was a
party to the Interstate Agreement on the Qualifications of Educational
Personnel until 2010. Created through the National Association of State
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Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC), this
compact permits a State to enter into an agreement with another state for
the acceptance of educational personnel where the other state’s programs
of education, certification standards or other qualifications were suf-
ficiently comparable to the primary state. In 2010, NASDTEC asked each
state to undertake a review of all of the other states’ teacher education
programs and licensure requirements to determine if they were compara-
ble to their state before entering into a new agreement. At that time it was
determined that the Office of Teaching Initiatives (OTI) did not have the
resources to complete this comprehensive review and/or to continue to
review changes made to such requirements over the period of the
agreement. Instead, OTI created a standardized reciprocity process for the
review of candidates coming from other states.

Currently, there are three options for reciprocity in New York State
which are posted on the Department’s website and are largely based on the
guidelines of the prior interstate compact.

Proposed New Regulations:

The proposed new regulations take into account the new certification
requirements, changes to the administration of the exams, and make the
requirements clear and transparent for the field and candidates seeking to
be certified in New York State.

With the implementation of the new teacher certification requirements
taking effect May 1, 2014, it is important to re-evaluate our current
practice and consider the potential ramifications of the new certification
examinations and how these examinations will be administered.

In the past, many qualified professionals from out-of-state could not
start work as a teacher in New York simply because they could not access
the required certification exams in a timely manner. To address this situa-
tion, efforts were made, as described in our current policies, to determine
when a candidate coming from another state had the necessary and equiv-
alent training and preparation to be permitted, on a temporary basis, to
teach in New York until they had an opportunity to take and pass all
teacher certification examinations required for employment in this
profession.

One of the important changes in the administration of the new certifica-
tion examinations affecting out-of-state candidates is computer-based
testing. With testing centers located throughout the country, out-of-state
candidates will no longer have to wait significant periods of time or need
to travel to New York to take the computer-based exams. Certification
examinations are now offered with greater frequency, many on a daily or
weekly basis.

However, as part of the new teacher certification requirements, all
candidates will also need to take and pass the edTPA. This performance-
based assessment requires all candidates to video tape themselves provid-
ing instruction in an actual classroom. This requirement has the potential
to be a significant barrier for many qualified out-of-state candidates.

As a result of the aforementioned changes to New York’s certification
requirements, the Department recommends that the existing practice for
out-of-state candidates be discontinued after May 1, 2014 and that new
regulations be adopted that clarify, under the new teacher certification
requirements, how an out-of-state candidate qualifies for a Conditional
Initial Certificate. The proposed regulations also changes existing practice
to require candidates to pass the ALST, EAS and CST(s) prior to receiv-
ing a Conditional Initial Certificate. The proposed amendment also
decreases the time validity of a Conditional Initial Certificate from two
years to one year. In addition, the proposed amendment establishes a
sunset date of May 1, 2017 for the issuance of a Conditional Initial
Certificate.

4. COSTS:

(a) Costs to State government: The amendment will not impose any ad-
ditional costs on State government including the State Education
Department.

(b) Costs to local governments: The amendment will not impose any
additional costs on local governments.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:

The proposed amendment does not impose any mandatory program,
service, duty, or responsibility upon local government, including school
districts or BOCES.

6. PAPERWORK

There are no additional paperwork requirements beyond those currently
imposed.

7. DUPLICATION:

The amendment does not duplicate any existing State or Federal
requirements.

8. ALTERNATIVES:

No alternatives were considered.

9. FEDERAL STANDARDS:

There are no Federal standards that establish requirements for the certi-
fication of teachers for service in the State’s public schools.

10. COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:

It is anticipated that the proposed amendment will be adopted at the
April Regents meeting and will become effective on May 14, 2014.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The purpose of the proposed amendment is clarify the reciprocity
requirements for candidates seeking to be certified in New York State
with an out-of-state teaching certificate and to recognize certain out-of-
state teacher preparation programs for candidates seeking to be licensed in
New York and to discontinue the current requirements for conditional
initial certificates for out-of-state candidates seeking reciprocity in New
York State and instead require that an out-of-state candidate pass the
ALST, EAS and CST(s) prior to receiving a Conditional Initial Certificate.
In addition, the proposed amendment establishes a sunset date of May 1,
2017 for the issuance of a Conditional Initial Certificate.

The proposed rule does not impose any reporting, recordkeeping or
other compliance requirements, and will not have an adverse economic
impact, on small businesses or local governments. Because it is evident
from the nature of the amendment that it does not affect small businesses
or local governments, no further steps were needed to ascertain that fact
and one were taken. Accordingly, a regulatory flexibility analysis for small
businesses and local governments is not required and one has not been
prepared.

Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:

The proposed amendment will affect out-of-state candidates who seek
reciprocity and/or recognition of their out-of-state teacher preparation
program and apply a conditional initial certificate in order to be employed
in all school districts, BOCES of the State, including those located in the
44 rural counties with fewer than 200,000 inhabitants and the 71 towns
and urban counties with a population density of 150 square miles or less.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING, AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

Interstate Agreement

Pursuant to Section 3030 of the Education Law, New York State was a
party to the Interstate Agreement on the Qualifications of Educational
Personnel until 2010. Created through the National Association of State
Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC), this
compact permits a State to enter into an agreement with another state for
the acceptance of educational personnel where the other state’s programs
of education, certification standards or other qualifications were suf-
ficiently comparable to the primary state. In 2010, NASDTEC asked each
state to undertake a review of all of the other states’ teacher education
programs and licensure requirements to determine if they were compara-
ble to their state before entering into a new agreement. At that time it was
determined that the Office of Teaching Initiatives (OTI) did not have the
resources to complete this comprehensive review and/or to continue to
review changes made to such requirements over the period of the
agreement. Instead, OTI created a standardized reciprocity process for the
review of candidates coming from other states.

Currently, there are three options for reciprocity in New York State
which are posted on the Department’s website and are largely based on the
guidelines of the prior interstate compact.

Proposed New Regulations:

The proposed new regulations take into account the new certification
requirements, changes to the administration of the exams, and make the
requirements clear and transparent for the field and candidates seeking to
be certified in New York State.

With the implementation of the new teacher certification requirements
taking effect May 1, 2014, it is important to re-evaluate our current
practice and consider the potential ramifications of the new certification
examinations and how these examinations will be administered.

In the past, many qualified professionals from out-of-state could not
start work as a teacher in New York simply because they could not access
the required certification exams in a timely manner. To address this situa-
tion, efforts were made, as described in our current policies, to determine
when a candidate coming from another state had the necessary and equiv-
alent training and preparation to be permitted, on a temporary basis, to
teach in New York until they had an opportunity to take and pass all
teacher certification examinations required for employment in this
profession.

One of the important changes in the administration of the new certifica-
tion examinations affecting out-of-state candidates is computer-based
testing. With testing centers located throughout the country, out-of-state
candidates will no longer have to wait significant periods of time or need
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to travel to New York to take the computer-based exams. Certification
examinations are now offered with greater frequency, many on a daily or
weekly basis.

However, as part of the new teacher certification requirements, all
candidates will also need to take and pass the edTPA. This performance-
based assessment requires all candidates to video tape themselves provid-
ing instruction in an actual classroom. This requirement has the potential
to be a significant barrier for many qualified out-of-state candidates.

As a result of the aforementioned changes to New York’s certification
requirements, the Department recommends that the existing practice for
out-of-state candidates be discontinued after May 1, 2014 and that new
regulations be adopted that clarify, under the new teacher certification
requirements, how an out-of-state candidate qualifies for a Conditional
Initial Certificate. The proposed regulations also changes existing practice
to require candidates to pass the ALST, EAS and CST(s) prior to receiv-
ing a Conditional Initial Certificate. The proposed amendment also
decreases the time validity of a Conditional Initial Certificate from two
years to one year. In addition, the proposed amendment establishes a
sunset date of May 1, 2017 for the issuance of a Conditional Initial
Certificate.

3. COSTS:

There are no additional costs imposed beyond those imposed by statute.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:

The State Education Department does not believe that making this
change for candidates who live or work in rural areas is warranted because
uniform standards for certification are necessary across the State.

5. RURAL AREA PARTICIPATION:

The State Education Department has sent the proposed amendment to
the Rural Advisory Committee, which has members who live or work in
rural areas across the State.

Job Impact Statement

The purpose of the proposed amendment is clarify the reciprocity
requirements for candidates seeking to be certified in New York State
with an out-of-state teaching certificate and to recognize certain out-of-
state teacher preparation programs for candidates seeking to be licensed in
New York and to discontinue the current requirements for conditional
initial certificates for out-of-state candidates seeking reciprocity in New
York State and instead require that an out-of-state candidate pass the
ALST, EAS and CST(s) prior to receiving a Conditional Initial Certificate.
In addition, the proposed amendment establishes a sunset date of May 1,
2017 for the issuance of a Conditional Initial Certificate.

Therefore, the proposed rule will not have a substantial adverse impact
on jobs and employment opportunities. Because it is evident from the
nature of the proposed rule that it will not affect job and employment op-
portunities, no affirmative steps were needed to ascertain that fact and
none were taken. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not required and
one was not prepared.

Department of Health

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

School Immunization Requirements

I.D. No. HLT-36-13-00007-A
Filing No. 114

Filing Date: 2014-02-03
Effective Date: 2014-07-01

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of Subpart 66-1 of Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, sections 2164 and 2168

Subject: School Immunization Requirements.

Purpose: To amend and update NYS school entry immunization
requirements.

Substance of final rule: This proposal will amend Subpart 66-1 (School
Immunization Requirements) to update regulations so that they comply
with current immunization recommendations and medical knowledge.
The regulations would be effective July 1, 2014.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.1 provide that a child will be
considered fully-immunized when (i) the child has received an adequate
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dosage and number of doses of an immunizing agent commensurate with
his or her age or (ii) the child has otherwise demonstrated immunity to
measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis B, poliomyelitis (all three serotypes)
and varicella through a positive serologic test or, for varicella only, dis-
ease as verified by a physician, nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant.
For those immunizations required by Public Health Law (PHL) § 2164
only, the number of doses that a child should have at any given age, and
the minimum intervals between these doses, is determined by the Recom-
mended Immunization Schedule for Persons Aged 0 Through 18 Years is-
sued by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). If a
child is not fully immunized, immunization must take place according to
the Catch-Up Schedule of the ACIP.

For all vaccinations except poliomyelitis and varicella, children shall be
assessed upon school entry or attendance, and annually thereafter, and be
found to be fully immunized commensurate with their age. For poliomy-
elitis vaccination beginning on or after July 1, 2014, children shall be as-
sessed upon entry or attendance to kindergarten and sixth grade, and/or
their equivalent grades, and must be fully immunized commensurate with
their age. As the students enrolling in kindergarten and sixth grade move
up a grade level each year, the students enrolling in those higher grades, or
grade equivalent, must be appropriately immunized against poliomyelitis.
For varicella vaccination beginning on and after July 1, 2014, children
shall be assessed upon entry or attendance to kindergarten and sixth grade,
and/or their equivalent grades, and must have received two adequate doses
of vaccine. As the students enrolling in kindergarten and sixth grade move
up a grade level each year, the students enrolling in those higher grades, or
grade equivalent, must be appropriately immunized against varicella.

The proposed amendments also provide that a child will be considered
“in process” of receiving necessary immunizations if he or she has
received at least the first dose in each required immunization series and
has age appropriate appointments to complete the immunization series or
is obtaining serologic tests and has appointments to complete the im-
munization series within 30 days of notification that serologic tests are
negative. Children who are not fully immunized can only continue to at-
tend school if they are in the process of completing the ACIP catch up
schedule. If a child does not receive subsequent doses of vaccine in an im-
munization series according to the age appropriate ACIP catch-up sched-
ule, the child is no longer in process and must be excluded from school, if
not otherwise exempt from immunization requirements.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.2 update the definitions in the
regulation to conform to changes in the New York State Immunization In-
formation System (NYSIIS) statute (PHL § 2168), to account for the
implementation of NYSIIS that has occurred since 2008, and to include
references to the New York City Immunization Registry (CIR). The
proposed amendments also expand upon the definition of authorized users
as well as the types of information to be reported to NYSIIS or the CIR to
include race, ethnicity, telephone numbers, birth order (if multiple birth),
birth state/country, Vaccines for Children Program eligibility and
Medicaid number.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.3 provide that a school shall not
admit a child without receipt of a certificate of immunization from a health
care practitioner, or from NYSIIS or the CIR, documenting that the child
has been fully immunized, documentation that the child is “in process,” a
signed medical exemption, or a completed religious exemption. The
proposed changes state that a principal or person in charge of a school
shall not refuse to admit a child to school, based on immunization require-
ments, if that child is in process. The proposed changes also require that a
medical exemption must be reissued annually and must contain sufficient
information to identify a medical contraindication to a specific immuniza-
tion and specify the length of time the immunization is medically
contraindicated. For both medical and religious exemptions, the principal
or person in charge of the school may require additional information sup-
porting the exemption.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.4 clarify that the 14 calendar day
period for continued school attendance may be extended to not more than
30 calendar days for an individual student who is transferring from out-of-
state or from another country and can show a good faith effort to obtain
the necessary evidence of immunization.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.6 provide that the certificate of
immunization shall be prepared by the health practitioner who administers
the immunizing agents and shall specify the products administered and the
dates of administration. It may also show physician, nurse practitioner, or
physician assistant-verified history of varicella disease and/or laboratory
evidence of immunity to measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, Hepatitis B
and all 3 serotypes of poliomyelitis contained in the polio vaccines.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.7 provide that every school shall
annually provide the Commissioner of Health, or in the city of New York,
the New York City Commissioner of Health, a summary regarding compli-
ance with immunization requirements. For all schools, excluding public
schools within New York City, the summary will be provided in the form
of the yearly school survey conducted by the Department of Health.
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Proposed amendments to Sections 66-1.8 and 66-1.9 clarify the obliga-
tion of the school to notify the local health authority, when a child has
been excluded because of lack of acceptable evidence of immunization or
exemption, and the obligation of the local health authority to arrange for a
suitable health practitioner to administer immunizations.

Proposed amendments to Section 66-1.10 provide that, for those
diseases listed in PHL § 2164, in the event of an outbreak of disease in a
school, the Commissioner, or his or her designee, or in the City of New
York, the New York City Commissioner of Health may order the exclu-
sion of children who have been exempted from immunization or are “in
process” of receiving required immunizations. Any exclusion shall
continue until the Commissioner, or his or her designee, or the New York
City Commissioner of Health (as appropriate), determines that the danger
of disease transmission has passed. The proposed changes also require
schools to maintain a current list of susceptible students who should be
excluded from attendance in the event of an outbreak of vaccine-
preventable disease.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: Nonsubstantive changes
were made in sections 66-1.2(a)(2), (d)(1)(i), 66-1.6 and 66-1.10.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained

from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Revised Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis,
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Changes made to the last published rule do not necessitate revision to the
previously published RIS, RFA, RAFA and JIS.

Assessment of Public Comment

Comment:

In proposed § 66-1.2(a)(2), the Citywide immunization registry is
defined to include “those persons 19 years and older with written consent
in accordance with the New York City Health Code.” Because the require-
ment for written consent was removed pursuant to a recent State legisla-
tive change, the word “written” should be deleted.

Response:

Regulatory language has been revised to incorporate this change.

Comment:

Proposed § 66-1.2 (a)(7) defines school as “any agency or entity
required by law or regulation to verify immunization status for
participants.” Because the applicable existing laws and regulations do not
specifically refer to verification, it is recommended that the reference to
verification be removed. Proposed § 66-1.2(a)(8)(v) also refers to schools
and incorporates this definition.

Response:

The regulations were not revised to include this change. Applicable
existing law at Public Health Law (PHL) § 2168(8)(d)(i) does refer to
school verification of immunization status for eligibility for admission.

Comment:

The definition of who is an authorized user of the registry should be
expanded to encompass the person who administers the vaccine.

Response:

The regulations were not revised to include this change. Authorized us-
ers of the registry already include an ordering provider’s “designee.” One
type of individual who could be an ordering provider’s designee is the in-
dividual administering the vaccine.

Comment:

The reference to “CIR” in § 66-1.2(d)(1)(i) regarding allowance for a
time-limited deferral on electronic data submission to the registry should
be stricken. NYCDOHMH does not provide deferrals to such electronic
submission.

Response:

Regulatory language has been revised to incorporate this change.

Comment:

In § 66-1.3(c), add the word “recognized” before the term “medical
contraindication.”

Response:

The regulations were not revised to include this change as the term
“medical contraindication” is clear and does not require further
modification.

Comment:

In § 66-1.3(c), revise regulations so that the “local health authority” has
the authority to require additional information supporting an exemption.

Response:

The regulations were not revised to include this change. Under PHL
§ 2164(7), the responsibility to exclude a non-compliant student from
school lies with the principal, teacher, owner or person in charge of the
school. As such, the principal or person in charge of the school has the
authority to require additional information relevant to making this
decision.

Comment:

In § 66-1.3(c), revise the regulation so that the local health authority
has the authority to order a school to exclude a child who has not complied
with immunization requirements.

Response:

The regulations were not revised to include this change. Under PHL
§ 2164(7), the authority to exclude a non-compliant student from school
lies with the principal, teacher, owner or person in charge of the school.

Comment:

In § 66-1.6, revise the regulation to clarify that a record issued by the
New York State Immunization Information System or Citywide Im-
munization Registry may be accepted as a certificate of immunization.

Response:

Regulatory language has been revised to incorporate this change.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Reduction to Statewide Base Price

L.D. No. HLT-45-13-00004-A
Filing No. 116

Filing Date: 2014-02-04
Effective Date: 2014-02-19

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 86-1.16 of Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 2807-c(35)
Subject: Reduction to Statewide Base Price.

Purpose: Continues a reduction to the statewide base price for inpatient
services.

Text or summary was published in the November 6, 2013 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. HLT-45-13-00004-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained

from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment
The agency received no public comment.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Statewide Pricing Methodology for Nursing Homes

L.D. No. HLT-45-13-00006-A
Filing No. 112

Filing Date: 2014-02-03
Effective Date: 2014-02-19

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of section 86-2.40 to Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 2808(2-c)
Subject: Statewide Pricing Methodology for Nursing Homes.

Purpose: To establish a new Medicaid reimbursement methodology for
Nursing Homes.

Text or summary was published in the November 6, 2013 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. HLT-45-13-00006-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment

The agency received no public comment.
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Empire Clinical Research Investigator Program (ECRIP)

L.D. No. HLT-46-13-00003-A
Filing No. 118

Filing Date: 2014-02-04
Effective Date: 2014-02-19

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of section 86-1.46 to Title 10 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 2807-m

Subject: Empire Clinical Research Investigator Program (ECRIP).
Purpose: The redesigned ECRIP will continue individual physician
research awards and provide larger center awards to teaching hospitals.

Text or summary was published in the November 13, 2013 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. HLT-46-13-00003-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment

The Department received only one comment during the notice of
proposed rulemaking comment period and it relates to the timing of ECRIP
awards, not to the express terms of the proposed regulations or methodol-
ogy therein.

COMMENT: The commenter expressed concern over the January 15,
2014 deadline to hire research fellows for first year awards and requested
consideration be given to coordinating the hiring deadline with the aca-
demic calendar and graduate medical education program completion date
of June 30 which is when graduating physicians are likely to consider fel-
lowship opportunities. This would enable institutions the opportunity to
recruit quality fellows before they commit to out-of-state programs.

RESPONSE: The January date was chosen in order to make first year
awards prior to the end of the State fiscal year, March 31, 2014, otherwise
awardees would have lost an entire year of funding. Now that regulations
governing the program have been adopted, the timing of future awards
will be improved and institutions will have ample time to recruit quality
fellows. There is no hiring deadline in regulation, so the express terms of
the proposed regulations do not need to be revised to incorporate this
comment.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Capital Projects for Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)

I.D. No. HLT-46-13-00005-A
Filing No. 115

Filing Date: 2014-02-04
Effective Date: 2014-02-19

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 86-4.16 of Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 2807-z(9)

Subject: Capital Projects for Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs).
Purpose: Capital Projects with a total budget of less than $3 million shall
be exempt from Certificate of Need (CON) requirements.

Text or summary was published in the November 13, 2013 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. HLT-46-13-00005-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Revised Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory Authority:

The statutory authority for this regulation is contained in Public Health
Law (PHL) § 2807-z(9), which authorizes the Commissioner to promul-
gate regulations implementing the provisions of PHL § 2807-z, which,
among other things, exempts diagnostic and treatment centers (DTCs)
which are federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) from certificate of
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need (CON) requirements for capital projects which are budgeted at under
$3 million. The rate regulation revisions presented here are set forth in
section 86-4.16(d) of Title 10 (Health) of the Official Compilation of
Codes, Rules, and Regulations of the State of New York (NYCRR) and al-
lows certain Medicaid rate adjustments related to such CON exempt
capital projects.

Legislative Objectives:

PHL § 2807-z exempts FQHCs from having to seek CON review and
approval for certain capital projects with budgeted costs under $3 million.
This will allow such projects to go forward more quickly. The proposed
regulation amendment implements this statute by deleting the requirement
in § 86-4.16(d) for CON approval as a condition for FQHCs to secure
Medicaid rate adjustments associated with such now CON exempt capital
projects.

Needs and Benefits:

The proposed regulation implements the provisions of PHL Section
2807-z, which exempts certain types of diagnostic and treatment centers
from CON review for capital projects under $3 million. As specified in
PHL § 2807-z(6) and (7), the exempted facilities are those which receive
federal grant funding reflecting their designation by the federal govern-
ment as FQHCs or as rural health centers.

COSTS:

Costs to Private Regulated Parties:

There will be no additional costs to private regulated parties.

Costs to State Government:

The enacted state budget for SFY 2012-13 does not include any state
share annually to cover the anticipated 12 month total incremental cost to
the Medicaid Program for providing reimbursement related to eligible
capital projects. As the FQHC payment rate was not effective until after
January 1, 2013, less spending occurred in the 2012-13 fiscal year due to
the nine month delay in implementation.

Costs of Local Government:

Local districts’ share of Medicaid costs is statutorily capped; therefore,
there will be no additional costs to local governments as a result of this
proposed regulation.

Costs to the Department of Health:

There will be no additional costs to the Department of Health as a result
of this proposed regulation.

Local Government Mandates:

The proposed regulation does not impose any new programs, services,
duties or responsibilities upon any county, city, town, village, school
district, fire district or other special district.

Paperwork:

No additional paperwork is required to be filed by FQHCs.

Duplication:

This regulation does not duplicate any existing federal, state or local
government regulation.

Alternatives:

No significant alternatives are available. The enhanced reimbursement
available to FQHCs as a result of this proposed regulation ensures that
their Medicaid rates reflect appropriate adjustments related to CON
exempt capital projects and are therefore, are reasonable to meet the needs
of the diverse patient populations they serve.

Federal Standards:

The proposed regulation does not exceed any minimum standards of the
federal government for the same or similar subject areas.

Compliance Schedule:

The proposed regulation conforms Medicaid rate regulations with the
provisions of enacted provisions of the Public Health Law. There is no pe-
riod of time necessary for regulated parties to achieve compliance with the
regulation.

Assessment of Public Comment
The agency received no public comment.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Episodic Pricing for Certified Home Health Agencies (CHHAS)

L.D. No. HLT-46-13-00006-A
Filing No. 117

Filing Date: 2014-02-04
Effective Date: 2014-02-19

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of section 86-1.44 of Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 3614(13)
Subject: Episodic Pricing for Certified Home Health Agencies (CHHASs).
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Purpose: To exempt services to a special needs population from the
episodic payment system for CHHAs.

Text or summary was published in the November 13, 2013 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. HLT-46-13-00006-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment

The Department received one comment to this regulatory initiative. The
response to Home Care Association of NYS (HCA) letter of December
17,2013 follows:

1) In response to the comments from HCA that the OASIS — C assess-
ment instrument does not adequately capture the needs of the overall
Medicaid home care population, the Department has determined that in
applying risk adjustment to a population it is important to use the same
measurement set for all individuals in the analysis. The OASIS data set is
being employed because its use is mandated for all CHHAs by the federal
government and it is thus the best available data that covers all patients
across all CHHAs.

2) In response to the comments about changing the current regulatory
criteria used to determine the providers eligible to receive an episodic pay-
ment exemption or case mix adjustment, the Department has determined
that the existing regulatory criteria continue to be effective in insuring ad-
equate reimbursement for providers who serve a predominantly special
needs non-geriatric and/or OPWDD patient population. The Department
has determined that the existing regulatory criteria are adequate to insure
services for this targeted population of high needs patients.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Assisted Living Residences (ALRs) and Adult Care Facilities
(ACFs)

I.D. No. HLT-47-13-00013-A
Filing No. 113

Filing Date: 2014-02-03
Effective Date: 2014-02-19

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Amendment of sections 487.4 and 488.4 of Title 18
NYCRR; and section 1001.7 of Title 10 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Social Services Law, section 461; and Public Health
Law, section 4662

Subject: Assisted Living Residences (ALRs) and Adult Care Facilities
(ACFs).

Purpose: To simplify the pre-admission and annual resident medical
evaluation process for ALRs and ACFs.

Text or summary was published in the November 20, 2013 issue of the
Register, [.D. No. HLT-47-13-00013-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.state.ny.us

Assessment of Public Comment

The agency received no public comment.

Lake George Park Commission

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Mandatory Inspection of Trailered Vessels for Aquatic Invasive
Species Prior to Launching into Lake George

L.D. No. LGP-34-13-00001-A

Filing No. 111

Filing Date: 2014-01-31

Effective Date: 2014-05-15

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of Subpart 646-9 to Title 6 NYRR.

Statutory authority: Environmental Conservation Law, sections 43-
0117(4), 43-0107(8) and (32)

Subject: Mandatory inspection of trailered vessels for aquatic invasive
species prior to launching into Lake George.

Purpose: To minimize the introduction and spread of aquatic invasive
species into Lake George.

Text or summary was published in the August 21, 2013 issue of the Reg-
ister, I.D. No. LGP-34-13-00001-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Revised rule making(s) were previously published in the State Register
on December 24, 2013.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Dave Wick, Executive Director, Lake George Park Commission, 75
Fort George Road, P.O. Box 749, Lake George, NY 12845, (518) 668-
9347, email: dave@lgpc.state.ny.us

Initial Review of Rule

As a rule that requires a RFA, RAFA or JIS, this rule will be initially
reviewed in the calendar year 2015, which is no later than the 3rd year af-
ter the year in which this rule is being adopted.

Assessment of Public Comment

1. Introduction

The Lake George Park Commission (Commission) published a Notice
of Revised Proposed Rule Making in the State Register on December 24,
2013. The Commission received the following comments on the revised
regulations and prepared the following responses:

Comment #1: John Campbell

Mr. Campbell is a resident of Putnam Station on the east side of Lake
George, and is concerned about the travel time to one of the five proposed
inspection stations. He advocates for the Commission to provide for a
“roving technician” to visit the launch sites on the east side of the lake.

Response: The Commission’s originally planned five regional inspec-
tion stations have been increased to six stations to better accommodate
launches on the east side of the Lake, in particular the Huletts Landing
area of the lake. Through a contractual agreement with Huletts Landing
Marina, a full inspection and decontamination facility will be located on
its property. This new site is anticipated to address the majority of the
launches in that area of the lake. The concept of a “roving technician” was
envisioned to provide for staffing as the needs arose at the existing inspec-
tion stations in times of high traffic. The concept was not intended to mean
a technician would travel from launch site to launch site in anticipation of
boat traffic, which would result in difficultly for the boating public who
wouldn’t know when a technician would be at any given location. The
Commission will continually evaluate launch data on the lake, and will
work to modify the logistics of inspection stations as needed to best meet
the needs of the boating public on Lake George.

Comment #2: Bernie Gambacorta

Mr. Gambacorta asked whether the Commission Marine Patrol could
have divers inspecting boats in various bays when the patrol is working in
those areas. He also noted that private marinas could possibly do a cursory
check of boats prior to launch.

Response: The Commission’s proposed AIS prevention program
focuses on a mandatory inspection of all trailered vessels prior to launch
into Lake George. As such, there would be no need for divers doing in-
lake inspections, nor would marinas be required to do their own AIS
inspections, as they would have been inspected at the Commission regional
inspection stations. A marina would be required to register its launch site
with the Commission and would have responsibility to check to see if the
boat has an inspection tag in place and to remove the tag, to place a tag on
boats exiting the lake that meet the cleaned and dried standard, and to
maintain records of launches and inspection tags. More details on the
program are available in the Commission’s AIS Prevention Plan and Ge-
neric Environmental Impact Statement, located on the Commission’s
website.

Comment #3: Tim Post

Mr. Post advocates for the Commission to not implement the manda-
tory inspection program, but to continue with the voluntary program. He
expresses concerns over cost to the user, and is concerned that the lake
will be essentially closed to outside boaters due to cost and access. He
notes that there should be no fees associated with the cleaning of boats.

Response: As proposed, there will be no cost to the boater for the
implementation of the pilot program. All costs are being borne by the
State of New York and by local municipalities and nonprofit organizations.
The mandatory pilot program as proposed in these regulations was deemed
by the Commission to provide the highest practical level of protection
against the introduction of new aquatic invasive species into Lake George,
while also minimizing inconvenience to boaters. Inspection stations and
decontamination stations would be placed close to primary launch sites on
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Lake George to minimize delay in launching. The three most highly used
launch sites are Norowal Marina, Mossy Point and Roger’s Rock. It is
expected that an inspection/decontamination station will be located at
these locations to minimize impacts to boaters and reduce out-of-way
travel time to an inspection site. In addition, there would be two other
inspection stations located in Queensbury and Lake George, and another
station in Hulett’s Landing to minimize travel issues on the eastern side of
the lake. The six proposed inspection/decontamination stations around the
lake will provide an effective means of containing costs of the program
while offering an appropriate level of convenience to boaters who will not
be required to travel an excessive distance to get to an inspection station.
In order to address the concern about early morning launches at public
launch sites, the Commission is anticipating partnering with the New York
State Department of Environmental Conservation to develop a means to
accommodate reasonable access for early morning boaters by expanding
the hours of certain inspection stations, starting at 3 a.m., and allowing
means for those vessels who have been inspected to legally comply with
the program regardless of the time of day through drop boxes and/or other
means. In addition, the Commission has reviewed data from the Lake
George Association steward program to determine the times and locations
of high volume at launch sites. As a result, the Commission will address
these concerns with additional staffing at the various sites during expected
high volume times.

Comment #4: Tim Dorian

Mr. Dorian appreciates the efforts of the Commission regarding the
Asian clam control work in Glenburnie, where he is a resident. He inquires
as to what is planned with the Town of Putnam owned launch site at
Glenburnie if a mandatory inspection program is put into effect. He notes
that the Glenburnie area residents use this launch.

Response: The Town of Putnam has sole operating authority over their
launches on Lake George. However, under the proposed program, it would
be illegal to launch an uninspected boat into Lake George from any launch
site, regardless of the owner of the launch. Putnam Town Supervisor John
LaPointe has noted that this site is not actually a public launch site, and its
use is limited to fire protection access only. Operations at this site are not
the purview of the Commission, but rather of the Town of Putnam. Discus-
sions between the Commission and the Town of Putnam are ongoing.

Comment #5: Joseph Bode

Mr. Bode agrees with the regulations and the need for a mandatory boat
inspection program on Lake George. He noted that all users of the lake, if
ultimately required to contribute financially to this program, should con-
tribute equally regardless of whether or not they are “Lake George Only”
boats. He offered a few suggestions:

o After-hours, perhaps a seal could be just put on the trailer if no at-
tendants are in place

o Perhaps keep 24 hour staffing at two public launch points during the
peak season

Response: There will be no cost to any boaters for the mandatory
inspection program during the period of the proposed regulations. If the
program were to continue beyond the pilot period, a new rulemaking
would be required with an opportunity for public review and comment.
Tagging just the trailer would not work with the existing program, as the
boat could be launched anywhere else and the tag would remain in place
(i.e., no means to show compliance). The Commission anticipates that the
most-used launch sites, Rocky Point, Norowal, and Rogers Rock, will be
staffed 7 days a week for 9 to 24 hours per day through the busiest boating
seasons. The Commission is partnering with the New York State Depart-
ment of Environmental Conservation to develop a means to accommodate
reasonable access for early morning boaters by expanding the hours of
certain inspection stations, starting at 3 a.m., and allowing means for those
vessels who have been inspected to legally comply with the program
regardless of the time of day through drop boxes and/ or other means. The
Commission is open to ideas and ongoing dialogue about how to best
implement this pilot program and make it as efficient and effective as pos-
sible for Lake George’s boating public.
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Power Authority of the State of
New York

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Rates for the Sale of Power and Energy

L.D. No. PAS-42-13-00007-A
Filing Date: 2014-02-04
Effective Date: 2014-02-04

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Decrease the Fixed Costs component of the production
rates.

Statutory authority: Public Authorities Law, section 1005(5)

Subject: Rates for the Sale of Power and Energy.

Purpose: To Recover the Authority’s Fixed Costs.

Substance of final rule: The Power Authority’s Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking published October 16, 2013, proposed to decrease the Fixed
Costs component of the production rates by 5.3% to be charged to the
New York City Governmental Customers (“Customers”). Comments on
the proposal were received from the Customers. Based on those comments
and further analysis by staff, the Authority determined that the Fixed Costs
component of the production rates should be decreased by 9.9%. This
decrease is greater than that proposed in the Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking. The new rates will be effective commencing with the Janu-
ary 2014 billing period.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: Substantial revisions
were made in the First Part.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Karen Delince, Corporate Secretary, Power Authority of the State
of New York, 123 Main Street - 11P, White Plains, New York 10601,
(914) 390-8085, email: karen.delince@nypa.gov

Revised Regulatory Impact Statement

A revised regulatory impact statement is not submitted with this notice
because the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Revised Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

A revised regulatory flexibility analysis is not submitted with this notice
because the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Revised Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

A revised rural area flexibility analysis is not submitted with this notice
because the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Revised Job Impact Statement

A revised job impact statement is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

Assessment of Public Comment

An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Rates for the Sale of Power and Energy

L.D. No. PAS-42-13-00008-A
Filing Date: 2014-02-04
Effective Date: 2014-02-04

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Increase in Production Rates.

Statutory authority: Public Authorities Law, section 1005(5)
Subject: Rates for the Sale of Power and Energy.

Purpose: To align rates and costs.
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Text or summary was published in the October 16, 2013 issue of the Reg-
ister, I.D. No. PAS-42-13-00008-P.

Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.

Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Karen Delince, Corporate Secretary, Power Authority of the State
of New York, 123 Main Street, 11-P, White Plains, New York 10601,
(914) 390-8085, email: karen.delince@nypa.gov

Revised Regulatory Impact Statement

A revised regulatory impact statement is not submitted with this notice
because the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Revised Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

A revised regulatory flexibility analysis is not submitted with this notice
because the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Revised Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

A revised rural area flexibility analysis is not submitted with this notice
because the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii)
of the State Administrative Procedure Act.

Revised Job Impact Statement

A revised job impact statement is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

Assessment of Public Comment

An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

Public Service Commission

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Water Rates and Charges
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00011-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: United Water New York Inc. requests a Long-Term
Water Supply Surcharge to recover certain costs of the Haverstraw Water
Supply Project. Implementation of the surcharge on a temporary basis,
subject to refund or reparation, is one option to be considered.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4, 5, 89-a, 89-b, 89-c,
113 and 114

Subject: Water rates and charges.

Purpose: Implementation of Long-Term Water Supply Surcharge on a
temporary basis, subject to refund or reparation.

Public hearing(s) will be held at: 10:30 a.m., April 9, 2014 at Department
of Public Service, Three Empire State Plaza, 3rd Fl1. Hearing Rm., Albany,
NY.

*On occasion, there are requests to reschedule or postpone evidentiary
hearing dates. If such a request is granted, notification of any subsequent
scheduling changes will be available at the DPS website
(www.dps.ny.gov) under Case 13-W-0246.

Interpreter Service: Interpreter services will be made available to hearing
impaired persons, at no charge, upon written request submitted within rea-
sonable time prior to the scheduled public hearing. The written request
must be addressed to the agency representative designated in the paragraph
below.

Accessibility: All public hearings have been scheduled at places reason-
ably accessible to persons with a mobility impairment.

Substance of proposed rule:

The Commission is considering a petition with a related tariff amend-
ment filed by United Water New York Inc. (UWNY or the Company) to
implement a Long-Term Water Supply Surcharge (LTWSS Statement No.
2)to P.S.C. No. [—Water, to recover costs associated with the Haverstraw
Water Supply Project, a major long-term water supply project. The
proposed LTWSS Statement No. 2 had an effective date of October 1,
2013 but was subsequently suspended first through January 28, 2014 and
then again through July 28, 2014.

The Company’s petition is available on the Commission’s website
(www.dps.ny.gov) under Commission Documents — Search for Case 13-
W-0246. The Commission may approve, modify or reject the petition, in
whole or in part, or adopt counterproposals filed by other parties in re-
sponse to the petition or otherwise take action related to the petition con-
sistent with the record developed in this proceeding. One option the Com-
mission may consider is the implementation of the surcharge on a
temporary basis, subject to refund or reparation.

The schedule for consideration of this matter, including the date for a
hearing, may be modified in response to requests from the parties or
otherwise to accommodate the needs for efficient administration of this
matter. Persons interested in following the course of the proceeding are
therefore urged to consult the Commission website for updates and further
developments in the case.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: Five days after the last scheduled
public hearing.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(13-W-0246SP3)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Water Rates and Charges
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00012-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering a peti-
tion by United Water New York Inc., requesting approval to implement a
Long-Term Water Supply Surcharge to recover certain costs associated
with the Haverstraw Water Supply Project.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4, 5, 89-a, 89-b and
89-c

Subject: Water rates and charges.

Purpose: Implementation of Long-Term Water Supply Surcharge to re-
cover costs associated with the Haverstraw Water Supply Project.

Public hearing(s) will be held at: 10:30 a.m., April 9, 2014 at Department
of Public Service, Three Empire State Plaza, 3rd Fl., Albany, NY.

*On occasion, there are requests to reschedule or postpone eviden-
tiary hearing dates. If such a request is granted, notification of any
subsequent scheduling changes will be available at the DPS website
(www.dps.ny.gov) under Case 13-W-0246.

Interpreter Service: Interpreter services will be made available to hearing
impaired persons, at no charge, upon written request submitted within rea-
sonable time prior to the scheduled public hearing. The written request
must be addressed to the agency representative designated in the paragraph
below.

Accessibility: All public hearings have been scheduled at places reason-
ably accessible to persons with a mobility impairment.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering a petition
with a related tariff amendment filed by United Water New York Inc.
(UWNY or the Company) to implement a Long-Term Water Supply Sur-
charge (LTWSS Statement No. 2) to P.S.C. No. | — Water, to recover
costs associated with the Haverstraw Water Supply Project, a major long-
term water supply project. The proposed LTWSS Statement No. 2 had an
effective date of October 1, 2013 but was subsequently suspended first
through January 28, 2014 and then again through July 28, 2014.

The Company’s petition is available on the Commission’s website
(www.dps.ny.gov) under Commission Documents — Search for Case 13-
W-0246. The Commission may approve, modify or reject the petition, in
whole or in part, or adopt counterproposals filed by other parties in re-
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sponse to the petition or otherwise take action related to the petition con-
sistent with the record developed in this proceeding.

The schedule for consideration of this matter, including the date for a
hearing, may be modified in response to requests from the parties or
otherwise to accommodate the needs for efficient administration of this
matter. Persons interested in following the course of the proceeding are
therefore urged to consult the Commission website for updates and further
developments in the case.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: Five days after the last scheduled
public hearing.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(13-W-0246SP2)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Refueling Options for the Dunkirk Generating Station Located in
Dunkirk, New York, and Alternatives

L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00004-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering whether to adopt,
modify, or reject, in whole or in part, the proposed agreement between
Dunkirk Power LLC and Niagara Mohawk Power Corporation d/b/a
National Grid to refuel the Dunkirk generating plant.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(1)(b), (2), 65(1),
66(1), (2), (4), (5), (9) and (12)

Subject: Refueling options for the Dunkirk generating station located in
Dunkirk, New York, and alternatives.

Purpose: To establish whether utility plans should include refueling op-
tions for the Dunkirk generating station, or other alternatives.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission (Commis-
sion) is considering whether to adopt, modify, or reject, in whole or in
part, the proposed agreement filed with the Commission between Dunkirk
Power LLC and Niagara Mohawk Power Corporation d/b/a National Grid
to refuel the Dunkirk generating plant located in Dunkirk, New York, and
may address alternatives and other related matters.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
deborah.swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: Secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(12-E-0577SP3)
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PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00005-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by Rudin
Management Company to submeter electricity at 130 West 12th Street,
New York, New York.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14)

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of Rudin Management Company to
submeter electricity at 130 West 12th Street, New York, New York.
Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by
Rudin Management Company to submeter electricity at 130 West 12th
Street, New York, New York, located in the territory of Consolidated
Edison Company of New York, Inc.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(13-E-0582SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

2014 Budget for the Customer-Sited Tier (CST) of the Renewable
Portfolio Standard Program (RPS)

L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00006-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: NYSERDA proposes to allocate $11.6 million of the
total of unencumbered funds from the 2013 CST budget to ADG with the
balance going to a general pool for future disbursement, and permission to
allocate 2014 unencumbered budget funds to the pool in 2015.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(2) and 66(1)

Subject: The 2014 budget for the Customer-Sited Tier (CST) of the Re-
newable Portfolio Standard Program (RPS).

Purpose: To allow NYSERDA to rollover and reallocate 2013 CST
unused and unencumbered budget funds to 2014 CST program budgets.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
adopt, modify, or reject, in whole or in part, the request of the New York
State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) to real-
locate approximately $20.8 million of unencumbered funds from the 2013
Renewable Portfolio Program (RPS) Customer-Sited Tier (CST) budget to
2014 CST program budgets. In particular, the Commission is considering
NYSERDA’s “Petition Regarding Unencumbered CST Funds” dated
January 31, 2014, which proposes that the Commission approve the real-
location of $11.6 million of unencumbered 2013 CST budget funds
specifically to Anaerobic Digester Generation Technology while reserv-
ing the remaining $9.2 million in a general funding pool to allow
NYSERDA the flexibility to better meet the market demand and funding
needs of each program technology. NYSERDA also requests this funding
flexibility for 2015 as well. The Commission may grant or deny the peti-
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tion and may make other changes to the RPS CST program as necessary to
address the 1ssues raised in the petition.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(03-E-0188SP46)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Consideration of the National Fuel Gas Distribution
Management Audit Implementation Plan

L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00007-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: The Commission is considering whether to approve,
modify or reject, in whole or in part, the Management Audit Implementa-
tion Plan submitted by National Fuel Gas Distribution Corporation for
review and approval as Ordered on August 21, 2013.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(19)b

Subject: Consideration of the National Fuel Gas Distribution Manage-
ment Audit Implementation Plan.

Purpose: To approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, National Fuel
Gas Corporation’s Management Audit Implementation Plan.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, the Management Audit
Implementation Plan submitted by the National Fuel Gas Distribution
Corporation (NFGDC) in response to the Commission’s August 21, 2013
Order in Case 11-G-0580. NFGDC initially filed its implementation plan
on September 18, 2013, but the company subsequently provided a revised
implementation plan on January 17, 2014.

NFGDC’s implementation plan, as revised, addresses the 76 recom-

mendations contained in the Final Audit Report that was prepared by
Schumaker & Company in regards to the comprehensive management and
operations audit of NFGDC.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(11-G-0580SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
LD. No. PSC-07-14-00008-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition of Greater Centen-
nial Homes HDFC, Inc. to submeter electricity at 102, 103 and 106 West
5Sth Street, et al.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14)

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of Greater Centennial Homes HDFC,
Inc. to submeter electricity at 102, 103 and 106 West Sth Street, et al.
Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition of
Greater Centennial Homes HDFC, Inc. to submeter electricity at 102, 103
and 106 West 5th Street, 127, 129, 266, 268 West 4th Street, 254 and 262
South 9th Street, 329, 333, 337, 338, 342, 343, 346, 347, 350, 351, 403,
407,408, 416 8th Ave. and 257 South 10th Avenue and 69 West 5th Street,
located in the territory of Consolidated Edison Company of New York,
Inc.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(12-E-0409SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00009-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by Rudin
Management Company to submeter electricity at 130-155 11th Street and
140-160 West 12th Street, New York, New York.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14).

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of Rudin Management Company to
submeter electricity at 130-155 11th Street, et al.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by
Petition of Rudin Management Company, Inc. to submeter electricity at
130-155 11th Street and 140-160 West 12th Street, New York, New York,
located in the territory of Consolidated Edison Company of New York,
Inc.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.
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(13-E-0583SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00010-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by 172 River
Street Assoc., LLC to submeter electricity at 172-176 River Street, Troy,
New York.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14)

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of 172 River Street Assoc., LLC to
submeter electricity at 172-176 River Street, Troy, New York.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition of 172
River Street Assoc., LLC to submeter electricity at 172-176 River Street,
Troy, New York, located in the territory of Niagara Mohawk Power
Corporation.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0018SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
I.D. No. PSC-07-14-00013-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by 855 MRU
LLC to submeter electricity at 855 Sixth Avenue, New York, New York.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14)

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of 855 MRU LLC to submeter electric-
ity at 855 Sixth Avenue, New York, New York.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by
855 MRU LLC to submeter electricity at 855 Sixth Avenue, New York,
New York, located in the territory of Consolidated Edison Company of
New York, Inc.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
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Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0024SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00014-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by Dock Street
Rental LLC to submeter electricity at 60 Water Street, Brooklyn, New
York.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14)

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of Dock Street Rental LLC to submeter
electricity at 60 Water Street, Brooklyn, New York.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by
Dock Street Rental LLC to submeter electricity at 60 Water Street,
Brooklyn, located in the territory of Consolidated Edison Company of
New York, Inc.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0029SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Establish a Deferral Cost Recovery Method
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00015-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering whether to approve,
modify, or reject, in whole or in part, a proposal by Niagara Mohawk
Power Corporation d/b/a National Grid (NMPC) to establish a deferral
cost recovery method in P.S.C. No. 220 — Electricity.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4, 5, 65 and 66
Subject: Establish a deferral cost recovery method.

Purpose: To allow NMPC to establish a deferral cost recovery method.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to approve, modify, or reject, in whole or in part, the method
of deferral cost recovery proposed by Niagara Mohawk Power Corpora-
tion d/b/a National Grid (NMPC) in its petition filed in Case 14-E-0026 on
January 28, 2014. The Public Service Commission, on January 28, 2014,
adopted an order waiving, on a one-time basis, the requirements of certain
tariff provisions of NMPC related to the method by which mass market
customers (residential and small commercial customers) are billed so that
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the Company can apply a credit to customers to mitigate the impacts of the
extreme weather effects on commodity prices. In that Order, the Commis-
sion denied NMPC’s proposed deferral cost recovery method pending fur-
ther review and public comment.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen Burgess, Secre-
tary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 474-4535, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0026SP2)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Electric Vehicle Charging Stations
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00016-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering a tariff filing by
Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc. (Con Ed) proposing
revisions to its tariff schedule PSC No. 10—Electricity to become effec-
tive May 12, 2014.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(12)
Subject: Electric Vehicle Charging Stations.

Purpose: To make tariff revisions to Special Provision B of SCs 2, 8, 9,
12 and 13 regarding electric vehicle charging stations.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, a tariff filing by Consolidated
Edison Company of New York, Inc. (Con Edison) to make revisions to
P.S.C. No. 10 - Electricity, regarding Electric Vehicle Charging Stations,
to become effective May 12, 2014. Special Provision B of Service Clas-
sifications (“SCs”) 2, 8, 9, 12, and 13 indicates that the Customer cannot
make a specific charge for the electric service furnished under those SCs
unless the service is submetered pursuant to Rider G - Submetering. The
Company proposes to revise Special Provision B of SCs 2, 8,9, 12, and 13
to indicate that the Customer cannot make a specific charge for the
electricity unless the electricity is submetered pursuant to Rider G “or the
electricity is provided by a publicly available electric charging station
providing electric vehicle charging services to the public.”

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0030SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Petition for Submetering of Electricity
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00017-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering whether
to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by Bridge
Land West LLC to submeter electricity at 460 Washington Street, New
York, New York.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2, 4(1), 30, 32-48, 52,
53,65(1), 66(1), (2), (3), (4), (12) and (14)

Subject: Petition for submetering of electricity.

Purpose: To consider the request of Bridge Land West LLC to submeter
electricity at 460 Washington Street, New York, New York.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing whether to grant, deny or modify, in whole or part, the petition filed by
Bridge Land West LLC to submeter electricity at 460 Washington Street,
New York, New York, located in the territory of Consolidated Edison
Company of New York, Inc.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0032SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Minor Electric Rate Filing
L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00018-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering a tariff filing by the
Village of Freeport, requesting approval to increase its annual revenues by
approximately $927,719 or 2.5% in P.S.C. No. 9 — Electricity, to become
effective June 1, 2014.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(12)
Subject: Minor electric rate filing.

Purpose: To approve an increase in annual electric revenues by about
$927,719 or 2.5%.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, a tariff filing by the Village
of Freeport, requesting approval to increase its annual revenues by about
$927,719 or 2.5% to P.S.C. No. 9 — Electricity. The proposed filing has
an effective date of June 1, 2014.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
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Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-E-0035SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Monthly Cost of Gas and Annual Reconciliation of Purchased
Gas Expenses and Gas Cost Recoveries

L.D. No. PSC-07-14-00019-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering whether or approve or
reject, in whole or in part, a proposal by Niagara Mohawk Power Corpora-
tion d/b/a National Grid to make various changes to the rates, charges,
rules and regulations contained in P.S.C. No. 219 — Gas.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 65 and 66(12)

Subject: Monthly cost of gas and annual reconciliation of purchased gas
expenses and gas cost recoveries.

Purpose: To update and clarify the various gas expenses, gas charges and
revenue adjustments included in the monthly gas calculations.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, a tariff filing by Niagara
Mohawk Power Corporation d/b/a National Grid (the Company) to clarify
the tariff provisions related to the calculation of the monthly cost of gas
and the annual reconciliation of purchased gas expenses and gas cost
recoveries. Specifically, the Company is updating and clarifying the vari-
ous gas expenses, gas charges and revenue adjustments that are included
in these calculations. The Company is also proposing to update the Gen-
eral Information Section to include definitions for off-system transactions
and asset management agreement. The filing has an effective date of June
1,2014. The Commission may apply its decision here to other utilities.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-G-0031SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Water Rates and Charges
LD. No. PSC-07-14-00020-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Public Service Commission is considering a peti-
tion by the Village of Pelham, requesting approval to have costs for
infrastructure maintenance and access to be included in the rates charged
to all customer classes within the Village of Pelham.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(1)(f), 89-c(1)
and (10)

Subject: Water rates and charges.

Purpose: To have costs for infrastructure maintenance and access to be
included in the rates charged to all customer classes.

Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to
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approve, modify or reject, in whole or in part, a petition by the Village of
Pelham, requesting approval per the Laws of New York, Chapter 433,
requiring the Commission to issue an order to United Water New Rochelle,
Inc. to have costs for infrastructure maintenance and access to be included
in the rates charged to all customer classes and apportioned among all
customers located within the Village of Pelham. Although this rate change
will have a revenue neutral impact on the utility’s annual revenues, it will
result in an increase to all customers within the municipality of the Village
of Pelham.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact:
Deborah Swatling, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza,
Albany, New York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2659, email:
Deborah.Swatling@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.

(14-W-0027SP1)

Department of Transportation

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Financial Security Requirements (Insurance and Bonding) for
Permits to Perform Work on State Highways

L.D. No. TRN-07-14-00001-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: This is a consensus rule making to repeal section 125.3
and Part 127; addition of sections 127.1 and 127.8; and amendment of sec-
tion 129.3 of Title 17 NYCRR.

Statutory authority: Highway Law, sections 52 and 10; and Vehicle and
Traffic Law, sections 1182 and 1182-a

Subject: Financial security requirements (insurance and bonding) for
permits to perform work on state highways.

Purpose: To set minimum standards for insurance, bonding and other
alternative means of protection for permitted activity.

Substance of proposed rule (Full text is posted at the following State
website:www.dot.ny.gov/Part127Rulemaking): The revisions to Part 127
consolidate all NYS Department of Transportation requirements for insur-
ance and bonding in connection with permitted work and activity within
the state highway right-of-way under the revised title “Financial Security.”

The primary difference to the insurance requirements is to eliminate the
current requirement that permittees purchase “protective liability insur-
ance” for most permits. The requirement for protective liability coverage
will remain in two cases: for residential driveways permits where the
permittee is the property owner, and for and large commercial projects
where the value of work within the state highway right-of-way is valued at
$250,000 or more. Permittees will not otherwise be required to buy protec-
tive liability insurance. Permittees desiring permits for residential
driveways may continue to pay the $25 insurance fee rather than purchase
a policy.

The revision substitutes, in most cases, the current “protective liability”
requirement with a formal requirement that permittees have “general li-
ability insurance” (usually commercial general liability or “CGL” insur-
ance) of their own regarding the project that brings them to work on the
state highway. In most cases the aggregate level of insurance protection
remains unchanged at $1,000,000. Contractors performing work on resi-
dential driveways are required to have liability insurance with limits of
only $500,000. The difference is that permittees must assure that the State
of New York is also afforded insurance under this policy against claims
that arise out of the permittee’s work, by adding the state as an additional
insured.


mailto: secretary@dps.ny.gov
mailto: secretary@dps.ny.gov

NYS Register/February 19, 2014

Rule Making Activities

The changes to the insurance requirements incorporate types and levels
of insurance that permittees typically already have, necessitating only that
the permittee’s insurance agent be notified and providing a certificate of
insurance to document the required coverage. In order to assure coverage
under the contractor’s policy, a previously-existing indemnification
requirement is being formalized in the regulations, requiring that permit-
tees defend and indemnify the State of New York against claims that arise
out of their permit work. For permitted work that poses a high risk of
claims because of construction that includes either excavation to a depth
of five feet or more, or work at elevated locations, or work valued at
$250,000 or more, a higher level of protection, to $5,000,000 is required.

The changes also incorporate insurance requirements that are currently
applied for several kinds of permits that are not currently issued pursuant
to regulations called “special use permits.” The revision also incorporates
workers’ compensation requirements already imposed by section 57 of the
workers’ compensation law.

The revision consolidates the performance bond and deposit require-

ment previously found at section 125.3 affording the same options for se-
curity as before, but also providing an additional security option of post-
ing a “letter of credit.” The revision continues to provide the slightly re-
worded alternative of posting an undertaking for municipalities, utilities,
public benefit corporations and railroads that continues to excuse these
permittees from both insurance and bonding requirements in return for a
contractual promise to accept responsibility.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: David E. Winans, Esq., Associate Counsel, NYS Depart-
ment of Transportation, 50 Wolf Rd., Albany, NY 12232, (518) 457-5793,
email: david.winans@dot.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Consensus Rule Making Determination

Statement of Agency Determination that No Person is Likely to object
to Rule as Written Concerning Revisions to 17 NYCRR Part 127 on
Financial Responsibility for Permits

SAPA Section 202(1)(b)(i)

The Department of Transportation is revising its rules relating to the
financial responsibility requirements (insurance and bonding) necessary to
obtain permits for work or other activities within state highway right-of-
way. Although the wording is being changed for ease of application, the
only substantive change is to substitute a kind of insurance that most
permittees already have, for the type of insurance that is currently required.
There is a need to effect these changes quickly because of widespread
non-compliance with the existing rule that requires the purchase of
“protective liability” insurance for the benefit of the State of New York or
the payment of an “insurance fee” by certain eligible permittees. Because
the Department expects no objections to the proposed changes and because
the changes will make compliance with permit requirements faster and
easier, we are advancing these changes as a consensus rule.

Background Information. Work within the state highway right of way
requires a permit from the Department. Highway Law Section 52. Work
on the state highway that is not related to a state highway project without
the required permit is a violation of Vehicle & Traffic Law Section 1220-c.
Other activities in the state highway right-of-way require adherence to the
laws that govern vehicles and pedestrians. In some instances the regula-
tion of non-highway uses are regulated by the Department. See, Vehicle &
Traffic Law Section 1182 as relates to “speed contests and races” and Sec-
tion 1182-a as relates to multi-jurisdictional contests, races and events.
Other activities within the state highway right-of-way that do not conform
to the “rules of the road” fall under the commissioner’s jurisdiction
because of her general duties and powers to control highways and bridges.
See, Highway Law Section 10.

The Department has for many years regulated the non-highway use of
state right-of-way through a system of licensing or permits that are issued
to those seeking to perform or host the work, activity or event. The rela-
tionship between the Department and the persons seeking permission for
such activities is that of an owner and a permittee. In all cases, the State
retains ownership of the state property, while giving permission to the
“Permittee” to perform the work, engage in the activity, or host the event
that is sanctioned by the approved permit. In regulating activities under a
permit, the paramount concerns of the Department are (1) public safety,
(2) the orderly flow of transportation, and (3) the preservation of state
property, including possible liability that could be attached to the permit-
ted work or activity. Thus, conditions have long been imposed upon
Permittee activity either through regulations found at Parts 125, 126, 127,
128, 129, 130, 131, 132, and 134, or through internal Department
procedures (particularly in the case of Special Use Permits for races,
parades, and other events). These conditions include, among other things,
rules on traffic control, acceptable designs, limitations on use, and require-
ments for insurance and bonding.

The department issues between 6,500 and 7,500 highway work permits
each year. Over half of these are issued for various utility activities and
operations. The remaining non-utility permits are issued for major com-
mercial developments, residential and minor commercial driveways, resi-
dential and commercial improvements, traffic control signals, Adopt-a-
Highway groups, and a variety of other miscellaneous construction
activities and work operations. The Department has also instituted policies
and procedures for the issuance of Special Use permits.

Financial responsibility Requirements Attached to Permitted Activity.
The Department has long required that, as a condition of permitted activ-
ity, that the Permittee meet minimum standards of financial responsibility
calculated to protect the State from potential liability that might arise from
the permitted activity. This insurance requirement is set forth in Part 127.
There is a similar insurance requirement in Section 129.3 for annual main-
tenance permits.

Over the last ten years the Department has become aware of only a few
claims arising from permit work. Three of these claims resulted in action
against the State. It is believed that there are other accidents related to
permit work that have resulted in claims against the permittees. Although
NYSDOT regulations do not currently require that permittees carry insur-
ance, it is believed that all or almost all of them do, so that the claims that
have arisen very seldom involve the State. Typical claims involve motor-
ists who sustain minor property damage because of a condition relating to
the permitted work or because of a collision with a vehicle being used in
connection with the work.

The Department also imposes requirements for performance security as
a condition of issuing most permits. Section 125.3 sets forth the require-
ments for bonds or deposits for driveways or other entrances. References
are made to bonding requirements in Section 126.6 for permits in general,
in Section 129.3 for maintenance permits, in Section 131.16 for utility
permits, and in Section 134.5 for vegetation control permits.

Problem Necessitating Changes to part 127. The primary problem with
the existing regulations concerns compliance with the requirement for
protective liability insurance (OCP for owners and contractors liability
insurance). OCP insurance covers ONLY the State of New York and
provides no protection to the Permittee or for the benefit of the public.
OCP insurance is written on a project-specific basis for the specific loca-
tion of the permitted activity. Permittees who are required to get OCP
coverage need to go to an insurance company and buy it each and every
time that they apply for a permit.

Although OCP is priced based upon the value of the labor for the proj-
ect, it is generally subject to a minimum premium that varies from one in-
surance agent to another. This minimum premium might be as high as
$5,000. What this means is that in order to comply with the current insur-
ance requirements that have been in place since 1993, a Permittee must
purchase a special policy for the State on every project. The limits of li-
ability that the existing regulations require are generally unavailable
because the policies are generally written for $1 million per occurrence.
The premium for the OCP may be several times the cost of the project be-
ing performed. The OCP policy covers only the State of New York. There
is no requirement that the Permittee have any other kind of insurance,
even those mandated by Article 7 of the Vehicle & Traffic Law. There is
no requirement for workers’ compensation insurance as is required by
Workers” Compensation Law Section 57.

Fortunately, the more conventional types of insurance for workers’
compensation, auto liability and general liability do not seem to be a
problem for permittees. Proof of insurance is furnished to the Department
using a certificate of insurance. In many cases where the certificate has
been examined closely, we have found that the type of insurance actually
documented is commercial general liability (CGL) and not the required
OCP insurance. This discrepancy has put the Department in the position
of either enforcing a high-cost insurance requirement or ignoring the
Department’s own regulations or not issuing the permits required to
perform essential activities.

Purpose of Changes. The purpose of the revised revision to part 127 is
to make it easier and less expensive for permittees to obtain permits from
the Department by modifying the insurance requirements, while also
preserving the condition that the Permittee take responsibility for the risks
associated with the permit work, use, or activity. The revised regulations
accomplish this by conforming the insurance that will be required from a
policy that is expensive and hard to get (OCP), to an insurance that most
permittees already have (CGL). Because residential driveway work
involves very little risk and because CGL coverage is not afforded by
normal homeowners insurance, we are eliminating the insurance require-
ment for homeowners. We are also introducing a Letter of Credit alterna-
tive to the forms of performance security that may be provided by
permittees.

Because the proposed changes to part 127 serve to make it easier for
permittees to comply with bonding and insurance requirements, the
Department of Transportation has concluded that no person is likely to
object to these changes.
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Job Impact Statement

1. Nature of impact:

The proposed rule changes should not have any impact on jobs because
the resulting permit activity should be unaffected. The New York State
Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) is only substituting a type of in-
surance that is generally available at little or no extra cost for a type of in-
surance that is often expensive and/or commercially unavailable. The other
changes are a restatement of requirements that have been in place fore
many years. The changes should make permit issuance faster and more ef-
ficient, but it is not expected that the changes will result in more or fewer
jobs relating to work performed pursuant to a NYSDOT permit.

2. Categories and numbers affected:

NYSDOT issues between 6,500 and 7,500 highway work permits each
year. Over half of these permits are issued for various utility activities and
operations. Almost all of the utility permits are issued based, in part upon
an “undertaking” procedure that will be unaffected by the changes in the
regulations. Some of the remaining 3,250-3,750 permits are also issued by
using an undertaking however, the existing regulations require the
purchase of an insurance policy naming the State of New York as the only
insured, or the payment if an “insurance fee.” The only significant changes
in the regulations will change the requirement that the permittee buy a
special insurance policy for the State, and allow permittees to utilize in-
surance that they should already have. Neither the number of permits nor
the number of jobs relating to permit work should change.

3. Regions of adverse impact:

No disparate adverse impact on jobs in any region is anticipated. There
should be no impact on insurance cost even in the most densely urbanized
areas where medical expenses are highest, where the attitude is more liti-
gious and where the cost of insurance claims is correspondingly higher.
This is because permittees already operate in this environment and the
levels and costs of insurance that permittees are should already have is not
expected to change.

4. Minimizing adverse impact:

The purpose of the rule is to substitute a type of insurance that is gener-
ally available and already in place, for a requirement that permittees buy a
policy of insurance that may be expensive and not commercially available.
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