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STATE OF NEW YORK
DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
----------------------------------------X

In the Matter of the Complaint of

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF LICENSING SERVICES,

Complainant, DECISION

-against-

PATRICIA HAYDEN,

Respondent.

----------------------------------------X

The above noted matter came on for hearing before the undersigned,
Roger Schneier, on May 13, 1998 at the New York State Office Building,
333 East Washington Street, Syracuse, New York.

The respondent, of Max Hair Salon, 4502 East Genesee Street, De
Witt, New York 13214, did not appear.

The complainant was represented by Supervising License
Investigator Michael Coyne.

COMPLAINT

The complaint in the matter alleges that the respondent provided
appearance enhancement services as a renter without a renter's license.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1) Notice of hearing together with a copy of the complaint was
sent to the respondent at her last known business address by both
certified and regular first class mail on April 8, 1998, and was
returned by the Postal Service marked "not deliverable as addressed--
unable to forward" (State's Ex. 1 and 2).

2) From November 4, 1995 until November 4, 1997 the respondent was
licensed to operate an appearance enhancement business as a space
renter at Max Hair Salon, 4502 East Genesee Street, De Witt, New York.
She is currently licensed to engage in the practice of cosmetology
pursuant to a license expiring on October 31, 1998 (State's Ex. 4).
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3) On December 10, 1997 Senior License Investigator Dale R. Bolton
conducted an inspection of Max Hair Salon.  He observed that the
respondent was operating an appearance enhancement business as a renter
in that shop, but that her license had expired (State's Ex. 1).

4) Prior to the hearing the respondent was offered the opportunity
to settle the matter by paying a $300 fine, but she failed to accept
the offer (State's Ex. 3).

OPINION AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

I- Pursuant to General Business Law (GBL) §441[2], a notice of
hearing and complaint seeking the imposition of disciplinary sanctions
against a person licensed pursuant to GBL Article 27 may be commenced
by mailing the notice and complaint to the respondent by certified mail
addressed to her last known business address, the procedure followed by
the complainant in this matter.  Therefore, inasmuch as there is
evidence that notice of the place, time and purpose of the hearing was
properly served, the holding of an ex parte quasi-judicial
administrative hearing was permissible. Patterson v Department of
State, 36 AD2d 616, 312 NYS2d 300 (1970); Matter of the Application of
Rose Ann Weis, 118 DOS 93.

II- Pursuant to General Business Law §401[2], it is unlawful for
any person to own, control or operate an appearance enhancement
business without being licensed therefore.  That requirement extends to
persons who rent space in shops owned by others. 19 NYCRR 160.4.  The
respondent violated that statute by operating her business after her
license had expired.

III- In setting the penalty to be imposed for the respondent's
violation, I have considered the fact that prior to the scheduling of
the hearing she was offered the opportunity to resolve the matter
through the payment of a fine of $300.00.  Where such an offer of
settlement has not been accepted and the respondent has subsequently
been found guilty, it is proper to impose a fine higher than that which
was asked for in the settlement offer. Vito v Jorling, 197 AD2d 822,
603 NYS2d 64 (1993) (finding that it was proper to impose a fine of
$22,825.00 after an offer to settle for a $500.00 penalty was
rejected).

DETERMINATION

WHEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY DETERMINED THAT Patricia Hayden has
violated General Business Law §401[2], and accordingly, pursuant to
General Business Law §410, she shall pay a fine of $400.00 to the
Department of State on or before June 30, 1998.  Should she fail to pay
the fine, her license to engage in the practice of cosmetology shall be
suspended for a period commencing with the receipt of her license
certificate by the complainant and terminating two months thereafter.
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The respondent is directed to send the fine or her license certificate
to Diane Ramundo, Customer Service Unit, Department of State, Division
of Licensing Services, 84 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12208.  

Roger Schneier
Administrative Law Judge

Dated:  May 15, 1998


