
RULE MAKING
ACTIVITIES

Each rule making is identified by an I.D. No., which consists
of 13 characters. For example, the I.D. No.
AAM-01-96-00001-E indicates the following:

AAM -the abbreviation to identify the adopting agency
01 -the State Register issue number
96 -the year
00001 -the Department of State number, assigned upon

receipt of notice.
E -Emergency Rule Making—permanent action

not intended (This character could also be: A
for Adoption; P for Proposed Rule Making; RP
for Revised Rule Making; EP for a combined
Emergency and Proposed Rule Making; EA for
an Emergency Rule Making that is permanent
and does not expire 90 days after filing.)

Italics contained in text denote new material. Brackets
indicate material to be deleted.

Department of Corrections and
Community Supervision

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Rochester Correctional Facility

I.D. No. CCS-08-15-00002-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: This is a consensus rulemaking to amend section
100.92(a) of Title 7 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Correction Law, section 70
Subject: Rochester Correctional Facility.
Purpose: To correct the address for Rochester Correctional Facility.
Text of proposed rule: Amend section 100.92 of 7 NYCRR, as follows:

(a) There shall be in the department a facility to be known as the Roch-
ester Correctional Facility, which shall be located at Rochester, in Monroe
County, New York, and which shall consist of the land and buildings at
470 Ford Street [55 Greig Street], formerly occupied by a Division for
Youth center.

(b) Rochester Correctional Facility shall be a correctional facility for
males of the age of 16 years or older.

(c) Rochester Correctional Facility shall be classified as a minimum se-
curity correctional facility, to be used for the following functions:

(1) residential treatment facility; and
(2) work release facility.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Kevin Bruen, Deputy Commissioner and Counsel, NYS
Department of Corrections and Community Supervision, 1220 Washington

Avenue - Harriman State Campus - Building 2, Albany, NY 12226-2050,
(518) 457-4951, email: Rules@Doccs.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Consensus Rule Making Determination

The Department of Correctional and Community Supervision (DOCCS)
has determined that no person is likely to object to the proposed action.
The amendment of this section corrects the address of Rochester Cor-
rectional Facility. The street where the original front entrance to the facil-
ity was located has been closed. A new front entrance has been located on
an adjacent street and a new address was assigned. See SAPA Section
102(11)(a).

The Department’s authority resides in section 70 of Correction Law,
which mandates that each correctional facility must be designated in the
rules and regulations of the Department and assigns the Commissioner the
duty to classify each facility with respect to the type of security maintained
and the function as specified. See Correction Law § 70(6).
Job Impact Statement
A job impact statement is not submitted because this proposed rulemaking
will merely correct the address for Rochester Correctional Facility. This
has no adverse impact on jobs or employment opportunities. Additionally,
there is no adverse impact on jobs or employment.

Education Department

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

New York State Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) in
Mathematics

I.D. No. EDU-48-14-00007-E
Filing No. 101
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-14

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: Amendment of section 100.5(g)(1)(ii)(a) of Title 8 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 101(not subdivided),
207(not subdivided), 208(not subdivided), 209(not subdivided), 305(1),
(2), 308(not subdivided), 309(not subdivided) and 3204(3)
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of general welfare.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The proposed
amendment is necessary to implement Regents policy to provide additional
flexibility in the transition to the Common Core Regents Examination in
Algebra I by allowing, at the local school district's discretion, an additional
opportunity for certain specified students to take the Regents Examination
in Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I
(Common Core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the
mathematics requirement for graduation by passing either examination.

The proposed amendment was adopted by emergency action at the
November 17-18, 2014 Regents meeting, effective November 18, 2014. A
Notice of Emergency Adoption and Proposed Rule Making was published
in the State Register on December 3, 2014.

Subsequently, the proposed amendment was revised to clarify, consis-
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tent with the intent of the Regents, to provide this additional flexibility
only for students who began Algebra I (Common Core) instruction prior
to the current school year, so as to provide the same flexibility for students
enrolled in four-semester “stretch” courses as had previously been avail-
able to students enrolled in two-semester courses or three-semester
“stretch” courses. The proposed amendment, as so revised, was adopted as
an emergency action at the December 14-15, 2014 Regents meeting, ef-
fective December 16, 2014.

The proposed amendment has now been adopted as a permanent rule at
the February 9-10, 2015 Regents meeting. Pursuant to SAPA § 203(1), the
earliest effective date of the permanent rule is February 25, 2015, the date
a Notice of Adoption will be published in the State Register. However, the
December emergency rule will expire on February 13, 2015, 60 days after
its filing with the Department of State on December 16, 2014. Emergency
action is therefore necessary for the preservation of the general welfare to
ensure that the proposed amendment adopted by emergency action at the
November 2014 Regents meeting, revised and readopted by emergency
action at the December 2014 Regents meeting, and adopted as a perma-
nent rule at the February 2015 Regents meeting, remains continuously in
effect until the effective date of its permanent adoption.
Subject: New York State Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) in
mathematics.
Purpose: To provide additional flexibility in the transition to the Common
Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by allowing, at the discre-
tion of the local school district, students receiving Algebra I (common
core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra in
addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I (common core) at the
June 2015 test administration, and meet the requirement for graduation by
passing either examination.
Text of emergency rule: Clause (a) of subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (1)
of subdivision (g) of section 100.5 of the Regulations of the Commis-
sioner of Education is amended, effective February 14, 2015, as follows:

(a) Students who first begin instruction in a commencement
level mathematics course aligned to the Common Core Learning Stan-
dards in September 2013 and thereafter shall meet the mathematics
requirement for graduation in clause (a)(5)(i)(b) of this section by passing
a commencement level Regents examination in mathematics that measures
the Common Core Learning Standards, or an approved alternative pursu-
ant to section 100.2(f) of this Part; provided that:

(1)(i) for the June 2014, August 2014 and January 2015
administrations only, students receiving algebra I (common core) instruc-
tion may, at the discretion of the applicable school district, take the
Regents examination in integrated algebra in addition to the Regents ex-
amination in algebra I (common core), and may meet the mathematics
requirement for graduation in clause (a)(5)(i)(b) of this section by passing
either examination; and

(ii) for the June 2015 administration only, students receiv-
ing algebra I (common core) instruction that began prior to September
2014 may, at the discretion of the applicable school district, take the
Regents examination in integrated algebra in addition to the Regents ex-
amination in algebra I (common core) and may meet the mathematics
requirement for graduation in clause (a)(5)(i)(b) of this section by passing
either examination; and

(2) . . .
This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt the provisions of this emergency rule as a
permanent rule, having previously submitted to the Department of State a
notice of proposed rule making, I.D. No. EDU-48-14-00007-EP, Issue of
December 3, 2014. The emergency rule will expire April 10, 2015.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kirti Goswami, State Education Department, Office of Counsel,
State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, NY
12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@mail.nysed.gov
Regulatory Impact Statement

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Education Law section 101 continues the existence of the Education

Department, with the Board of Regents at its head and the Commissioner
of Education as the chief administrative officer, and charges the Depart-
ment with the general management and supervision of public schools and
the educational work of the State.

Education Law section 207 empowers the Board of Regents and the
Commissioner to adopt rules and regulations to carry out laws of the State
regarding education and the functions and duties conferred on the Depart-
ment by law.

Education Law section 208 authorizes the Regents to establish examina-
tions as to attainments in learning and to award and confer suitable certifi-
cates, diplomas and degrees on persons who satisfactorily meet the
requirements prescribed.

Education Law section 209 authorizes the Regents to establish second-

ary school examinations in studies furnishing a suitable standard of gradu-
ation and of admission to colleges; to confer certificates or diplomas on
students who satisfactorily pass such examinations; and requires the
admission to these examinations of any person who shall conform to the
rules and pay the fees prescribed by the Regents.

Education Law section 305(1) and (2) provide that the Commissioner,
as chief executive officer of the State system of education and of the Board
of Regents, shall have general supervision over all schools and institutions
subject to the provisions of the Education Law, or of any statute relating to
education, and shall execute all educational policies determined by the
Board of Regents.

Education Law section 308 authorizes the Commissioner to enforce and
give effect to any provision in the Education Law or in any other general
or special law pertaining to the school system of the State or any rule or
direction of the Regents.

Education Law section 309 charges the Commissioner with the general
supervision of boards of education and their management and conduct of
all departments of instruction.

Education Law section 3204(3) provides for required courses of study
in the public schools and authorizes the State education department to
alter the subjects of required instruction.

2. LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:
The proposed rule is consistent with the authority conferred by the

above statutes and is necessary to implement policy enacted by the Board
of Regents relating to State learning standards, State assessments, gradua-
tion and diploma requirements, and higher levels of student achievement.

3. NEEDS AND BENEFITS:
The proposed amendment provides additional flexibility in the transi-

tion to the Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by
allowing, at the discretion of the local school district, students receiving
Algebra I (common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in
Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I
(common core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the require-
ment for graduation by passing either examination.

The last administrations of the current Regents Examinations in
Integrated Algebra, Geometry and Algebra 2/Trigonometry will be in
January 2015, January 2016, and January 2017, respectively. The transi-
tion plan for the new Regents Exams in Math (Common Core) includes
the following:

D Students who first begin instruction in a commencement level
mathematics course aligned to the CCLS in September 2013 and thereaf-
ter shall meet the mathematics requirement for graduation by passing a
commencement level Regents Examination in mathematics that measures
the CCLS, or an approved alternative.

D Students who first began or will complete an Integrated Algebra, Ge-
ometry, or Algebra 2/Trigonometry course prior to September 2013 shall
meet the mathematics requirements for graduation by passing the corre-
sponding Regents Examinations aligned to the Mathematics Core Curricu-
lum (Revised 2005), while those examinations are still being offered. For
the June 2014, August 2014 and January 2015 administrations only,
students receiving Algebra I (Common Core) instruction may, at local
discretion, take the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra (2005
Revised) in addition to the Regents Examination in Algebra I (Common
Core) and may meet the Mathematics graduation requirement by passing
either exam.

The proposed amendment would extend to the June 2015 test adminis-
tration, the option of taking the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra
(2005 Revised) in addition to the Regents Examination in Algebra I (Com-
mon Core) and meeting the Mathematics graduation requirement by pass-
ing either exam.

4. COSTS:
(a) Costs to State government: none.
(b) Costs to local government: none.
(c) Costs to private regulated parties: none.
(d) Costs to regulating agency for implementation and continued

administration of this rule: none.
The proposed amendment does not impose any direct costs to the State,

school districts, charter schools or the State Education Department. The
proposed amendment provides additional flexibility in the transition to the
Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by allowing, at
the discretion of the local school district, students receiving Algebra I
(common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in Integrated
Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I (common
core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the requirement for
graduation by passing either examination. It is anticipated that any indirect
costs associated with these requirements will be minimal and capable of
being absorbed using existing school resources.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional program, ser-

vice, duty or responsibility upon local governments. The proposed amend-
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ment would extend to the June 2015 test administration, the option of tak-
ing the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra (2005 Revised) in
addition to the Regents Examination in Algebra I (Common Core) and
meeting the Mathematics graduation requirement by passing either exam.
Whether or not to offer such option is within the discretion of each school
district.

6. PAPERWORK:
The proposed amendment does not impose any specific recordkeeping,

reporting or other paperwork requirements.
7. DUPLICATION:
The proposed amendment does not duplicate existing State or federal

requirements.
8. ALTERNATIVES:
There are no significant alternatives to the proposed amendment and

none were considered.
9. FEDERAL STANDARDS:
There are no related federal standards in this area.
10. COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:
The proposed amendment is necessary to implement requirements for

transitioning to Common Core mathematics examinations, and does not
impose any additional compliance requirements or costs on school districts
or charter schools. It is anticipated regulated parties will be able to achieve
compliance with the rule by its effective date. The proposed amendment
would extend to the June 2015 test administration, the option of taking the
Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra (2005 Revised) in addition to
the Regents Examination in Algebra I (Common Core) and meeting the
Mathematics graduation requirement by passing either exam. Whether or
not to offer such option is within the discretion of each school district.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Small Businesses:
The proposed amendment provides additional flexibility in the transi-

tion to the Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by
allowing, at the discretion of the local school district, students receiving
Algebra I (common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in
Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I
(common core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the require-
ment for graduation by passing either examination.

The proposed amendment relates to State learning standards, State as-
sessments, graduation and diploma requirements and higher levels of
student achievement, and does not impose any adverse economic impact,
reporting, record keeping or any other compliance requirements on small
businesses. Because it is evident from the nature of the proposed amend-
ment that it does not affect small businesses, no further measures were
needed to ascertain that fact and none were taken. Accordingly, a regula-
tory flexibility analysis for small businesses is not required and one has
not been prepared.

Local Government:
1. EFFECT OF RULE:
The proposed amendment applies to each of the 695 public school

districts in the State, and to charter schools that are authorized to issue
Regents diplomas with respect to State assessments and high school gradu-
ation and diploma requirements. At present, there are 34 charter schools
authorized to issue Regents diplomas.

2. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional compliance

requirements on school districts or charter schools. The proposed amend-
ment would extend to the June 2015 test administration, the option of tak-
ing the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra (2005 Revised) in ad-
dition to the Regents Examination in Algebra I (Common Core) and
meeting the Mathematics graduation requirement by passing either exam.
Whether or not to offer such option is within the discretion of each school
district or eligible charter school.

3. PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional professional

services requirements.
4. COMPLIANCE COSTS:
The proposed amendment does not impose any direct costs to school

districts or charter schools. The proposed amendment provides additional
flexibility in the transition to the Common Core-aligned Regents Exami-
nation in Algebra I by allowing, at the discretion of the local school
district, students receiving Algebra I (common core) instruction to take
the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents
examination in Algebra I (common core) at the June 2015 test administra-
tion, and meet the requirement for graduation by passing either
examination. It is anticipated that any indirect costs associated with these
requirements will be minimal and capable of being absorbed using exist-
ing school resources.

5. ECONOMIC AND TECHNOLOGICAL FEASIBILITY:
The proposed amendment does not impose any new technological

requirements on school districts or charter schools. Economic feasibility is
addressed in the Costs section above.

6. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed amendment does not directly impose any additional

compliance requirements or costs to school districts and charter schools.
The proposed amendment is necessary to implement Regents policy to
provide additional flexibility in the transition to the Common Core-aligned
Regents Examination in Algebra I by allowing, at the discretion of the lo-
cal school district, students receiving Algebra I (common core) instruction
to take the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra in addition to the
Regents examination in Algebra I (common core) at the June 2015 test
administration, and meet the requirement for graduation by passing either
examination. It is anticipated that any indirect costs associated with the
proposed amendment will be minimal and capable of being absorbed us-
ing existing school resources.

7. LOCAL GOVERNMENT PARTICIPATION:
Copies of the proposed amendment have been provided to District

Superintendents with the request that they distribute them to school
districts within their supervisory districts for review and comment. Copies
were also provided for review and comment to the chief school officers of
the five big city school districts and to charter schools.

8. INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):
Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the

State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed amendment is necessary to imple-
ment long-range Regents policy to provide additional flexibility in the
transition to the Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I
by allowing, at the discretion of the local school district, students receiv-
ing Algebra I (common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination
in Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I
(common core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the require-
ment for graduation by passing either examination.

The Department invites public comment on the proposed five year
review period for this rule. Comments should be sent to the agency contact
listed in item 16. of the Notice of Emergency Adoption and Proposed Rule
Making published herewith, and must be received within 45 days of the
State Register publication date of the Notice.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:
The proposed amendment applies to each of the 695 public school

districts in the State, including those located in the 44 rural counties with
less than 200,000 inhabitants and the 71 towns in urban counties with a
population density of 150 per square mile or less. The proposed amend-
ment also applies to charter schools in such areas, to the extent they offer
instruction in the high school grades and issue Regents diplomas. At pres-
ent, there is one charter school located in a rural area that is authorized to
issue Regents diplomas.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

The proposed amendment does not impose any additional compliance
requirements on school districts or charter schools located in rural areas.
The proposed amendment would extend to the June 2015 test administra-
tion, the option of taking the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra
(2005 Revised) in addition to the Regents Examination in Algebra I (Com-
mon Core) and meeting the Mathematics graduation requirement by pass-
ing either exam. Whether or not to offer such option is within the discre-
tion of each school district or charter school.

The proposed amendment does not impose any additional professional
services requirements.

3. COMPLIANCE COSTS:
The proposed amendment does not impose any direct costs to school

districts or charter schools located in rural areas. The proposed amend-
ment provides additional flexibility in the transition to the Common Core-
aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by allowing, at the discretion of
the local school district, students receiving Algebra I (common core)
instruction to take the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra in addi-
tion to the Regents examination in Algebra I (common core) at the June
2015 test administration, and meet the requirement for graduation by pass-
ing either examination. It is anticipated that any indirect costs associated
with these requirements will be minimal and capable of being absorbed
using existing school resources.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed amendment does not directly impose any additional

compliance requirements or costs to school districts and charter schools
located in rural areas. The proposed amendment is necessary to implement
Regents policy to provide additional flexibility in the transition to the
Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by allowing, at
the discretion of the local school district, students receiving Algebra I
(common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in Integrated
Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I (common
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core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the requirement for
graduation by passing either examination.

Because the Regents policy upon which the proposed amendment is
based applies to all school districts in the State and to charter schools au-
thorized to issue Regents diplomas, it is not possible to establish differing
compliance or reporting requirements or timetables or to exempt school
districts or charter schools from coverage by the proposed amendment.
The proposed amendment does not directly impose any additional compli-
ance requirements or costs on school districts or charter schools. It is
anticipated that any indirect costs associated with the proposed amend-
ment will be minimal and capable of being absorbed using existing school
resources.

5. RURAL AREA PARTICIPATION:
Comments on the proposed amendment were solicited from the

Department's Rural Advisory Committee, whose membership includes
school districts located in rural areas.

6. INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):
Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the

State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed amendment is necessary to imple-
ment long-range Regents policy to provide additional flexibility in the
transition to the Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I
by allowing, at the discretion of the local school district, students receiv-
ing Algebra I (common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination
in Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I
(common core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the require-
ment for graduation by passing either examination.

The Department invites public comment on the proposed five year
review period for this rule. Comments should be sent to the agency contact
listed in item 16. of the Notice of Emergency Adoption and Proposed Rule
Making published herewith, and must be received within 45 days of the
State Register publication date of the Notice.
Job Impact Statement

The proposed amendment provides additional flexibility in the transi-
tion to the Common Core-aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by
allowing, at the discretion of the local school district, students receiving
Algebra I (common core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in
Integrated Algebra in addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I
(common core) at the June 2015 test administration, and meet the require-
ment for graduation by passing either examination.

The proposed amendment relates to State learning standards, State as-
sessments, graduation and diploma requirements, and higher levels of
student achievement, and will not have an adverse impact on jobs or
employment opportunities. Because it is evident from the nature of the
amendment that it will have a positive impact, or no impact, on jobs or
employment opportunities, no further steps were needed to ascertain those
facts and none were taken. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not
required and one has not been prepared.
Assessment of Public Comment

Since publication of a Notice of Emergency Adoption and Proposed
Rule Making in the State Register on December 3, 2014, the State Educa-
tion Department received the following comments:

1. COMMENT:
The proposed rule appears to suggest that 9th and 10th graders will

have the opportunity to take the Integrated Algebra Regents in June 2015
because both started high school with Algebra I Common Core Math. Can
11th and 12th graders who have not passed the Integrated Algebra Regents
exam sit for these Regents also, even though they did not start with
Algebra I Common Core Math?

DEPARTMENT RESPONSE:
All students who began their first commencement-level course of study

in algebra (2005 standard) prior to September 2013 and who have
completed that course of study, albeit successfully or not, are eligible to
participate in the June 2015 Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra.

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Epinephrine Auto-Injectors

I.D. No. EDU-01-15-00011-E
Filing No. 103
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-27

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:

Action taken: Addition of section 136.6 to Title 8 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 207(not subdivided), 305(1),
(2), 921(1) and (2); L. 2014, ch. 424
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of general welfare.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The proposed rule
is necessary to implement Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014, which adds a
new section 921 of the Education Law, effective February 27, 2015, to al-
low school districts, boards of cooperative educational services (BOCES),
county vocational education and extension boards, charter schools, and
non-public elementary and secondary schools in the State to provide and
maintain on-site in each instructional school facility epinephrine auto-
injectors in quantities and types deemed by the Commissioner, in consulta-
tion with the Commissioner of Health, to be adequate to ensure ready and
appropriate access for use during emergencies to any student or staff hav-
ing anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there is a previous history of
severe allergic reaction. Section 921 also provides that school districts,
BOCES, county vocational education and extension boards, charter
schools, and non-public elementary and secondary schools in this state or
any person employed by any such entity may administer epinephrine auto-
injectors in the event of an emergency pursuant to the requirements of sec-
tion three-thousand-c of the Public Health Law.

Since the Board of Regents meets at fixed intervals, the earliest the
proposed rule can be presented for regular (non-emergency) adoption, af-
ter expiration of the required 45-day public comment period provided for
in the State Administrative Procedure Act (SAPA) sections 201(1) and
(5), would be the March 16-17, 2015 Regents meeting. Furthermore, pur-
suant to SAPA section 203(1), the earliest effective date of the proposed
rule, if adopted at the March meeting, would be April 1, 2015, the date a
Notice of Adoption would be published in the State Register. However,
the provisions of Chapter 424 become effective on February 27, 2015 and
section 3 of the statute directs the Commissioner to promulgate necessary
regulations for the timely implementation of the statute on its effective
date.

Therefore, emergency action is necessary at the February 2015 Regents
meeting for the preservation of the general welfare in order to immediately
establish standards for the provision, maintenance and administration of
epinephrine auto-injectors pursuant to Education Law section 921, as
added by Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014, and thus ensure the timely
implementation of the statute on its effective date.

It is anticipated that the proposed rule will be presented for adoption as
a permanent rule at the March 16-17, 2015 Regents meeting, which is the
first scheduled meeting after expiration of the 45-day public comment pe-
riod prescribed in the State Administrative Procedure Act for State agency
rule makings.
Subject: Epinephrine auto-injectors.
Purpose: Prescribe standards for provision, maintenance, and administra-
tion of epinephrine auto-injectors in the event of an emergency.
Text of emergency rule: Section 136.6 of the Regulations of the Commis-
sioner of Education is added, effective February 27, 2015, as follows:

§ 136.6 Authorized Use of Epinephrine Auto-Injector
(a) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) Epinephrine auto-injector means an automated injection delivery
device, approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration, for
injecting a measured dose of the drug epinephrine.

(2) Trained school personnel means any person employed by a school
district, board of cooperative educational services, county vocational
education and extension board, charter school or non-public elementary
and secondary school, including but not limited to, health professionals
who have successfully completed a training course in the use of epineph-
rine auto-injector devices approved by the Department of Health pursuant
to Public Health Law section 3000-c.

(3) Collaborative agreement means a written agreement with an
emergency health care provider pursuant to Public Health Law section
3000-c that incorporates written practice protocols, and policies and
procedures that shall ensure compliance with the provisions of Public
Health Law section 3000-c.

(4) Emergency health care provider means: (i) a physician with
knowledge and experience in the delivery of emergency care; or (ii) a
hospital licensed under Article 28 of the Public Health Law that provides
emergency care.

(5) Regional Council means a regional emergency medical services
council established pursuant to Public Health Law section 3003.

(6) Instructional school facility means a building or other facility
maintained by a school district, board of cooperative educational ser-
vices, a county vocational education and extension board, charter school,
or non-public elementary and secondary school where instruction is
provided to students pursuant to its curriculum.

(b) Each school district, board of cooperative educational services,
county vocational education and extension board, charter school, and
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non-public elementary and secondary school may provide and maintain
on-site in each instructional school facility epinephrine auto-injectors for
use during emergencies in accordance with Public Health Law section
3000-c. Each such facility shall have sufficient epinephrine auto-injectors
available to ensure ready and appropriate access for use during emergen-
cies to any student or staff having symptoms of anaphylaxis whether or not
there is a previous history of severe allergic reaction. In determining the
quantity and placement of epinephrine auto-injectors in collaboration
with the emergency health care provider, consideration shall be given to:

(1) the number of students, staff and other individuals that are cus-
tomarily or reasonably anticipated to be within such facility; and

(2) the physical layout of the facility, including but not limited to:
(i) location of stairways and elevators;
(ii) number of floors in the facility;
(iii) location of classrooms and other areas of the facility where

large congregations of individuals may occur; and
(iv) any other unique design features of the facility.

(c) The school district, board of cooperative educational services,
county vocational education and extension board, charter school, or non-
public elementary and secondary school shall file a copy of the collabora-
tive agreement with the appropriate Regional Council. Trained school
personnel shall not administer an epinephrine auto-injector in accor-
dance with Public Health Law 3000-c prior to the filing of the collabora-
tive agreement with the Regional Council.

(d) In the event of an emergency, trained school personnel may
administer an epinephrine auto-injector to any student or school person-
nel having symptoms of anaphylaxis in an instructional school facility,
whether or not there is a previous history of severe allergic reaction pur-
suant to Public Health Law section 3000-c.

(e) Every use of an epinephrine auto-injector device pursuant to this
section and Public Health Law section 3000-c shall immediately be
reported to the emergency health care provider.
This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt the provisions of this emergency rule as a
permanent rule, having previously submitted to the Department of State a
notice of proposed rule making, I.D. No. EDU-01-15-00011-P, Issue of
January 7, 2015. The emergency rule will expire May 10, 2015.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kirti Goswami, State Education Department, Office of Counsel,
State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, NY
12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@nysed.gov
Regulatory Impact Statement

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Education Law section 207 empowers the Board of Regents and the

Commissioner of Education to adopt rules and regulations to carry out the
laws of the State regarding education and the functions and duties
conferred on the State Education Department by law.

Education Law section 305(1) and (2) provide the Commissioner, as
chief executive officer of the State's education system, with general
supervision over all schools and institutions subject to the Education Law,
or any statute relating to education, and responsibility for executing all
educational policies of the Regents.

Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014 added a new section 921 of the Educa-
tion Law, effective February 27, 2015, to allow school districts, boards of
cooperative educational services (BOCES), county vocational education
and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public elementary and sec-
ondary schools in the State to provide and maintain on-site in each
instructional school facility epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities and
types deemed by the Commissioner, in consultation with the Commis-
sioner of Health, to be adequate to ensure ready and appropriate access for
use during emergencies to any student or staff having anaphylactic
symptoms whether or not there is a previous history of severe allergic
reaction. Section 921 also provides that school districts, BOCES, county
vocational education and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public
elementary and secondary schools in this state or any person employed by
any such entity may administer epinephrine auto-injectors in the event of
an emergency pursuant to the requirements of section three-thousand-c of
the Public Health Law.

2. LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:
The proposed rule is necessary to implement Education Law section

921, as added by Chapter 242 of the Laws of 2014, by prescribing stan-
dards for the provision, maintenance, and administration of epinephrine
auto-injectors in the event of an emergency.

3. NEEDS AND BENEFITS:
Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014 added a new section 921 of the Educa-

tion Law, effective February 27, 2015, to allow school districts, BOCES,
county vocational education and extension boards, charter schools, and
non-public elementary and secondary schools in this state to provide and
maintain on-site in each instructional school facility epinephrine auto-

injectors in quantities and types deemed by the Commissioner, in consulta-
tion with the Commissioner of Health, to be adequate to ensure ready and
appropriate access for use during emergencies to any student or staff hav-
ing anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there is a previous history of
severe allergic reaction. The proposed rule prescribes standards for the
maintenance and use of epinephrine auto-injectors pursuant to Education
Law section 921, so as to ensure their ready and appropriate use in the
emergency event of a student or staff having anaphylactic symptoms on
site at an instructional school facility.

4. COSTS:
(a) Costs to State government: The proposed rule will not impose any

additional costs on State government, including the State Education
Department.

(b) Costs to local governments and private regulated parties: The
amendment will not impose any additional costs on local governments or
private regulated parties. Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014 Chapter 424 of
the Laws of 2014 added a new section 921 of the Education Law, effective
February 27, 2015, to allow school districts, BOCES, county vocational
education and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public elemen-
tary and secondary schools in the State to provide and maintain on-site in
each instructional school facility epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities
and types deemed by the Commissioner, in consultation with the Commis-
sioner of Health, to be adequate to ensure ready and appropriate access for
use during emergencies to any student or staff having anaphylactic
symptoms whether or not there is a previous history of severe allergic
reaction. The proposed rule is necessary to implement this statute, and
merely provides definitions and otherwise clarifies the circumstances
regarding the emergency use of epinephrine auto-injectors. The proposed
rule does not impose any additional costs on these entities beyond those
imposed by the statute. Consistent with the statute, school districts,
BOCES, county vocational education and extension boards, charter
schools, and non-public schools may, but are not required to, provide and
maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:
The proposed rule does not impose any mandatory program, service,

duty, or responsibility upon local government, including school districts
or BOCES. It merely provides definitions and otherwise clarifies the cir-
cumstances regarding the use of epinephrine auto-injectors on-site in an
instructional school facility in an emergency situation pursuant to Educa-
tion Law section 921, as added by Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014. The
proposed rule restates the statutory authority which allows school districts,
BOCES, county vocational education and extension boards, charter
schools, and non-public elementary and secondary schools in this state to
maintain on-site in each instructional school facility epinephrine auto-
injectors in quantities and types deemed by the Commissioner, in consulta-
tion with the Commissioner of Health, to be adequate to ensure ready and
appropriate access for use during emergencies to any student or staff hav-
ing anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there is a previous history of
severe allergic reaction. Consistent with the statute, school districts,
BOCES, county vocational education and extension boards, charter
schools, and non-public schools may, but are not required to, provide and
maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

In determining the quantity and placement of epinephrine auto-injectors
in collaboration with the emergency health care provider, consideration
shall be given to:

(1) the number of students, staff and other individuals that are custom-
arily or reasonably anticipated to be within such facility; and

(2) the physical layout of the facility, including but not limited to:
(i) location of stairways and elevators;
(ii) number of floors in the facility;
(iii) location of classrooms and other areas of the facility where large

congregations of individuals may occur; and
(iv) any other unique design features of the facility.
6. PAPERWORK:
Pursuant to the requirements of Public Health Law section 3000-c, any

emergency administration of an epinephrine auto-injector must be reported
to the physician or hospital representative listed in the collaborative
agreement. The school district, BOCES, county vocational education and
extension board, charter school, or non-public elementary and secondary
school shall file a copy of the collaborative agreement with the appropri-
ate Regional Council.

7. DUPLICATION:
The amendment does not duplicate any existing State or Federal

requirements, and is necessary to implement Education Law section 921,
as added by Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014.

8. ALTERNATIVES:
The proposed rule is necessary to implement Education Law 921, as

added by Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014. There were no significant
alternatives and none were considered.

9. FEDERAL STANDARDS:
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There are no applicable Federal standards.
10. COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:
It is anticipated that regulated parties can achieve compliance with the

proposed rule by its effective date. The proposed rule merely provides
definitions and otherwise clarifies the circumstances regarding the use of
epinephrine auto-injectors on-site in an instructional school facility in an
emergency situation pursuant to Education Law section 921, as added by
Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014. Consistent with the statute, school
districts, BOCES, county vocational education and extension boards,
charter schools, and non-public schools may, but are not required to,
provide and maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

(a) Small businesses:
The proposed rule applies to school districts, boards of cooperative

educational services (BOCES), county vocational education and extension
boards, charter schools, and non-public elementary and secondary schools,
and relates to the availability and use of epinephrine auto-injectors in the
event of an anaphylactic emergency. The proposed rule does not impose
any economic impact, or other compliance requirements on small
businesses. Because it is evident from the nature of the proposed rule that
it does not affect small businesses, no further measures were needed to
ascertain that fact and none were taken. Accordingly, a regulatory flex-
ibility analysis for small businesses is not required and one has not been
prepared.

(b) Local governments:
The proposed rule applies to school districts, BOCES, county vocational

education and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public elemen-
tary and secondary schools, and relates to the availability and use of
epinephrine auto-injectors in the event of an anaphylactic emergency.

1. EFFECT OF RULE:
The rule applies to school personnel in each of the 695 school districts,

37 BOCES, 248 charter schools, and one existing county vocational educa-
tion and extension board in the State.

2. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS:
The proposed rule does not impose any additional compliance require-

ments upon local governments. It merely provides definitions and
otherwise clarifies the circumstances regarding the use of epinephrine
auto-injectors on-site in an instructional school facility in an emergency
situation pursuant to Education Law section 921, as added by Chapter 424
of the Laws of 2014. The proposed rule restates the statutory authority
which allows school districts, BOCES, county vocational education and
extension boards, charter schools, and non-public elementary and second-
ary schools in this state to maintain on-site in each instructional school fa-
cility epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities and types deemed by the
Commissioner, in consultation with the Commissioner of Health, to be ad-
equate to ensure ready and appropriate access for use during emergencies
to any student or staff having anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there
is a previous history of severe allergic reaction. Consistent with the stat-
ute, school districts, BOCES, county vocational education and extension
boards, charter schools, and non-public schools may, but are not required
to, provide and maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

In determining the quantity and placement of epinephrine auto-injectors
in collaboration with the emergency health care provider, consideration
shall be given to:

(1) the number of students, staff and other individuals that are custom-
arily or reasonably anticipated to be within such facility; and

(2) the physical layout of the facility, including but not limited to:
(i) location of stairways and elevators;
(ii) number of floors in the facility;
(iii) location of classrooms and other areas of the facility where large

congregations of individuals may occur; and
(iv) any other unique design features of the facility.
Pursuant to the requirements of Public Health Law section 3000-c, any

emergency administration of an epinephrine auto-injector must be reported
to the physician or hospital representative listed in the collaborative
agreement. The school district, BOCES, county vocational education and
extension board, charter school, or non-public elementary and secondary
school shall file a copy of the collaborative agreement with the appropri-
ate Regional Council.

3. PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:
The proposed rule does not impose any additional professional services

requirements on local governments.
4. COMPLIANCE COSTS:
The proposed rule does not impose any additional compliance costs on

local governments. Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014 Chapter 424 of the
Laws of 2014 added a new section 921 of the Education Law, effective
February 27, 2015, to allow school districts, boards of cooperative
educational services, county vocational education and extension boards,
charter schools, and non-public elementary and secondary schools in this
state to provide and maintain on-site in each instructional school facility

epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities and types deemed by the Commis-
sioner, in consultation with the Commissioner of Health, to be adequate to
ensure ready and appropriate access for use during emergencies to any
student or staff having anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there is a
previous history of severe allergic reaction. The proposed rule is neces-
sary to implement this statute, and merely provides definitions and
otherwise clarifies the circumstances regarding the emergency use of
epinephrine auto-injectors. The proposed rule does not impose any ad-
ditional costs on these entities beyond those imposed by the statute. Con-
sistent with the statute, school districts, BOCES, county vocational educa-
tion and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public school may,
but are not required to, provide and maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

5. ECONOMIC AND TECHNOLOGICAL FEASIBILITY:
The proposed rule does not impose any additional costs or technologi-

cal requirements on local governments.
6. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed rule does not impose any additional compliance require-

ments or costs on local government. Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014
Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014 added a new section 921 of the Educa-
tion Law, effective February 27, 2015, to allow school districts, boards of
cooperative educational services, county vocational education and exten-
sion boards, charter schools, and non-public elementary and secondary
schools in this state to provide and maintain on-site in each instructional
school facility epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities and types deemed
by the Commissioner, in consultation with the Commissioner of Health, to
be adequate to ensure ready and appropriate access for use during emer-
gencies to any student or staff having anaphylactic symptoms whether or
not there is a previous history of severe allergic reaction. The proposed
rule is necessary to implement this statute, and merely provides defini-
tions and otherwise clarifies the circumstances regarding the emergency
use of epinephrine auto-injectors. The proposed rule does not impose any
additional compliance requirements or costs on these entities beyond those
imposed by the statute. Consistent with the statute, school districts,
BOCES, county vocational education and extension boards, charter
schools, and non-public schools may, but are not required to, provide and
maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

7. LOCAL GOVERNMENT PARTICIPATION:
Comments on the proposed rule were solicited from school districts

through the offices of the district superintendents of each supervisory
district in the State, from the chief school officers of the five big city
school districts and from charter schools.

8. INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):
Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the

State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed rule is necessary to implement the
statutory requirements of Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014, and, therefore,
the substantive provisions of the proposed rule cannot be repealed or mod-
ified unless there is a further statutory change. Accordingly, there is no
need for a shorter review period. The Department invites public comment
on the proposed five year review period for this rule. Comments should be
sent to the agency contact listed in item 10 of the Notice of Proposed Rule
Making published herewith, and must be received within 45 days of the
State Register publication date of the Notice.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:
The proposed rule applies to school districts, boards of cooperative

educational services (BOCES), county vocational education and extension
boards, charter schools, and non-public elementary and secondary schools,
including those located in the 44 rural counties with fewer than 200,000
inhabitants and the 71 towns and urban counties with a population density
of 150 square miles or less.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING, AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

The proposed rule does not impose any additional reporting, record-
keeping or other compliance requirements. It merely provides definitions
and otherwise clarifies the circumstances regarding the use of epinephrine
auto-injectors on-site in an instructional school facility in an emergency
situation pursuant to Education Law section 921, as added by Chapter 424
of the Laws of 2014. The proposed rule restates the statutory authority
which allows school districts, BOCES, county vocational education and
extension boards, charter schools, and non-public elementary and second-
ary schools in this state to maintain on-site in each instructional school fa-
cility epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities and types deemed by the
Commissioner, in consultation with the Commissioner of Health, to be ad-
equate to ensure ready and appropriate access for use during emergencies
to any student or staff having anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there
is a previous history of severe allergic reaction. Consistent with the stat-
ute, school districts, BOCES, county vocational education and extension
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boards, charter schools, and non-public schools may, but are not required
to, provide and maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

In determining the quantity and placement of epinephrine auto-injectors
in collaboration with the emergency health care provider, consideration
shall be given to:

(1) the number of students, staff and other individuals that are custom-
arily or reasonably anticipated to be within such facility; and

(2) the physical layout of the facility, including but not limited to:
(i) location of stairways and elevators;
(ii) number of floors in the facility;
(iii) location of classrooms and other areas of the facility where large

congregations of individuals may occur; and
(iv) any other unique design features of the facility.
Pursuant to the requirements of Public Health Law section 3000-c, any

emergency administration of an epinephrine auto-injector must be reported
to the physician or hospital representative listed in the collaborative
agreement. The school district, BOCES, county vocational education and
extension board, charter school, or non-public elementary and secondary
school shall file a copy of the collaborative agreement with the appropri-
ate Regional Council.

The proposed rule does not require any additional professional services
upon entities in rural areas.

3. COSTS:
The proposed rule does not impose any additional compliance costs on

local governments. Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014 Chapter 424 of the
Laws of 2014 added a new section 921 of the Education Law, effective
February 27, 2015, to allow school districts, boards of cooperative
educational services, county vocational education and extension boards,
charter schools, and non-public elementary and secondary schools in this
state to provide and maintain on-site in each instructional school facility
epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities and types deemed by the Commis-
sioner, in consultation with the Commissioner of Health, to be adequate to
ensure ready and appropriate access for use during emergencies to any
student or staff having anaphylactic symptoms whether or not there is a
previous history of severe allergic reaction. The proposed rule is neces-
sary to implement this statute, and merely provides definitions and
otherwise clarifies the circumstances regarding the emergency use of
epinephrine auto-injectors. The proposed rule does not impose any ad-
ditional costs on these entities beyond those imposed by the statute. Con-
sistent with the statute, school districts, BOCES, county vocational educa-
tion and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public school may,
but are not required to, provide and maintain epinephrine auto-injectors.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed rule is necessary to implement Chapter 424 of the Laws

of 2014. The statutory requirements do not make exceptions for entities
located in rural areas. Because the statutory requirements upon which the
proposed rule is based applies throughout the State, it is not possible to es-
tablish differing compliance or reporting requirements or timetables or to
exempt entities in rural areas from the provisions of the proposed rule.
The State Education Department does not believe that making a change
for school personnel who live or work in rural areas is warranted because
uniform standards are necessary across the State to ensure the health and
safety of student and school personnel.

5. RURAL AREA PARTICIPATION:
The State Education Department has sent the proposed rule to the Rural

Advisory Committee, which has members who live or work in rural areas
across the State.

6. INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):
Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the

State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed rule is necessary to implement the
statutory requirements of Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014, and, therefore,
the substantive provisions of the proposed rule cannot be repealed or mod-
ified unless there is a further statutory change. Accordingly, there is no
need for a shorter review period. The Department invites public comment
on the proposed five year review period for this rule. Comments should be
sent to the agency contact listed in item 10 of the Notice of Proposed Rule
Making published herewith, and must be received within 45 days of the
State Register publication date of the Notice.
Job Impact Statement
The proposed rule is necessary to implement Education Law section 921,
as added by Chapter 424 of the Laws of 2014, which allows school
districts, boards of cooperative educational services, county vocational
education and extension boards, charter schools, and non-public elemen-
tary and secondary schools in this state to provide and maintain on-site in
each instructional school facility epinephrine auto-injectors in quantities
and types deemed by the Commissioner, in consultation with the Commis-

sioner of Health, to be adequate to ensure ready and appropriate access for
use during emergencies to any student or staff having anaphylactic
symptoms whether or not there is a previous history of severe allergic
reaction. The proposed rule is necessary to implement this statute, and
merely provides definitions and otherwise clarifies the circumstances
regarding the maintenance and emergency use of epinephrine auto-
injectors. Because it is evident from the nature of the proposed rule that it
will have no impact on the number of jobs or employment opportunities in
New York State, no further steps were needed to ascertain that fact and
none were taken. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not required and
one has not been prepared.

EMERGENCY/PROPOSED
RULE MAKING

NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Appeals Process on Regents Exams Passing Score for English
Language Learners (ELLs)

I.D. No. EDU-08-15-00006-EP
Filing No. 104
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-10

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Proposed Action: Amendment of section 100.5(d)(7) of Title 8 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 101(not subdivided),
207(not subdivided), 208(not subdivided), 209(not subdivided), 215(not
subdivided), 305(1), (2), 308(not subdivided), 309(not subdivided),
2117(1), 3204(2), (2-a), (3) and (6)
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of general welfare.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The proposed
amendment would extend the English Language Learner (ELL) specific
pathway to graduate with a Local Diploma via appeal to ELLs who meet
all other conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible to graduate in
January 2015 and thereafter, and clarify that this appeal process applies to
ELLs who meet one or more graduation assessment requirements via an
available alternative pathway and meet all other conditions for appeal.

Because the Board of Regents meets at scheduled intervals, the earliest
the proposed amendment could be presented for regular (non-emergency)
adoption, after publication in the State Register and expiration of the 45-
day public comment period provided for in State Administrative Proce-
dure Act (SAPA) section 202(1) and (5), is the May 18-19, 2015 Regents
meeting. Furthermore, pursuant to SAPA section 203(1), the earliest ef-
fective date of the proposed amendment, if adopted at the May meeting,
would be June 3, 2015, the date a Notice of Adoption would be published
in the State Register. However, in order to provide for implementation in
the 2014-2015 school year, school districts and affected students need to
know now that (i) ELLs otherwise eligible to graduate in January 2015,
and (ii) ELLs who meet one or more graduation assessment requirements
via an available alternative pathway and meet all other conditions for ap-
peal are eligible for the ELL specific pathway to graduation.

Emergency action is therefore necessary for the preservation of the gen-
eral welfare to immediately extend and clarify availability of the ELL
specific pathway to graduation to these two categories of students, so that
school districts and such students are given sufficient notice to prepare for
and timely implement this graduation pathway for all eligible students in
the 2014-2015 school year.

It is anticipated that the emergency rule will be presented to the Board
of Regents for adoption as a permanent rule at the May 18-19, 2015
Regents meeting, which is the first scheduled meeting after expiration of
the 45-day public comment period mandated by the State Administrative
Procedure Act for proposed rulemakings.
Subject: Appeals process on Regents exams passing score for English
Language Learners (ELLs).
Purpose: To extend ability to graduate with a Local Diploma via appeal
process to qualifying English Language Learner (ELL) students who
satisfy all other graduation requirements (including those who satisfy such
requirements via available alternative pathways) in January 2015 or
thereafter.
Text of emergency/proposed rule: Paragraph (7) of subdivision (d) of sec-
tion 100.5 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is
amended, effective February 10, 2015, as follows:

(7) Appeals process on Regents examinations passing score to meet
Regents diploma requirements.

NYS Register/February 25, 2015 Rule Making Activities

7



(i) School districts shall provide unlimited opportunities for all
students to retake required Regents examinations to improve their scores.

(a) . . .
(b) A student who first enters school in the United States (the 50

States and the District of Columbia) in grade nine, ten, eleven or twelve
[in September 2010 or thereafter] and is otherwise eligible to graduate in
January 2015 or thereafter, is identified as an English Language Leaner
pursuant to Part 154 of this Title, and fails, after at least two attempts, to
attain a score of 65 or above on the required Regents examination in En-
glish language arts for graduation shall be given an opportunity to appeal
such score in accordance with the provisions of this paragraph, provided
that no such student may appeal his or her score on more than two of the
five required Regents examinations and provided further that the student:

(1) has scored between 55 and 61 on the required Regents ex-
amination in English language arts under appeal;

(2) provides evidence that he or she has received academic
intervention services by the school in English language arts;

(3) has an attendance rate of at least 95 percent for the school
year during which the student last took the required Regents examination
in English language arts;

(4) has attained a course average in English language arts that
meets or exceeds the required passing grade by the school and is recorded
on the student’s official transcript with grades achieved by the student in
each quarter of the school year; and

(5) is recommended for an exemption to the passing score on
the required Regents examination in English language arts by his or her
teacher or department chairperson in English language arts.

[(c)] (ii) An appeal may be initiated by the student, the student's
parent or guardian, or the student's teacher, and shall be submitted in a
form prescribed by the commissioner to the student's school principal.

[(d)] (iii) The school principal shall chair a standing committee
comprised of three teachers (not to include the student's teacher in the
subject area of the Regents examination under appeal) and two school
administrators (one of whom shall be the school principal). The standing
committee shall review an appeal within 10 school days of its receipt and
make a recommendation to the school superintendent or, in the City School
District of the City of New York, to the chancellor of the city school
district or his/her designee, to accept or deny the appeal. The standing
committee may interview the teacher or department chairperson who
recommended the appeal, and may also interview the student making the
appeal to determine that he or she has demonstrated the knowledge and
skills required under the State learning standards in the subject area in
question.

[(e)] (iv) The school superintendent or, in the City School District
of the City of New York, the chancellor of the city school district or his/
her designee, shall make a final determination to accept or deny the appeal.
The school superintendent or chancellor or chancellor's designee may
interview the student making the appeal to determine that the student has
demonstrated the knowledge and skills required under the State learning
standards in the subject area in question.

[(f)] (v) Diplomas.
[(1)] (a) A student whose appeal is accepted for one required

Regents examination pursuant to clause (a) of subparagraph (i) of this
paragraph, and who has attained a passing score of 65 or above on each of
the four remaining required Regents examinations (or satisfied the corre-
sponding graduation requirement via an alternative assessment pursuant
to section 100.2(f)(1) of this Part or a pathway assessment pursuant to
section 100.5(a)(5)(i)(f) of this Part), shall earn a Regents diploma.

[(2)] (b) A student whose appeal is accepted for two required
Regents examinations pursuant to clause (a) of subparagraph (i) of this
paragraph, and who has attained a passing score of 65 or above on each of
the three remaining required Regent examinations (or satisfied the corre-
sponding graduation requirement via an alternative assessment pursuant
to section 100.2(f)(1) of this Part or a pathway assessment pursuant to
section 100.5(a)(5)(i)(f) of this Part), shall earn a local diploma.

[(3)] (c) A student whose appeal is accepted for the required
Regents examination in English language arts pursuant to clause (b) of
subparagraph (i) of this paragraph, and who has attained a passing score of
65 or above on each of the four remaining required Regents examinations
(or satisfied the corresponding graduation requirement via an alternative
assessment pursuant to section 100.2(f)(1) of this Part or a pathway as-
sessment pursuant to section 100.5(a)(5)(i)(f) of this Part), shall earn a lo-
cal diploma.

[(4)] (d) A student whose appeal is accepted for the required
Regents examination in English language arts pursuant to clause (b) of
subparagraph (i) of this paragraph and for one other required Regents ex-
amination pursuant to clause (a) of subparagraph (i) of this paragraph, and
who has attained a passing score of 65 or above on each of the three
remaining required Regents examinations (or satisfied the corresponding
graduation requirement via an alternative assessment pursuant to section

100.2(f)(1) of this Part or a pathway assessment pursuant to section
100.5(a)(5)(i)(f) of this Part), shall earn a local diploma.

[(g)] (vi) Each school shall keep a record of all appeals received
and granted and report this information to the State Education Department
on a form prescribed by the commissioner. All school records relating to
appeals of scores on required Regents examinations shall be made avail-
able for inspection by the State Education Department.
This notice is intended: to serve as both a notice of emergency adoption
and a notice of proposed rule making. The emergency rule will expire
May 10, 2015.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kirti Goswami, State Education Department, Office of Counsel,
State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, NY
12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@mail.nysed.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Cosimo Tangorra, Jr.
Deputy Commissioner, State Education Department, Office of P-12
Education, State Education Building, 2M West, 89 Washington Ave.,
Albany, NY 12234, (518) 474-5520, email: NYSEDP12@mail.nysed.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Regulatory Impact Statement

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Education Law section 101 continues the existence of the Education

Department, with the Board of Regents at its head and the Commissioner
of Education as the chief administrative officer, and charges the Depart-
ment with the general management and supervision of public schools and
the educational work of the State.

Education Law section 207 empowers the Regents and the Commis-
sioner to adopt rules and regulations to carry out State laws regarding
education and the functions and duties conferred on the State Education
Department by law.

Education Law section 208 authorizes the Regents to establish examina-
tions as to attainments in learning and to award and confer suitable certifi-
cates, diplomas and degrees on persons who satisfactorily meet the
requirements prescribed.

Education Law section 209 authorizes the Regents to establish second-
ary school examinations in studies furnishing a suitable standard of gradu-
ation and of admission to colleges; to confer certificates or diplomas on
students who satisfactorily pass such examinations; and requires the
admission to these examinations of any person who shall conform to the
rules and pay the fees prescribed by the Regents.

Education Law section 215 authorizes the Regents and the Commis-
sioner to require school districts to prepare and submit reports containing
such information as they may prescribe.

Education Law section 305(1) and (2) provide that the Commissioner,
as chief executive officer of the State system of education and of the Board
of Regents, shall have general supervision over all schools and institutions
subject to the provisions of the Education Law, or of any statute relating to
education, and execute all educational policies determined by the Regents.

Education Law section 2117(1) empowers the Regents and the Com-
missioner to require school districts to submit any information they deem
appropriate.

Education Law section 3204(2) and (2-a) provide for instructional
programs for pupils with limited English proficiency (LEP) to be
conducted in accordance with regulations of the Commissioner. Education
Law section 3204(3) authorizes the Commissioner to establish standards
for the instruction of LEP children, and section 3204(6) requires the Com-
missioner to establish standards by regulation.

LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:
The proposed amendment is consistent with the above statutory author-

ity and is necessary to implement Regents policy relating to criteria for bi-
lingual education and English as a New Language programs for students
who are English Language Learners, including determining graduation
requirements, in order to ensure compliance with Education Law sections
3204 and 4403, and Title I and III of the Elementary and Secondary Educa-
tion Act (ESEA), Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Equal
Educational Opportunities Act of 1974 (EEOA).

NEEDS AND BENEFITS:
Over the past 10 years, New York State English Language Learner

(ELL) student enrollment has increased by 20%. According to the U.S.
Department of Education, ELL student enrollment has increased by 18%
nationally. Currently in New York State, over 230,000 ELLs make up
8.9% of the total student population. Their linguistic diversity makes up
over 140 languages spoken in New York State; 61.5% for whom Spanish
is the home language. In addition, 41.2% were born in another country.

Extensive discussion with stakeholders suggests that late arriving ELLs
who are able to pass other required Regents examinations with a score of
65 and who obtain a score of at least 55 on the Regents examination in En-
glish can benefit from the opportunity to obtain postsecondary education
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or enter a career in the same manner as other students who may earn a di-
ploma through the appeal process. Therefore, at their January 2015 meet-
ing, the Board of Regents amended Commissioner’s Regulation section
100.5(d)(7) to adopt this pathway for ELLs to graduate with a Local Di-
ploma pursuant to an appeal process if they score between 55-61 on the
Regents Exam in English and meet all other conditions for appeal of a
Regents score (State Register, January 28, 2015, EDU-44-14-00026-A).

At its January 2015 meeting, the Board of Regents also adopted amend-
ments to Commissioner’s Regulations sections 100.2 and 100.5 to estab-
lish a 4+1 pathway to graduation for all students (State Register, January
28, 2015, EDU-44-14-00025-P). The 4+1 pathway option applies begin-
ning with students who first enter grade nine in September 2011 and there-
after or who are otherwise eligible to receive a high school diploma in
June 2015 and thereafter. The amendment creates graduation pathways as-
sessments in the Humanities, STEM, Biliteracy (languages other than En-
glish [LOTE]), CTE and the Arts.

Public comment in response to the January 2015 amendments to section
100.5(d)(7) recommended making this option for graduation also avail-
able to ELLs who are in their 6th year of high school. These ELLs are cur-
rently excluded from this option because they entered high school prior to
the 2010-11 school year. Public comment also highlighted the need to
clarify that the appeal option under section 100.5(d)(7) is available to
ELLs who satisfy graduation assessment requirements through the 4+1
pathway option in sections 100.2 and 100.5 or via another alternative
pathway. After considering these policy concerns, the Department agrees
that 6th year ELLs, as well as ELLs who satisfy graduation requirements
via the 4+1 pathway options or via another alternative pathway, would
benefit from the ability to utilize this graduation option.

COSTS:
(a) Costs to State government: none.
(b) Costs to local government: The proposed amendment will not

impose any significant costs on local governments. An appeals process
and criteria are already in place in section 100.5(d)(7) for students who
score 65+ on three Regents exams and score 62-64 on two Regents exams,
and the proposed amendment merely extends the ability to graduate with a
Local Diploma via the appeal process to English Language Learners
(ELLs) who meet all other conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible
to graduate in January 2015 and thereafter (i.e. the proposed amendment
would include additional students who entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11
school year but who are not currently covered under the existing regula-
tion); and to clarify that this appeal process applies to ELLs who meet one
or more graduation assessment requirements via an available alternative
pathway and meet all other conditions for appeal.

Newly qualifying students would merely go through this existing ap-
peals process, and the same personnel who review appeals under the cur-
rent system would review the additional appeals. Any costs associated
with the processing of these additional appeals are expected to be minimal
and capable of being absorbed by using existing district staff and
resources. In the long term, the proposed amendment is expected to be a
cost saving measure in that it will boost the graduation rate, allowing more
ELLs to access higher education or enter the workforce with a high school
diploma. Both of these outcomes will in turn stimulate workforce produc-
tivity and economic performance in local communities.

(c) Costs to private regulated parties: none.
(d) Costs to regulating agency for implementation and continued

administration of this rule: none.
LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional program, ser-

vice, duty or responsibility upon school districts. An appeals process and
criteria are already in place for students who score 65+ on three Regents
exams and score 62-64 on two Regents exams, and the proposed amend-
ment merely extends the ability to graduate with a Local Diploma via the
appeal process to English Language Learners (ELLs) who meet all other
conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible to graduate in January
2015 and thereafter (i.e. the proposed amendment would include additional
students who entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11 school year but who are
not currently covered under the existing regulation); and to clarify that this
appeal process applies to ELLs who meet one or more graduation assess-
ment requirements via an available alternative pathway and meet all other
conditions for appeal. Appeals by ELLs under the proposed amendment
would be reviewed by the same committee that reviews all other appeals
of Regents examination scores. ELL students would remain eligible for
the current appeals process as well.

PAPERWORK:
The proposed amendment will not require any additional paperwork be-

yond what is necessary to process a limited number of additional appeals
for a local diploma from qualifying late entry ELLs who score a 55-61 on
the Regents examination in English after two tries who meet other condi-
tions for appeal. Appeals by ELLs under the proposed amendment would
be subject to the existing requirement in section 100.5(d)(7) that each

school keep a record of all appeals received and granted and report this in-
formation to Department on a form prescribed by the Commissioner. All
school records relating to appeals of scores shall be made available for
inspection by the Department.

DUPLICATION:
The proposed amendment does not duplicate existing State or Federal

requirements.
ALTERNATIVES:
There were no significant alternatives and none were considered.
FEDERAL STANDARDS:
The proposed amendment is necessary to ensure compliance with

Education Law sections 3204 and 4403, Title I and III of the ESEA, Title
IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the EEOA. These laws require
states and school districts to provide ELL students with appropriate ser-
vices to overcome language barriers. In addition, federal jurisprudence in
landmark cases such as Castañeda v. Pickard established standards to
ensure compliance with EEOA. For example, the Castañeda standard
mandates that programs for language-minority students must be (1) based
on a sound educational theory, (2) implemented effectively with sufficient
resources and personnel, and (3) evaluated to determine whether they are
effective in helping students overcome language barriers.

COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:
It is anticipated that school districts and BOCES will be able to achieve

compliance with the proposed amendment by its effective date. An ap-
peals process and criteria are already in place for students who score 65+
on three Regents exams and score 62-64 on two Regents exams, and the
proposed amendment merely extends the ability to graduate with a Local
Diploma via the appeal process to English Language Learners (ELLs)
who meet all other conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible to
graduate in January 2015 and thereafter (i.e. the proposed amendment
would include additional students who entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11
school year but who are not currently covered under the existing regula-
tion); and to clarify that this appeal process applies to ELLs who meet one
or more graduation assessment requirements via an available alternative
pathway and meet all other conditions for appeal. Newly qualifying
students would merely go through this existing appeals process, and the
same personnel who review appeals under the current system would
review the additional appeals.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Small Businesses:
The proposed amendment relates to State learning standards, State as-

sessments and graduation and diploma requirements, and is necessary to
implement policy adopted by the Regents relating to criteria for bilingual
education and English as a New Language programs for students who are
English Language Learners, including determining graduation require-
ments, in order to ensure compliance with Education Law sections 3204
and 4403, and Title I and III of the Elementary and Secondary Education
Act (ESEA), Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Equal Educational
Opportunities Act of 1974 (EEOA). The proposed amendment does not
impose any adverse economic impact, reporting, record keeping or other
compliance requirements on small businesses. Because it is evident from
the nature of the proposed amendment that it does not affect small busi-
nesses, no further steps were needed to ascertain that fact and none were
taken. Accordingly, a regulatory flexibility analysis for small businesses is
not required and one has not been prepared.

Local Governments:
EFFECT OF RULE:
The proposed amendment applies to each of the 689 public school

districts and 37 boards of cooperative educational services (BOCES) in
the State.

COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional compliance

requirements on local governments. An appeals process and criteria are al-
ready in place for students who score 65+ on three Regents exams and
score 62-64 on two Regents exams, and the proposed amendment merely
extends the ability to graduate with a Local Diploma via the appeal pro-
cess to English Language Learners (ELLs) who meet all other conditions
for appeal and are otherwise eligible to graduate in January 2015 and there-
after (i.e. the proposed amendment would include additional students who
entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11 school year but who are not currently
covered under the existing regulation); and to clarify that this appeal pro-
cess applies to ELLs who meet one or more graduation assessment require-
ments via an available alternative pathway and meet all other conditions
for appeal. Appeals by ELLs under the proposed amendment would be
reviewed by the same committee that reviews all other appeals of Regents
examination scores. ELL students would remain eligible for the current
appeals process as well.

The proposed amendment will not require any additional paperwork be-
yond what is necessary to process a limited number of additional appeals
for a local diploma from qualifying late entry ELLs who score a 55-61 on
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the Regents examination in English after two tries who meet other condi-
tions for appeal. Appeals by ELLs under the proposed amendment would
be subject to the existing requirement in section 100.5(d)(7) that each
school keep a record of all appeals received and granted and report this in-
formation to Department on a form prescribed by the Commissioner. All
school records relating to appeals of scores shall be made available for
inspection by the Department.

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional professional

service requirements on local governments.
COMPLIANCE COSTS:
The proposed amendment will not impose any significant costs on

school districts or BOCES. An appeals process and criteria are already in
place in section 100.5(d)(7) for students who score 65+ on three Regents
exams and score 62-64 on two Regents exams, and the proposed amend-
ment merely extends the ability to graduate with a Local Diploma via the
appeal process to English Language Learners (ELLs) who meet all other
conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible to graduate in January
2015 and thereafter (i.e. the proposed amendment would include additional
students who entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11 school year but who are
not currently covered under the existing regulation); and to clarify that this
appeal process applies to ELLs who meet one or more graduation assess-
ment requirements via an available alternative pathway and meet all other
conditions for appeal.

Newly qualifying students would merely go through this existing ap-
peals process, and the same personnel who review appeals under the cur-
rent system would review the additional appeals. Any costs associated
with the processing of these additional appeals are expected to be minimal
and capable of being absorbed by using existing district staff and
resources. In the long term, the proposed amendment is expected to be a
cost saving measure in that it will boost the graduation rate, allowing more
ELLs to access higher education or enter the workforce with a high school
diploma. Both of these outcomes will in turn stimulate workforce produc-
tivity and economic performance in local communities.

ECONOMIC AND TECHNOLOGICAL FEASIBILTY:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional technological

requirements on school districts. Economic feasibility is addressed above
under compliance costs.

MINIMIZE ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed amendment implements policy adopted by the Board of

Regents relating to ELL equal access to education, in order to ensure
compliance with Education Law sections 3204 and 4403, and Title I and
III of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, Title IV of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, Equal Educational Opportunities Act of 1974 (EEOA).

The proposed amendment does not impose any additional compliance
requirements or significant costs upon school districts. An appeals process
and criteria are already in place in section 100.5(d)(7) for students who
score 65+ on three Regents exams and score 62-64 on two Regents exams,
and the proposed amendment merely extends the ability to graduate with a
Local Diploma via the appeal process to English Language Learners
(ELLs) who meet all other conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible
to graduate in January 2015 and thereafter (i.e. the proposed amendment
would include additional students who entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11
school year but who are not currently covered under the existing regula-
tion); and to clarify that this appeal process applies to ELLs who meet one
or more graduation assessment requirements via an available alternative
pathway and meet all other conditions for appeal.

Newly qualifying students would merely go through this existing ap-
peals process, and the same personnel who review appeals under the cur-
rent system would review the additional appeals. Any costs associated
with the processing of these additional appeals are expected to be minimal
and capable of being absorbed by using existing district staff and
resources. In the long term, the proposed amendment is expected to be a
cost saving measure in that it will boost the graduation rate, allowing more
ELLs to access higher education or enter the workforce with a high school
diploma. Both of these outcomes will in turn stimulate workforce produc-
tivity and economic performance in local communities.

Federal civil rights and education laws, as well as federal court juris-
prudence, require that ELL students must be provided with equal access to
all school programs and services offered to non-ELL students. Education
Law section 3204 and Part 154 of the Regulations of the Commissioner
(CR Part 154) contain standards for educational services provided to ELLs
in New York State in order to meet these federal obligations.

Over the past 10 years, New York State ELL student enrollment has
increased by 20%. Currently in New York State, over 230,000 ELLs make
up 8.9%% of the total student population. While former ELLs generally
achieve graduation rates equal to or above that of all non-ELLs, the gradu-
ation rate of current ELLs lagged well below that of non-ELLs. In June
2013, only 31.4% of ELLs graduated, compared to 74.9% of all students.
Many of these ELLs were students who entered school in the United States
for the first time on or after grade nine.

Extensive discussion with stakeholders suggests that late arriving ELLs
who are able to pass other required Regents examinations with a score of
65 and who obtain a score of at least 55 on the Regents examination in En-
glish can benefit from the opportunity to obtain postsecondary education
or enter a career in the same manner as other students who may earn a di-
ploma through the appeal process. Therefore, at their January 2015 meet-
ing, the Board of Regents amended Commissioner’s Regulation section
100.5(d)(7) to adopt this pathway for ELLs to graduate with a Local Di-
ploma pursuant to an appeal process if they score between 55-61 on the
Regents Exam in English and meet all other conditions for appeal of a
Regents score (State Register, January 28, 2015, EDU-44-14-00026-A).

At its January 2015 meeting, the Board of Regents also adopted amend-
ments to Commissioner’s Regulations sections 100.2 and 100.5 to estab-
lish a 4+1 pathway to graduation for all students (State Register, January
28, 2015, EDU-44-14-00025-P). The 4+1 pathway option applies begin-
ning with students who first enter grade nine in September 2011 and there-
after or who are otherwise eligible to receive a high school diploma in
June 2015 and thereafter. The amendment creates graduation pathways as-
sessments in the Humanities, STEM, Biliteracy (languages other than En-
glish [LOTE]), CTE and the Arts.

Public comment in response to the January 2015 amendments to section
100.5(d)(7) recommended making this option for graduation also avail-
able to ELLs who are in their 6th year of high school. These ELLs are cur-
rently excluded from this option because they entered high school prior to
the 2010-11 school year. Public comment also highlighted the need to
clarify that the appeal option under section 100.5(d)(7) is available to
ELLs who satisfy graduation assessment requirements through the 4+1
pathway option in sections 100.2 and 100.5 or via another available
alternative pathway. After considering these policy concerns, the Depart-
ment agrees that 6th year ELLs, as well as ELLs who satisfy graduation
requirements via the 4+1 pathway options or via another available alterna-
tive pathway, would benefit from the ability to utilize this graduation
option. The proposed amendment will expand access to the Local Di-
ploma to this precise group of ELLs who are in a position to benefit from
the opportunity to obtain postsecondary education or enter a career with a
high school diploma. Because ELLs by definition are not yet fluent in En-
glish, this alternate pathway to graduation facilitates equal access to the
Local Diploma. The proposed amendment minimizes the adverse impact
of denying ELLs who satisfy all other conditions for appeal the ability to
attain a high school diploma on account of their lack of fluency in English.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT PARTICIPATION:
Copies of the proposed amendment have been provided to District

Superintendents with the request that they distribute them to school
districts within their supervisory districts for review and comment. Copies
were also provided for review and comment to the chief school officers of
the five big city school districts.

INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):
Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the

State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed amendment is necessary to imple-
ment long-range Regents policy relating to improving graduation out-
comes for students who are English Language Learners. Accordingly,
there is no need for a shorter review period.

The Department invites public comment on the proposed five year
review period for this rule. Comments should be sent to the agency contact
listed in item 10. of the Notice of Proposed Rule Making published here-
with, and must be received within 45 days of the State Register publica-
tion date of the Notice.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:
The proposed amendment applies to all school districts and boards of

cooperative educational services (BOCES) in the State, including those
located in the 44 rural counties with less than 200,000 inhabitants and the
71 towns in urban counties with a population density of 150 per square
mile or less.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

The proposed amendment does not impose any additional reporting,
recordkeeping or other compliance requirements on school districts and
BOCES located in rural areas. An appeals process and criteria are already
in place for students who score 65+ on three Regents exams and score
62-64 on two Regents exams, and the proposed amendment merely
extends the ability to graduate with a Local Diploma via the appeal pro-
cess to English Language Learners (ELLs) who meet all other conditions
for appeal and are otherwise eligible to graduate in January 2015 and there-
after (i.e. the proposed amendment would include additional students who
entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11 school year but who are not currently
covered under the existing regulation); and to clarify that this appeal pro-
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cess applies to ELLs who meet one or more graduation assessment require-
ments via an available alternative pathway and meet all other conditions
for appeal. Appeals by ELLs under the proposed amendment would be
reviewed by the same committee that reviews all other appeals of Regents
examination scores. ELL students would remain eligible for the current
appeals process as well.

The proposed amendment will not require any additional paperwork be-
yond what is necessary to process a limited number of additional appeals
for a local diploma from qualifying late entry ELLs who score a 55-61 on
the Regents examination in English after two tries who meet other condi-
tions for appeal. Appeals by ELLs under the proposed amendment would
be subject to the existing requirement in section 100.5(d)(7) that each
school keep a record of all appeals received and granted and report this in-
formation to Department on a form prescribed by the Commissioner. All
school records relating to appeals of scores shall be made available for
inspection by the Department.

3. COMPLIANCE COSTS:
The proposed amendment will not impose any significant costs on

school districts or BOCES located in rural areas. An appeals process and
criteria are already in place in section 100.5(d)(7) for students who score
65+ on three Regents exams and score 62-64 on two Regents exams, and
the proposed amendment merely extends the ability to graduate with a Lo-
cal Diploma via the appeal process to English Language Learners (ELLs)
who meet all other conditions for appeal and are otherwise eligible to
graduate in January 2015 and thereafter (i.e. the proposed amendment
would include additional students who entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11
school year but who are not currently covered under the existing regula-
tion); and to clarify that this appeal process applies to ELLs who meet one
or more graduation assessment requirements via an available alternative
pathway and meet all other conditions for appeal.

Newly qualifying students would merely go through this existing ap-
peals process, and the same personnel who review appeals under the cur-
rent system would review the additional appeals. Any costs associated
with the processing of these additional appeals are expected to be minimal
and capable of being absorbed by using existing district staff and
resources. In the long term, the proposed amendment is expected to be a
cost saving measure in that it will boost the graduation rate, allowing more
ELLs to access higher education or enter the workforce with a high school
diploma. Both of these outcomes will in turn stimulate workforce produc-
tivity and economic performance in local communities.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed amendment implements policy adopted by the Board of

Regents relating to ELL equal access to education, in order to ensure
compliance with Education Law sections 3204 and 4403, and Title I and
III of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, Title IV of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, Equal Educational Opportunities Act of 1974 (EEOA).

The proposed amendment does not impose any additional compliance
requirements or significant costs upon school districts or BOCES located
in rural areas. An appeals process and criteria are already in place in sec-
tion 100.5(d)(7) for students who score 65+ on three Regents exams and
score 62-64 on two Regents exams, and the proposed amendment merely
extends the ability to graduate with a Local Diploma via the appeal pro-
cess to English Language Learners (ELLs) who meet all other conditions
for appeal and are otherwise eligible to graduate in January 2015 and there-
after (i.e. the proposed amendment would include additional students who
entered grade 9 prior to the 2010-11 school year but who are not currently
covered under the existing regulation); and to clarify that this appeal pro-
cess applies to ELLs who meet one or more graduation assessment require-
ments via an available alternative pathway and meet all other conditions
for appeal.

Newly qualifying students would merely go through this existing ap-
peals process, and the same personnel who review appeals under the cur-
rent system would review the additional appeals. Any costs associated
with the processing of these additional appeals are expected to be minimal
and capable of being absorbed by using existing district staff and
resources. In the long term, the proposed amendment is expected to be a
cost saving measure in that it will boost the graduation rate, allowing more
ELLs to access higher education or enter the workforce with a high school
diploma. Both of these outcomes will in turn stimulate workforce produc-
tivity and economic performance in local communities.

Federal civil rights and education laws, as well as federal court juris-
prudence, require that ELL students must be provided with equal access to
all school programs and services offered to non-ELL students. Education
Law section 3204 and Part 154 of the Regulations of the Commissioner
(CR Part 154) contain standards for educational services provided to ELLs
in New York State in order to meet these federal obligations.

Over the past 10 years, New York State ELL student enrollment has
increased by 20%. Currently in New York State, over 230,000 ELLs make
up 8.9%% of the total student population. While former ELLs generally
achieve graduation rates equal to or above that of all non-ELLs, the gradu-

ation rate of current ELLs lagged well below that of non-ELLs. In June
2013, only 31.4% of ELLs graduated, compared to 74.9% of all students.
Many of these ELLs were students who entered school in the United States
for the first time on or after grade nine.

Extensive discussion with stakeholders suggests that late arriving ELLs
who are able to pass other required Regents examinations with a score of
65 and who obtain a score of at least 55 on the Regents examination in En-
glish can benefit from the opportunity to obtain postsecondary education
or enter a career in the same manner as other students who may earn a di-
ploma through the appeal process. Therefore, at their January 2015 meet-
ing, the Board of Regents amended Commissioner’s Regulation section
100.5(d)(7) to adopt this pathway for ELLs to graduate with a Local Di-
ploma pursuant to an appeal process if they score between 55-61 on the
Regents Exam in English and meet all other conditions for appeal of a
Regents score (State Register, January 28, 2015, EDU-44-14-00026-A).

At its January 2015 meeting, the Board of Regents also adopted amend-
ments to Commissioner’s Regulations sections 100.2 and 100.5 to estab-
lish a 4+1 pathway to graduation for all students (State Register, January
28, 2015, EDU-44-14-00025-P). The 4+1 pathway option applies begin-
ning with students who first enter grade nine in September 2011 and there-
after or who are otherwise eligible to receive a high school diploma in
June 2015 and thereafter. The amendment creates graduation pathways as-
sessments in the Humanities, STEM, Biliteracy (languages other than En-
glish [LOTE]), CTE and the Arts.

Public comment in response to the January 2015 amendments to section
100.5(d)(7) recommended making this option for graduation also avail-
able to ELLs who are in their 6th year of high school. These ELLs are cur-
rently excluded from this option because they entered high school prior to
the 2010-11 school year. Public comment also highlighted the need to
clarify that the appeal option under section 100.5(d)(7) is available to
ELLs who satisfy graduation assessment requirements through the 4+1
pathway option in sections 100.2 and 100.5 and via other approved alterna-
tive assessments. After considering these policy concerns, the Department
agrees that 6th year ELLs, as well as ELLs who satisfy graduation require-
ments via the 4+1 pathway options and via other approved alternative as-
sessments, would benefit from the ability to utilize this graduation option.

The proposed amendment relates to State learning standards, State as-
sessments and graduation and diploma requirements, and is necessary to
implement policy adopted by the Regents relating to criteria for bilingual
education and English as a New Language programs for students who are
English Language Learners, including determining graduation require-
ments, in order to ensure compliance with Education Law sections 3204
and 4403, and Title I and III of the Elementary and Secondary Education
Act (ESEA), Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Equal Educational
Opportunities Act of 1974 (EEOA). Because this policy is applicable
throughout the State, it was not possible to provide for a lesser standard or
an exemption for school districts and BOCES in rural areas.

5. RURAL AREA PARTICIPATION:
Comments on the proposed rule were solicited from the Department's

Rural Advisory Committee, whose membership includes school districts
located in rural areas.

6. INITIAL REVIEW OF RULE (SAPA § 207):
Pursuant to State Administrative Procedure Act section 207(1)(b), the

State Education Department proposes that the initial review of this rule
shall occur in the fifth calendar year after the year in which the rule is
adopted, instead of in the third calendar year. The justification for a five
year review period is that the proposed amendment is necessary to imple-
ment long-range Regents policy relating to improving graduation out-
comes for students who are English Language Learners. Accordingly,
there is no need for a shorter review period.

The Department invites public comment on the proposed five year
review period for this rule. Comments should be sent to the agency contact
listed in item 10. of the Notice of Proposed Rule Making published here-
with, and must be received within 45 days of the State Register publica-
tion date of the Notice.
Job Impact Statement

The proposed amendment relates to an additional graduation pathway
for qualifying students who are English Language Learners (ELLs), to al-
low such students to graduate with a Local Diploma via an appeals process.

The proposed amendment relates to State learning standards, State as-
sessments and graduation and diploma requirements, and is necessary to
implement policy adopted by the Regents relating to criteria for bilingual
education and English as a New Language programs for students who are
English Language Learners, including determining graduation require-
ments, in order to ensure compliance with Education Law sections 3204
and 4403, and Title I and III of the Elementary and Secondary Education
Act (ESEA), Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Equal Educational
Opportunities Act of 1974 (EEOA). The proposed amendment will not
have a substantial adverse impact on jobs or employment opportunities.
Because it is evident from the nature of the proposed amendment that it
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will have no impact, or a positive impact, on jobs or employment op-
portunities, no further steps were needed to ascertain that fact and none
were taken. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not required and one
has not been prepared.

EMERGENCY/PROPOSED
RULE MAKING

NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Teacher Certification

I.D. No. EDU-08-15-00007-EP
Filing No. 105
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-10

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Proposed Action: Amendment of section 80-1.6(c) of Title 8 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 207(not subdivided), 305(1),
(2), 3001(2), 3004(1) and 3006(1)
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of general welfare.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: At the November
and December 2009 Board of Regents meetings, the Board approved a
number of initiatives for the purpose of transforming teaching and learn-
ing and school leadership in New York State. The Board of Regents
discussion included the development of new examinations, including revi-
sion of the current Content Specialty Tests (CSTs).

The CST’s are currently being revised. The first group of revised CST’s
became operational in September 2014. However, the results/scores on the
revised CST’s will not be released to teacher candidates until the standard
setting process is complete.

Since the CST results have not being released to candidates, there are
certificate holders that may lose their certification as of January 31, 2015
if their certificates are not extended by the Department. This will result in
some teachers being terminated from employment as they will no longer
hold a valid certificate.

In an effort to resolve this issue, the proposed amendment provides for
a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certificate,
transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate to provide
time for the exam results to be released by the Department without penal-
izing teacher.

Since the Board of Regents meets at fixed intervals, the earliest the
proposed rule can be presented for regular (non-emergency) adoption, af-
ter expiration of the required 45-day public comment period provided for
in the State Administrative Procedure Act (SAPA) sections 201(1) and
(5), would be the April 2015 Regents meeting. Furthermore, pursuant to
SAPA section 203(1), the earliest effective date of the proposed rule, if
adopted at the April meeting, would be April 29, 2015, the date a Notice
of Adoption would be published in the State Register. However, the
Department’s records reveal that some certificate holders may lose their
certification if their certificates are not extended, through no fault of their
own because they have not received their result/score on the content
specialty examinations.

Therefore, emergency action is necessary at the February 2015 Regents
meeting for the preservation of the general welfare in order to ensure that
teachers who have met all other requirements for their next teaching cer-
tificate, except they have not received a score on their revised content
specialty examination, receive a time extension on their expired certificate
to ensure that they do not lose their certification.

It is anticipated that the proposed rule will be presented for adoption as
a permanent rule at the April 2015 Regents meeting, which is the first
scheduled meeting after expiration of the 45-day public comment period
prescribed in the State Administrative Procedure Act for State agency
rulemakings.
Subject: Teacher certification.
Purpose: To provide for a time extension of up to one-year for an expired
initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certifi-
cate to provide time for the revised Content Specialty Test (CST) results
to be released by the Department without penalizing the certificate holder.
Text of emergency/proposed rule: Subdivision (c) of section 80-1.6 of the
Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended, effective Feb-
ruary 10, 2015, to read as follows:

(c) [The] Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the commis-
sioner may extend the time validity of an expired provisional, excluding
an expired provisional certificate in the classroom teaching service or an

expired provisional certificate in the title of school administrator and
supervisor, initial or transitional certificate beyond the two-year extension
provided for in subdivision (a) of this section, for a period not to exceed
one additional year, if in the six-months preceding the end of the two-year
extension, the candidate is faced with extreme hardship or other circum-
stances beyond the control of the individual and is unable to complete the
requirements for the professional certificate in a timely manner. The com-
missioner may further extend the time validity of an expired initial or
transitional certificate for an additional period of not to exceed one ad-
ditional year; and may extend the validity of a conditional initial certifi-
cate for a period of up to one year if a candidate took one of the revised
content specialty examinations administered on or after September 2014,
and is required for his/her certificate title and he/she did not receive his/
her score on such examination from the department on such examination
within a timeframe prescribed by the commissioner and he/she has met all
the other certification requirements for the next certificate (i.e., the initial
or professional certificate, as applicable).
This notice is intended: to serve as both a notice of emergency adoption
and a notice of proposed rule making. The emergency rule will expire
May 10, 2015.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kirti Goswami, State Education Department, Office of Counsel,
State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, NY
12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@nysed.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Peg Rivers, State Educa-
tion Department, Office of Higher Education, Room 979 EBA, 89
Washington Ave., Albany, NY 12234, (518) 486-3633, email:
regcomments@nysed.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
This rule was not under consideration at the time this agency submitted
its Regulatory Agenda for publication in the Register.
Regulatory Impact Statement

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Section 207 of the Education Law grants general rule-making authority

to the Board of Regents to carry into effect the laws and policies of the
State relating to education.

Subdivision (1) of section 305 of the Education Law empowers the
Commissioner of Education to be the chief executive officer of the state
system of education and of the Board of Regents and authorizes the Com-
missioner to enforce laws relating to the educational system and to exe-
cute educational policies determined by the Regents. Subdivision (2) of
section 305 of the Education Law authorizes the Commissioner of Educa-
tion to have general supervision over all schools subject to the Education
Law.

Subdivision (2) of section 3001 of the Education Law establishes certi-
fication by the State Education Department as a qualification to teach in
the public schools of New York State.

Subdivision (1) of section 3004 of the Education Law authorizes the
Commissioner of Education to prescribe, subject to the approval of the
Regents, regulations governing the examination and certification of teach-
ers employed in all public schools in the State.

Paragraph (b) of subdivision (1) of section 3006 of the Education Law
provides that the Commissioner of Education may issue such teacher cer-
tificates as the Regents Rules prescribe.

2. LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIVES:
Consistent with the above statutory authority, the proposed amendment

provides for a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certif-
icate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate to
provide time for the Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) results to be released
by the Department without penalizing the certificate holders.

3. NEEDS AND BENEFITS:
At the November and December 2009 Board of Regents meetings, the

Board approved a number of initiatives for the purpose of transforming
teaching and learning and school leadership in New York State. The Board
of Regents discussion included the development of new examinations,
including revision of the current Content Specialty Tests (CSTs).

The CSTs are currently being revised. The first group of revised CSTs
became operational in September 2014. However, the results/scores on the
revised CSTs will not be released to teacher candidates until the standard
setting process is complete.

Since the CSTs results have not being released to candidates, there are
certificate holders that may lose their certification as of January 31, 2015
if their certificates are not extended by the Department. This could result
in some teachers being terminated from employment as they will no lon-
ger hold a valid certificate.

The proposed amendment is necessary to ensure that teachers who have
taken one of the revised CST administered on or after September 2014
that is required for their certificate title but have not received a score from
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the Department on their revised CST, receive a time extension of up to
one year on their expired certificate to ensure that they do not lose their
certification and/or employment.

4. COSTS:
(a) Cost to State government: none.
(b) Cost to local government: none.
(c) Cost to private regulated parties: none.
(d) Costs to the State Education Department, as regulatory agency:

none.
The proposed amendment does not impose any costs, but merely

provides for a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certif-
icate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate to
provide time for the CSTs results to be released by the Department without
penalizing the certificate holders.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES:
The proposed amendment does not impose any mandatory program,

service, duty, or responsibility upon local government, including school
districts or BOCES, but merely provides for a time extension of up to one-
year for an expired initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a
conditional initial certificate to provide time for the CSTs results to be
released by the Department without penalizing the certificate holders.

6. PAPERWORK:
The proposed amendment will not increase reporting or recordkeeping

requirements, but merely provides for a time extension of up to one-year
for an expired initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional
initial certificate to provide time for the CSTs results to be released by the
Department without penalizing the certificate holders.

7. DUPLICATION:
The amendment does not duplicate other existing State or Federal

requirements.
8. ALTERNATIVES:
There are no significant alternatives and none were considered.
9. FEDERAL STANDARDS:
There are no Federal standards that deal with the subject matter of this

amendment.
10. COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE:
Regulated parties must comply with the proposed amendment on its ef-

fective date. Because of the nature of the proposed amendment, no ad-
ditional period of time is necessary to enable regulated parties to comply.
The proposed amendment does not impose any costs or compliance
requirements, but merely provides for a time extension of up to one-year
for an expired initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional
initial certificate to provide time for the CSTs results to be released by the
Department without penalizing the certificate holders.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed amendment relates to teacher certification, and provides
for a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certificate,
transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate in order to
provide time for the revised Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) results to be
released by the Department without penalizing the certificate holder.

The CST’s are currently being revised. The first group of revised CST’s
became operational in September 2014. However, the results/scores on the
revised CST’s will not be released to teacher candidates until the standard
setting process is complete.

Since the CST results have not being released to candidates, there are
certificate holders that could lose their certification as of January 31, 2015
if their certificates are not extended by the Department. This will result in
some teachers being terminated from employment as they will no longer
hold a valid certificate.

In an effort to resolve this issue, the proposed amendment provides for
a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certificate,
transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate to provide
time for the exam results to be released by the Department without penal-
izing the certificate holder.

The proposed amendment does not impose any reporting, recordkeep-
ing or other compliance requirements, and will not have an adverse eco-
nomic impact, on small businesses or local governments. Because it is
evident from the nature of the amendment that it does not affect small
businesses or local governments, no further steps were needed to ascertain
that fact and one were taken. Accordingly, a regulatory flexibility analysis
for small businesses and local governments is not required and one has not
been prepared.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. TYPES AND ESTIMATED NUMBER OF RURAL AREAS:
The proposed amendment relates to teacher certification and applies to

holders of an initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional
initial certificate, including those located in the 44 rural counties with
fewer than 200,000 inhabitants and the 71 towns and urban counties with
a population density of 150 square miles or less.

2. REPORTING, RECORDKEEPING, AND OTHER COMPLIANCE
REQUIREMENTS; AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES:

The proposed amendment does not impose any compliance require-
ments, but merely provides for a time extension of up to one-year for an
expired initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial
certificate to provide time for the Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) results
to be released by the Department without penalizing the certificate holders.

The CST’s are currently being revised. The first group of revised CST’s
became operational in September 2014. However, the results/scores on the
revised CST’s will not be released to teacher candidates until the standard
setting process is complete.

Since the CST results have not being released to candidates, there are
certificate holders that could lose their certification as of January 31, 2015
if their certificates are not extended by the Department. This will result in
some teachers being terminated from employment as they will no longer
hold a valid certificate.

The proposed amendment is necessary to ensure that teachers who have
taken one of the revised CST administered on or after September 2014
that is required for their certificate title but have not received a score from
the Department on their revised CST, receive a time extension of up to
one year on their expired certificate to ensure that they do not lose their
certification and/or employment.

The proposed amendment does not require any professional services to
comply.

3. COSTS:
The proposed amendment does not impose any costs on entities in rural

areas, but merely provides for a time extension of up to one-year for an
expired initial certificate, transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial
certificate to provide time for the CSTs results to be released by the
Department without penalizing the certificate holders.

4. MINIMIZING ADVERSE IMPACT:
The proposed amendment does not impose any additional compliance

requirements or costs on entities in rural areas, but merely provides for a
time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certificate,
transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate to provide
time for the CSTs results to be released by the Department without penal-
izing the certificate holders. The proposed amendment is necessary to
ensure that teachers who have taken one of the revised CST administered
on or after September 2014 that is required for their certificate title but
have not received a score from the Department on their revised CST,
receive a time extension of up to one year on their expired certificate to
ensure that they do not lose their certification and/or employment. The
State Education Department does not believe any changes for certificate
holders who live or work in rural areas is warranted because uniform stan-
dards for certification are necessary across the State.

5. RURAL AREA PARTICIPATION:
The State Education Department has sent the proposed amendment to

the Rural Advisory Committee, which has members who live or work in
rural areas across the State.
Job Impact Statement

The proposed amendment relates to teacher certification, and provides
for a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certificate,
transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate in order to
provide time for the revised Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) results to be
released by the Department without penalizing the certificate holder.

The CST’s are currently being revised. The first group of revised CST’s
became operational in September 2014. However, the results/scores on the
revised CST’s will not be released to teacher candidates until the standard
setting process is complete.

Since the CST results have not being released to candidates, there are
certificate holders that could lose their certification as of January 31, 2015
if their certificates are not extended by the Department. This will result in
some teachers being terminated from employment as they will no longer
hold a valid certificate.

In an effort to resolve this issue, the proposed amendment provides for
a time extension of up to one-year for an expired initial certificate,
transitional certificate and/or a conditional initial certificate to provide
time for the exam results to be released by the Department without penal-
izing the certificate holder.

Because it is evident from the nature of the proposed amendment that it
will have no impact on the number of jobs or employment opportunities in
New York State, no further steps were needed to ascertain that fact and
none were taken. Accordingly, a job impact statement is not required and
one has not been prepared.
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION

New York State Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) in
Mathematics

I.D. No. EDU-48-14-00007-A
Filing No. 100
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-25

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: Amendment of section 100.5(g)(1)(ii)(a) of Title 8 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 101(not subdivided),
207(not subdivided), 208(not subdivided), 209(not subdivided), 305(1),
(2), 308(not subdivided), 309(not subdivided) and 3204(3)
Subject: New York State Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) in
mathematics.
Purpose: To provide additional flexibility in the transition to the Common
Core-Aligned Regents Examination in Algebra I by allowing, at the discre-
tion of the local school district, students receiving Algebra I (common
core) instruction to take the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra in
addition to the Regents examination in Algebra I (common core) at the
June 2015 test administration, and meet the requirement for graduation by
passing either examination.
Text or summary was published in the December 3, 2014 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. EDU-48-14-00007-EP.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kirti Goswami, State Education Department, Office of Counsel,
State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, NY
12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@nysed.gov
Initial Review of Rule

As a rule that requires a RFA, RAFA or JIS, this rule will be initially
reviewed in the calendar year 2020, which is the 4th or 5th year after the
year in which this rule is being adopted. This review period, justification
for proposing same, and invitation for public comment thereon, were
contained in a RFA, RAFA or JIS.

An assessment of public comment on the 4 or 5-year initial review pe-
riod is not attached because no comments were received on the issue.
Assessment of Public Comment

Since publication of a Notice of Emergency Adoption and Proposed
Rule Making in the State Register on December 3, 2014, the State Educa-
tion Department received the following comments:

1. COMMENT:
The proposed rule appears to suggest that 9th and 10th graders will

have the opportunity to take the Integrated Algebra Regents in June 2015
because both started high school with Algebra I Common Core Math. Can
11th and 12th graders who have not passed the Integrated Algebra Regents
exam sit for these Regents also, even though they did not start with
Algebra I Common Core Math?

DEPARTMENT RESPONSE:
All students who began their first commencement-level course of study

in algebra (2005 standard) prior to September 2013 and who have
completed that course of study, albeit successfully or not, are eligible to
participate in the June 2015 Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Professional Development Requirements for Teachers, Level III
Teaching Assistants and Administrators

I.D. No. EDU-48-14-00009-A
Filing No. 102
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-25

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: Amendment of sections 80-3.6, 100.2 and 154-2.3 of Title 8
NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Education Law, sections 207(not subdivided),
215(not subdivided), 305(1), (2), 2117(1), 3001(2), 3003(1), 3004(1),
3006(1)(b) and 3009(1)
Subject: Professional development requirements for teachers, level III
teaching assistants and administrators.

Purpose: To establish professional development requirements for teach-
ers, holders of a level III teaching assistant certificate, and administrators,
in language acquisition that specifically addresses the needs of students
who are English Language Learners (ELLs) and integrating language and
content instruction for such ELL students.
Text or summary was published in the December 3, 2014 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. EDU-48-14-00009-P.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kirti Goswami, State Education Department, Office of Counsel,
State Education Building, Room 148, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, NY
12234, (518) 474-6400, email: legal@mail.nysed.gov
Initial Review of Rule

As a rule that requires a RFA, RAFA or JIS, this rule will be initially
reviewed in the calendar year 2020, which is the 4th or 5th year after the
year in which this rule is being adopted. This review period, justification
for proposing same, and invitation for public comment thereon, were
contained in a RFA, RAFA or JIS.

An assessment of public comment on the 4 or 5-year initial review pe-
riod is not attached because no comments were received on the issue.
Assessment of Public Comment

COMMENT: One comment expressed concern about certificate hold-
ers who are not employed by a public school in New York State. The com-
menter indicated that while it is easy for teachers in public schools to meet
the professional development requirements, private schools and out of
state schools are not subject to these requirements. The commenter has
asked that we revisit the requirements for certificate holders working in
private or an out of state school and either modify or eliminate the require-
ments for those teachers.

RESPONSE: Section 80-3.6(b)(2) of the Commissioner’s regulations
already provides for a 10% adjustment of the professional development
requirement per year for a certificate holder that is not regularly employed
in a public school in New York. This adjustment will also apply to the
minimum professional development requirements in language acquisition
for English language learners, as added under the proposed amendment. In
an effort to ensure the quality of teaching and learning by ensuring that
teachers participate in professional development in order to remain current
with their profession, the Department does not believe any further changes
are needed.

Department of Financial Services

EMERGENCY
RULE MAKING

Unfair Claims Settlement Practices and Claim Cost Control
Measures

I.D. No. DFS-08-15-00001-E
Filing No. 97
Filing Date: 2015-02-04
Effective Date: 2015-02-04

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: Amendment of Part 216 (Regulation 64) of Title 11
NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Financial Services Law, sections 202 and 302; Insur-
ance Law, sections 301 and 2601
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of public health,
public safety and general welfare.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: Insurance Law
§ 2601 prohibits an insurer doing business in New York State from engag-
ing in unfair claims settlement practices and sets forth a list of acts that, if
committed without just cause and performed with such frequency as to
indicate a general business practice, will constitute unfair claims settle-
ment practices. Insurance Regulation 64 sets forth the standards insurers
are expected to observe to settle claims properly.

On October 26, 2012, in anticipation of extensive power outages, loss
of life and property, and ongoing harm to public health and safety expected
to result from then-Hurricane Sandy, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo issued
Executive Order 47, declaring a State of Disaster Emergency for all 62
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counties within New York State. As anticipated, Storm Sandy struck New
York State on October 29, 2012, causing extensive power outages, loss of
life and property, and ongoing harm to public health and safety. In addi-
tion, a nor’easter struck New York just a week later, adding to the damage
and dislocation. Many people still had not had basic services such as
electric power restored before the second storm hit.

Insurers insuring property in areas that were hit the hardest by the
storms, including Long Island and New York City, have a number of
claims left to settle. As a result, some homeowners and small business
owners have not been able to start to repair or replace their damaged prop-
erty, or in some cases, complete their repairs. Moreover, there are insureds
who have had their claims denied by their insurers and whose only remain-
ing option is to file a civil suit against their insurers. Lawsuits such as
these can often take years to resolve, and homeowners and small busi-
nesses can not afford to wait for the resolution of their claims in the courts.

Fair and prompt settlement of claims is critical for homeowners, a
number of whom have been displaced from their homes or are living in
unsafe conditions, and for small businesses, a number of which have yet to
return to full operation and to recover their losses caused by the storm.

Given the nature and extent of the damage, an alternative avenue to me-
diate the claims would help protect the public and ensure its safety and
welfare.

For the reasons stated above, the promulgation of this regulation on an
emergency basis is necessary for the public health, public safety, and gen-
eral welfare.
Subject: Unfair Claims Settlement Practices and Claim Cost Control
Measures.
Purpose: To create a mediation program to facilitate the negotiation of
certain insurance claims arising between 10/26/12 - 11/15/12.
Text of emergency rule: 216.13 Mediation.

(a) This section shall apply to any claim for loss or damage, other than
claims made under flood policies issued under the national flood insur-
ance program, occurring from October 26, 2012 through November 15,
2012, in the counties of Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Queens,
Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk or Westchester, including their adjacent
waters, with respect to:

(1) loss of or damage to real property; or
(2) loss of or damage to personal property, other than damage to a

motor vehicle.
(b)(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subdivision, an

insurer shall send the notice required by paragraph (3) of this subdivision
to a claimant, or the claimant’s authorized representative:

(i) at the time the insurer denies a claim in whole or in part;
(ii) within 10 business days of the date that the insurer receives

notification from a claimant that the claimant disputes a settlement offer
made by the insurer, provided that the difference between the positions of
the insurer and claimant is $1,000 or more; or

(iii) within two business days when the insurer has not offered to
settle within 45 days after it has received a properly executed proof of loss
and all items, statements and forms that the insurer had requested from
the claimant.

(2) If, prior to the effective date of this section: the insurer denied a
claim in whole or in part; or a claimant disputed a settlement offer, or
more than 45 days elapsed after the insurer received a properly executed
proof of loss and all items, statements and forms that the insurer had
requested from the claimant, and in either case the claim still remains
unresolved as of the effective date of this section, then the insurer shall
provide the notice required by paragraph (3) of this subdivision within ten
business days from the effective date of this section.

(3) The notice specified in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subdivision
shall inform the claimant of the claimant’s right to request mediation and
shall provide instructions on how the claimant may request mediation,
including the name, address, phone number, and fax number of an organi-
zation designated by the superintendent to provide a mediator to mediate
claims pursuant to this section. The notice shall also provide the insurer’s
address and phone number for requesting additional information.

(c) If the claimant submits a request for mediation to the insurer, the
insurer shall forward the request to the designated organization within
three business days of receiving the request.

(d) The insurer shall pay the designated organization’s fee for the
mediation to the designated organization within five days of the insurer
receiving a bill from the designated organization.

(e)(1) The mediation shall be conducted in accordance with proce-
dures established by the designated organization and approved by the
superintendent.

(2) A mediation may be conducted by face-to-face meeting of the par-
ties, videoconference, or telephone conference, as determined by the
designated organization in consultation with the parties.

(3) A mediation may address any disputed issues for a claim to which

this section applies, except that a mediation shall not address and the
insurer shall not be required to attend a mediation for:

(i) a dispute in property valuation that has been submitted to an
appraisal process or a claim that is the subject of a civil action filed by the
insured against the insurer, unless the insurer and the insured agree
otherwise;

(ii) any claim that the insurer has reason to believe is a fraudulent
transaction or for which the insurer has knowledge that a fraudulent in-
surance transaction has taken place; or

(iii) any type of dispute that the designated organization has
excepted from its mediation process in accordance with the organization’s
procedures approved by the superintendent.

(f)(1) The insurer must participate in good faith in all mediations
scheduled by the designated organization, which shall at a minimum
include compliance with paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of this subdivision.

(2) The insurer shall send a representative to the mediation who is
knowledgeable with respect to the particular claim; and who has author-
ity to make a binding claims decision on behalf of the insurer and to issue
payment on behalf of the insurer. The insurer’s representative must bring
a copy of the policy and the entire claims file, including all relevant
documentation and correspondence with the claimant.

(3) An insurer’s representatives shall not continuously disrupt the
process, become unduly argumentative or adversarial or otherwise inhibit
the negotiations.

(4) An insurer that does not alter its original decision on the claim is
not, on that basis alone, failing to act in good faith if it provides a reason-
able explanation for its action.

(g) An insured’s right to request mediation pursuant to this section
shall not affect any other right the insured may have to redress the dispute,
including remedies specified in the insurance policy, such as an insured’s
right to request an appraisal, the right to litigate the dispute in the courts
if no agreement is reached, or any right provided by law.

(h)(1) No organization shall be designated by the superintendent un-
less it agrees that:

(i) the superintendent shall oversee the operational procedures of
the designated organization with respect to administration of the media-
tion program, and shall have access to all systems, databases, and re-
cords related to the mediation program; and

(ii) the organization shall make reports to the superintendent in
whatever form and as often as the superintendent prescribes.

(2) No organization shall be designated unless its procedures, ap-
proved by the superintendent, require that:

(i) the parties agree in writing prior to the mediation that state-
ments made during the mediation are confidential and will not be admit-
ted into evidence in any civil litigation concerning the claim, except with
respect to any proceeding or investigation of insurance fraud;

(ii) a settlement agreement reached in a mediation shall be
transcribed into a written agreement, on a form approved by the superin-
tendent, that is signed by a representative of the insurer with the authority
to do so and by the claimant; and

(iii) a settlement agreement prepared during a mediation shall
include a provision affording the claimant a right to rescind the agree-
ment within three business days from the date of the settlement, provided
that the insured has not cashed or deposited any check or draft disbursed
to the claimant for the disputed matters as a result of the agreement
reached in the mediation.

(3) No organization shall be designated unless its procedures, ap-
proved by the superintendent, provide that:

(i) the mediator may terminate a mediation session if the mediator
determines that either the insurer’s representative or the claimant is not
participating in the mediation in good faith, or if even after good faith ef-
forts, a settlement can not be reached;

(ii) the designated organization may schedule additional media-
tion sessions if it believes the sessions may result in a settlement;

(iii) the designated organization may require the insurer to send a
different representative to a rescheduled mediation session if the repre-
sentative has not participated in good faith, the fee for which shall be paid
by the insurer; and

(iv) the designated organization may reschedule a mediation ses-
sion if the mediator determines that the claimant is not participating in
good faith, but only if the claimant pays the organization’s fee for the
mediation.
This notice is intended to serve only as a notice of emergency adoption.
This agency intends to adopt this emergency rule as a permanent rule and
will publish a notice of proposed rule making in the State Register at some
future date. The emergency rule will expire May 4, 2015.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Brenda Gibbs, NYS Department of Financial Services, One Com-
merce Plaza, Albany, NY 12257, (518) 408-3451, email:
brenda.gibbs@dfs.ny.gov
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Regulatory Impact Statement
1. Statutory authority: Sections 202 and 302 of the Financial Services

Law and Sections 301 and 2601 of the Insurance Law. Financial Services
Law § 202 grants the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superinten-
dent”) the rights, powers, and duties in connection with financial services
and protection in this state, expressed or reasonably implied by the
Financial Services Law or any other applicable law of this state. Insurance
Law § 301 and Financial Services Law § 302 authorize the Superintendent
to prescribe regulations interpreting the provisions of the Insurance Law
and to effectuate any power granted to the Superintendent in the Insurance
Law. Insurance Law § 2601 prohibits an insurer doing business in New
York State from engaging in unfair claims settlement practices, sets forth
certain acts that, if committed without just cause and performed with such
frequency as to indicate a general business practice, constitute unfair
claims settlement practices, and imposes penalties if an insurer engages in
these acts. Such practices include “not attempting in good faith to effectu-
ate prompt, fair and equitable settlements of claims submitted in which li-
ability has become reasonably clear” and “compelling policyholders to
institute suits to recover amounts due under its policies by offering
substantially less than the amounts ultimately recovered in suits brought
by them.”

2. Legislative objectives: As noted in the Department’s statement in
support for the bill that added the predecessor section to § 2601, Section
40-d, to the Insurance Law in 1970 (Chapter 296 of the Laws of 1970), an
insurance company’s obligation to deal fairly with claimants and policy-
holders in the settlement of claims – indeed, its simple obligation to pay
claims at all – was solely a matter of private contract law. That left the
Department unable to aid consumers and relegated them solely to the
courts. There was a wide variety in insurers’ claims practices. Insurance
Law § 2601 reflects the Legislature’s concerns with insurance claims prac-
tices of insurers. In enacting that section, the Legislature authorized the
Superintendent to monitor and regulate insurance claims practices.

3. Needs and benefits: On October 26, 2012, in anticipation of extensive
power outages, loss of life and property, and ongoing harm to public health
and safety expected to result from then-Hurricane Sandy, Governor
Andrew M. Cuomo issued Executive Order 47, declaring a State of Disas-
ter Emergency for all 62 counties within New York State. As anticipated,
Storm Sandy struck New York State on October 29, 2012, causing
extensive power outages, loss of life and property, and ongoing harm to
public health and safety. In addition, a nor’easter struck New York just a
week later, adding to the damage and dislocation. Many people still had
not had basic services such as electric power restored before the second
storm hit.

Insurers insuring property in areas that were hit the hardest by the
storms, including Long Island and New York City, have a number of
claims left to settle. As a result, a number of homeowners and small busi-
ness owners have not been able to start to repair or replace their damaged
property, or in some cases, complete their repairs. Many small businesses
have suffered losses of income that threaten their survival. Fair and prompt
settlement of claims is critical for homeowners, many of whom who have
been displaced from their homes or who are living in unsafe conditions,
and for small businesses, to enable them to return to full operation and to
recover their losses caused by the storm. Furthermore, many small busi-
nesses provide essential services to and a significant source of employ-
ment in the communities in which they are located.

Moreover, there are many insureds who have had their claims denied
by their insurers and whose only remaining option is to file a civil suit
against their insurers. Lawsuits such as these can often take years to
resolve, and homeowners and small businesses can not afford to wait for
the resolution of their claims in the courts.

Therefore, this rule creates a mediation program to facilitate the negotia-
tion of certain insurance claims arising in the counties of New York,
Bronx, Kings, Richmond, Queens, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rock-
land, and Orange, the areas that suffered the greatest storm damage, be-
tween October 26, 2012 and November 15, 2012. An insured may request
mediation for a claim for loss or damage to personal or real property (1)
that the insurer has denied, (2) for which the insured disputes the insurer’s
settlement offer if the difference between what the insured seeks and the
insurer offers is more than $1,000, or (3) that has not been settled within
45 days after the insurer received all the information the insurer needs to
decide the claim. The amendment does not provide for mediation of claims
for damage to motor vehicles.

Participation in the mediation program by insureds is voluntary.
Participation by insurers in the mediation program is mandatory, except
that an insurer is not required to participate in a mediation for any claim
involving a dispute in property valuation that has been submitted to an ap-
praisal process or that has become the subject of civil litigation, unless the
insurer and insured agree otherwise. An insurer also is not required to me-
diate any claim for which the insurer has reason to believe or knowledge
that a fraudulent insurance transaction has taken place.

4. Costs: This rule does not impose compliance costs on state or local
governments. The rule may increase costs for insurers, because they will
need to pay the costs of mediation and provide representatives to send to
the mediations. However, by providing an alternative to litigation, the
insurers should also realize savings from mediations that result in settle-
ments because the cost to mediate a claim is significantly less than the cost
to defend against civil litigation brought by insureds. The actual cost ef-
fect of the rule is difficult to quantify because it is dependent upon un-
known variables such as how many claims will be subject to litigation,
how many insureds will select the mediation option, and how many claims
that are mediated will be successfully resolved without the insured resort-
ing to litigation. Nothing in this rule requires insurers to reach a settlement
in the course of a mediation.

5. Local government mandates: This rule does not impose any require-
ment upon a city, town, village, school district, or fire district.

6. Paperwork: This rule does not impose any additional paperwork.
7. Duplication: This rule will not duplicate any existing state or federal

rule.
8. Alternatives: The Department considered making this rule applicable

to the entire state. However, since the major concerns appeared to be local-
ized, the applicability of the amendment is limited to those counties most
impacted by the storm. In addition, the Department could have made the
rule apply to all claims, even those that had been settled before the effec-
tive date of the rule. However, after meeting with industry trade groups
and hearing their concerns, the Department modified the rule to make
clear that, for claims that had already been made as of the rule’s effective
date, only those that were denied or unresolved as of the rule’s effective
date are covered by the rule. The Department also changed the rule so that
it applies only to disputes where the parties’s positions are $1,000 or more
apart.

9. Federal standards: There are no minimum standards of the federal
government for the same or similar subject areas. The rule is consistent
with federal standards or requirements. The regulation does not apply to
claims made under policies issued under the national flood insurance
program.

10. Compliance schedule: Insurers will be required to comply with this
rule upon the Superintendent’s filing the rule with the Secretary of State.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Small businesses: The Department of Financial Services (“Depart-
ment”) finds that this rule will not impose any adverse economic impact
on small businesses and will not impose any reporting, recordkeeping, or
other compliance requirements on small businesses. The basis for this
finding is that this rule is directed at insurers authorized to do business in
New York State, none of which fall within the definition of a “small busi-
ness” as found in State Administrative Procedure Act § 102(8). The
Department has monitored annual statements and reports on examination
of authorized insurers subject to this rule, and believes that none of the
insurers falls within the definition of “small business” because no insurer
is both independently owned and has fewer than 100 employees.

2. Local governments: The rule does not impose any impact, including
any adverse impact, or reporting, recordkeeping, or other compliance
requirements on any local governments. The basis for this finding is that
this rule is directed at authorized insurers, which are not local governments.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

1. Types and estimated numbers of rural areas: “Rural areas,” as used in
State Administrative Procedure Act (“SAPA”) § 102(10), means counties
within the state having less than 200,000 population, and the municipali-
ties, individuals, institutions, communities, programs and such other enti-
ties or resources as are found therein. In counties of 200,000 or greater
population, “rural areas” means towns with population densities of 150
persons or less per square mile, and the villages, individuals, institutions,
communities, programs and such other entities or resources as are found
therein. While insurers affected by this rule may be headquartered in rural
areas, the rule itself only applies within the counties of New York, Bronx,
Kings, Richmond, Queens, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, and
Orange. None of these counties is a rural area, and the Department of
Financial Services (“Department”) does not believe that there are any
towns within any of those counties that would be considered to be rural ar-
eas within the SAPA definition.

2. Reporting, recordkeeping and other compliance requirements, and
professional services: The rule would not impose any additional reporting
or recordkeeping requirements. However, the rule would impose other
compliance requirements on insurers that may be headquartered in rural
areas by requiring insurers to participate in mediation sessions when an
insured with a claim subject to the rule requests mediation of his or her
claim.

It is unlikely that professional services would be needed in rural areas
to comply with this rule.

3. Costs: The rule may result in additional costs to insurers headquar-
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tered in rural areas, because they will need to pay the costs of mediation
and provide representatives to send to the mediations. However, by provid-
ing an alternative to litigation, the insurers may also realize savings from
mediations that result in settlements because the cost to mediate a claim is
significantly less than the cost to defend against civil litigation brought by
insureds. The actual cost effect of the rule is difficult to quantify because
it is dependent upon unknown variables such as how many claims will be
subject to litigation, how many insureds will select the mediation option,
and how many claims that are mediated will be successfully resolved
without the insured resorting to litigation. Nothing in this rule requires
insurers to reach a settlement in the course of a mediation.

4. Minimizing adverse impact: The Department considered the ap-
proaches suggested in SAPA § 202-bb(2) for minimizing adverse eco-
nomic impacts. Because the public health, safety, or general welfare has
been endangered, establishment of differing compliance or reporting
requirements or timetables based upon whether or not the damage oc-
curred in a rural area is not appropriate. However, the rule applies only in
the counties of New York, Bronx, Kings, Richmond, Queens, Nassau,
Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, and Orange, the areas that suffered the
greatest storm damage, and thus the impact of the rule on rural areas is
minimized, since none of those counties are rural areas.

5. Rural area participation: Public and private interests in rural areas
have had a continual opportunity to participate in the rule making process
since the first publication of the emergency measure in the State Register
on March 13, 2013, which was published again in the State Register on
November 26, 2014. The emergency measure also has been posted on the
Department's website continually since March 13, 2013.
Job Impact Statement
The Department of Financial Services does not believe that this rule will
have any adverse impact on jobs or employment opportunities, including
self-employment opportunities. This rule provides insureds with open or
denied claims for loss or damage to personal and real property, except
damage to automobiles, arising in New York, Bronx, Kings, Richmond,
Queens, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, and Orange counties
between October 26, 2012 and November 15, 2012, with an option to par-
ticipate in a mediation program to facilitate the negotiation of their claims
with their insurers.

REVISED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Regulation of the Conduct of Virtual Currency Businesses

I.D. No. DFS-29-14-00015-RP

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following revised rule:
Proposed Action: Addition of Part 200 to Title 23 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Financial Services Law, sections 102, 104, 201, 206,
301, 302, 309 and 408
Subject: Regulation of the conduct of virtual currency businesses.
Purpose: To regulate virtual currency businesses to ensure the protection
of New York consumers and to ensure the safety and soundness of provid-
ers of virtual currency products and services. The Department of Financial
Services proposes this regulation as a complement to its Order of March
11, 2014, which provides for the regulation, pursuant to the Banking Law,
of exchanges that exercise fiduciary powers.
Substance of revised rule: The following is a summary of the proposed
regulation:

Section 200.1, “Introduction,” sets forth the statutory authority for the
rule.

Section 200.2, “Definitions,” defines terms used throughout the
proposed regulation. Most significantly this Section defines “virtual cur-
rency” and “virtual currency business activity” and specifies conduct that
is not covered by the proposed regulation.

Section 200.3, “License,” prohibits any Person from engaging in virtual
currency business activity without a license.

Section 200.4, “Application,” sets forth the information to be included
in a prospective licensee’s application and provides for the granting of a
conditional license, in certain circumstances.

Section 200.5, “Application fees,” requires applicants to pay an ap-
plication fee of $5000.00 to the Department of Financial Services (the
“Department”) and provides that licensees may need to pay fees for the
processing of additional applications related to the license.

Section 200.6, “Action by superintendent,” provides for the superinten-
dent to approve or deny an application and, if approved, to suspend or
revoke a license on specified grounds after a hearing.

Section 200.7, “Compliance,” requires licensees to comply with all ap-
plicable federal and state law, designate a compliance officer, and maintain
and enforce various written compliance policies.

Section 200.8, “Capital requirements,” requires that licensees maintain
minimum amounts of capital as determined by the superintendent based
on a number of factors.

Section 200.9, “Custody and protection of customer assets,” requires
licensees to establish a bond or trust account for the benefit of their
customers, requires licensees to hold virtual currency in the same type and
amount as any virtual currency owed by the licensee, and prohibits
licensees from encumbering customer assets.

Section 200.10, “Material change to business,” requires licensees to
seek prior approval by written application to introduce a new, or materi-
ally change an existing, product or service.

Section 200.11, “Change of control; mergers and acquisitions,” requires
licensees to seek prior approval by written application before executing a
change of control or merger or acquisition.

Section 200.12, “Books and records,” requires licensees to maintain
certain records pertaining to each transaction and make such records avail-
able to the Department upon request.

Section 200.13, “Examinations,” requires licensees to permit the super-
intendent to examine the licensee, including the licensee’s books and re-
cords, at least once every two years and to make special investigations as
deemed necessary by the superintendent.

Section 200.14, “Reports and financial disclosures,” requires licensees
to file quarterly financial statements and audited annual financial state-
ments, to make special reports upon request, and to notify the Department
upon discovery of any breach of law or upon a proposed change to the
methodology used to calculate the value of virtual currency in fiat
currency.

Section 200.15, “Anti-money laundering program,” requires licensees
to establish and implement an anti-money laundering program, which
includes customer identification and transaction monitoring, to maintain
records, and to make reports as required by applicable federal anti-money
laundering law.

Section 200.16, “Cyber security program,” requires licensees to design
a cyber security program and written policy, designate a chief information
security officer, make reports, and conduct audits.

Section 200.17, “Business continuity and disaster recovery,” requires
licensees to establish and maintain a written business continuity and disas-
ter recovery plan to address disruptions to normal business operations.

Section 200.18, “Advertising and marketing,” requires licensees to
display a legend regarding its licensure by the Department, maintain all
advertising and marketing materials, comply with all applicable federal
and state disclosure requirements, and not make any false or misleading
representations or omissions.

Section 200.19, “Consumer protection,” requires licensees to disclose
material risks and terms and conditions to customers and to establish an
anti-fraud policy.

Section 200.20, “Complaints,” requires licensees to disclose the licen-
see’s and the Department’s contact information and other information
pertaining to the resolution of complaints.

Section 200.21, “Transitional period,” requires Persons already engaged
in virtual currency business activity to apply for a license with the Depart-
ment within 45 days of the effective date of the regulation.

Section 200.22, “Severability,” states that in the event a specific provi-
sion of the regulation is adjudged invalid, such judgment will not impair
the validity of the remainder of the regulation.
Revised rule compared with proposed rule: Substantive revisions were
made in sections 200.2, 200.3, 200.4, 200.5, 200.6, 200.8, 200.9, 200.10,
200.11, 200.12, 200.13, 200.14, 200.15, 200.16, 200.18, 200.19, 200.21
and 200.22.
Text of revised proposed rule and any required statements and analyses
may be obtained from Office of General Counsel - Dana V. Syracuse,
New York State Department of Financial Services, One State Street, New
York, NY 10004, (212) 709-1663, email: VCRegComments@dfs.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 30 days after publication of this
notice.
Revised Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis,
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement
A Revised Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis,
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement is not required
because the revisions to the proposed regulation do not change the conclu-
sions set forth in the previously published Regulatory Impact Statement,
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural Area Flexibility Analysis and Job
Impact Statement.
Assessment of Public Comment

The New York State Department of Financial Services (the “Depart-
ment”) received over 3000 comments on proposed rule 23 NYCRR 200

NYS Register/February 25, 2015 Rule Making Activities

17

mailto: VCRegComments@dfs.ny.gov


from virtual currency businesses, other financial services businesses,
merchants, retailers, researchers, academics, policy centers, governmental
agencies, and private individuals. Many commenters addressed more than
one provision of the proposed regulation, and several requested specific
changes. Every comment has been processed and considered by the
Department, as reflected in the full text of the Assessment of Public Com-
ment, which is available at www.dfs.ny.gov. This summary is intended to
provide an overview of the categories of comments received by the Depart-
ment and the changes the Department has made to the proposed regulation
in response to those comments.

Many comments requested clarification over who is, and is not, required
to obtain a virtual currency license. Several of those commenters requested
that the Department specify that certain activities, such as software
development, non-financial uses of virtual currency technology, and
investment in virtual currency, and certain programs, such as gift cards
and customer loyalty programs, are exempt from the regulation. The
Department has revised the definitions of virtual currency and virtual cur-
rency business activity accordingly to exclude certain activities and
programs. In particular, the Department has clarified that virtual currency
business activity does not include transactions that are undertaken for non-
financial purposes and that do not involve the transfer of more than a nom-
inal amount of virtual currency, and that virtual currency does not include
digital units used in gift cards. The Department has also revised the regula-
tion to clarify that the development and dissemination of software in and
of itself does not constitute virtual currency business activity. (Section
200.2)

The Department also received many comments requesting an on-ramp
or more flexible set of licensing requirements for small and start-up
businesses. The Department has addressed those comments by providing
that the superintendent may grant a conditional license to conduct virtual
currency business activity. The Department set forth in the revised
proposed regulation a list of factors that the superintendent may consider
in determining whether to issue or renew a conditional license. (Section
200.4)

Commenters also requested that the Department set forth the fee that
applicants will be required to pay for a virtual currency license. The
revised proposed regulation sets the fee at $5000.00. (Section 200.5)

Another large source of comment related to the capital requirements set
forth in the proposed regulation. The Department considered those com-
ments and revised the requirements to allow licensees to hold capital in
the form of cash, virtual currency, and high quality, highly liquid,
investment-grade assets in a proportion that is acceptable to the
superintendent. (Section 200.8)

Some commenters expressed concern that requiring the superinte-
ndent’s approval prior to permitting changes in control could limit start-up
firms’ ability to attract investors and raise capital. To address that concern,
the Department revised the regulation to provide licensees with the ability
to apply for a determination that a given party will not be considered a
control party by the Department, based on several factors relating to the
party’s ability to manage or exercise control over the licensee. (Section
200.11)

Several commenters also requested that the Department reduce the
burden associated with the proposed regulation’s recordkeeping
requirements. In response, the Department revised the proposed regulation
to reduce the recordkeeping requirement from ten years to seven years
(Section 200.12) and require that licensees maintain, only to the extent
practicable, specific identifying information regarding parties to the trans-
action that are not customers or accountholders of the licensee. (Sections
200.12 and 200.15)

The Department also received comments requesting that the regulations
include more detail in certain areas, including the addition of specific
formulas for setting capital requirements and further technical specifica-
tions with respect to cyber security. The Department has considered those
comments but has concluded that the factors and principles set forth in the
proposed regulation provide the appropriate level of specificity.

While a number of commenters expressed support for the proposed
regulation, others rejected the regulation in its entirety, stating that virtual
currency should be regulated under existing money transmission law or
not at all. The Department has extensively considered the need to regulate
virtual currency business activity and the appropriate way to do so, and it
has concluded that a new regulation under the Financial Services Law is
necessary to protect New York consumers and users of virtual currency-
related services.

Similarly, some commenters called for the Department to heighten the
proposed regulations and add to it new requirements, while others
contested the need for regulatory requirements relating to money launder-
ing, cyber security, and recordkeeping, among other specific provisions.
The Department has considered both sets of comments and has determined
that the proposed regulation adequately addresses the risks associated with
virtual currency business activity.

Department of Health

EMERGENCY/PROPOSED
RULE MAKING

NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Opioid Overdose Programs

I.D. No. HLT-08-15-00005-EP
Filing No. 99
Filing Date: 2015-02-06
Effective Date: 2015-02-06

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Proposed Action: Amendment of section 80.138 of Title 10 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, section 3309
Finding of necessity for emergency rule: Preservation of public health.
Specific reasons underlying the finding of necessity: The regulatory revi-
sions are necessary for emergency implementation to safeguard the lives
and well-being of New Yorkers who are otherwise at increasing risk for
opioid-associated harm including death.

In New York State substantial mortality is associated with opioids. In
2012, there were 875 deaths where the toxicology reports indicated opioid
analgesics. In addition, 478 overdose deaths occurred that year associated
with heroin and 150 deaths for which the toxicology report indicated an
unspecified opioid. The heroin-related deaths for 2012 represent an
almost-threefold increase from two years earlier. Although there are not
yet consolidated reports for more recent years, there is reason to believe,
based on information shared by local jurisdictions as well as from legisla-
tive hearings, that this trend has not only continued, but has grown at an
alarming rate.

Similarly, costly hospitalizations in which opioids have been identified
among the diagnostic codes have risen substantially. In 2012, there were
more than 75,000 hospital discharges in which opioids were identified.
This is an increase of approximately 4,000 from four years earlier. Al-
though a broad range of opioid-related diagnoses is represented in these
figures, they indicate the growing problem associated with this class of
drugs.

There is a broad-based interest in—and commitment to—resolving New
York State’s opioid crisis. Part of that response includes providing law
enforcement and firefighting personnel with the training and the naloxone
necessary to save lives when they are the first to arrive on the scene of a
suspected overdose. The Division of Criminal Justice Services, working
with the Department of Health, Albany Medical Center, the Harm Reduc-
tion Coalition, local health departments and other community partners has
initiated training of law enforcement officers, with a goal of 5,000 trained
in the first year. There have been immediate benefits from these trainings,
including overdose reversals successfully carried out within hours of a
training. This initiative is currently severely hampered in its implementa-
tion by a requirement that each officer have his or her own rescue kit and
that the officer cannot share it with colleagues. The revised regulation will
address that. The revised regulation allowing for non-patient specific
prescriptions of naloxone—something now authorized under the law—
will eliminate the de facto requirement that prescribers be physically pres-
ent every time that naloxone is furnished or dispensed. This will provide
immediate relief not only in training public safety personnel, but also for
more community-oriented programs, in which prescriber availability is
extremely limited.
Subject: Opioid Overdose Programs.
Purpose: Modification of the rule consistent with new statutory language
and with the emergency nature of opioid overdose response.
Substance of emergency/proposed rule (Full text is posted at the follow-
ing State website:www.health.ny.gov): The regulatory changes ac-
complish the following:

D authorize clinical directors and affiliated prescribers to prescribe an
opioid antagonist to trained overdose responders, and for those prescrip-
tions to be either patient-specific or non-patient-specific;

D require clinical directors to designate those individuals by name or by
description who will be furnishing or dispensing naloxone pursuant to a
non-patient specific prescription;

D allow for trained overdose responders to have shared access to, and
use of, an opioid antagonist so long as the following conditions are met:
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they are trained in accordance with the regulations; they have a common
organizational or workforce bond; and there are policies and procedures in
place within that organization or workforce that ensure orderly, controlled
access to an opioid antagonist by an identifiable pool of trained overdose
responders;

D expand the organizations which may have regulated opioid overdose
prevention programs to include the following: public safety agencies, state
agencies and pharmacies;

D add a reporting requirement, so that the department will know on a
quarterly basis how many overdose responders each program trains as
well as how many doses of naloxone each program furnishes;

D require public safety and firefighting personnel to have their overdose
reversals reported directly to the department by their agencies;

D require the maintenance and provision of masks or other similar barri-
ers only for those programs which incorporate rescue breathing in their
curriculum;

D acknowledge the curriculum approved by the Division of Criminal
Justice Services as acceptable for trained overdose responders who are
public safety personnel, and acknowledge that a comparable curriculum
approved by the Department of Health may be used for firefighters;

D require that registered programs maintain and furnish instructional
material to participants, including how to recognize symptoms of an opioid
overdose; the steps to be taken in responding to an opioid overdose; and
how to access the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
(OASAS) through both a toll-free number and its website;

D require that documentation be furnished at the time naloxone is
dispensed pursuant to a non-patient specific prescription that indicates the
following: that naloxone has been furnished pursuant to a non-patient
specific prescription; the name of the prescriber; the opioid antagonist be-
ing prescribed; the date of the furnishing or dispensing; and the name of
the person receiving the opioid antagonist; and

D acknowledge that prescribers unaffiliated with registered programs
may issue patient-specific prescriptions for an opioid antagonist to
individuals in their care at risk of an opioid overdose.
This notice is intended: to serve as both a notice of emergency adoption
and a notice of proposed rule making. The emergency rule will expire
May 6, 2015.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg. Affairs
Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-
7488, email: regsqna@health.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory Authority:
Chapter 413 of the Laws of 2005, effective April 1, 2006, added Sec-

tion 3309 of the Public Health Law to provide for opioid overdose preven-
tion programs in New York State (NYS). Pursuant to PHL Section
3309(1), as amended by Chapters 34 and 42 of the Laws of 2014, the Com-
missioner of Health is authorized to establish standards for approval of
opioid overdose prevention programs.

Legislative Objectives:
This legislation was enacted in order to reduce the incidence of fatal

opioid overdoses by making possible the timely, appropriate and safe
administration of life-saving medication on an emergency basis to
individuals who experience opioid drug overdoses. To achieve this objec-
tive, the revised regulations address the issuance of non-patient specific
prescriptions for an opioid antagonist, something that is permitted for the
first time under the 2014 revisions to PHL Section 3309. The regulations
also authorize a practice implicit in the statute: the shared access to—and
use of—an opioid antagonist by trained overdose responders. To further
address the law’s objective of reducing the incidence of fatal overdoses,
the regulations support a broader range of qualified organizations in
becoming registered opioid overdose prevention programs by including
public safety agencies, state agencies and pharmacies as eligible
organizations. The law and the regulations also mandate that the furnish-
ing or dispensing of naloxone be accompanied by information on recogniz-
ing the symptoms of an opioid overdose, on what steps to take in the course
of an overdose, on how to access the HOPE Line maintained by the Office
of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services (OASAS); and on how to
access the OASAS website.

Needs and Benefits:
Overdose is a preventable cause of death in the majority of cases involv-

ing opioids. Opioids include heroin as well as prescribed analgesics such
as morphine, codeine, methadone, oxycodone (Oxycontin, Percodan,
Percocet) and hydrocodone (Vicodin). In an opioid overdose, the user
becomes sedated and gradually loses the urge to breathe, leading to death
from respiratory depression. Naloxone is an opioid receptor antagonist

that can be used to reverse an opioid overdose, generally within 1-2
minutes of administration. An untreated opioid overdose may result in
death over the course of 1-3 hours. Approximately half of all injection
drug users (IDUs) experience at least one nonfatal overdose during their
lifetime.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
drug overdose deaths are now the leading cause of accidental death in the
United States for people aged 25-64, Of the 22,134 deaths relating to pre-
scription drug overdose nationally in 2010, 16,651 (75%) involved opioid
analgesics (also called opioid pain relievers or prescription painkillers). In
2011, drug misuse and abuse caused about 2.5 million emergency depart-
ment (ED) visits. Of these, more than 1.4 million ED visits were related to
pharmaceuticals.

In New York State, substantial mortality is associated with opioids. In
2012, there were 875 deaths where the toxicology reports indicated opioid
analgesics. In addition, 478 overdose deaths occurred that year associated
with heroin and 150 deaths for which the toxicology report indicated an
unspecified opioid.

In 2013, there were 115,000 admissions to OASAS-certified treatment
programs where heroin or other opioids was the primary, secondary, or
tertiary substance of abuse. This was an increase of 23% from 88,000 such
admissions in 2004.

Most overdoses are not instantaneous and the majority of them are
witnessed by others. Therefore, many overdose fatalities are preventable.
Prevention measures include education on risk factors (such as polydrug
use and recent abstinence), recognition of the overdose and an appropriate
response. Response includes contacting emergency medical services
(EMS) and providing resuscitation while awaiting the arrival of EMS.
Resuscitation may also include the administration of naloxone which im-
mediately reverses the effects of an opioid overdose. Naloxone is an opioid
antagonist with no abuse potential and no effect on a recipient who has not
taken opioids. Provision of naloxone has been recommended for many
years and is being offered in a variety of settings in a growing number of
jurisdictions throughout the United States. Complications of naloxone in
the medical setting are rare.

Opioid overdose prevention programs, including those regulated by the
current regulation, have proven effective in preventing unnecessary deaths.
As of June 30, 2014, more than 140 programs have registered as Overdose
Prevention Providers and more than 75,000 naloxone kits have been
distributed by NYSDOH. As of that same date, there were 918 reports of
overdose reversals with the naloxone kits. Seventy-one percent of the
people who received naloxone because of a drug overdose were between
the ages of 18-45; the vast majority had injected heroin; and frequently
opioids were used in combination with alcohol and other drugs. The larg-
est number of reversals have been reported from New York (Manhattan)
(208, 22.7%), Erie (175, 19.1%) and Bronx (157, 17.1%) counties.

The amendment to the rule achieves the following: 1) health care
providers are authorized to issue patient specific and non-patient specific
prescriptions for naloxone; 2) in instances when regulated programs will
be using non-patient specific prescriptions for naloxone, the clinical direc-
tor must delegate those individuals who will be carrying out the dispens-
ing; 3) shared access to—and use of—naloxone among trained overdose
responders is now permitted so long as: a) these responders are trained in
accordance with the regulations; b) there is a common organizational or
workforce bond among them; and c) there are policies and procedures in
place within that organization or workforce that ensure orderly, controlled
access to an opioid antagonist by an identifiable pool of trained overdose
responders; 4) provider eligibility has been expanded to include public
safety agencies, state government agencies and pharmacies; 5) registered
programs will now be required to report on a quarterly basis the number of
doses provided to trained overdose responders and the number of respond-
ers trained; and 6) all naloxone distribution is to be accompanied by infor-
mation on how to recognize an opioid overdose, how to respond to an
opioid overdose; and how to access OASAS, both through its HOPE Line
as well as through its website.

These changes under the proposed regulations will result in improved
distribution of naloxone in the community and result in reduced incidence
of fatal opioid overdoses. The reporting requirement will give the state an
improved understanding of the impact of this program. Expanded access
to naloxone does not lead to increased drug use. Naloxone is not addictive
and does not cause a “high.” It has no potential for abuse, nor does it have
a street value associated with diversion.

Costs:
There are no new mandates. This regulation continues to allow, not

require, creation of opioid overdose prevention programs. Costs for the
implementation and ongoing operations of regulated programs to those
parties that elect to establish them will continue to be minimal. As was
past practice, no registration fee is being collected. A one-time application
process remains in effect in order for an opioid overdose prevention
program to receive a certificate of approval. Existing staff can serve as the
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regulated program’s Program Director. Internal operational policies and
procedures, as well as the training of staff, remain as requirements. Report-
ing requirements are minimal and consistent with Public Health Law.

The state has appropriated and is making funding available for the fol-
lowing activities. The NYSDOH estimates that approximately 48,000
individuals will become trained overdose responders between April 1,
2014 and March 31, 2015 at an estimated annual cost of $3,000,000 for
the kits. Training costs will be covered with existing resources within the
Department of Health budget. The amount for subsequent years will
decrease considerably, in part because of the accrued benefit of train-the-
trainer sessions. The estimated annual cost in the years subsequent to the
2014-2015 State Fiscal Year is likely to range between $1,000,000 and
$2,000,000. All of these costs are borne with State funding. There is no lo-
cal funding used for this initiative.

Local Government Mandates:
For purposes of implementing amendments to Section 3309 of the Pub-

lic Health Law, local government agencies will be made aware of the op-
tion to voluntarily offer opioid overdose prevention programs, though in
no case is participation in this program mandated. Local EMS will
continue to receive information concerning opioid overdose prevention.

Paperwork:
The NYSDOH anticipates a continued simple and streamlined process

for eligible organizations to obtain a certificate of approval to establish an
opioid overdose prevention program. The record keeping and reporting
requirements imposed on the programs are minimal. Only those providers
voluntarily participating will be required to provide information to the
department.

Duplication:
The proposed amendments to the regulation do not duplicate any exist-

ing state or federal law or regulation regarding opioid overdose prevention.
Alternatives:
The proposed amendments to the regulation do not exceed the specific

requirements of the legislation. Because offering an opioid overdose
prevention program is voluntary, the regulation was designed to encour-
age eligible individuals and organizations to provide opioid overdose
prevention services allowed under law and regulation. The approval pro-
cess continues to be simple; and the reporting and financial impact of
establishing a voluntary opioid overdose prevention program remains
minimal. Any other alternatives would require a more complex and more
costly approach for both the NYSDOH and volunteer operators of opioid
overdose prevention programs.

Federal Standards:
The rule does not exceed any minimum standards of the federal govern-

ment for the same or similar subject areas.
Compliance Schedule:
Each individual or organization that chooses to establish an opioid

overdose prevention program must submit an initial application to the
department. Information on approved programs is then used to develop a
listing of opioid overdose prevention programs, which is shared with the
public. Applications for approval to establish opioid overdose prevention
programs will continue to be accepted on an ongoing basis, with review
and renewal happening at two-year intervals.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Effect of Rule:
The proposed rule will have minimal impact on small businesses and

local governments. The principal goal of the regulatory changes is to
ensure improved access to naloxone in the community by allowing non-
patient specific prescriptions of naloxone and shared access to—and use
of—naloxone by trained overdose responders under specified conditions.
The proposed rule also allows for the following additional eligible provid-
ers to maintain regulated overdose programs: public safety agencies, state
agencies and pharmacies. None of those entities would be required to
maintain an overdose prevention program; rather they may voluntarily
choose to have such a program. The minimal impact on small businesses
and local governments is underscored by the modest nature of opioid
overdose prevention programs; no fee is required for approval, ongoing
technical assistance is provided at no cost by the Department of Health to
these programs, and recordkeeping and reporting are minimal.

Compliance Requirements:
Under the proposed rule, eligible providers that elect to establish opioid

overdose prevention programs will continue to report overdose reversal on
forms provided by the NYSDOH. There is an additional requirement
mandating that the regulated programs report to the department on a
quarterly basis the number of doses of naloxone provided to trained
overdose responders as well as the number of responders trained. Record
keeping mandated of programs is minimal.

Offering of opioid overdose prevention programs remains entirely
voluntary.

Professional Services:
No additional professional services will be required since providers and

others will be able to utilize existing staff or can utilize the services of oth-
ers with whom they have a relationship.

Compliance Costs:
There are no additional costs associated with non-patient specific

prescriptions for naloxone nor for the shared access to—and use of—
naloxone. In fact, the shared access to naloxone may reduce the burden on
organizations whose staff are being trained in opioid overdose.

The additional organizations under the revised regulations that are
eligible to operate opioid overdose prevention programs and that seek
NYSDOH approval to establish these programs will be provided with ap-
plication guidelines and technical assistance. The additional organizations
are public safety agencies, state agencies and pharmacies. Reporting
requirements pertaining to opioid overdose prevention programs will be
minimal for those providers that voluntarily elect to establish such opioid
overdose prevention programs. The estimated cost of reporting is, at most,
$150 per year.

Economic and Technological Feasibility:
Most health care practitioners and organizations that are, or would be,

eligible to offer opioid overdose prevention programs have the capacity
and expertise to carry out the necessary activities. Small businesses that
opt to voluntarily offer opioid overdose prevention programs will be
provided with necessary forms and instructions to comply with the ap-
proval process and reporting requirements. In large part, these forms and
instructions are developed with specific input from regulated parties and
NYSDOH resources are being made available to provide instructions and
technical assistance.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:
There are no alternatives to the proposed recordkeeping and reporting

requirements. NYSDOH has a responsibility to ensure that approved
opioid overdose prevention programs conduct activities in a manner that
maximizes the impact of this program. It also has a responsibility to col-
lect information consistent with the reports to the Governor and the
Legislature that are mandated in Section 3309(5) of the Public Health
Law.

Small Business and Local Government Participation:
Small businesses (including small business hospitals, clinics, health

care practitioners, drug treatment programs, individual practitioners, and
community-based organizations) as well as local health departments had
an opportunity to review and comment on the original regulations as well
as on subsequent proposed changes. A similar opportunity is being
provided with respect to the changes in the regulations now being
proposed, particularly with non-patient specific prescriptions for naloxone
and shared access to—and use of—naloxone by trained overdose
responders. The department has already begun to have conversations with
public safety agencies and some registered programs regarding these
issues. There will also be discussions with pharmacies and state agencies
that are now eligible to maintain registered programs.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

Types and Estimated Number of Rural Areas:
Rural areas are defined as counties with a population less than 200,000

and, for counties with a population greater than 200,000, include towns
with population densities of 150 persons or less per square mile. There are
43 counties in NYS with a population less than 200,000. Eleven counties
have certain townships with population densities of 150 persons or less
per square mile. The proposed rule will have minimal impact on practitio-
ners, organizations, local governments and pharmacies in these rural areas.

The additional organizations under the revised regulations that are
eligible to operate opioid overdose prevention programs are public safety
agencies, state government and pharmacies. In rural areas, those entities
most likely to be represented among new registrants are public safety
agencies and pharmacies. Registration as an opioid overdose prevention
program is entirely voluntary. Potential providers are most likely to be lo-
cated in urban or suburban, not rural, areas.

Reporting, Recordkeeping and Other Compliance Requirements; and
Professional Services:

Under the proposed regulations, reporting, record keeping and other
compliance requirements applicable to providers that seek department ap-
proval to offer opioid overdose prevention programs are minimal. There is
a new reporting requirement that registered programs on a quarterly basis
inform the department of the number of doses of naloxone provided to
trained overdose responders as well as the number of responders trained.
These data are essential for the department to be compliant with mandated
reports to the Governor and the Legislature.

Costs:
The department, either directly or under contract, will provide technical

and other assistance to organizations and practitioners implementing
opioid overdose prevention programs.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:
The program is designed to minimize impact on those who will partici-

pate in the following ways: participation is voluntary; the registration pro-
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cess is simple; no fees are charged; and record-keeping and reporting
requirements are minimal.

Rural Area Participation:
The department has actively sought to engender increased opportunities

for opioid overdose prevention, including in rural parts of the state. That
has entailed one-on-one dialog with—and technical assistance provided
to—eligible providers in the state’s rural counties. That focus will not
change with the amended regulation; however there will be increased op-
portunities for implementation of the regulated programs in rural areas
because new classes of organizations will be eligible: public safety agen-
cies, state agencies and pharmacies.

The mechanisms for engaging rural participation include outreach by
department staff, as well as from local health departments and from staff
from the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services, the Divi-
sion of Criminal Justice Services, the Harm Reduction Coalition, Albany
Medical College and other community partners.

The NYSDOH, since the implementation of the current regulations, has
considered input on how they could be improved. The most significant
changes in the proposed regulation—including non-patient specific
prescriptions; shared access to, and use of, naloxone by trained overdose
responders; and expanded eligibility were the product of this input.
Job Impact Statement
A Job Impact Statement is not required. The proposed rule will not have a
substantial adverse impact on jobs and employment opportunities based
upon its nature, purpose and subject matter.

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Supplementary Reports of Certain Congenital Anomalies for
Epidemiological Surveillance; Filing

I.D. No. HLT-08-15-00003-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: Amendment of sections 22.3 and 22.9 of Title 10
NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Public Health Law, sections 206(1)(d), 225(5)(t) and
2733
Subject: Supplementary Reports of Certain Congenital Anomalies for
Epidemiological Surveillance; Filing.
Purpose: To increase maximum age of reporting certain birth defects to
the Congenital Malformations Registry.
Text of proposed rule: Pursuant to the authority vested in the Public
Health and Health Planning Council by sections 206(1)(d), 225(5)(t), and
2733 of the Public Health Law, sections 22.3 and 22.9 of Title 10 (Health)
of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State
of New York are amended, to be effective upon publication of a Notice of
Adoption in the New York State Register, to read as follows:

§ 22.3 - Supplementary reports of certain congenital anomalies for
epidemiological surveillance; filing.

(a) Every physician, nurse practitioner authorized to diagnose congen-
ital anomalies, physician assistant authorized to diagnose congenital
anomalies, and hospital as defined in Article 28 of the Public Health Law,
[in attendance on an individual diagnosed within two years of birth]
providing health care to a pregnant woman or a child under two years of
age, who diagnoses an embryo, fetus or child as having one or more of the
congenital anomalies listed in Table 1 of this section shall file a supple-
mentary report with the State Commissioner of Health within 10 days of
diagnosis thereof.

(b) Every physician, nurse practitioner authorized to diagnose congen-
ital anomalies, physician assistant authorized to diagnose congenital
anomalies, and hospital as defined in Article 28 of the Public Health Law,
providing health care to a pregnant woman or a child under ten years of
age, who diagnoses an embryo, fetus or child as having one or more of the
congenital anomalies listed in Table 2 of this section shall file a supple-
mentary report with the State Commissioner of Health within 10 days of
diagnosis thereof.

(c) Every clinical laboratory that conducts diagnostic testing on New
York State residents to detect or confirm the diagnosis of genetic or
chromosomal anomalies listed in Tables 1 and 2 shall, upon detecting or
confirming such a genetic anomaly, file a supplementary report with the
State Commissioner of Health within 30 days of detection or confirmation.

(d) Such report shall be on such forms, which may include electronic
forms, as may be prescribed by the commissioner to facilitate epidemio-
logical investigation and surveillance.

[Anencephalus and similar anomalies
Spina bifida
Congenital anomalies of the nervous system
Congenital anomalies of the eye
Congenital anomalies of ear, face, neck
Congenital anomalies of heart
Congenital anomalies of circulatory system
Congenital anomalies of respiratory system
Cleft palate and cleft lip
Congenital anomalies of upper alimentary tract
Congenital anomalies of digestive system
Congenital anomalies of urinary system
Congenital anomalies of genital organs
Congenital anomalies of limbs
Congenital musculoskeletal deformities
Other congenital musculoskeletal anomalies
Congenital anomalies of the integument
Congenital anomalies of the spleen
Congenital anomalies of the adrenal gland
Congenital anomalies of other endocrine glands
Multiple congenital anomalies
anomaly, multiple NOS
deformity, multiple NOS]
TABLE 1 – CONGENITAL ANOMOLIES AND GENETIC DISEASES

FOR WHICH REPORTING IS REQUIRED TO AGE 2
Malignant neoplasm of kidney
Malignant neoplasm of eye
Malignant neoplasm of brain
Malignant neoplasm of other endocrine systems
Congenital leukemia
Hemangioma
Lymphangioma
Neurofibromatosis
Teratoma
Congenital hypothyroidism
Disorders of thyroid, congenital and hereditary
Diabetes Mellitus, neonatal
Disorders of the pituitary gland, congenital and hereditary
Adrenogenital syndrome
Testicular dysfunction, congenital and hereditary
Dwarfism
Other congenital endocrine disorders
Metabolic and Immunity Disorders, congenital and hereditary
Hereditary Hemolytic anemias
Aplasic anemias, congenital and hereditary
Coagulation defects, congenital and hereditary
Primary thrombocytopenia, congenital and hereditary
Diseases of white cells, congenital and hereditary
Methemoglobinemia, congenital and hereditary
Hereditary diseases of the central nervous system
Extrapyramidal disease and abnormal movement disorders,
congenital and hereditary
Spinocerebellar Disease, congenital and hereditary
Anterior horn cell disease, congenital and hereditary
Infantile cerebral palsy
Infantile spasms
Cerebral cysts, congenital
Multiple cranial nerve palsies, congenital
Hereditary peripheral neuropathy
Hereditary muscular dystrophies and other myopathies
Hereditary optic atrophy
Duane’s syndrome
Endocardial fibroelastosis
Wolf-Parkinson-White syndrome
Major anomalies of jaw size
Inguinal hernia
Femoral hernia
Nephrotic syndrome, congenital
Nephrogenic diabetes insipidus, congenital
Dyschromia, congenital
Anencephalus and similar anomalies
Spina bifida
Congenital anomalies of the nervous system
Congenital anomalies of the eye
Congenital anomalies of ear, face, neck
Congenital anomalies of heart
Congenital anomalies of circulatory system
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Congenital anomalies of respiratory system
Cleft palate and cleft lip
Congenital anomalies of upper alimentary tract
Congenital anomalies of digestive system
Congenital anomalies of urinary system
Congenital anomalies of genital organs
Congenital anomalies of limbs
Congenital musculoskeletal deformities
Other congenital musculoskeletal anomalies
Congenital anomalies of the integument
Congenital anomalies of the spleen
Congenital anomalies of the adrenal gland
Congenital anomalies of other endocrine glands
Multiple congenital anomalies
Anomaly, multiple, Not Otherwise Specified
Deformity, multiple, Not Otherwise Specified
Genetic anomalies
Chromosomal anomalies
Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
Situs Inversus
Conjoined twins
Hamartoses
Congenital malformation syndromes affecting multiple systems
Noxious influences affecting the fetus via placenta
Amniotic band syndrome
Infections specific to the perinatal period
Hemolytic disease due to RH isoimmunization
Neonatal hepatitis
TABLE 2 – CONGENITAL ANOMOLIES AND GENETIC DISEASES

FOR WHICH REPORTING IS REQUIRED TO AGE 10
Hereditary muscular dystrophies and other myopathies
Congenital anomalies of heart
Genetic anomalies
Chromosomal anomalies
Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
§ 22.9 – Reports: place of filing
All reports required by Section 22.3 of this Part shall be filed with the

Director of the Bureau of Environmental [Epidemiology] and Oc-
cupational Epidemiology, Center for Environmental Health, [Division of
Epidemiology,] New York State Department of Health, Empire State
Plaza, Corning Tower [Building], Albany, NY 12237.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House Counsel, Reg.
Affairs Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany, NY 12237, (518)
473-7488, email: regsqna@health.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Summary of Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory Authority:
Section 206(1)(d) of the Public Health Law (PHL) authorizes the Com-

missioner to investigate the causes of diseases, epidemics, and the sources
of mortality in New York State. PHL § 225(5)(t) provides that the State
Sanitary Code may facilitate epidemiological research into the prevention
of environmentally related diseases and require reporting of such diseases
by physicians, medical facilities and clinical laboratories. PHL § 2733
requires that birth defects and genetic diseases be reported by physicians,
hospitals, and persons in attendance at birth in a manner prescribed by the
Commissioner. Information collected pursuant to such reports shall be
kept confidential pursuant the Personal Privacy Protection Act.

Legislative Objectives:
PHL § 206(1)(d) established the Commissioner’s broad authority to

investigate the causes of disease in New York State. As reflected in the
Declaration of Policy, the Legislature enacted PHL § 2733 and related
statutes to ensure that the Department maintains a central and comprehen-
sive responsibility for developing and administering the State's policy
with respect to scientific investigations and research concerning the
causes, prevention, treatment and cure of birth defects and genetic and al-
lied diseases. Finally, in enacting PHL § 225(5)(t), the Legislature
directed that the State Sanitary Code contain regulations that facilitate
epidemiological research into the prevention of environmental diseases,
by pathological conditions of the body or mind resulting from contact with
toxins, mutagens or teratogens and by requiring the reporting of such
diseases or suspected cases of such diseases to the Department.

To these ends, the Department maintains the Congenital Malformation
Registry (CMR) and has issued regulations requiring the reporting of

structural, functional or biochemical abnormalities determined genetically
or induced during gestation, and which are not due to birthing events.

Needs and Benefits:
The Department’s proposal seeks to extend the case capture periods for

certain diseases. Currently, health regulations require physicians and
hospitals to report congenital malformations that are diagnosed within two
years of a child’s birth, yet many congenital malformations are not
diagnosed until after age two. By extending the capture period for certain
diseases listed below, the Department’s proposal will enhance its
epidemiologic surveillance and advance its understanding of birth defects
and their environmental causes.

Fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) is a serious but preventable congenital
malformation that results from heavy maternal intake of alcohol during
pregnancy. FAS is not uncommon, with national estimates of 5–20 cases
per 10,000 live births. The annual prevalence of FAS reported by the CMR
is about 10-fold less than national estimates. Studies indicate that FAS is
more easily diagnosed from ages two to ten years.

Hereditary muscular dystrophies and other myopathies are a family of
diseases that cause progressive and steady muscle weakness and wasting.
The most common muscular dystrophy is Duchenne MD, followed by
Becker MD. A recent US study indicated the prevalence of boys age 5 to
24 with Duchenne and Becker MD was 1.3 to 1.8 per 10,000 males.
However, the CMR indicated an annual birth prevalence of only 0.08 per
10,000 live births. One study reported a mean age of diagnosis of 5 years
for boys with Duchenne MD.

Congenital heart defects (CHDs) are the most common organ system
malformations, and they remain the leading cause of infant deaths from
birth defects. Approximately 1 out of every 115 to 150 babies is born with
a heart defect. Minor defects are often not detected until later in life and
can have serious consequences. One study indicates that 3% of children
with CHDs are diagnosed from ages three to ten years old.

Genetic and Chromosomal Anomalies. The CMR was established prior
to the sequencing of the human genome and the associated advances in the
scientific community’s understanding of the role genetics plays in causing
birth defects. Because the field of genetics and birth defects is so new,
there is little or no documentation about diagnostic timing for many of
these syndromes. However, genetic and chromosomal anomalies are often
not recognized until after two years of age, because it can require several
years to observe a child prior to diagnosis.

The Department’s proposal would also require reporting of birth defects
diagnosed or identified during pregnancy. This reporting requirement is
important due to the increase in routine prenatal screening. For many
diseases, the CMR data suggests a prevalence rate in New York that is far
below the expected range.

The proposed amendment also allows reporting by qualified health care
professionals other than physicians—specifically, nurse practitioners and
physician assistants. Over the past several years, a growing number of
national, state and specialty-specific studies indicate that the physician
workforce in the United States is facing current and future shortages.
Moreover, the shortage of family physicians will be most acute in rural
and underserved populations. These trends highlight the need to allow
reporting by nurse practitioners and physician assistants. Indeed, anecdotal
reports indicate that nurse practitioners and physician assistants are al-
ready filling this role because of the burden on physicians.

The regulation would also clarify the requirement that clinical labora-
tories performing diagnostic testing for birth defects must report to the
CMR. This requirement is not new. In 1978, Commissioner Whalen is-
sued a blanket order directing that all laboratories report congenital
malformations to the Department pursuant to PHL § 2733. However,
many clinical laboratories are not aware of the reporting requirement.

Finally, the Department’s proposal adds granularity to the list of report-
able diseases. Many diseases currently reported fall under broad catego-
ries, thereby limiting the Department’s ability to receive information
concerning the individual diseases within the category. For example, con-
genital leukemia and lymphangiomas are both currently reported under
the broad classification of “congenital anomalies of the circulatory
system.” The Department’s proposal lists these and other defects as sepa-
rate reportable conditions.

Costs:
Costs to Regulated Parties:
The Department anticipates that, for the entire State, the regulatory

changes will require annual reporting of an approximate additional 900
live born children by physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants
and hospitals (FAS: 100-200 cases; muscular dystrophy: 100 cases;
cardiac heart defects in children past age two: 200 cases; genetic or
chromosomal anomalies: 400 cases).

Approximately 160 New York hospitals and their associated physi-
cians, nurse practitioners and physician assistants will be affected by this
change. The Department anticipates that the costs to these parties will be
minimal, primarily because the number of additional birth defects to be
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reported annually through hospitals (five to six cases per year, on average)
will be small, relative to the number or reports already being submitted.
Hospitals already report cases to the CMR electronically. The additional
hospital staff time to enter six to seven additional cases per year may
require 20-30 minutes annually. Alternatively, a hospital can incorporate
the additional diagnoses into a monthly batch file. Hospitals are already
familiar with the process of modifying batch files.

Reporting by smaller, community-based health care facilities and indi-
vidual providers will result in some costs primarily because, while physi-
cians have always been required to report congenital anomalies, this
requirement has not been enforced for providers who are not associated
with New York hospitals. The Department has minimized the administra-
tive costs associated with the reporting requirement by integrating the
reporting process with technologies that healthcare providers already
utilize. Healthcare providers currently rely on the Department’s Health
Commerce System (HCS) for communication and reporting to the
Department. Within the HCS, the Department is implementing a compre-
hensive web-based reporting system known as the Child Health Informa-
tion Integration (CHI2) project to be used as the central website to report
and track newborn screening, immunizations, lead and newborn hearing
screening. Reporting of birth defects will become a component of the
CHI2 system in order to reduce the reporting burden of community-based
healthcare facilities and providers.

Providers will be required to spend 3-5 minutes entering case informa-
tion for each child or fetus diagnosed with a birth defect that is newly
reportable under the updated CMR regulations. Statistically, this should
involve very few cases for such providers. Because most providers al-
ready use and have free access to the online electronic reporting system,
the proposed regulation will not impose any additional equipment or
technology costs. The only costs will be in the amount of time required to
use the CHI2 to report additional birth defects, which is expected to be
negligible. The Department will assist any providers that currently do not
have access to the web based reporting system.

With regards to extending the CMR reporting requirements to nurse
practitioners and physician assistants, the Department does not expect that
regulated parties will incur any associated direct costs. Rather, the Depart-
ment expects that this change will relieve physicians and hospitals from
being the only classes of healthcare providers authorized to submit a report
when a child is diagnosed with a congenital malformation.

For clinical laboratories, the Department anticipates the regulatory
change will require annual reporting of approximately 6,600 additional
genetic or chromosomal anomalies recognized during pregnancy, and ap-
proximately 400 reports related to children diagnosed between the ages of
2 and 10 years old, for a total of 7,000 additional reports annually. The
Department anticipates the ongoing costs to the roughly 50 clinical
cytogenetic laboratories providing diagnostic testing for genetic and
chromosomal anomalies to be minimal because these laboratories will
report using the Electronic Clinical Laboratory Reporting System
(ECLRS) as many already do. The Department estimates that the ad-
ditional number of reports that these labs will make to ECLRS will cost
approximately $1,400. Clinical laboratories may experience a one-time
expense related to modifying the laboratory’s software to identify the ad-
ditional cases that must be reported, which the Department estimates will
require a maximum of 16 hours of work by a computer specialist at an
estimated rate of pay of $100/hour.

Costs to the Regulatory Agency:
The Department has been using a web-based electronic reporting system

in place since 2006. Currently, the CMR receives and processes about
12,000 reports annually. Thus, annual cost to DOH to receive and process
the additional 1,000-1,200 cases will be minimal.

Costs to the State Government:
There will be no costs to state government. For the last ten years, report-

ing to the CMR has been conducted electronically. Currently, the Depart-
ment uses the Health Commerce System to receive CMR reports. Report-
ers upload cases individually or in batch reports. The electronic reporting
system already includes automated processes to match and combine
reports for the same child, to ensure de-duplication of data reported from
multiple reporters. Additional data quality control processes are built into
the system.

Costs to Local Government:
Hospitals owned by local governments would be affected but, as

discussed above, the costs will be minimal because the additional report-
ing requirement is relatively small.

Local Government Mandates:
There are no mandates on local governments, other than the additional

reporting requirements that would apply to hospitals owned by a local
government.

Paperwork:
This change will generate very little physical paperwork because report-

ing will be performed electronically as is described under “Costs to
Regulated Parties.”

Duplication:
This change does not involve any duplication in laws. In terms of

duplication of effort, the reporting software will prevent the repeated
reporting of the same birth defect for a particular child.

Alternatives:
If no changes are made to this regulation, the Department will continue

to collect incomplete reporting for birth defects, and prevalence estimates
will remain inaccurate. This will impede the Department’s ability to detect
and quantify environmental exposures that negatively impact the health of
embryos and fetuses in New York State.

Concerning FAS, in particular, failure to change the reporting require-
ment will hamper prevention efforts and may cost New York more in the
long-term. One study placed the nationwide annual cost of treating birth
defects associated with FAS at $1.6 billion. Another study used a societal
perspective and generated nationwide cost estimates of $9.69 billion.
These costs included estimates of the value of productivity lost as a result
of cognitive disabilities, as well as the cost of treatment and residential
care. In addition to improving outcomes for affected children, early diag-
nosis and appropriate interventions are likely to generate significant costs
savings over time.

Federal Standards:
There are no federal mandates for state-level reporting of birth defects.

However, several of the 36 state birth defect surveillance programs require
reporting of these birth defects past the age of 2 years, including Hawaii,
Texas, Washington State and Colorado. At least eleven states receive
reports of birth defects that occur during pregnancy.

Compliance Schedule:
Regulations will take effect immediately upon filing. The Department

will continue its efforts to make reporting easier and more efficient, while
simultaneously conducting outreach to understand and address any
concerns that may arise.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Effect of Rule:
This amended rule will have limited impact on small businesses provid-

ing health care because many of these businesses are affiliated with a gen-
eral hospital. These small businesses include community-based healthcare
providers (pediatricians, family practitioners and maternal-fetal medicine
specialists) and some laboratories with small offices.

The amended rule will have a small impact on those healthcare facili-
ties that are owned by local governments and that also diagnose congenital
anomalies and genetic diseases. These healthcare facilities will be required
to make additional reports to the CMR based on the updated list of report-
able congenital anomalies and genetic diseases. Although the Department
does not maintain a listing of local government-owned facilities that would
be required to report, the Greater NY Hospital Association estimated that
the number is relatively few. Further, the Department reasonably expects
the burden on such facilities to be small—only 3-5 minutes per additional
case. The number of cases will vary depending on the size of the facility,
but the Department estimates that such facilities will report an average of
5-6 newly reportable cases per year, per facility.

Compliance Requirements:
Because healthcare providers and facilities are transitioning to elec-

tronic record-keeping systems, reporting and record keeping are expected
to be simple and require very little time. The Department publishes a CMR
guide to assist hospitals with reporting. A guide will also be developed for
other healthcare providers as well as clinical laboratories.

Professional Services:
No additional professional services are required under the amended

rule.
Compliance Costs:
Staff working in small community-based healthcare providers and small

clinical laboratories will need to learn how to report with the updated
CMR requirements.

Economic and Technological Feasibility:
The amended rule is economically and technologically feasible because

local governments and small businesses that are affected will continue
submitting reports using their free access to the Department’s electronic
reporting system.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:
By offering free access to the electronic reporting system, the Depart-

ment has minimized the costs and impact on local governments and small
businesses operating in New York State.

Small Business and Local Government Participation:
The Department has reached out to the healthcare community to gather

feedback on the proposed amended rule. Those contacted include: NYS
American Academy of Pediatrics, NYS Academy of Family Physicians,
Nurse Practitioner Association of NYS, NYS Nurses Association, NYS
Society of Physician Assistants, NY Health Information Management As-
sociation, Greater NY Hospital Association, Healthcare Association of
NYS, NYS March of Dimes, NYS Clinical Geneticists, Genetic Counsel-
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ors, Neurologists, Neuromuscular Specialists, and Pediatric Cardiologists.
Additionally, the Department contacted other NYS agencies and programs
which provide services to children affected by these birth defects, specifi-
cally fetal alcohol syndrome.

The Department received comments from two organizations that repre-
sent health care providers. The President of the New York State Society of
Physician Assistants stated, “After soliciting input from our leadership,
we wholeheartedly support this suggested regulatory change.” No concern
was expressed about costs. Greater New York Hospital Association
(GNYHA), representing nearly 150 voluntary, not-for-profit, and public
hospitals expressed concern that “raising the maximum reporting age to
10 … could potentially create an administrative burden for health care
providers … already contending with a wide range of such requirements.”
GNYHA strongly recommended that the DOH work closely with provid-
ers to develop and implement a reporting system that places the least pos-
sible amount of administrative burden on those impacted by this potential
regulatory change.

The Department also received positive support for these regulatory
changes from non-profit organizations and other State agencies, including
the NYS Council on Children and Families, the NYS Office of Alcohol-
ism and Substance Abuse Services, the NY State Education Department’s
Office of Special Education, and the Long Island Council on Alcoholism
and Drug Dependence. These organizations view the proposed regulatory
change as positive steps for meeting the needs of children and families af-
fected by these devastating birth defects.

The Department asked several maternal-fetal medicine practices for
input concerning the proposed changes and received replies from three
practices (Hudson Valley Perinatal Consulting, Harrison, NY; University
GYN/OB, Inc, at Women and Children’s Hospital of Buffalo, Buffalo,
NY; and Fetal Testing Unit of Mercy Hospital Buffalo South, Buffalo,
NY). As for access to the Department’s web based reporting system, one
had access, one did not, and the third was uncertain. All three expressed
concerns about time required to report and assurances of patient
confidentiality.

Public Health Law § 206(1)(j) ensures that diagnoses reported to the
Congenital Malformations Registry shall be kept confidential and shall be
used solely for the purposes of the Department’s scientific research. The
statute further provides that such records are not admissible as evidence in
a court of law. Regarding time to report, we expect that some of these
practices may not actually have to report separately but that their associ-
ated institution or hospital will be able to assume that responsibility, thus
reducing the anticipated burden.

The Department is committed to minimizing the administrative burden
of these new reporting requirements. By using the CHI2 system as a report-
ing tool, the administrative burden will not be significant.

The Department will continue to communicate with stakeholders
throughout the regulatory process. Prior to adoption of the rule, all amend-
ments will appear in the New York State Register for public comment.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

Types and Estimated Numbers of Rural Areas:
This regulation would apply statewide and affect the 44 counties that

are considered rural.
Reporting, Recordkeeping and Other Compliance Requirements; and

Professional Services:
This change involves a small increase in reporting using a system al-

ready being utilized by healthcare professionals to submit other reports.
No additional requirement for professional services is required under the
amended regulation.

Costs:
There is minimal cost to report. The costs are associated with staff time

to report additional cases electronically. The number of additional cases to
be reported is expected to be small relative to the number of cases already
reported.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:
Any adverse impact will be minimized by using the Department’s pre-

existing Health Commerce System for electronic reporting. The impact
will be further reduced when the Department implements the CHI2 report-
ing system.

Rural Area Participation:
Regulated parties in rural areas have been contacted through the

Department’s reaching out to statewide associations of healthcare profes-
sionals, such as the NYS American Academy of Pediatrics, NYS Acad-
emy of Family Physicians, Nurse Practitioner Association of NYS, NYS
Nurses Association, NYS Society of Physician Assistants, NY Health In-
formation Management Association, Healthcare Association of NYS,
NYS March of Dimes, and NYS Clinical Geneticists.
Job Impact Statement

Nature of Impact:
There will be minimal impact, because health care facilities are cur-

rently required to report other conditions to the Department of Health. The
Department does not expect there to be a positive or negative impact on
jobs or employment opportunities.

Categories and Numbers Affected:
The Department anticipates no negative impact on jobs or employment

opportunities as a result of the amended rule.
Regions of Adverse Impact:
The Department anticipates no negative impact on jobs or employment

opportunities in any particular region of the state.
Minimizing Adverse Impact:
Not applicable.

REVISED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Immediate Needs for Personal Care Services

I.D. No. HLT-28-14-00008-RP

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following revised rule:
Proposed Action: Amendment of sections 360-3.7 and 505.14 of Title 18
NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Social Services Law, sections 363-a(2) and 365-
a(2)(e); Public Health Law, section 201(1)(v)
Subject: Immediate Needs for Personal Care Services.
Purpose: To provide for meeting the immediate needs of Medicaid ap-
plicants and recipients for personal care services.
Text of revised rule: Pursuant to the authority vested in the Commissioner
of Health by Social Services Law Sections 363-a(2) and 365-a(2)(e) and
Public Health Law Section 201(1)(v), a new subdivision (f) is added to
Section 360-3.7, subparagraph (b)(5)(iv) of Section 505.14 is repealed,
and a new subparagraph (b)(5)(iv) of Section 505.14 is added to Title 18
(Social Services) of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regula-
tions of the State of New York (NYCRR), to read as follows, effective
upon publication of a Notice of Adoption in the State Register:

Subdivision (f) is added to Section 360-3.7 to read as follows:
(f) Presumptive eligibility for immediate temporary personal care

services. An individual applying for Medical Assistance (“Medicaid”)
will be presumed eligible for immediate temporary personal care services
as provided in this subdivision.

(1) For purposes of this subdivision, “immediate temporary personal
care services” means the number of hours of personal care services that
the Medicaid applicant’s physician has recommended in the physician’s
order required by subparagraph (2)(ii) of this subdivision.

(2) A Medicaid applicant who seeks immediate temporary personal
care services must submit the following to the social services district:

(i) A Medicaid application and the DOH-4495A (“Access NY
Supplement A”) or any successor to such supplement; and

(ii) A physician’s order for personal care services that:
(a) meets the requirements of subparagraph (b)(3)(i) of Section

505.14 of this Title, except that the physician’s order must recommend the
number of hours of personal care services to be authorized as immediate
temporary personal care services;

(b) documents whether the Medicaid applicant needs assistance
in the home with toileting, transferring from bed to chair or wheelchair,
turning or positioning in bed, walking, or feeding; and

(c) documents whether the Medicaid applicant has a stable
medical condition, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 505.14 of this
Title, and can be cared for safely at home.

(3) A Medicaid applicant is presumptively eligible for immediate
temporary personal care services when:

(i) The social services district determines, based only on the
Medicaid application and the DOH-4495A (“Access NY Supplement A”),
that the Medicaid applicant appears to be financially and otherwise
eligible for Medicaid;

(ii) The social services district determines that the physician’s or-
der documents that the Medicaid applicant needs assistance in the home
with toileting, transferring from bed to chair or wheelchair, turning or
positioning in bed, walking, or feeding and that the Medicaid applicant
has a stable medical condition and can be cared for safely at home;

(iii) The physician’s order recommends the number of hours of
personal care services to be authorized as immediate temporary personal
care services; and

(iv) The Medicaid applicant is in receipt of Protective Services for
Adults (“PSA”) or has been referred to PSA and the social services
district’s PSA staff have determined that a PSA investigation and assess-
ment are necessary.
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(4) As expeditiously as possible, but no later than five business days
after receipt of the Medicaid application, the DOH-4495A (“Access NY
Supplement A”), and the physician’s order, the social services district
must determine whether the Medicaid applicant is presumptively eligible
for immediate temporary personal care services and notify the Medicaid
applicant of the district’s determination.

(5) The social services district must arrange for the provision of im-
mediate temporary personal care services as expeditiously as possible to
those Medicaid applicants who the district has determined to be presump-
tively eligible for such services.

(6) A Medicaid applicant who the social services district has
determined to be presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal
care services is eligible to receive such services only for the duration of
the Medicaid applicant’s presumptive eligibility period.

(i) A Medicaid applicant’s presumptive eligibility period begins
when the social services district determines that the Medicaid applicant is
presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal care services
and notifies the applicant of that determination.

(ii) A Medicaid applicant’s presumptive eligibility period ends:
(a) With respect to a presumptively eligible Medicaid applicant

who the social services district subsequently determines to be financially
or otherwise ineligible for Medicaid, when the social services district
notifies the applicant of that determination; or

(b) With respect to a presumptively eligible Medicaid applicant
who the social services district subsequently determines to be financially
and otherwise eligible for Medicaid, when the social services district
determines, pursuant to the personal care services assessment process
required by paragraph (b)(2) of Section 505.14 of this Title, whether the
individual is eligible for personal care services and, if so, the level and
amount of personal care services to be authorized and notifies the individ-
ual of that determination. For purposes of the personal care services as-
sessment determination, the social services district may use the physician’s
order required by subparagraph (2)(ii) of this subdivision, but shall disre-
gard the number of hours of personal care services that the physician
recommended.

(7) (i) A Medicaid applicant who is determined to be presumptively
eligible for immediate temporary personal care service and who is
subsequently determined to be financially or otherwise ineligible for
Medicaid may request a fair hearing to appeal the social services district’s
determination of Medicaid ineligibility; however, the individual’s
presumptive eligibility period is not extended by the fair hearing request
and the individual is not entitled, after the end of the individual’s presump-
tive eligibility period, to aid-continuing of immediate temporary personal
care services.

(ii) A Medicaid applicant who is determined to be presumptively
eligible for immediate temporary personal care services and who is
subsequently determined to be financially and otherwise eligible for
Medicaid and for whom the district has performed a personal care ser-
vices assessment pursuant to paragraph (b)(2) of Section 505.14 of this
Title, may request a fair hearing to appeal the social services district’s de-
termination whether the individual is eligible for personal care services
and, if so, the level and amount of services to be authorized; however, the
individual’s presumptive eligibility period is not extended by the fair hear-
ing request and the individual is not entitled, after the end of the individ-
ual’s presumptive eligibility period, to aid-continuing of immediate
temporary personal care services.

(8) If a Medicaid applicant is determined to be presumptively eligible
for immediate temporary personal care services and is subsequently
determined to be financially or otherwise ineligible for Medicaid, any
sums expended for such services during the Medicaid applicant’s
presumptive eligibility period may be recovered from the individual. Any
sums expended for such services that are unable to be recovered from the
individual are a charge upon the social services district for which State
reimbursement is not available.

Subparagraph (b)(5)(iv) of Section 505.14 is repealed and a new
subparagraph (b)(5)(iv) is added to read as follows:

(iv) A Medicaid recipient will be presumed eligible for immediate
temporary personal care services as provided in this subparagraph.

(a) For purposes of this subparagraph, “immediate temporary
personal care services” means the number of hours of personal care ser-
vices that the recipient’s physician has recommended in the physician’s
order required by clause (b) of this subparagraph.

(b) A Medicaid recipient who seeks immediate temporary
personal care services must submit to the social services district a
physician’s order for personal care services that:

(1) meets the requirements of subparagraph (b)(3)(i) of this
Section except that the physician’s order must recommend the number of
hours of personal care services to be authorized as immediate temporary
personal care services;

(2) documents whether the recipient needs assistance in the

home with toileting, transferring from bed to chair or wheelchair, turning
or positioning in bed, walking, or feeding; and

(3) documents whether the recipient has a stable medical
condition and can be cared for safely at home.

(c) A Medicaid recipient is presumptively eligible for immediate
temporary personal care services when:

(1) The social services district determines that the physician’s
order documents that the recipient needs assistance in the home with
toileting, transferring from bed to chair or wheelchair, turning or position-
ing in bed, walking, or feeding, and that the recipient has a stable medical
condition and can be cared for safely at home;

(2) The physician’s order recommends the number of hours
of personal care services to be authorized as immediate temporary
personal care services; and

(3) The recipient is in receipt of Protective Services for Adults
(“PSA”) or has been referred to PSA and the social services district’s
PSA staff have determined that a PSA investigation and assessment are
necessary.

(d) As expeditiously as possible, but no later than three business
days after receipt of the physician’s order referenced in clause (b) of this
subparagraph, the social services district must determine whether the
Medicaid recipient is presumptively eligible for immediate temporary
personal care services and notify the recipient of the district’s
determination.

(e) The social services district must arrange for the provision of
immediate temporary personal care services as expeditiously as possible
to those Medicaid recipients who the district has determined to be
presumptively eligible for such services.

(f) As expeditiously as possible, but generally no later than thirty
days after determining that a Medicaid recipient is presumptively eligible
for immediate temporary personal care services, the social services
district must determine, pursuant to the personal care services assessment
process required by paragraph (2) of this subdivision, whether the
presumptively eligible recipient is eligible for personal care services and,
if so, the level and amount of services to be authorized, and notify the re-
cipient of that determination. For purposes of the personal care services
assessment determination, the district may use the physician’s order
required by clause (b) of this subparagraph but shall disregard the number
of hours of personal care services that the physician recommended.

(g) A Medicaid recipient who the social services district has
determined to be presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal
care services is eligible to receive such services only for the duration of
the recipient’s presumptive eligibility period.

(1) A Medicaid recipient’s presumptive eligibility period
begins when the social services district determines that the recipient is
presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal care services
and notifies the recipient of that determination.

(2) A Medicaid recipient’s presumptive eligibility period ends
when the social services district determines, pursuant to the personal care
services assessment process required by paragraph (2) of this subdivision,
whether the recipient is eligible for personal care services and, if so, the
level and amount of personal care services to be authorized, and notifies
the recipient of that determination.

(h) A Medicaid recipient who the social services district has
determined to be presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal
care services may request a fair hearing to appeal the social services
district’s determination whether the recipient is eligible for personal care
services and, if so, the level and amount of services to be authorized;
however, the recipient’s presumptive eligibility period is not extended by
the fair hearing request, and the recipient is not entitled, after the end of
the recipient’s presumptive eligibility period, to aid-continuing of immedi-
ate temporary personal care services.
Revised rule compared with proposed rule: Substantial revisions were
made in sections 360-3.7(f) and 505.14(b)(5)iv.
Text of revised proposed rule and any required statements and analyses
may be obtained from Katherine Ceroalo, DOH, Bureau of House
Counsel, Reg. Affairs Unit, Room 2438, ESP Tower Building, Albany,
NY 12237, (518) 473-7488, email: regsqna@health.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 30 days after publication of this
notice.
Revised Regulatory Impact Statement

Statutory Authority:
Social Services Law (“SSL”) § 363-a(2) and Public Health Law §

201(1)(v) empower the Department to adopt regulations implementing the
State’s Medical Assistance (“Medicaid”) program. Under SSL § 365-
a(2)(e), the Medicaid program includes personal care services.

Legislative Objectives:
In 1940, the Legislature adopted SSL § 133, which provided for
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“temporary pre-investigation grants” for persons who appear in “immedi-
ate need.” These “temporary pre-investigation grants” were to be provided
to persons in “immediate need” until social services districts complete the
investigation into their eligibility for assistance. It has been the Depart-
ment’s position that this statute, which predates the existence of the
Medicaid program, does not apply to benefits under the Medicaid program
or even to medical care generally, but rather to cash public assistance
grants to indigent individuals.

In Konstantinov v. Daines, Justice Joan Madden, State Supreme Court,
New York County, held that SSL § 133 applies to personal care services
and that “applicants for Medicaid, and Medicaid recipients are entitled to
request immediate, temporary personal care attendant services” pending
the completion of an investigation into their eligibility. By order dated
July 20, 2010 (“July 2010 Order”), Justice Madden directed the
Department:

to draft and implement regulations that will outline the steps a Medicaid
applicant must take to request immediate temporary personal care services
and which will provide for performance of an expedited assessments [sic],
including a physicians [sic], social assessment and/or nursing assessment
and thereafter, will provide for expedited review of the application for
such services. . .

In 2012, the Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed Justice
Madden’s July 2010 Order.

In response to the Konstantinov decision, the Department proposed and
the Legislature adopted SSL § 364-(i)(7), effective April 1, 2013, to clarify
that, notwithstanding the expansive judicial interpretations of SSL § 133,
the only circumstances in which the Medicaid program would reimburse
for care and services individuals obtain before the date they are determined
eligible for Medicaid are when: (a) the care or services are received during
the three months preceding the month of Medicaid application, and the in-
dividual is determined to have been eligible for Medicaid in the month the
services were received; or (b) as otherwise provided in SSL § 364-i, which
sets forth the groups, such as pregnant women and children, to whom the
Legislature has granted presumptive eligibility for Medicaid, or in the
Department’s regulations.

In April 2013, the Department moved to vacate Justice Madden’s July
2010 Order based on new SSL § 364-i(7).

By decision and order dated March 12, 2014 (“March 2014 Order”),
Justice Madden denied the Department’s motion to vacate her July 2010
Order. In her view, SSL § 364-i(7) merely apportions responsibility for
the cost of “immediate temporary personal care services” provided to
Medicaid applicants who are ultimately determined ineligible for
Medicaid.

Specifically, Justice Madden rejected the Department’s explanation of
the legislative intent behind SSL § 364-(i)(7), and instead interpreted the
new language to mean only that:

to the extent that a person who received temporary personal care ser-
vices is later found to be ineligible for medical assistance during the time
period the local social service [sic] district provided or paid for the
temporary assistance, no reimbursement will be paid from the state Medi-
cal Assistance program. In other words, the local social services district is
obligated to pay for such temporary services, whether or not the local
social services district receives reimbursement from the state. Konstanti-
nov v. Daines, 2014 N.Y. Misc. LEXIS 1137; 2014 NY Slip Op 30657(U),
emphasis added.

The Office of the New York State Attorney General has appealed
Justice Madden’s March 2014 Order, but that appeal does not stay her
July 2010 Order. It is anticipated that oral argument will occur in March
2015.

The proposed regulations set forth procedures by which Medicaid ap-
plicants and recipients may obtain “immediate temporary personal care
services,” in order to comply with Justice Madden’s decision regarding
the Court’s interpretation of SSL § § 133 and 364-i(7).

The proposed regulations also provide that State reimbursement is not
available to social services districts for “immediate temporary personal
care services” provided to presumptively eligible Medicaid applicants in
the event that such applicants are ultimately determined to be financially
or otherwise ineligible for Medicaid. Instead, the social services districts
must bear the costs of these “immediate temporary personal care services”
unless the districts are successful in recouping the costs from the Medicaid
ineligible individuals themselves. The proposed regulations are thus con-
sistent with the court’s holding that SSL § 364-i(7) absolves the State
from any financial liability for the cost of “immediate temporary personal
care services” provided to Medicaid ineligible individuals.

Needs and Benefits:
The proposed regulations are necessary to comply with Justice Mad-

den’s July 2010 and March 2014 Orders, which directed the Department
to draft and implement regulations setting forth the steps that Medicaid
applicants and Medicaid recipients may take to request “immediate
temporary personal care services.”

The proposed regulations would:
D Amend 18 NYCRR § 360-3.7 by adding new subdivision (f), entitled

“[p]resumptive eligibility for immediate temporary personal care ser-
vices,” which would apply to Medicaid applicants seeking “immediate
temporary personal care services”;

D Provide that social services districts must pay the cost of any “imme-
diate temporary personal care services” provided to presumptively eligible
individuals who are subsequently found ineligible for Medicaid;

D Repeal 18 NYCRR § 505.14(b)(5)(iv), which has long provided for
an expedited assessment process for Medicaid recipients (i.e. persons who
have been found financially and otherwise eligible for Medicaid) who
have an immediate need for personal care services; and

D Add a new Section 505.14(b)(5)(iv) to provide for a presumptive
eligibility process for Medicaid recipients that generally mirrors the
presumptive eligibility process for Medicaid applicants who seek “imme-
diate temporary personal care services.”

Costs:
Costs to State Government:
The proposed regulations do not impose costs on State government.
Costs to Local Government:
Justice Madden’s March 2014 Order imposes costs upon social services

districts. The proposed regulations are consistent with that Order. The
Department estimates that the annual costs to districts could be nearly $9
million and possibly as much as $18 million.

Under the Medicaid “cap” statute, social services districts are respon-
sible for paying their local shares of Medicaid expenditures; however, the
amount of each district’s local share is fixed or “capped” to a sum certain
for each State fiscal year. A district’s Medicaid “cap” amount is the
maximum amount that the district can be compelled to pay for services
provided to its Medicaid recipients. The State, not social services districts,
is normally responsible for Medicaid costs that exceed social services
districts’ cap amounts.

However, the March 2014 Order, by directing that it is social services
districts, and not the State, that are responsible for the cost of any “imme-
diate temporary personal care services” provided to presumptively eligible
Medicaid applicants who are subsequently determined to be ineligible for
Medicaid, has effectively interpreted SSL § 364-i(7) as creating an excep-
tion to the Medicaid “cap” statute. Therefore, the social services districts
are responsible to pay for the costs of such “immediate temporary personal
care services” in addition to their usual Medicaid “cap” contribution.

The proposed regulations are consistent with Justice Madden’s March
2014 Order. They provide that the cost of “immediate temporary personal
care services” that are authorized for presumptively eligible individuals
who are subsequently determined to be ineligible for Medicaid is a charge
upon the social services district for which State reimbursement is not
available.

The revisions to the proposed regulations necessitate a revised fiscal
estimate. The Department now estimates that the potential annual costs to
social services districts could be nearly $9 million and possibly as much as
$18 million.

This fiscal estimate assumes that “immediate temporary personal care
services” in the form of continuous personal care services (“split-shift”
services) would be authorized for 45 days for 456 presumptively eligible
individuals subsequently determined to be ineligible for Medicaid.

Based on 2013 data available to the Department, approximately 30,000
individuals were receiving fee-for-service personal care services in 2013
and that, of this total, approximately 11.7 percent (or 3,510 individuals),
first applied for personal care services in 2013. Data for 2013 also indicate
that, on a Statewide basis, approximately 231,827 Medicaid applications
for Case Type 20 Medicaid were denied. This denial rate represents ap-
proximately 26 percent of the total Medicaid applications filed in 2013 for
Case Type 20 coverage. Were one to assume that each of the approximately
3,510 individuals who seeks personal care services is also an applicant for
Medicaid itself, this would mean that approximately 913 individuals (or
26% of 3,510 Medicaid applicants) would subsequently be determined to
be ineligible for Medicaid.

Of these 913 Medicaid ineligible individuals, it is uncertain how many
would be eligible for Protective Services for Adults (“PSA”) or how many
would be referred to PSA and determined to need a PSA investigation and
assessment. For purposes of this fiscal analysis, however, the assumption
is that approximately 50 percent of these 913 Medicaid ineligible individu-
als, or 456 individuals, would be PSA eligible or be referred for a PSA
investigation and assessment. This assumption is based on data from the
New York State Office of Children and Family Services indicating that,
for December 2014, approximately 50 percent of the approximately 7,651
active PSA cases in New York City, or 3,840 PSA cases, were Medicaid
eligible. This presumes that the remaining 50 percent of PSA cases would
be ineligible for Medicaid.

The fiscal estimate further assumes that each of these 456 individuals
would be presumptively eligible for “immediate temporary personal care

NYS Register/February 25, 2015Rule Making Activities

26



services” at the continuous personal care services level (i.e. “split-shift”
services). This fiscal estimate also assumes that each of these 456 individu-
als would receive “split-shift” services for approximately 45 days until
they are determined ineligible for Medicaid. Under Department regulation
18 NYCRR § 360-2.4, social services districts must generally determine
Medicaid eligibility within 45 days, with certain exceptions. If the ap-
plicant’s Medicaid eligibility depends on disability status, the social ser-
vices district is permitted as many as 90 days to determine Medicaid
eligibility.

Continuous personal care services costs approximately $18 per hour, or
$432 per day. The cost of continuous personal care services provided to
456 individuals for 45 days is nearly $9 million. ($432 x 45 days x 456
individuals). To the extent that social services districts are permitted 90
days to determine Medicaid eligibility based on disability, district costs
could be nearly $18 million.

The potential cost to social services districts would decrease to the
extent that physicians order less than split-shift care or districts are able to
expedite their Medicaid eligibility determinations and recoup the cost of
“immediate temporary personal care services” from presumptively eligible
individuals who are found ineligible for Medicaid.

Costs to the Department of Health:
There will be no additional costs to the Department.
Local Government Mandates:
Consistent with Justice Madden’s July 2010 and March 2014 Orders,

the proposed regulations would impose new mandates on social services
districts. The proposed regulations would require districts to determine
whether immediate temporary personal care services should be authorized
for Medicaid applicants. Moreover, the proposed regulations would also
require that districts bear the cost of services provided to presumptively
eligible individuals who are subsequently determined ineligible for
Medicaid.

Social services districts may no longer have adequate staff to assess
Medicaid applicants and recipients for “immediate temporary personal
care services” nor sufficient contracts with personal care vendors to
provide the services. Since 2011, there has been a gradual transition of the
personal care services benefit to managed long term care plans and
mainstream managed care plans. These managed care entities have gradu-
ally assumed responsibility from districts for authorizing personal care
services, other than Level I housekeeping services, for most Medicaid
recipients.

Paperwork:
The proposed regulations require districts to notify Medicaid applicants

whether they have been determined to be presumptively eligible for im-
mediate temporary personal care services.

Duplication:
The proposed regulations do not duplicate any existing federal, state or

local regulations.
Alternatives:
There are no alternatives to the proposed regulations. Justice Madden’s

July 2010 Order directed the Department to adopt regulations. The Depart-
ment does not have a stay of that order.

Federal Standards:
The proposed regulations do not exceed any minimum federal standards.
Compliance Schedule:
Social services districts should be able to comply with the regulations

when they become effective.
Revised Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Effect of Rule:
The proposed regulations would affect 57 county social services

districts and one city social services district, the City of New York.
Compliance Requirements:
The proposed regulations would impose compliance requirements on

social services districts. These compliance requirements are consistent
with orders issued on July 20, 2010, and March 12, 2014, by Justice Joan
Madden, State Supreme Court, New York County, in Konstantinov v.
Daines.

The proposed regulations would add new 18 NYCRR § 360-3.7(f),
entitled “[p]resumptive eligibility for immediate temporary personal care
services.”

For purposes of this new subdivision, “immediate temporary personal
care services” means the number of hours of services that the Medicaid
applicant’s physician has recommended in the physician’s order.

Medicaid applicants would be presumptively eligible for immediate
temporary personal care services when:

D The social services district determines, based only on the Medicaid
application and the DOH-4495A (“Access NY Supplement A”), that the
applicant appears to be financially and otherwise eligible for Medicaid;

D The applicant has provided a physician’s order that meets the require-
ments of 18 NYCRR § 505.14(b)(3)(i), except that the order must recom-
mend the number of hours of immediate temporary personal care services

to be authorized, and that also documents that the applicant needs assis-
tance with toileting, transferring, turning or positioning, walking, or feed-
ing, has a stable medical condition, and can be cared for safely at home;
and

D The applicant is in receipt of Protective Services for Adults (“PSA”)
or has been referred to PSA and the district’s PSA staff have determined
that a PSA investigation and assessment are necessary.

As expeditiously as possible, but no later than five business days after
receipt of the Medicaid application, the DOH-4495A, and the physician’s
order, social services districts would be required to determine whether the
Medicaid applicant is presumptively eligible for immediate temporary
personal care services and notify the individual of the district’s
determination.

Social services districts would be required to arrange for the provision,
as expeditiously as possible, of immediate temporary personal care ser-
vices to presumptively eligible Medicaid applicants.

The proposed regulations would also amend the Department’s personal
care services regulations to provide for presumptive eligibility for imme-
diate temporary personal care services for Medicaid recipients. The
proposed regulations would repeal 18 NYCRR § 505.14(b)(5)(iv) and add
a new Section 505.14(b)(5)(iv) that generally mirrors the presumptive
eligibility process for Medicaid applicants who seek “immediate tempo-
rary personal care services.”

Professional Services:
Social services districts may need to secure additional professional ser-

vices to comply with the proposed regulations. Social services districts
may have neither sufficient caseworker staff nor contracts with sufficient
personal care services vendors to comply with the proposed regulations.
Since 2011, there has been a gradual transition of the personal care ser-
vices benefit to managed long term care plans and mainstream managed
care plans. These managed care entities have gradually assumed responsi-
bility from districts for authorizing personal care services, other than Level
I housekeeping tasks, for most Medicaid recipients.

Compliance Costs:
No capital costs would be imposed as a result of the proposed

regulations.
The proposed regulations could impose annual compliance costs upon

social services districts. This provision of the proposed regulations is con-
sistent with Justice Madden’s March 12, 2014, order, which directed that
social services districts, not the State, are responsible for the cost of any
“immediate temporary personal care services” provided to presumptively
eligible Medicaid applicants who are subsequently determined to be
financially or otherwise ineligible for Medicaid. Consistent with that or-
der, the proposed regulations provide that social services districts must
pay the cost of any “immediate temporary personal care services” that
districts authorize for presumptively eligible Medicaid applicants who are
subsequently determined ineligible for Medicaid.

The Department estimates that the potential annual costs to social ser-
vices districts could be nearly $9 million and possibly as much as $18
million.

The estimated cost of $9 million assumes that “immediate temporary
personal care services” in the form of continuous personal care services
(“split-shift” services) would be authorized for up to 45 days for 456
presumptively eligible individuals who districts determine, on the 45th
day after Medicaid application, are financially or otherwise ineligible for
Medicaid. The estimated costs of up to $18 million assume that these ser-
vices are authorized for up to 90 days for 456 presumptively eligible
individuals who districts determine, after completion of a disability deter-
mination, to be financially or otherwise ineligible for Medicaid.

The potential costs to social services districts would vary depending
upon several factors. These factors include the number of Medicaid ap-
plicants who seek immediate temporary personal care services as well as
the number of Medicaid applicants determined presumptively eligible for
such services who are ultimately found financially or otherwise ineligible
for Medicaid. Other factors affecting social services districts’ costs include
the extent to which physicians recommend fewer hours of personal care
services than continuous personal care services and the extent to which
social services districts expedite their Medicaid eligibility determinations
and are able to recoup any costs from presumptively eligible individuals
who are determined ineligible for Medicaid.

Economic and Technological Feasibility:
With regard to the economic feasibility of compliance with the proposed

regulations, the proposed regulations are consistent with the March 12,
2014, order of Justice Madden. That order effectively interprets SSL
§ 364-i(7) as creating an exception to the Medicaid “cap” statute. Under
this judicially created exception, social services districts are responsible to
pay the cost of any “immediate temporary personal care services” provided
to presumptively eligible Medicaid applicants who are subsequently
determined ineligible for Medicaid. This fiscal liability is in addition to
social services districts’ usual Medicaid “cap” contributions.
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There are no technological requirements associated with the proposed
regulations.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:
The proposed regulations were designed to minimize adverse effects on

social services districts. As revised, the proposed regulations ease the
burden on social services districts when determining whether Medicaid
applicants are presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal
care services. Social services districts would authorize, for the duration of
the Medicaid applicant’s presumptive eligibility period, the personal care
services ordered by the applicant’s physician provided that the physician’s
order documents that the Medicaid applicant has a stable medical condi-
tion and can be cared for safely at home.

Small Business and Local Government Participation:
The Department shared the revised proposed regulations with social

services district representatives who represent districts’ interests through
their positions with the New York Public Welfare Association and similar
associations.
Revised Rural Area Flexibility Analysis

Types and Estimated Numbers of Rural Areas:
Rural areas are defined as counties with populations less than 200,000

and, for counties with populations greater than 200,000, include towns
with population densities of 150 or fewer persons per square mile.

The following 43 counties have populations of less than 200,000:

Allegany Hamilton Schenectady

Cattaraugus Herkimer Schoharie

Cayuga Jefferson Schuyler

Chautauqua Lewis Seneca

Chemung Livingston Steuben

Chenango Madison Sullivan

Clinton Montgomery Tioga

Columbia Ontario Tompkins

Cortland Orleans Ulster

Delaware Oswego Warren

Essex Otsego Washington

Franklin Putnam Wayne

Fulton Rensselaer Wyoming

Genesee St. Lawrence Yates

Greene

The following nine counties have certain townships with population
densities of 150 or fewer persons per square mile:

Albany Erie Oneida

Broome Monroe Onondaga

Dutchess Niagara Orange

Reporting, Recordkeeping and Other Compliance Requirements and
Professional Services:

The proposed regulations would impose compliance requirements on
rural as well as urban social services districts. These compliance require-
ments are consistent with orders issued on July 20, 2010, and March 12,
2014, by Justice Joan Madden, State Supreme Court, New York County,
in Konstantinov v. Daines.

The proposed regulations would add new 18 NYCRR § 360-3.7(f),
entitled “[p]resumptive eligibility for immediate temporary personal care
services.” Pursuant to Section 360-3.7(f), all social services districts would
be required to determine whether Medical Assistance (“Medicaid”) ap-
plicants are “presumptively eligible” for “immediate temporary personal
care services” pending completion of the applicants’ Medicaid eligibility
determination.

Rural, as well as urban, social services districts would be required to
determine whether, based only on the Medicaid application and the DOH-
4495A (“Supplement A”), Medicaid applicants appear to be financially
and otherwise eligible for Medicaid. As expeditiously as possible, but no
later than five business days after receipt of the Medicaid application,
Supplement A and the physician’s order, social services districts would be
required to determine whether the Medicaid applicant is presumptively
eligible for immediate temporary personal care services and notify the in-
dividual of the district’s determination.

Social services districts would be required to arrange for the provision,
as expeditiously as possible, of immediate temporary personal care ser-
vices to presumptively eligible Medicaid applicants.

The proposed regulations would also amend the Department’s personal
care services regulations to provide for presumptive eligibility for imme-
diate temporary personal care services. The proposed regulations would
repeal 18 NYCRR § 505.14(b)(5)(iv) and add a new Section
505.14(b)(5)(iv) that generally mirrors the presumptively eligible process
for Medicaid applicants who seem immediate temporary personal care
services.

Rural, as well as urban, social services districts may need to secure ad-
ditional professional services to comply with the proposed regulations.
Social services districts may have neither sufficient caseworker staff nor
contracts with sufficient personal care services vendors to comply with the
proposed regulations. Since 2011, there has been a gradual transition of
the personal care services benefit to managed long term care plans and
mainstream managed care plans. These managed care entities have gradu-
ally assumed responsibility from districts for authorizing personal care
services, other than Level I housekeeping tasks, for most Medicaid
recipients.

Costs:
There are no new capital costs associated with the proposed regulations.
The proposed regulations could impose annual compliance costs upon

rural as well as urban social services districts. The Department estimates
that the potential annual costs to social services districts could be nearly
$9 million and possibly as much as $18 million.

Minimizing Adverse Impact:
The proposed regulations were designed to minimize any adverse eco-

nomic effects on rural as well as urban social services districts. They
provide that Medicaid applicants who seek “immediate temporary personal
care services” must appear, based only on the Medicaid application and
Supplement A, to be financially and otherwise eligible for Medicaid. In
addition, the social services district would not be required to perform a
comprehensive and expedited personal care services assessment to
determine whether the applicant is presumptively eligible for immediate
temporary personal care services. For the duration of the applicant’s
presumptive eligibility period, the district would authorize the number of
hours recommended by the applicant’s physician in the physician’s order.

Rural social services districts may minimize any adverse economic ef-
fect by expediting their Medicaid eligibility determinations for presump-
tively eligible Medicaid applicants. By expediting Medicaid eligibility
determinations for such individuals, social services districts would shorten
the time period for which they could be liable for the cost of “immediate
temporary personal care services” provided to presumptively eligible
individuals subsequently determined ineligible for Medicaid.

Rural Area Participation:
The Department shared the revised proposed regulations with social

services district representatives who represent districts’ interests through
their positions with the New York Public Welfare Association and similar
associations.
Revised Job Impact Statement
Changes made to the last published rule do not necessitate revision to the
previously published JIS.
Assessment of Public Comment

The Department received a substantial number of detailed and signifi-
cant public comments. The commentators included the following county
social services districts: Albany, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Greene,
Lewis, Madison, Monroe, Nassau, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Rockland,
St. Lawrence, Steuben and Westchester. The New York City Human Re-
sources Administration also commented. Two associations that advocate
on behalf of social services districts and counties commented: the New
York Public Welfare Association and the New York State Association of
Counties. Several organizations that advocate on behalf of Medicaid ap-
plicants and recipients commented. These entities were The Legal Aid So-
ciety, the New York Legal Assistance Group, the Empire Justice Center,
the Coalition to Protect the Rights of New York’s Dually Eligible and the
Consumer Directed Personal Assistance Association of New York State.
Aytan Bellin, Esq., also commented.

1. Comment: Nearly all commentators expressed a common global
concern that the proposed regulations did not reflect the dramatic structural
changes to the Medicaid program that the State has gradually implemented
and which have occurred since the Court issued its 2010 Order. Some of
these change were driven by the State’s recent implementation of the
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, under which the State, and
not social services districts, determines the Medicaid eligibility of many,
but not all, Medicaid applicants. Other changes were the result of Governor
Cuomo’s Medicaid Redesign Team (“MRT”) initiatives. One such MRT
initiative is gradually transferring from social services districts to private
managed care entities the responsibility for authorizing personal care ser-
vices for most, but not all, Medicaid recipients. Another MRT initiative is
gradually transferring to the State the responsibility for administering the
Medicaid program itself, which has long been a locally-administered and
State-supervised program.
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Response: The Department agrees with the commentators’ observation
that the “environment has changed” since the Court’s 2010 Order was
issued. Nonetheless, social services districts currently remain responsible
for determining the Medicaid eligibility of many Medicaid applicants. The
proposed regulations must thus set forth the process by which individuals
who file Medicaid applications with social services districts may obtain
immediate temporary personal care services. This is necessary to comply
with the Court’s 2010 Order.

2. Comment: The New York Legal Assistance Group (“NYLAG”)
advocated an alternative model for authorizing and delivering immediate
temporary personal care services, and other advocacy groups endorsed
this comment. Given that the personal care services authorization process
has, for the most part, shifted from social services districts to managed
long term care plans and managed care organizations, NYLAG proposed
that, instead of “recreating the old assessment and delivery system solely
for temporary personal care services. . . . . that the system developed for
managed long term care assessment and delivery be used.” This model
would employ the Conflict-Free Evaluation and Enrollment Center
(“CFEEC”) that the Department implemented October 1, 2014, on a
phased-in basis at the direction of the federal Centers for Medicare &
Medicaid Services. The commentators suggested that, in New York City
and other counties in which the CFEEC presently operates, the filing of a
Medicaid application and a request for immediate temporary personal care
services would trigger a referral by the social services district to the
CFEEC, which would determine whether the applicant was eligible for
personal care services and, if so, the CFEEC’s nurse assessor would au-
thorize a plan of care. In counties in which the CFEEC does not yet oper-
ate, but whose dually-eligible Medicaid recipients are subject to manda-
tory enrollment in a managed long term care (“MLTC”) plan, the
commentators suggested that a new presumptive eligibility code should be
created that would allow MLTC plans to enroll Medicaid applicants before
the social services district has determined their Medicaid eligibility and to
immediately assess their need for personal care services. The commenta-
tor also suggested that, only in districts in which MLTC was not yet
mandatory for dual-eligible recipients, or at the option of social services
districts even in mandatory counties, the district would determine both
Medicaid and home care eligibility and authorize immediate temporary
personal care services.

Response: The commentator’s suggestions are innovative and reflect
considerable thought regarding this issue. The suggestions are nonetheless
beyond the scope of the proposed regulations and beyond the Department’s
present ability to implement. The CFEEC is unable to conduct assess-
ments for personal care services that result in the development of plans of
care. It currently only evaluates whether an individual meets the threshold
standard for enrollment in a MLTC plan; that is, whether the individual
needs community-based long term care services for 120 days or more. Nor
may MLTC plans currently enroll individuals who have not yet been
determined eligible for Medicaid.

3. Comment: Several commentators noted that the proposed regulations
must address individuals who apply for Medicaid to the NY State of
Health, which is the State’s health insurance marketplace, rather than to
social services districts.

Response: The NY State of Health is unable to render presumptive
eligibility determinations for Medicaid applicants seeking immediate
temporary personal care services. Social services districts will render these
presumptive eligibility determinations for all Medicaid applicants seeking
this new service, and will employ the appropriate budgeting methodology,
whether Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) or non-MAGI. No
change to the proposed regulations is needed.

4. Comment: The Greene County Department of Social Services com-
mented that it is a mandatory MLTC county, and its “front door is closed”
to personal care services. It stated that “all referrals” for personal care ser-
vices “go to Maximus” and asked whether the proposed regulations “were
an exception to this policy.”

Response: Yes. The proposed regulations create an exception to the
overall trend since the Court issued its Order in 2010. Since that time, with
limited exceptions for those who are exempt or excluded from enrollment,
managed care organizations and MLTC plans have generally been
responsible for authorizing personal care services for most Medicaid
recipients with a need for such services. This process applies only to
Medicaid recipients, however; that is, persons who have already been
found eligible for Medicaid. The Court’s 2010 Order requires that the
Department develop and implement a process by which Medicaid ap-
plicants with an immediate need for personal care services may request
and obtain such services. Managed care entities cannot address this need
for Medicaid applicants. Social services districts remain responsible for
determining Medicaid eligibility for most Medicaid applicants. Conse-
quently, it is they who must be responsible for determining whether
Medicaid applicants are also presumptively eligible for immediate
temporary personal care services. This is necessary to comply with the
Court’s 2010 Order.

5. Comment: The Department received voluminous comments pertain-
ing to the proposed provisions governing whether a Medicaid applicant is
“presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal care services.”
Many of these comments addressed the provision that the applicant must
“reasonably appear,” based on preliminary information, to be financially
and otherwise eligible for Medicaid. The New York City Human Re-
sources Administration, for example, commented that, in order for a local
district “to even remotely assess” that an applicant “reasonably appears”
to be eligible, it would “need a complete Medicaid application and Supple-
ment A that identifies the person’s assets and resources.” The New York
Legal Assistance Group, joined by other advocacy groups, urged that ap-
plicants “should be allowed to attest to their resources upon application
for Medicaid.”

Response: The Department has revised the proposed regulations in re-
sponse to the comments. As revised, the proposed regulations provide that
Medicaid applicants seeking presumptive eligibility for immediate
temporary personal care services must submit a Medicaid application and
the DOH-4495A (Access NY Supplement A) or any successor to such
supplement. By signing these documents, the Medicaid applicant is
certifying that the information contained in the documents is correct. When
determining whether Medicaid applicants are presumptively eligible for
immediate temporary personal care services, social services districts will
be expected to use only the information set forth in the Medicaid applica-
tion and Supplement A, as certified by the applicant, and prepare a budget
accordingly. A final eligibility determination would require
documentation.

6. Comment: Several commentators asked whether the proposed regula-
tions would enable Medicaid applicants having income or resources in
excess of eligibility levels (i.e. spenddown individuals) to be determined
to be presumptively eligible for immediate temporary personal care
services.

Response: Medicaid applicants who have excess income or resources
are not excluded from presumptive eligibility for immediate temporary
personal care services; however, no payment should be made for immedi-
ate temporary personal care services until these individuals incur bills suf-
ficient to meet their spenddown amount. This is consistent with current
requirements applicable to spenddown cases. No change in the proposed
regulations is necessary to address this comment.

7. Comment: Many comments were received regarding the provisions
of the proposed regulations governing the personal care services assess-
ment and authorization process. In particular, the proposal that social ser-
vices districts complete the assessment process and authorize services
within five business days after receipt of the Medicaid application and the
physician’s order generated considerable comment. Districts commented
that five business days were “an implausible timeline” for eligibility
determinations, that being required to complete a social and nursing as-
sessment and ensure that services are in place within five days would be a
“particular challenge,” and that it is becoming “more difficult to find a
licensed home care services agency willing and/or able to begin services
within a five day time frame.”

Response: The Department has revised the proposed regulations in re-
sponse to the comments. The revised proposed regulations delete the previ-
ous requirement that social services districts, within five business days of
receipt of the Medicaid application and physician’s order, conduct a
complete personal care services assessment pursuant to 18 NYCRR §
505.14, determine whether the applicant is presumptively eligible, notify
the applicant of the presumptive eligibility determination, and arrange for
the provision of immediate temporary personal care services for those
individuals who are determined to be presumptively eligible. Under the
revised proposed regulations, social services districts would not be
required to conduct an expedited personal care services assessment within
five business days. Rather, for those Medicaid applicants whom the social
services district determines to be presumptively eligible, the district would
authorize, for the duration of the individual’s presumptive eligibility pe-
riod, the number of hours of personal care services that the individual’s
physician had recommended.

8. Comment: Several commentators remarked upon the role of the
Protective Services for Adults (“PSA”) program in relation to the proposed
regulations. The New York City Human Resources Administration com-
mented that the PSA program in NYC “utilizes the CASA/MLTC/MC
program/plans to obtain long term care services for their clients” and by
their inclusion in the PSA program, “these individuals are considered
particularly vulnerable.”

Response: The Department has revised the proposed regulations in re-
sponse to the comments. As HRA recognized, individuals who receive
Protective Services for Adults are considered to be particularly vulnerable.
Whether due to physical or mental impairments, they are unable to meet
their essential need for life’s necessities, such as medical care, need protec-
tion from actual or threatened harm, and have no one available who is
willing and able to assist them responsibly. Further, the Department’s
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personal care services regulations have long provided for close collabora-
tion between staff responsible for PSA and staff responsible for personal
care services to assure that personal care services may be provided as part
of a PSA plan. Accordingly, the revised proposed regulations provide that
presumptive eligibility for immediate temporary personal care services is
to address the immediate needs for personal care services for those
individuals who are in receipt of PSA or have been referred to PSA and
for whom the district has determined that a PSA investigation and assess-
ment are needed.

9. Comment: Social services districts objected to that provision of the
proposed regulations that would hold social services districts fiscally
responsible for the cost of immediate temporary personal care services
that are authorized for Medicaid applicants who, although found presump-
tively eligible for immediate temporary personal care services, are
subsequently determined to be ineligible for Medicaid.

Response: The Medicaid program lacks the authority to pay for imme-
diate temporary personal care services provided to Medicaid applicants
who are determined to be ineligible for Medicaid. No revisions have been
made to the proposed regulations to address this comment.

Department of Motor Vehicles

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Electronic Insurance Identification Cards

I.D. No. MTV-08-15-00004-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: Amendment of sections 32.3, 32.5, 32.10, 32.16 and
32.17 of Title 15 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Vehicle and Traffic Law, sections 215(a), 311(10)
and 312(4)
Subject: Electronic insurance identification cards.
Purpose: Authorize insurance companies to issue electronic insurance
identification cards.
Substance of proposed rule (Full text is posted at the following State
website:www.dmv.ny.gov): The amendments to Part 32 of the Commis-
sioner’s Regulations authorize the issuance of electronic insurance
identification cards by insurance companies. The regulation also makes
minor technical amendments, such as designating the former State Insur-
ance Department as the New York State Department of Financial Services.

The regulation provides that:
Electronic insurance ID cards may be issued by an insurance company

if the insurance company chooses to issue electronic insurance ID cards
Electronic insurance ID cards shall be acceptable as proof of insurance

in the same manner as paper insurance ID cards
Electronic proof of insurance must be capable of being displayed on a

portable electronic device, as defined in paragraph (a) of subdivision two
of section 1225-d of the Vehicle and Traffic Law

Electronic insurance ID cards may not be issued: for temporary ID
cards, entities that are self-insured or for fleet transactions, dealers or
transporters, as set forth in section 32.13

Electronic insurance ID cards must meet the requirements set forth in
Part 32 that are applicable to paper insurance ID cards, except as to those
provisions which by their nature can have no application

An insurance company may not issue an electronic insurance ID card
instead of a paper insurance ID card without the consent of the person or
entity named on such insurance ID card
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Heidi Bazicki, Department of Motor Vehicles, 6 Empire
State Plaza, Rm. 522A, Albany, NY 12228, (518) 474-0871, email:
heidi.bazicki@dmv.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Ida L. Traschen, Depart-
ment of Motor Vehicles, 6 Empire State Plaza, Rm. 522A, Albany, NY
12228, (518) 474-0871, email: ida.traschen@dmv.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Regulatory Impact Statement

1. Statutory authority: Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) § 215(a)
provides that the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may enact rules and

regulations that regulate and control the exercise of the powers of the
Department. VTL § 311(10) authorizes insurance companies to issue in-
surance identification cards in a form as the Commissioner may prescribe
or approve, which states that the company has issued an owner’s policy of
liability insurance or a financial security bond on the motor vehicle or
vehicles designated on the card. VTL § 312(4) authorizes the Commis-
sioner to promulgate reasonable regulations to provide effective adminis-
tration and enforcement of the provisions of Article 6.

2. Legislative objectives: In order to register a motor vehicle in New
York State, the Vehicle and Traffic Law requires the applicant to submit
proof of insurance. Currently, the only acceptable proof of insurance is the
paper insurance ID card. However, many insurance companies now offer
an electronic insurance ID card, available in 30 states. Since the VTL
authorizes the Commissioner to prescribe the form of the insurance ID
card, the Commissioner has clear authority to permit the issuance of
electronic insurance ID cards in this State. The electronic insurance ID
cards will be displayed on the registrant’s portable electronic device.

This proposal aligns with the legislative objective of requiring motor
vehicle registrants to show proof of insurance by expanding the means of
displaying such proof, either at a DMV office or to a law enforcement
official.

3. Needs and benefits: This proposed regulation would allow insurance
companies to issue electronic insurance ID cards. Currently, only paper ID
cards are accepted in this State. This rulemaking is consistent with the
transition to a paperless world.

Thirty states accept electronic insurance ID cards. The electronic insur-
ance ID cards are displayed on the customer’s portable electronic device.
In lieu of having to maintain a paper ID card to show to a law enforcement
official or a DMV representative, the customer will have such ID card
stored on his or her electronic device, a true convenience for many
customers. Insurance companies will benefit because it will increase
customer satisfaction, reduce the use of paper, and lower costs associated
with producing and mailing paper ID cards and replacing destroyed or lost
cards.

Finally, this rule makes three technical corrections to Part 32. First, it
clarifies that the full DBA of an insured must be displayed on the insur-
ance ID card. Second, in light of statutory amendments, the State Insur-
ance Department is now referred to as the Department of Financial
Services. Third, the references to staggered effective and expiration dates
for for-hire insurance cards are deleted, because the Department currently
now uses staggered dates for several classes of vehicles, which are too
numerous and varied to clearly enumerate in a regulation.

4. Costs: (i) Cost to the regulated parties for the implementation of and
continuing compliance with the rule: There would be no cost to customers
who would display the electronic insurance ID card on his or her electronic
device. Since the rule is voluntary, no insurer is required to issue electronic
insurance ID cards. DMV canvassed several insurers about potential cost.
Only one company offered a cost estimate, which is a one-time cost of
$1,200.

(ii) Costs to the agency, the State and local governments for the
implementation of, and continued administration of, the rule: The Depart-
ment of Motor Vehicles is purchasing 100 2D barcode ID scanners which
are suited to scanning electronic insurance ID cards. Upon testing some
devices containing electronic insurance ID cards, DMV determined that
the scanners currently used in most offices would not effectively scan the
ID cards. Therefore, DMV is purchasing the 100 scanners at a cost of
$27,300, which shall be paid from the Compulsory Insurance Fund, as au-
thorized by section 317 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law. The new scanners
will be distributed to county offices that perform DMV services, so that
those counties will not have to invest any resources on the scanners.

(iii) The information, including the source of such information and the
methodology upon which the cost analysis is based: The Department’s Of-
fice of Operations and Office of Insurance Services, working with ITS
determined that purchase of 100 new scanners is necessary so that all
DMV offices can effectively scan the electronic ID cards. This conclusion
is based upon testing by DMV and ITS staff of ID cards on electronic
devices.

5. Local government mandates: This rule would impose no additional
requirements on county offices, which offer DMV services, because they
would only have to scan the electronic insurance ID displayed on the de-
vice, as they currently do with paper insurance ID cards. DMV is purchas-
ing new scanning devices for the county offices, so that the counties will
not incur new expenses.

6. Paperwork: There are no paperwork requirements.
7. Duplication: This proposal does not duplicate, overlap or conflict

with any relevant rule or legal requirement of the State and federal
governments.

8. Alternatives: The Department canvassed law enforcement officials to
assess any concerns they might have about the proposed rule. The Divi-
sion of State Police had no objection to the regulation. At the NYS As-
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sociation of Chiefs of Police meeting in March 2014, a group of police
chiefs did voice four concerns about the use of electronic insurance ID
cards. First, they believe that viewing the portable electronic device will
prolong the roadside stop, as the motorist logs in and downloads the
electronic insurance ID card, thereby increasing the danger to the officer
who is standing on the highway. Second, the device may be difficult to
handle and/or the electronic insurance ID cards may be difficult to read,
particularly at night or in inclement weather. Third, the officer who dam-
ages a device while viewing the card may face liability issues, including
false claims that the device was damaged while in the officer’s possession.
Finally, a motorist may accuse the officer of viewing private information
that is stored on the device.

As the result of these concerns, the Department conducted a nationwide
survey, through the auspices of the American Association of Motor Vehi-
cle Administrators (AAMVA), of those states that authorize the use of
electronic insurance ID cards. The administrators and law enforcement of-
ficials in those states were asked to address the four concerns raised by the
police chiefs. The Department received responses from 18 states that ac-
cept the use of electronic insurance ID cards. None of the administrators
or law enforcement officials shared the concerns expressed by the police
chiefs. In some states, the officers are trained to view only the electronic
insurance ID card and no other information on the device. In other states,
the motorist holds the device while the officer reads the information on the
device. Three states have laws shielding the officers from liability if the
device is damaged. In light of the comments submitted in response to
AAMVA’s survey, the Department believes that the police chiefs’
concerns are not borne out by the experience in states that currently autho-
rize the use of electronic insurance ID cards.

The Department also canvassed seven insurance companies and one in-
surance association, PCI Property Casualty Insurers (PCI), for their com-
ments on the proposed regulation. All of the insurers and PCI fully sup-
port the regulation. Three changes were made pursuant to their suggestions.
First, it is now clear that an insurer may issue an electronic insurance ID
card; it is not mandatory. Second, language was added stating that an
insurer that chooses to issue an electronic insurance ID card does not have
to issue a card that is adaptable for all portable electronic devices. Third, it
was clarified that the full DBA name must be displayed on the insurance
ID card.

One insurer requested that the Department amend the regulation to al-
low persons insured through the Assigned Risk Plan to receive electronic
insurance ID cards. The regulation as written does not bar persons insured
through the Plan from receiving electronic insurance ID cards. The
temporary FS-75 card that is issued when the person initially enrolls in the
plan cannot be an electronic insurance ID card. However, once the indi-
vidual is assigned to an insurer through the Plan, the permanent insurance
ID card may be electronic.

PCI contacted the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers Associa-
tion of NY (IIABNY) to assess any negative impact on insurance agents
and brokers. IIABNY indicated that they did not anticipate a major impact
on agents and brokers as a result of this regulatory change because the
electronic insurance ID card option applies only to permanent ID cards,
and most of their agents only deal with the temporary cards.

A no action alternative was not considered, because the Department
believes that this rule provides benefits to insurers conducting business in
this State and their customers.

9. Federal standards: The proposal does not exceed any minimum stan-
dards of the federal government for the same or similar subject areas.

10. Compliance schedule: The Department anticipates that all affected
parties will be able to achieve compliance with the rule upon adoption.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Effect of rule: There are an estimated 9,000 insurance agents and
brokers in New York State, of which 6,100 are small businesses. The
proposed rule would not have an adverse impact on the agents and brokers
because they primarily issue temporary insurance cards. This proposed
rule excludes the issuance of a temporary electronic insurance ID card.

This proposed rule would not have an adverse effect on the county
clerks who perform DMV services. Currently, the county clerks scan paper
insurance ID cards to verify the validity of the insurance. The same scan-
ning procedure would be used for electronic insurance ID cards.

2. Compliance requirements: The DMV will notify the county clerks
that electronic insurance ID cards may be submitted as proof of insurance.
DMV is purchasing new scanning devices for the county offices, so that
the counties will not incur new expenses.

Insurance companies may voluntarily issue electronic insurance ID
cards to their customers if such cards are in compliance with the provi-
sions of Part 32.

3. Professional services: This regulation would not require local govern-
ments or small businesses to obtain professional services.

4. Compliance costs: There would be no compliance costs for local
governments. DMV is purchasing new scanning devices for the county of-
fices, so that the counties will not incur new expenses.

Since small businesses are not affected by the rule, there would be no
costs.

5. Economic and technological feasibility: The proposed rule imposes
no economic burden on local governments because DMV is purchasing
new scanning devices for the county offices, so that the counties will not
incur new expenses.

6. Minimizing adverse impact: This proposal has no adverse impact on
local governments because DMV is purchasing new scanning devices for
the county offices, so that the counties will not incur new expenses.

As noted below, the Department consulted with stakeholders in the in-
surance industry to minimize any adverse impact on such industry.

7. Small business and local government participation: PCI Property Ca-
sualty Insurers contacted the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers
Association of NY (IIABNY) to assess any negative impact on insurance
agents and brokers. IIABNY indicated that they did not anticipate a major
impact on agents and brokers as a result of this regulatory change, because
the electronic insurance ID card option applies only to permanent ID cards,
and most of their agents only deal with the temporary cards.
Rural Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement

A rural area flexibility analysis and a job impact statement are not
required for this rulemaking proposal because it will not adversely affect
rural areas or jobs.

This proposal authorizes insurance companies to issue electronic insur-
ance ID cards. Due to its narrow focus, this rule will not impose an adverse
economic impact or reporting, record keeping, or other compliance
requirements on rural or urban areas or on employment opportunities.

Public Service Commission

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Granting in Part Petitions for Rehearing, Reconsideration and/or
Clarification of the Commission's 2/25/14 Order

I.D. No. PSC-17-14-00005-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-06
Effective Date: 2015-02-06

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted an order addressing the peti-
tions for rehearing, reconsideration and/or clarification of the Commis-
sion's February 25, 2014 Order Taking Actions to Improve the Residen-
tial and Small Non-Residential Retail Access Markets.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 5(1)(b) and 66(1)
Subject: Granting in part petitions for rehearing, reconsideration and/or
clarification of the Commission's 2/25/14 Order.
Purpose: To grant in part petitions for rehearing, reconsideration and/or
clarification of the Commission's 2/25/14 Order.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted
an order granting, in part, and denying, in part, petitions for rehearing,
reconsideration and/or clarification of certain portions of the Commis-
sion's February 25, 2014 Order Taking Actions to Improve the Residen-
tial and Small Non-Residential Retail Access Markets, filed by the Retail
Energy Supply Association, the National Energy Marketers Association,
Constellation NewEnergy, Inc., and Great Eastern Energy, subject to the
terms and conditions set forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(12-M-0476SA6)
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Granting in Part Petitions for Rehearing, Reconsideration and/or
Clarification of the Commission's 2/25/14 Order

I.D. No. PSC-17-14-00006-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-06
Effective Date: 2015-02-06

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted an order addressing the peti-
tions for rehearing, reconsideration and/or clarification of the Commis-
sion's February 25, 2014 Order Taking Actions to Improve the Residen-
tial and Small Non-Residential Retail Access Markets.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 5(1)(b) and 66(1)
Subject: Granting in part petitions for rehearing, reconsideration and/or
clarification of the Commission's 2/25/14 Order.
Purpose: To grant in part petitions for rehearing, reconsideration and/or
clarification of the Commission's 2/25/14 Order.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted
an order granting, in part, and denying, in part, petitions for rehearing,
reconsideration and/or clarification of certain portions of the Commis-
sion's February 25, 2014 Order Taking Actions to Improve the Residen-
tial and Small Non-Residential Retail Access Markets, filed by the Retail
Energy Supply Association, and the National Energy Marketers Associa-
tion, subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(12-M-0476SA5)

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

New York State Reliability Council's Revisions to Its Rules and
Measurements

I.D. No. PSC-26-14-00014-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-09
Effective Date: 2015-02-09

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted an order approving the
modification of rules and measurements by the New York State Reliability
Council.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(2), 65(1), 66(1),
(2), (4) and (5)
Subject: New York State Reliability Council's revisions to its rules and
measurements.
Purpose: To adopt revisions to various rules and measurements of the
New York State Reliability Council.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted
the New York State Reliability Council’s modified rules and measure-
ments (Reliability Rules), as contained in Version 33 of its Reliability
Rules, subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

(05-E-1180SA14)

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

To Deny a Petition for Rehearing, but Provide Clarification of
the Order in Case 13-W-0295

I.D. No. PSC-32-14-00010-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-10

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC denied a petition filed by the Municipal
Consortium for rehearing, but provided clarification of the Commission's
order issued in Case 13-W-0295 on June 26, 2014.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4, 22 and 89-c
Subject: To deny a petition for rehearing, but provide clarification of the
order in Case 13-W-0295.
Purpose: Denial of a petition for rehearing, but providing clarification of
the order in Case 13-W-0295.
Substance of Final Rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, denied
a petition for rehearing filed by the Municipal Consortium seeking
modification or reversal of any aspect of the Commission’s June 26, 2014
Order Establishing Rates for United Water New York Inc. To the extent
that the petition for rehearing seeks clarification of certain aspects of this
order, clarification is provided, subject to the terms and conditions set
forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(13-W-0295SA3)

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

To Approve an Increase in Total Annual Revenues of $87,186 or
15.3%

I.D. No. PSC-35-14-00006-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-05
Effective Date: 2015-02-05

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted an order approving a minor
rate filing by the Village of Castile, to increase its annual revenues.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(12)
Subject: To approve an increase in total annual revenues of $87,186 or
15.3%.
Purpose: Approval of the Village of Castile to increase total annual
revenues by $87,186 or 15.3%.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted
an order approving a minor rate filing by the Village of Castile, authoriz-
ing the tariff amendments to become effective with modification, and an
increase in the total annual electric revenues by $87,186 or 15.3%, subject
to the terms and conditions set forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(14-E-0358SA1)
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Approving Con Ed's Report, with Modifications, on Storm
Hardening & Resiliency Collaborative, Phase 2

I.D. No. PSC-38-14-00009-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-05
Effective Date: 2015-02-05

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted, with modifications, the
Amended Storm Hardening and Resiliency Collaborative Phase Two
Report filed by Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 4(1), 5(1), 65(1), (14),
66(1), (1-a), (2), (4), (12), 79(1), 80(1), (2), (3), (4) and (10)
Subject: Approving Con Ed's report, with modifications, on Storm
Hardening & Resiliency Collaborative, Phase 2.
Purpose: To approve Con Ed's report, with modifications, on Storm
Hardening and Resiliency Collaborative, Phase 2.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted,
with modifications, the Amended Storm Hardening and Resiliency Col-
laborative Phase Two Report (Phase Two Report) filed by Consolidated
Edison Company of New York, Inc., subject to the terms and conditions
set forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(13-E-0030SA6)

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Allowing Con Edison's Filing to Make Modifications to General
Rule 17.5 to Become Effective

I.D. No. PSC-46-14-00007-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-06
Effective Date: 2015-02-06

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted an order allowing Consolidated
Edison's revisions to PSC 10—Electricity to modify General Rule 17.5, to
become effective.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(12)(a) and (b)
Subject: Allowing Con Edison's filing to make modifications to General
Rule 17.5 to become effective.
Purpose: To allow Con Edison's filing to modify General Rule 17.5 to
become effective.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted
an order allowing Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.’s
amendments to PSC 10—Electricity to modify General Rule 17.5, Request
for Aggregated Company Records, to become effective, subject to the
terms and conditions set forth in the order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(14-E-0481SA1)

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Allow Con Edison's Filing to Modify General Information
Section IV.3(c) to Become Effective

I.D. No. PSC-46-14-00010-A
Filing Date: 2015-02-06
Effective Date: 2015-02-06

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: On 2/5/15, the PSC adopted an order allowing Consolidated
Edison's revisions to PSC 9—Gas, to modify General Information Section
IV.3(c) to become effective.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 66(12)(a) and (b)
Subject: Allow Con Edison's filing to modify General Information Sec-
tion IV.3(c) to become effective.
Purpose: To allow Con Edison's filing to modify General Information
Section IV.3(c) to become effective.
Substance of final rule: The Commission, on February 5, 2015, adopted
an order allowing Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.’s
amendments to PSC 9—Gas, to modify General Information Section
IV.3(c) – Request for Aggregated Company Records, to become effective,
subject to the terms and conditions set forth in this order.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule may be obtained from: Elaine Agresta, Public Service Com-
mission, Three Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12223, (518) 486-
2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov An IRS employer ID no. or social
security no. is required from firms or persons to be billed 25 cents per
page. Please use tracking number found on last line of notice in requests.
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.
(14-G-0482SA1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Approval of a Loan, an Ownership Transfer, and Continuation
of Lightened Regulation

I.D. No. PSC-08-15-00008-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: The Commission is considering a petition from CCI
Roseton LLC seeking approval of a loan secured by its generating facility,
review of an ownership transfer, and continuation of lightened regulation.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 2(12), (13), 5(1)(b), 69
and 70
Subject: Approval of a loan, an ownership transfer, and continuation of
lightened regulation.
Purpose: Approval of a loan, an ownership transfer, and continuation of
lightened regulation.
Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing a petition filed by CCI Roseton LLC (CCI) on January 22, 2015,
requesting that it be authorized to enter into a loan agreement to borrow
funds secured by the Roseton Generating Station, a 1,160 MW generation
facility located in Newburgh, New York. CCI further seeks review of a
transfer of ownership interests in the form of the insertion of an intermedi-
ate holding company into its ownership structure. Additionally, CCI seeks
continuation of lightened regulation. The Commission may adopt, reject
or modify, in whole or in part, the relief proposed and may resolve related
matters.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact: Elaine
Agresta, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2660, email: Elaine.Agresta@dps.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
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Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement
Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.
(15-E-0041SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Approval of a Surcharge

I.D. No. PSC-08-15-00009-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: The Commission is considering whether to approve,
modify or reject a petition filed by Emerald Green Lake Louise Marie Wa-
ter Company, Inc. for approval of a surcharge.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, section 89-b and 89-c
Subject: Approval of a surcharge.
Purpose: To allow or disallow Emerald Green Lake Louise Marie Water
Company, Inc. for a surcharge.
Substance of proposed rule: The Emerald Green Lake Louise Marie Wa-
ter Company, Inc. (EGLLWC) is owned by the Emerald Green Property
Owners Association (POA). The POA also owns Lake Louise Marie,
which is the sole source of supply for the water company. EGLLWC
provides water to the residents of the Emerald Green development and to
the nearby Lake Louise Marie development.

The POA is currently under order from the Department of Environmen-
tal Conservation (DEC) to perform approximately $1.3 million in repairs
to the dam on Lake Louise Marie, which are required to ensure the safety
of the structure. EGLLWC is requesting Commission authorization to
implement a surcharge to collect the cost of the repairs from all customers
in both developments.

The Commission is considering whether to approve, modify or reject a
petition filed by EGLLWC for approval of the surcharge. The Commis-
sion may consider any related matters.
Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact: Elaine
Agresta, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2660, email: Elaine.Agresta@dps.ny.gov
Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York
12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement
Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.
(15-W-0037SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Request Pertaining to the Lawfulness of National Grid USA
Continuing Its Summary Billing Program

I.D. No. PSC-08-15-00010-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: The Commission is considering the request filed by
URAC Rate Consultants that National Grid USA cease its allegedly
unlawful summary billing program.
Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 30-53
Subject: Request pertaining to the lawfulness of National Grid USA
continuing its summary billing program.
Purpose: To grant, deny, or modify URAC Rate Consultants' request that
National Grid cease its summary billing program.
Substance of proposed rule: The Commission is considering whether to

grant or deny a request from URAC Rate Consultants (URAC) that
National Grid USA cease its summary billing program. URAC audits
customer bills to identify discrepancies, if any, in the terms, conditions or
rates related to a customer’s service and its bills. URAC believes National
Grid USA has violated 16 NYCRR § 13.11 in failing to provide to custom-
ers in hard copy bills all of the information required in 16 NYCRR § 13.11.
The Commission shall consider all related matters contained in the filing.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact: Elaine
Agresta, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2660, email: elaine.agresta@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement
Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.
(15-G-0039SP1)

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Implementation of Community Net Metering

I.D. No. PSC-08-15-00011-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:

Proposed Action: The Commission is considering the implementation of
community net metering pursuant to a Notice Instituting Proceeding,
Soliciting Comments and Providing for Stakeholder Meeting issued Feb-
ruary 10, 2015 in Case 15-E-0082 and an attached Straw Proposal.

Statutory authority: Public Service Law, sections 5(1)(b), 64(1), (2), (3),
66(1), (2), (5), (12), 66-j and 66-l

Subject: Implementation of community net metering.

Purpose: To consider implementation of community net metering.

Substance of proposed rule: The Public Service Commission is consider-
ing the implementation of community net metering pursuant to a Notice
Instituting Proceeding, Soliciting Comments and Providing for Stake-
holder Meeting issued February 10, 2015 in Case 15-E-0082, and an at-
tached Straw Proposal setting forth proposed policies, terms and condi-
tions for a community net metering program. The Commission may adopt,
reject or modify, in whole or in part, the relief proposed in the Notice and
may resolve related matters.

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained by filing a Document Request Form (F-96) located on our
website http://www.dps.ny.gov/f96dir.htm. For questions, contact: Elaine
Agresta, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany, New
York 12223-1350, (518) 486-2660, email: Elaine.Agresta@dps.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Kathleen H. Burgess,
Secretary, Public Service Commission, 3 Empire State Plaza, Albany,
New York 12223-1350, (518) 474-6530, email: secretary@dps.ny.gov

Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.

Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement
Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.
(15-E-0082SP1)
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Department of Taxation and
Finance

NOTICE OF ADOPTION

Fuel Use Tax on Motor Fuel and Diesel Motor Fuel and the Art.
13-A Carrier Tax Jointly Administered Therewith

I.D. No. TAF-48-14-00002-A
Filing No. 106
Filing Date: 2015-02-10
Effective Date: 2015-02-10

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following action:
Action taken: Amendment of section 492.1(b)(1) of Title 20 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Tax Law, sections 171, subd. First, 301-h(c), 509(7),
523(b) and 528(a)
Subject: Fuel use tax on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel and the art. 13-A
carrier tax jointly administered therewith.
Purpose: To set the sales tax component and the composite rate per gallon
for the period January 1, 2015 through March 31, 2015.
Text or summary was published in the December 3, 2014 issue of the
Register, I.D. No. TAF-48-14-00002-P.
Final rule as compared with last published rule: No changes.
Text of rule and any required statements and analyses may be obtained
from: Kathleen D. O'Connell, Tax Regulations Specialist, Department of
Taxation and Finance, Office of Counsel, Building 9, W.A. Harriman
Campus, Albany, NY 12227, (518) 530-4153, email:
tax.regulations@tax.ny.gov
Assessment of Public Comment
An assessment of public comment is not submitted with this notice because
the rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of the
State Administrative Procedure Act.

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

Fuel Use Tax on Motor Fuel and Diesel Motor Fuel and the Art.
13-A Carrier Tax Jointly Administered Therewith

I.D. No. TAF-08-15-00012-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed rule:
Proposed Action: Amendment of section 492.1(b)(1) of Title 20 NYCRR.
Statutory authority: Tax Law, sections 171, subd. First, 301-h(c), 509(7),
523(b) and 528(a)
Subject: Fuel use tax on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel and the art. 13-A
carrier tax jointly administered therewith.
Purpose: To set the sales tax component and the composite rate per gallon
for the period April 1, 2015 through June 30, 2015.
Text of proposed rule: Section 1. Paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of sec-
tion 492.1 of such regulations is amended by adding a new subparagraph
(lxxviii) to read as follows:

Motor Fuel Diesel Motor Fuel

Sales Tax Composite Aggregate Sales Tax Composite Aggregate

Component Rate Rate Component Rate Rate

(lxxvii) January-March 2015

16.0 24.0 41.8 16.0 24.0 40.05

(lxxviii) April-June 2015

15.0 24.0 40.8 16.0 24.0 40.05

Text of proposed rule and any required statements and analyses may be
obtained from: Kathleen D. O'Connell, Tax Regulations Specialist,
Department of Taxation and Finance, Office of Counsel, Building 9, W.A.
Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227, (518) 530-4153,
email:tax.regulations@tax.ny.gov

Data, views or arguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received until: 45 days after publication of this
notice.
Regulatory Impact Statement, Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, Rural
Area Flexibility Analysis and Job Impact Statement
Statements and analyses are not submitted with this notice because the
proposed rule is within the definition contained in section 102(2)(a)(ii) of
the State Administrative Procedure Act.
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